(2012/12) Dec 2012

I'm new here. Am into my 8th week now. Been feeling all the symptoms (MS, headache, backache) and I can't sleep well too..

sun_tan/bloom, thanks for the info. So when should we start contacting SCBB? Now still early right? I better save the details some where first.

sn0wing, coz I use CDA to pay. CDA works like you save $1, government will match $1 to your $1 (up to max $6k of matching, meaning you can deposit a total of $6k to have $12k inside) So the total cost of 21 yr plan is $5778 but I only need to prepare n deposit cash of $2889 ($5778/2) into the CDA then Cord Life can deduct $5778 from the CDA after government matched the $2889 to make it a total of $5778 loh. Understand ma?

For Cord Blood Donation
Expectant mothers and their spouses who are interested to donate their baby’s cord blood after birth; should speak with their ObGyn (Delivering Physician) from 28 – 32 weeks of gestation.

Alternatively, they may wish to contact SCBB directly at 6394-5012 or [email protected] after 28 weeks of gestation to complete the Donation Process i.e. sign the Informed Consent and complete the Medical History Questionnaire.

Operating Hours:
Monday - Friday: 8.30am - 5.30pm
Saturday: Strictly by Appointment Only

Jellow: *blush* Once in a lifetime thing. Now that I have stretch marks cannot take such pics le. haha...

bloom, seem very troublesome to even wanna donate cord blood. still must fix appointment n go meet the personnel to fill up many forms?

JAJ, that time the SBCC person very nice. She met up with me at Glen E after one of my gynae visit. So not troublesome at all. All in all took me less than half an hr to complete everything.

Oh Yar huh.. then we mothers lugi.. cos the childcare leave conincides with our maternity leave.. unless we can break the maternity leave up and use!

I think if so, have to faster register the birth cert then our hubs can submit to HR and apply leave?

I am very sleepy... 1.15 hours to go....

Re: Childcare leave
ya loh, actually we lugi the first year.. but from what i know, maternity leave gotta take one shot, at least for the first 8 weeks.

but for #2 mummies and more, no diff coz we still only have 6 days in total..

Re: discharge
btw, do u all have some occasional discharge? whitish or watery? i checked internet and they said it is a common symptom of preggy coz it will actually protects the womb or something.. kept forgetting to ask my gynae.

Bloom: hmm sometimes I got craving for subway! But I read online we should not eat deli meat so often and it's raw and cold so better to be toasted. Plus the veggie all is raw dunno whether there is growth of bacteria. So I tried to avoid to eat subway now! =( Its recommended to choose meatball sub or tuna instead of ham or cold cut

Jellow: My friend who used to part time in Subway say they dun wash the veggies one... but i guess u can ask then to TOAST the veggies everything longer lor..

jellow, we held our wedding at the same hotel!!! hahaha...

snowing, I didn't receive your pm leh. I will pm u now.

Xta: hahas yeah we dunno how they prepare their food. Lols how "clean" or "dirty"!! Hee

Sasayeo: can take ham but have to be cooked!

JAJ: really!! Hahas Lols din manage to break even for my banquet dinner. Hahas Lols

had requested to have the meat toasted longer but not veggies..

xta.. so gross! tink i'll banned subway from today onwards.. lol

thanks all for the advice.

i hv a junkie bb.. cant eat proper meals.. *headache*

dinner time = battle time
i see dinner on the table, will feel pukish

Deli meat
Known to potentially be contaminated with listeria, a compound that can contribute to miscarriages by crossing the placenta wall and infecting the baby, deli meats are one food you should not have on your pregnancy menu.

This category also includes things like hot dogs, meat spreads, and raw pre-stuffed poultry foods.

If you can’t live without your deli meats, ensure that you reheat them until they are steaming

Jellow, you serious? I did make a profit from my banquet dinner. hehe..

I still eat ham without cook, those bought at cold storage/NTUC one. Okay de lah, as long as you buy fresh and eat it within 3 days.

I tried to avoid oso but i still have cravings for ham.
This morning just bought the ham and egg sandwich from breadtalk cos i was craving for it so much and yet not quite sure whether was it reheat anot.

Sasayeo: Lols the details that JLJ posted was what I read too! So if you look to eat ham got to heat it. It's the same reason why we cannot eat sashimi now! Becos of listeria!

Sasayeo: but some Gynae actually mentioned can go to reputable jap restaurant for sashimi if got craving. Hahas so u check with ur Gynae yeah!!

Hmm becos trying to conceive and preggy I have not drink bubble tea or koi for so many months. Hmm how I wish can drink pearl milk tea!! Hahas

Going home lo~~

sasayeo, my Japanese client told me their pregnant ladies still eat sashimi coz it's so common for them, unavoidable. So they think is safe so long as they are fresh. My colleague who had #2 also ate many sashimi and okay. That's why now I also not strict on my diet le. Maybe #2 le. haha... I ate few times of sashimi le, half boiled eggs, crabs, ham, cuttle fish, and a lot of cold drinks.

I supposed Japanese fishes are fresher than ours...

I heard ppl say if u trust the sashimi is fresh, preg also can eat.

But our fishes are mostly imported and frozen hmm... better play safe!

Hehe.. my MIL keep telling me no cold drinks.. but when we go out and eat.. she will say take a few sips la.. then through out the day here few there few... lol! No diff liao lor!

Cham.. i have bad indigestion from lunch again.... >.< have to skip dinner liao..

knock off! bye ladies!

sasayeo, i prefer average size. Not too small or too big. will have a hard time giving birth if bb too big. Depends on individual also. We dun like those super chubby bb.

oh ya, gynae plays an important part to your diet also. My gynae is more relax kind, during my #1 I asked him alot of things whether I can eat or not. He just all food can eat, just eat in moderation and make sure they are fresh if they are supposed to be. He also told me no problem to have a bit of sashimi. Haha... My hb previously also don't allow me to eat this n that. Now also relax liao. haha...

All the food food here makes me hungry!!!! I would love to have egg mayo croissants!!! But no delifrance At TBP! Maybe subway's egg mayo!! ^^

Im unhappy at work today

If not for the 4 month maternity leave, I will have quit!
started to feel my bump le, touching it, make me stay for bb sake

Leg r So tired on my not high high heel shoe
Should go get a flat shoe le

Kong kong,

IMHO definitely stay on for the 4 months paid leave.
The morning sickness will pass in a few weeks and you'll feel better and be glad you stayed.

Talking about food. I have loads of craving despite my nausea. And only craving the food I cannot get hold of. What would I give for a BK mushroom Swiss or a McSpicy or Crystal Jade congee. *sigh*

Kong kong I also have bad day at work. Jia you together.

Just read the new paper. So worried. A lot of infant care and confinement nanny agency fully booked. I haven researched on confinement nanny yet.

I'm just about to leave office.

It's so tough balancing baby and career. Come April 2013, I will be 4 months behind my peers in the company. I want to give baby E the best, but I want to have a fulfilling career too.

Hope all falls into place eventually.

Thanks Karen n tevelyn

Nerd those boss n colleague!!!!

Joyce: sighhh this is part of life.

$$ we can save, but health n ur bb is most to u now

Don't work till too late

Hi galzzz, long time not online

Been hospitalized bcause of bleeding last week than have a full bedrest. Today going to my gynae by the grace of God i am still a mum

Today i can hear the heartbeat n the baby growing to 13.5 mm. Thanks God

San2: According to my gynae, chances of miscarriage after fetal heartbeat has been established drops to a low of <5%. Don't worry and all the best!