(2012/12) Dec 2012

How often are gynae check ups scheduled? I went last wk which was my first appt at wk7+, the next one gynae ask me to go is one mth later which will do Oscar test already when Im at wk 11.

I feel so much better with my si chuan soup!

Now sipping H2O to rehydrate myself.. ^^

count down 3.5 hours to knock off!

Xta: me too 3.5 hours!! Yeah

Snowing: my next appointment is 3 weeks time. By then I will be 7 weeks. Hahas my edd is last day of dec think ur Is first week of dec!

I'm new to this thread..greetings to all..I'm in my 6th week into pregnancy...and tis will be my no 2.

My morning sickness is really bad tat i stopped working already. Cos Kp vomiting like 8 tms a day even when tummy full or empty..feeling sucks which makes me cry..totally sian

i think Oscar test is around 11-12 weeks ... so mine should be 14th May week or 21st May week... after that will be "Byebye to First Trimester!!"

Jellow: Yes my edd at 6 dec according to online calculator! I cant wait for the next appt to see little one again! Gynae say will grow alot from the prev visit. Hehe!

Kidomum: Yes Im testing at wk 11. Can I check first tri ends at wk 12 or 14?

aei wait, i just went bb center and it says 1st trim is week 0-13, 2nd trim is 14 - 27 and 3rd trim is 28 - 41.

sun_tan = why too much calcium no good?

snowing - my previous gynae consider 1st trimester to end at week 14.

jellow - i'm also in my 5weeks+. have u managed to detect the hb?

Pommes, cos my gynae ever told me that if overdose, might lead to kidney stones. I did a quick search on the net and found these:

A few of the possible calcium overdose symptoms include (but are not limited to):

Kidney stones
Excessive drowsiness
Muscle weakness
Nausea and vomiting
Frequent urination
Changes in your heart rate
Confusion
Constipation or diarrhea
Headaches
Coma.

Hihi good noon mummies,

Anyone heard their babies' heartbeat yet? I am thinking if I should go for my check this week instead of next, hubs is going outstation end of the week.

Meanwhile I am really just dozing off so often.. zZZz..

sun_tan, oh no. I really dunno wat to drink now.

Btw my gynae nvr gv me calcium pills. I only given previt and folic acid.

My daily intake of drinks are horlick, anlene, HL milk, fruit juice, ribena and sometime gassy drinks. Plain water i cant take in too much cos i dun really enjoy it.

IF you are below 30, no need to go for Oscar test right? And i just read about it, it isn't that accurate also... alot of false positives hmm...

JLJ, it says 2.5g per day is the max intake. Hmm.. you go and read the supplement table on the milk carton and see 1 carton = how much calcium? Then how fast u finish the whole pack and guage from them? But my gynae says 2 glass per day is ok. normally calcium pills would not be prescribed so early in the pregnancy. But for my #1, my gynae nv prescribe any calcium tablet for me, preferring me to intake my calcium via milk.

HI Little blue

You can hear the bb heartbeat at about 6 weeks

Any one know for Oscar test, the result only know after how long?

I am 34 this year... a little worried...

Xta@ For peace of mind, i'll still test.. the results usually give you a probability or % of down syndrome in our population using our age, nuchal height etc.

I know some doctors routinely test irregardless, some will go by your age. Under 30s not high risk. Oscar tests can set you by $300++ so its not cheap.

sun_tan, just went to check
horlick is 532mg
anlene is 520mg
HL milk is abount 300mg per cup
So i guess nid reduce my intake of HL milk.

Btw, thks for the info, i didnt noe drink too much calcium oso not gd. Cos all along i love to drink fresh milk.

Guess change to ribena when at home

Ladies, whose taking care of your baby after maternity leave?

Im thinking of putting into infant care or find nanny to take care. Should I start to look around already???

my mum will be taking care... but i am still contemplating whether or not to get a helper to help her with the housework.
but the problem that i have is transportation!
if we go out during weekends with my mum, my car can't take all.. headache..

btw, heard from my colleague that her fren who is pregnant now has put her baby on Pat school house's waiting for child care!?!

for me I will continue working after maternity leave..

Still thinking of infant care... but the distance is about 2 bus stop away where I may to not in time to pick the baby.

For nanny... may be will start looking in August....

do u all think i can ask my MIL to take care 2 days, Mum take care 2 days, my Hub take care 1 day, then i take care on the weekends?

Is this feasible? lol!

Kidomum: So nice u have ur mum to help! My mum's hands are tied with my niece and nephew. So I think I need external help.

Xta: Baby may not be accustom to different environment and different style of teaching? Tats what I feel.

Xta, i find it quite troublesome to split the taking care into so many ppl. Firstly, you got to prepare the necessities for all the location (your mom place and your MIL), eg, clothes, diapers, bb cot etc. And bb would be changing so many environment..i feel that wont be good to bb bah. But thats my opinion :p

snowing, yes, you start looking now. Its a super KS world out there.Even by looking now, you might be on waiting list already.

Have been a silent reader but decided to join
just turned 6 weeks today. Edd 24th dec. May I ask when was the earliest u guys started have MS? Cos I only have fatigue and slightly tender bbs. Quite worried since I don't have nausea or vomiting.

My MIL stay with us... and my mum stay opposite street. Very convenient for my mum to come hmmm...

Teaching wise, i would prefer my own mum of course. My hub was brought up by his grandma, so mil not much experience too -- i abit scare haha!

Just that both of the mums are working, i find that it might not be so nice to pull them out of the working force and risk not having a job 3-4 yrs later? If they are ok with this arrangement they can still work part time or arrange their working hours and still have some rest days hmm...

Just thinking haha! I haven't break the news to them! Waiting for my Gynae visit this thurs to confirm first!

hi mummies, i heard that we can only sign up for childcare when the baby is born. is that true? my friend was saying that she was #60 or 70 on waiting list when she signed up... and it was right after her bb was born..

Xta, unless all the caregivers will come over to your place..then i think is ok. if need to transport to all different places, it's gonna be very taxing..

Ashley, I never vomit too..just nausea.. some people dun have MS and u may be the lucky one..

sun tan - thanks for the info!

xta - how come ur hb can take care 1 day? he doesn't need to work on one of the week days?

regarding IFC - ya, it is so hot for dragon year. almost everywhere is on waiting list. hb is hoping this bb can wait till 2013 then come out.

My Hub is in the retail line.. so he normally have 2 off days during weekdays.. while i have mine during weekends @.@

But occasionally he will have 1-2 times off on the weekends in a month.

Haha! I think my hub will be the first to reject this idea!

sasayeo, yes, i think whether nanny or maid, u really have to depend on luck to get a good one.
My fren's son is with a nanny who looks after 5 kids..they're all placed in a play pen... and each is "released" to walk and play around at a specific time.. i didn't think it was good coz i thought it's almost like a zoo... but my fren still likes the option coz the nanny helps to look after overnight and she and her hubby can go out and pat-tor... so it's really depending on individual's choice..

as for maid, better if someone can be watching over her.. otherwise u have to be really really lucky to get a responsible one.

Thks all.. Very worried on the taking care part cos I also need to work for the $.

We will have subsidy for infant care rite? Guess have to try search around and put our names on waiting list. Dunno how to go about looking for infant care centres.

Actually i prefer to look after my own kids at night myself. Hmm dun really like the ideal of being a weekend mom. So everyday, i will ferry my #1 to and fro my mom's place everyday. Then weekends I would take care of #1 myself.

Xta, my hubby also same, cos he is in F&B line, so his offday also on weekday and weekends me alone. Thats y now i got a helper , so when #2 arrives, I wont be so tight up alone with 2 kids on weekends.

kidomum, oh dear, that sounds really bad! 5 kids in a playpen and only "release" out to walk and play at specific time?! Can i say that its inhuman?? how much she paid for the nanny?

i think around $600+ ? not too sure.. but she says the kids are quite disciplined coz they are quite scared of the nanny so always behaves well.. i think it's everyday 8am - 8pm thus 3 nights of overnight stay

@Sun_tan: ^5!

I think Sat i will home alone with bb... treat as bonding time lor

Sunday bring bb to church, many ppl help me to carry & feed.. haha! Relieve! Now i know why the mothers disappear happily when we are playing with the babies! My Parents will be there too to help.

I find that infant care / Nanny very costly! Don't think got $$$.. especially my Hub is the only child and its very stressful that we gotta feed his parents as well soon...

btw, recently i bought this thing called "belly belt" from spring maternity. it's something like the bra extension but for the pants..

so now i can still fit in all my previous working pants becoz this thing can hold the button together using an extension even though we can't button it on..