(2012/12) Dec 2012

Chubby: yar clueless.. I give up looking for alternatives, just wait till 3rd May for my first scan! Haa.. Can save one appt $$$ :x

My hubby also ask me what's the hurry -.-

When will be the right time to inform your bosses about our pregnancies?

I am only 1 month in my new job.. Shucks.. When should I tell my boss? After confirmation? Lol!

Congrats to all who have just "reported in" :)

Today my gastric was so bad I almost fainted. Went home early to rest. Going to see gynae for first scan tomorrow hopefully can see heartbeat of baby.

Anyway those taking multivit please make sure the vit A dosage is within the recommended range cos too much vit A not good for baby.

As for powdered milk I tried Annmum. Not bad. Taste like milkshake.

I'll be putting my infant in IFC after my ML ends. My #1 in IFC now, and will be transferring to child care in 5 mths time. So both will be going same place, one at IFC, one at cc, near my house at bt. Panjang.

this time round I'm very relax on my diet of what can eat, what can't eat leh. Except for those very cooling food, I still ate half boiled eggs ytd. lol...

i think raw food is out. i'm not eating my fave steak too

gals, i've been feeling rather faint and light-headed lately. last night, i measured my bp. it's on the low side and my pulse rate was in the low 60s. i read that during pregnancy, the woman's pulse rate should go up 10-15 beats rather than lowering. am i thinking too much?

Anyone thinking of using Belly Bands after delivery?

hopes- ginger ir right. go see gynae if u sight spottings. Implantation's not firm.

Chubbyfingers-me too missing my steak. I changed to sirlion wraps! LOL to replace the crave.
Me too, light headed & nauseous.

Lola83, I'll be using clinch (did I spell correctly?) after delivery. But first 7-10 days will hire massage lady to massage and bind for me. Their bind are more effective.

Chubbyfingers, I hire the ML under the group of Madam Ida. Madam Ida is a very popular ML, you can try google on her to read more. They actually cover the island wide customers by areas. Hence, depending on which area u stay, you may get her cousin or sister who is trained by her (Madam Ida). For me at the west area is Madam Suria. She's really very good. Help me to massage off my body tension and clear my blocked ducts. She will help bind your tummy at the end of the session. Massage of breasts included as well. I'm not very sure who is in charge of the east and north side. But here's their contacts:

Madam Ida : 94249829
Madam Suria : 97954574

Do SMS them for enquiry and they will get back to you when they are available.

I'm not sure if they do prenatal massage coz I never think of having one. I am saving my money for post natal massage coz I find it very important for our figure and breasts!

sasayeo, I am a using Clarin skin care product but not the sm cream. Coz I find it too expensive to maintain throughout the pregnancy, so I go for another cheaper brand which is the Earth Mama, order from iherb. My friend used clarins and have no sm. Clarins cream is for those w/o sm. The oil is for those who already have SM and are trying to lighten it, at the same time preventing new ones. But the oil one can be really oily after application. I think one tube is selling around $80? You will need at least one tube per month. Therefore, if you use this for the whole pregnancy will cost you around $800 (taking 10 mths into consideration since after birth must continue to use for 1 more mth)? If you are interested, do go down to the counter and ask the staff to explain to you more and try it on your skin to feel the texture then decide.

nikiko and sasa: pardon me for my ignorance. r u saying should we start applying clarins to prevent stretch marks? i didn't know we can do that!

Hi mummies and mummies-to-be,

Happy to join all of you in this thread. Am expecting my #2 in early Dec.

I used Elancyl stretch mark cream for #1 and no stretch marks for me. The key is to start moisturising early to prepare the tummy for future expansion

Hope that all of us will have smooth pregnancies!

Have tried using the clarins oil before as well but found it too expensive. You can ask Clarins for a sample of the oil to try it out.

I found that using Elancyl is almost as good, so I decided to switch to Elancyl which is cheaper as well.

JAJ: Is the tummy cinch effective? As my skin is sensitive, I can't wear the massage tummy binder for too long as my skin will start to itch. Also find it uncomfortable to wear the massage tummy binder while breastfeeding. How did you overcome it?

I wasn't very disciplined during my first confinement, that's why i carried the flabby tummy for a few months and i really want to get back in shape fast this time.

btw, thanks nikiko for the massage contacts.. i'll contact them for pre-natal massage. anyway i was rejected by my balinese massage palor the other day after i told them i was pregnant. some believe that we should not do massage before going birth. i'm not sure about that.

Chubbyfingers, why do u need pre natal massage? I know some salon specialize in pre natal massage, so it is not a impossible task. I think I saw a beauty salon at Cuppage Plaza basement advertising abt pre natal massage. Do check with Madam Ida or Suria (if u stay at the west) for more info.

Mama Ling, the cinch is quite a big size binder I must say. It's adjustable so you can use for quite long even when u downsize. I am very vain, I want a flatter tummy ASAP, so I diligently let my ML to bind (very tight) for me and I follow her instruction only to remove the binder after 8 hrs (if i rem correctly). I also apply the slimming cream which my ML used together with the bind for a month. Maybe is my first one then, so my tummy shrink very fast and effectively. However, because it shrunk too fast, I've got sm afterwards!

The binder will not hinder bf. why can't u bf with binder on? I can leh. My ML will clean my breast after massage session coz she knows I still need to bf. I super hate confinement, but no choice gotta endure loh.

nikiko, i'm feeling giddy with headaches and my legs are aching (i dunno why). i was hoping to do prenatal massage to get rid of these problems.

JAJ: What is sm? I find that the ML tie the binder until quite high and it feels uncomfortable to bf. Plus there is this oily feeling for the whole body and I can't bathe with the binder on. Feels sticky. The cinch sounds good. I think I should get one this time round. Where can I get one?

Chubbyfingers: Some places do prenatal massages for those in 2nd trimester. Try to get more rest and don't over-exert yourself.

Chubbyfingers, I think is normal for beginning stage. I only feel tired and hungry easily so far. Some light-headed at times. When I carry my boy too long then I feel back aching. If not, is okay. After first trimester will be better ba.

Mama ling, sm is short form of stretch mark lah! Haha... You can google the cinch n read abt it. If u keen, I have a spreer to recommend u. She's from my previous thread mummy who spree many things. I also bought my cinch, breast pump n many more things from her since it's cheaper. You can go fb find her "Alice Rachel Neo"

Mama ling, forgot to reply on that oily part. Yes, the binder quite high but still below breast level. U can tell your ML to tie lower abit if u feel uncomfortable. Very oily n uncomfortable la, but no choice gotta endure. Otherwise, waste money n effort to massage n bind right? That's why I couldn't lie down on bed to rest after massage coz I find it oily, dirty n uncomfortable. I will look forward to 8 hrs later to bathe then have dinner n rest.

I was bloating way too much like 3-4 months pregnant I tink. Cos yesterday mrt got ppl let me have their seat. Anyone same s me??

happymok:

I feel bloated too on my tummy and face too...
my weight is like fluctuating 1-2kg >.< Scary!

Gd morning to all mummies! It's mid week and also my first day of work for this week! Coz last 2 days was on mc due to bad cough.

I also find my tummy bloated but no feeling. MS not here yet. Paranoid. Dun like MS but when MS not there I feel insecure. Lol... Hope everyone is feeling good today.

JAJ: Wow you could wait for 8 hours before you lie down and rest. For me, I try to lie on the bed whenever I can under the advice of MIL. I don't like the oily feeling, so hopefully the cinch can help. At least I can put it on and take it off whenever I like
I recall seeing Rachel organising the spree for the cinch &amp; slimming cream but don't think there is any spree ongoing now. If my memory serves me right, the cinch is quite ex. But if it works, I don't mind! On the stretch marks that you mentioned, I continued to use the stretch mark cream even after I delivered. But maybe my tummy took a long long time to deflate, so no stretch marks for me.

Mama Ling, haha for the sake of "ai mei" loh.. I will sit on sofa and rest lah.. Bed not really coz I feel so oily and uncomfortable. Anyway is only for max 7-10 days only. I didn't follow strict confinement rules during my previous confinement. This time round will try my best to follow if I can. hahaha. I think she can organize spree anytime right? Try asking her loh. Ya, quite ex for that but not bad lah. To me, I still believe in the massage and binding more.

Doreen> Yes, for me. My gynae says not stable, so better to go back check up every 2 weeks until 12 weeks ? then become once monthly check up. That's when the package kicks in too.

Lola83, it's good to have MS actually. That means bb is developing, that's why you feel MS. hehe... Think of bb's developing and you will feel better when MS hits you. ;) I wanna feel MS also don't have. lol....

Jaj- i only got it today. Was a bit worried also cos i heard MS means a stronger pregnancy &amp; I dun have MS at all. I am into my 6th week now.
Are you on medication?

Lola83, oh, maybe you just hit week 6 so it just came? I think I still have 2 more days to exactly 6 weeks. Yes, I am taking folic acid and "an tai yao" prescribed by my gynae - those normal pills during first trimester pregnancy.

Hi mommies / MTBs, I'm new to the forum.
Missed my period for a week, and was having what I suspect to be MS for the past 2 - 3 weeks. Finally went to the gynae yesterday. And had my first urine test + scan done. Turned out positive =)

I also kept feeling hungry ... MS felt worse when hungry :p I try to have some healthy snack such as biscuit and stuff.. Hopefully those will help

Went to gynae yesterday and can hear baby's hearbeat! so happy. But the MS is killing me. My gastric pain is really bad. Doc gave me gasrtic medicine and Vitamine B6. DIdnt give an tai medicine cos he said fetus looks healthy

Welcome Catherine!

Sasayeo, to some extend I think is true. Lesser weight gain, lesser weight to lose ma. 12-15kg is the ideal healthy weight to gain during pregnancy. I gained 13kg in total during my last pregnancy and it didn't take me long to return to my pre-preggy weight. Aim for bf (breastfreed) as long as possible coz it's the most effective, natural and fast way to lose weight! I didn't do any exercise or go on diet, also never spend a single cent on expensive slimming programme to slim down. I just solely depend on bf to lose weight. Moreover, it is good for bb to drink bm and it saves me really a lot to buy fm. Best of all, I still can snack n eat anything and anytime I want, no need scare put on weight! Good right? ;)

Totally agreed with u, Kidomum! I also enjoy resting on sofa using iPhone or read a book!