(2012/12) Dec 2012

xta, if u ask your parents / in laws to stop working, maybe u also need to give them some allowance to look after your baby?

i think u try to work out the sums and see which is the best arrangement.

Xta, haha ya, when we go out with #1, we always happy to let relative carry and take care so that hubby and I can eat snake for that few mins. My cousin commented how come we not kan cheong abt our bb lol.

Kidomum: That's why ask them to look after 2 days only.. they can still work! :x

But both my MIL and FIL are thinking of retiring.. keep saying wanna quit. Now they have the perfect excuse not to work! STRESS leh...... if they don't work, we are very burdened. And my hub dun earn a lot and he say he is comfortable at that level and "feels" well off =.="

7 minutes more for me. Have a good PH, ladies

Ashley@ Welcome, I am also the sort that don't get nausea, only fatigue, tender boobs, and hunger cravings

Pearl@ Thanks, can't really remember how it was 1.5 yrs ago lol

Nanny/ifc - we had a long thought over baby arrangements too when we had our first and then the second, ultimately it was most cost effective to hire a helper, set up ip cameras around the house and then survey the helper using our iphones when we can.

Sometimes we get our in laws to come over to peep and check, sometimes its just the neighbours and thankfully we have some good neighbours. Sometimes, we drop by during lunch or come home early. There were a lot of hiccups along the way, change maids, train maids.. but we get to see our kids everyday without the transport nightmare, pen down the routines and still maintain control somewhat. Now, finally both are now in full time school now, so it has been relieving. The first yrs are full of ups and downs, a lot of getting used to and also a lot of compromise.. but it does get better

Ifc charge exorbitant rates, some nannies do too. And they aren't completely reliable too, sometimes close due to hfmd, some hire unreliable teachers, sometimes nannies sick or decides not to care for baby anymore..

Little Blue: But no choice since both husband and wife needs to work. And not all will have such good neighbours or flexible timing to drop home to spotcheck either.

Will just have to pray hard that we will meet with gd responsible nanny or ifc.

xta - haha... while it is true when you go church or family gathering, you will find many people eager to help carry your bb but then, your thinking might change after giving birth.

Cos I became very particular who is carrying my baby. I find it very unhygenic to have people touching my baby's face and hands and legs all over. Maybe it is just me... haha

Hi gals, I'm a newbie on thIs thread and expecting our first on 5th Dec.

Into my 8 th week now and my craving for food has converted into weight gain and indigestion. Anyone experience that too?
And I even LS a few times today

Lavonnebaby, there's doctor phua and doctor phoon in Hougang

Welcome Wendy. I expect that I will soon be gaining weight too. I feel sick all the time and hope that by eating it will ease the nausea. Hence all I'm doing is eating and sleeping. Luckily I am SAHM but it does mean the house is so very very messy and I can't be bothered to tidy up..

I am going to my GP tomorrow to kick start my antenatal care.. not sure if she'll bother to listen for baby's heartbeat @7 weeks. Oh well.

morning ladies; thread running too fast,.hope all r doing well.
Wendy; I have constipation n LS too..

But rem no spicy, raw, curry, coconut food as per advise by gynae

I still ate spicy food, but a bit only

Thanks Kong Kong and Karen!

That explains why!! I had spicy food for the whole of Sunday! My gynae only asked me to avoid fried food for fear of nauseous but no mentions of other food... No wonder I felt so terrible yesterday and kept wanting to vomit but nothing comes out la... Hehe,..

I'm thinking of changing gynae to Dr Woo Bit Hua. Any reviews on him?

Hello everyone! How's everybody??

@ chubbyfingers you gotta wait for ur child to be born before putting on waitlist at childcare, I put mine on waitlist straight after she was born. She was born in Jun. Now this second one is due in Dec plus dragon, be prepared to hunt for a childcare man.

@ snowing, I'm also looking at infant care cos my mum doesnt want to take care fo rme this time. My friends put theirs at infant care, seems ok. Really depends on how experienced the teachers are and whehter the parents of other children are socially responsible or not lor. I worry abt the kids staring at the ceiling in the cot or bouncer all day long though.. so boring right. Anyway, i just checked out one infant care, 1600 per month. with 600 bucks subsidy, stll 1000 bucks Next time cannot buy new clothes liao!

Ashley: After I found out I was pregnant, I was afraid I would miscarry because I had no MS symptoms. According to Mayo Clinic guide to healthy pregnancy, statistically, those who experience MS have lower rates of miscarriage. But I worried too soon! By 5.5weeks I had nausea that lasted all the way till today (8weeks). Also, I personally know of friends who do not experience MS at all. Their pregnancies turned out to be uneventful and they gave birth to healthy babies nevertheless. So don't worry, if you don't ever experience MS, you can still have a healthy baby

Wendy: I experienced indigestion too. For two nights I woke up at 3am and my husband had to pat my back for me to ease my discomfort. There was a lot of gas. I had been ingesting too much unhealthful carbohydrates like hor fun and maggi goreng (my cravings). After the traumatic indigestion episodes, I've started to chew my food more thoroughly, also have been more discerning with my choices of food. Some advice: eat slowly, eat in moderation, and choose foods that are more healthful. For instance, if you crave carbohydrates, go for mashed potato instead of french fries which are oily. I try to eat fruits on a daily basis too, the sourness of citrus foods also helps alleviate my MS. It's been a week and my indigestion is gone. Hope this helps!

Wendy: Forgot to mention, after eating more healthfully my weight went back down too! Remember to do some mild aerobic exercises, I find that helps with constipation. Of course if you are not feeling well, then don't exert yourself. Maybe just walk around a bit.

Lavonnebaby: I visited Phua Soo Mear in my 5th week (Blk 211 Hougang St 21 #01-289 S(530211), very near Kovan MRT). He delivers at Mt A and TMC. His charges are affordable, 500 for package not including scans and meds, and 800 for delivery. He is quite traditional, advises against sports and sex during pregnancy. Can consider him if you don't mind conservative gynaes.

Sun Tan: Yah... coz MS is so torturous! Luckily these few days my MS has subsided a little. But when it subsides, even though I feel good, I get worried that I might miscarry. Sigh, what a predicament
Do you have MS?

Talk about MS.. If I wrote a diary, "30 April 2012: first puke, consisting mainly of ribena. Happened after washing dishes." ARGH MS is indeed torturous!!!

@kidomum, maid i have to deal w a third party's emotions. plus my hubby works from home. What if anything happens or she accuses my hubby of molest or what? My mum wun want to take care for me cos she wants freedom. Maid or no maid, it's the same, i think. I think my first skool ifc is abit cheaper, abt 670 after subsidy. Shiong hor, even baby bonus not enuf.

Mummies; sharing about morning sickness

I had it during my 1st pregnancy from 2nd to 4th month. Was 80% dead n no much food intake n even quit my job

Now at 6th week accordingly to gynae, I have not yet.. I'm so scare abt it. Just the thought makes me sian..

My cousin wife had 2 pregnancies n all without morning sckness, both her kids r very healthy nw

Morning sickness- makes us suffer so much with almost no food intake n gain weight n suffer mentally.. Sigh isit reali so gd for us?

Kong Kong: According to Brain Rules for Baby by John Medina,

"some evolutionary biologists believe this is why morning sickness still persists in human pregnancies. Morning sickness, which can last the entire day... makes a woman stick to a bland, boring diet... kept our maternal ancestors away from the natural toxins in exotic or spoiled foods in the wild... the accompanying fatigue would keep women from engaging in physical activity risky enough to harm the baby."

Also, a larger percentage of babies born to mothers with major MS have been shown to score gifted level in IQ tests (21% versus 7%). Possibly due to (not yet proven, only postulated by researchers): "two hormones that stimulate a woman to vomit may also act like neural fertilizer for the developing brain. The more vomiting, the more fertilizer; hence, the greater effect on IQ."

So... if I have MS I also don't mind.. haha

Kong kong , puking is actually natures way of telling u ur bb is growing fine. Like i din hear bb heartbeat that time, I wake up vomit I'm actually thankful cos I know bb still growing!!

Thks wendy, do u have the add for doc phua and doc phoon?

im into 9 weeks and edd on 6 dec
this is my no.2
my no.1 is 3 and a half yrs old
and i jus had miscarriage on dec last year...

Lavonnebaby: Google Dr Phua Soo Mear, should get the name of his clinic. The addy I gave is correct. $500 after 16 weeks of pregnancy, package includes consultations and ultrasound scans from 16 weeks till delivery, also includes one complimentary 3D scan, package does not include blood tests and tococardiogram. All meds not included. If want more details, can call up clinic and ask.

Anyone heard anything about Dr Kenneth Lee at Mt A?

I am about 6 weeks preggy..has been having recurring yeast infection and was prescribed Utrogestan to insert nightly.

After finishing the whole course, it doesn't seem to help. Any tried taking acidophilus or probiotic pills instead?

thanks chubbyfingers for sharing your research.
i'm not sure if anything will help my nausea.. i went to see the GP today and she prescribed me cyclizine or something, but I don't dare to take them, I remember some story about how mums in the 60s were prescribed antinausea drug and their kids were autistic, even though I'm sure it's not the same drug i was given, who knows what the side effects are.

i'm being really naughty and drinking coke. hoping the gas from the drink will combine with the air in my tummy to form one big bubble and come out easily.

Joyce, thanks for sharing your research too.. but my ms doesn't make me stick to a bland diet leh. i find that i crave spicy salty food. so end up eating alot of instant noodles, can't see how healthy that is. but definitely true about the fatigue, i'm trying to take a nap every afternoon before having to pick the kids up from school!

BTW, anyone, esp those with 1 or more kids already, guessing the sex of the baby? I have 1 boy and 1 girl already and based on symptoms I think this time it's a boy again..

Lavonnebaby.. My guessing has no scientific grounds., I remember with my girl I crave fruits more than savoury but this time definitely turned off by fruits and veg!! And with my boy, I started getting pigmentation on my face, dark marks around my mouth, this time I'm seeing it again. I'm also quite interested to know if my guessing is right!

There are lots of old wives tales anyway, some say when you're expecting a boy you look uglier cuz of the boy's hormones some say it's the other way around, cuz the girl steals your beauty (?). I don't know what to believe just draw from my own experience.

Thks for sharing Karen...
I rem aqlot of ppl saying i look better when i having my gal but this time round i found lots of big pimples around my mouth and forehead..

According to my hub, the next taka bb fair is in Oct. just nice for us!
Will keep u all inform if I have any good lobangs!

Lavonnebaby, hope you get the boy you want!

Taka fair - boo, I'm in Singapore only end July to mid august.. Maybe for the better so I won't spend so much,

Caroline05: I used to have recurring yeast infections back in uni due to poor lifestyle (clubbing and lack of sleep). My husband has been feeding me probiotics for some time now (close to a year?) and my yeast infections are completely gone. Give it a shot! Also... eat more healthfully

Karen: I crave savoury foods too! Like horfun and mee goreng. It's the research that says MS = puke = cannot eat rubbish. Do you puke? I'm afraid I'll puke, so don't dare to eat all the savoury junk food anymore.

Morning ladies. Back to continue the week.

Was queueing to buy breakfast yesterday, then almost fainted at the hawker centre
Suddenly just went cold and giddy. Luckily my husband walked over in time, otherwise my lor mee would have been hijacked by someone else. LOL.

Morning...Im back from longweekend break....

Seen gynae on monday...everything goes smoothly...only MS is getting worst...make me more tired everyday....

Just vomit again when I reach office....shack...

Hello morning,
My MS got worse since this morn, vomitted 5-6times, most of the times were gastric juice. First puke I think i puke all the medications that prescribed by gynea (vitB, multi-vit and folic acid)....so bitter...yuks

Re-infant care,
I think PAP infant care is quite affordable, around $600