(2012/10) Oct 2012

<font color="0077aa">serene</font>
Yup, there's a lot to consider. I'm not sure if I can go out carrying so many things on my own. I guess when the time comes, we should be able to get used to it hahah.

<font color="0077aa">ccharis</font>
Golf is bigger I think hahahaha.
Anyway, good luck for the blood test! *hugs* Let's focus on strollers and car seats.

<font color="0077aa">Devilene</font>
Which model are you using from Maclaren.
Do they have those stroller cum car seats kind?

<font color="0077aa">Melody</font>
Thanks for the detailed analysis for stokke. I'm so tempted to get it now!
Do you still recall how much does your stokke costs? I suppose it's more expensive now, but at least I can set a budget haha.

<font color="0077aa">ming</font>
I wish I can go for babymoon too. But I think I will pass this time. hahahah.

ming: woah 1-2nd week sep ah, u v brave leh, I thought not advisable to travel on last tri cos scared baby wanna come out earlier? Maybe I wil c u in the news if u give birth on the plane? hiaks hiaks

Serene: huh....orh so for u hubby is the baddie lah, for me hubby cant bear to spank leh, spank also not pain. I asked her,"When Daddy spank u, is it pain?" She said "Noooooo"

High chairs hor v scary one u know even at atas restaurants some of them can look spoilt n dirty... yah i paranoid, we detol and clean a few times but still feel v dirty

leeling: I call over the phone, then like what i hear, meet up then confirm

sharon: hmm seems like most OCt 2012 mums wan boys get girls, wan girls get boys... hehe ;) The parties we had for #1 never lose money leh, both times we expected to make a loss but hubby say nmind as long as it is a happy gathering for everyone but both times we earn leh, not counting gold n presents we already make back in pure cash. Think we have v generous frens. hehe

Reineluv, if u are planning for more babies in the future can consider lah cos stokke v hardy and can still fetch quite gd value on second handed market. I think its abt 2K plus, maybe closer to 2.1k? The newer model since 2011 have more colours to choose from n look a tad different. Mine was bought in 2009, dun say u ah, i also v tempted to get the new model andsell away my old one. Hubby say ok but i tell meself i must b automatic lah cannot spend like this mah, just change becos of looks when the one i have still functions perfectly. So i m curbing the temptation loh....

<font color="0000ff">ccharis:</font> <font color="aa00aa">IC.. Could be a cause too.. But I dun slp in aircon rm.. So yest was the 1st time hving cramps..</font>

<font color="0000ff">ming8110:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Cramps are v common in pregnancy.. My sis say will be worse during 3rd trim.. </font>

Melody,

So ur CL is recommended fr forum?

I called a few but all fully book... So scare can't find.

Wat do u ask her? N is their rate 2.3k normal?

Melody: No. If we go for babymoon it will be in June/ July. I am planning to clear leave from 2nd week of Sept onwards. Gives me a couple of weeks to spend with no. 1 before she has to share mummy with her sibling.

Rae2: I am paying $2.3k for my CL. Seems like that is the going rate this year.

<font color="0000ff">Rae2:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I'm paying 2.1k for my CL.. Maybe cos I cfm her last mth before the rise the price..</font>

ccharis,
Don't worry. I believe our babies are fighter to make it so far. Everything will be fine

Melody,
Your hubby is so enthusiastic, which is very rare for guys. Kudos to him! My hubby usually not very participative about such thing. Planning for #1 full month, birthday party is always my job :p

Afternoon Mummies

Wow.. you all also very active today.

Melody, 165pax for your #1 birthday. Wow.. where did you hold it? Like mini wedding already.

Mummywong10, Im just curious, is it the CL rate more expensive to get them to HK?

Rae2, I also called up afew and they are all booked for Oct. Finally got 1, but her assignment before me is 12-Sep. Ermm.. not so ideal cause we might clash as my EDD is 10-Oct and I think I will surely be early as I should be doing c-sec like my #1. The CL don't want to commit to me, but I think she's quite good as she's recommended by my massage lady. Im also scared cannot find good one, so I told her I want her. I got a feeling the assignment before me will be early cause also #2 for her. Further more, I think after my hospital stay, maybe the most most, I will be 1 week without her, if that mummy before me is really going to labour on her 40th week. So I decided on her, don't want to go through the hassle of trying to look for another one.

The questions I asked was.. what does she do, like cook? take care baby? clean the house? For cook, does she cook breakfast and supper? Cause some lazy ones, only cook lunch and dinner, then breakfast ask the mum to eat bread/biscuit. Then does she know how to cook confinement dishes.. and if she only cook for mummy or can cook for hb/family. Then cleaning, some CL don't clean the house. So I asked what about after cooking, the mess etc.. then take care of baby, is she pro-bfing? Night feeds? Handwash bb clothes? And for the diaper, if you intend to use cloth, better ask her first. Then mummy's hygiene, whether she boiled those herbal water for me to bath etc. And how many days will she stay, some is 28days, some is 30days. And whether need work permit and deposit.

CL very ex hor...

Some when u ask them quest they will say no need ask me all these they will noe wat to do...

Haiz.. Cannot ask meh...

Btw 28 days confinement should start fr the day we come back fr hospital right?

<font color="0000ff">Rae2:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Yup.. Start on the day u discharge.. So when you on the way to labour.. Must rem to call n inform yr CL.. So she can prepare to come over on the day of discharge.. Oso better to call n tell her again e day before too..</font>

Rae2, We will called the CL once I delivered and she will prepare to come over, once we get green light from the doc on our discharge date. So one of the questions that I asked was also, if her place is at JB or further like Sabah where they need to take a plane out.

Raspy

Ops din ask abt cooking leh... So not all will cook 3 meals.. Scare ask too much questions the cl will tl.. I did ask one on bf.. How she handle.. Then she say no need to ask these kind they know wat to do.. I was like ............

So also not all will wash after cook.. Hmm..lazy...

Merideth: No lah hubby just enthu. The research n booking and liasing all i do one. He working mah

Rae: Yah got from forum but still depends on luck lah my last one recommended by fren also v horrible. Hygiene v impt for me n hubby so i focus on that. I prefer the strict confinement style so i asked her what can i eat, can i eat all types of fruits or certain type. my #1 CL hor even use mushroom oyster cook for me, when my mum found out almost fainted cos not suppose to take mushrooms mah. I also heard stories abt CL taking fixed time afternoon naps then even if bb cry also dun care so i make sure that she can sleep in afternoon but must follow baby's sleeping patterns. I paid 2.3k for this one same as my #1. Now i c all u guys say ang bao dun need so much i feel i gave too much. Cos i m not pleased with my #1 CL and i still gave her 68 as parting ang bao

ming: oic, so where r u thinking of going?

raspy: our wedding we had 1000 guests hehhee... so 165 pax quite far from it , definitely we could handle ;)

The 28 days is counted from the day she come to your place. I remembered for my #1, I stayed for 4days in the hospital. So her 28th day is past my bb's 1st month. I still remember her saying, she usually left before the bb's first month cause I stayed longer at the hospital compared to her other customers.

Melody, My #1 CL was from forum and she's not good. So this time round, I was abit sceptical over those recommendation in the forum. Waa.. you not happy with her still give $68, should have given her half only. Confinement cannot take mushroom? I didnt know also.

Actually. During confinement, wat kind of food we can or cannot eat incase the cl anyhow cook?

The cl I called is basically recommend by another cl fr their fren or fren fren

Rae: If i ask the CL questions she say no need to ask i wun engage her one leh cos i feel that she is taking away ur rights to know as an "employer" what she can offer. whatever she does, whatever she cooks for u affects ur body n the child directly (if anything wrong in the future, u will suffer, not her) and watever attitude she has shown will b in ur house, ur place of solace n rest. So if the CL i interview give me attitude like this i wun go ahead

Raspy : yah lah i stupid mah dunnoe the rates loh so hubby gave on a hunch. I should know better than to trust hubs. he is sometimes over generous but i left it to him cos i also v tired physically during confinement

Yah loh must b involved abt what they give u u noe, i learnt that. Also i took a glimpse at some of the online recipes posted here on the thread, i remember 1 of them calls for dried scallops. I think that is also a no no cos seafood v poisonous one for confinement times leh... so for those doing confinement urself must still b vigilant dun trust the online websites wholesale

May, I will check the number of post from the person who recommend and whether any follow-up post from others on that same CL. I heard that there are some CL who tell their child to come here to post to misled us mummies and get business.

Melody, Yah.. no seafood. And my mum also said, if possible try to avoid chicken for first week, cause of our wound (esp. for c-sec). My hb opposite from yours, he asked me why must give Angbao since we already paying her so much. Actually I also stupid, cause I think she's not good, but I also gave her $68 for the parting Angbao (hb want to give lesser, cause he don't like her also, but I still insist on this amount, so he give in to me). Think Im under some post-natal thing, cannot think properly, cause she like to chat with me about her family (very pitiful kind of stories), then say things like she still go back to her customers after she finish her job to help them if they got problem etc.. Only after few months, then I realised, why I so stupid.

Darling rae, i feel that a bad CL u might as well dun have 1. The purpose of confinement is so that ur body gets protected n renourished. If she anyhow give u food then = wasted loh. At the same time if she feels that she got more bargaining power than u, she will take that and more. Ur emotional well being will b affected if u feel that u r not in control of urself, ur environment n ur baby. Ur worries are not answered when u have queries.

She has no qualms to shut u up now even when she wants the assignment, when she has the job on ur confinement days, the more she will heck care abt ur concerns and what u say n do things her way. Dun forget, in ur house, u are the master, the leader, the mother of ur child. The CL is just an advisor and the ultimate power still lies in ur hands. Please dun give that up if not u will suffer emotionally, mentally and even physically if u leave her to her own vice n she does not take care of u well... thats just how i feel

raspy> Depends on CL, i checked a few CL before deciding my previous one. Some (not so experience/no referral) quote me same price as SG, $2k, then the one which i employed used by my friend before quote me $2.5k ($500 more to come HK) and of cos in additional I pay for the air tickets. I didnt want to take a risk to get the cheaper one. Then also cos I checked HK CL, it seems not so common here, and they charged like around $4k (9-6pm) which I think I pay $2.5k+$500 airtic is much cheaper than employing a 9-6pm CL in HK..

Stroller> another high chair type is Quinny Buzz, i think slightly cheaper than Stokke? http://www.quinny.com/ot-en/products/strollers/buzz-3

Melody> wow u have 100 tables for your wedding! Both u &amp; hubby must have many friends &amp; relatives, where did u hold yr wedding? I know not many places can hold more than 35tables, and yrs is 100 tables!

May, Yah, there are some really not-so-nice CL around. My #1 CL was also highly recommended in the forum. I was lucky in a way, im only the 4th or 5th mummy before she got very very popular. So she still don't dare to do very funny stuff at my side. But at my place, she's always on her phone in the noon. And because of the raves from the net, she accepted alot of assignments, some even overlap each other timing. She told me that she had pre-warn the mummies that if she cant make it, she will ask her 'friend' to help her. Actually she already pre-plan and contacted her friend to 'take-over' and she take commission from them. She also tell alot of lies to me, like initially when I admitted to hospital, she said, she just finish her assignment and they even wanted to extend her. But when my hb went to apply the work permit for her, he realised, her work permit for the previous mummy is still on-going, so we asked her. Then she said, actually she didnt finish the full 28days for the previous mummy cause her hb want to save, so ask her if can do 2weeks only, so she agreed. Then my hb asked her to call her previous mummy to cancel that workpermit, else we cant apply. Then she kept refusing, end up, we only can apply after that permit in the system expired. So hb suspect she's not very honest. Then afew other incidents, also show that her words don't tally. And she very afraid of my hb, maybe she can see that my hb is sharper than me.

Later, through some conversation, then I learnt that she was very grateful to the 1st mummy who introduced her on the forum and she even went back and bought toys/milk powder etc for that mummy. Then she kept asking me, if I can write afew good words for her at the forum. I almost wanted to, but didnt, cause I got a hunch that she's not good. But yet, during that time, I was also kinda affected by her after talking to her daily, like still think she's quite good. Maybe post-natal, cannot think properly.

<font color="0000ff">raspy:</font> <font color="aa00aa">This is bad.. I heard afew cases on bad CL.. Just pray n hope tt I will not kena such.. </font>

mummywong: yah i have few frens in HK know that CL there not common n v ex n very often not as good as those in SG/ Malaysia, not as knowledgeable

Yup 100 plus tables we held at the Swissotel the Stamford and opened up 3 ballrooms. The Shangrila can hold 100 tables but 20 (if i re correctly) have to sit outside and watch tv screen to see happenings in the ballroom, me n hubby think very horrible n rude to put anyone outside the ballroom so it was out, another one is Ritz carlton but can only barely squeeze in 100 so if we have more frens to invite last minute, we cant, so we didnt use Ritz in the end too

Raspy: Just saw ur qn abt my #1 birthday. We took Amara hotel and booked the whole of Elements restaurant and the restaurant beside it and had a buffet celebration there. All the cakes had "Happy birthday Aurora" on it and they were all so pretty so my baby had an endless supply of bd cake that afternoon. hehe

Rae, have u tried to look for the confinement lady under the Thomson CL arm? Wong Boi Bou attempted to help me look for 1 to replace my horrible 1 during my #1 but I was already 2 weeks into confinement and i also dunnoe if new one gd or bad so i decide to tolerate thru the old one in the end but i interviewed a few in Thomson itself. I think they have a list of CLs there leh.. also some CL agencies also have for u to interview....PEM is 1 of them if i re correctly. U see a few more so u have more candidates to choose from loh

Mummywong: I dun think Quinny Buzz can double up as high chair leh, quite a few of my frens have them. But the buzz collaspe a lot easier than stokke, just a click of button or something (if i remmeber the demo correctly)

Mummywong, Wow.. didnt know HK CL are so expensive. Even cheaper to fly SG/Msia CL in.

Melody, Thats nice, all the cakes with her name on it. For your case, 165pax is really consider small case, if looking at your 1000pax wedding. Hee.. I dread organising such things, so my #1 birthday, we only had a nice cosy dinner with immediate family.

May, Don't worry. There's some very good ones too. Since already engaged, then don't think about it. Like what Melody mentioned, just be careful when doing our confinement, cannot everything also listen to them. This is what I learnt from my #1 time.

Melody> oh Quinny cant double up as high chair ah, opps sorry wrong info from me then..i never really go and check out. but i only noticed Quinny and Stokke are the 2 "bulky" ang mo looking strollers.

raspy> ya HK CL not so common i think, they dont stay in also..i ever saw on HK news some got from China (especially Dragon year) but i dont have such contact &amp; not reliable also so i didnt try to look for China one.

Melody> oh u must have book way way early or not on a very hot date else quite difficult to get all 3 ballrooms at same time? did u lugi for 100 tables there?

mummywong: hehe why u so interested in my wedding details, u married already leh ;) We booked a year in advance. It was on a gd date on saturday. Money wise i dunnoe, after the wedding we were so tired my FIL chased us to go rest, when we wake up in the morning, he already settled all the bills and then we took off to europe for honeymoon on the same day. Very irresponsible hor ;)

Rae: Maybe a bit late they going home so not v prompt at email. Maybe u can try call their hotline or something tom? I m quite sure they have CL contacts there cos I interviewed 2/3 in 2009 thru wong boi , now should be even more established already i guess

Melody: My hubby wants to go to a beach resort although I will be looking like a beached whale by the time we go
Maldives would have been nice but we think the political situation there is unstable. Likewise in Bali. We used to visit Bali every year but feeling somewhat uneasy now since they just caught yet another bunch of would-be bombers in Bali a short while ago. The world seems to have become a much less safe place compared to when we were kids.

HK CL: They call them pui yuet (cantonese) over in HK and I think majority of the CL in HK these days are from China (or at least that is what my HK friends say). I think unlike the Singapore CL who sometimes help out with the housework, the HK ones strictly concentrate on the mother and baby. I am not sure about the rates though but I imagine they must be alot higher than Singapore given that helpers in HK earn an average of S$700 and up each month. They also get a minimum of 14 days annual leave year and every sunday and public holiday off. No wonder so many of the Singapore helpers want to move to HK.

I know people who are from other races or even expats who also hire CL in Singapore when I used to think only Chinese hire CL.

<font color="0000ff">raspy:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Yup.. Just hope tt I am not tt unlucky bah.. Haha..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Today e leg tt cramp on wed morning.. Think muscle ache lao.. Walk oso painful..

<font color="red">May</font>:<font color="blue">When i'm pregnant with my #1, i always had lignment cramps &amp; pain on one side of my thigh, my mom &amp; gynae advised it might be our lil one lying on our nerves that causes it to be aching .. &amp; my mom mentioned that when she's preg with me i gave her the exactly same problem! Lying on her lignment nerves causing her pain &amp; cramps that results her in walking uncomfortably.. hehe</font>

Hi melody - if u need more info on Hk cl, let me know, I can ask my hubby's family (he is hkie n I worked in Hk 2 years ago)

Hi all - happy thurs !!!! Its d weekend soon n next week only 4 workdays :) anyone having mood swings more than before ? I find myself less patient n dunno if that's due to my pregn... I also Walk slowly cos dunno want to trip (I v loong zwen one) n tired- yest a male colleague walked behind me n exclaimed aiyo u ok a not, why u walk until so slow!!! I kept laughing !!' my bump not noticeable as I wear empire like dresses , n also v v slim

<font color="0000ff">Sksf:</font> <font color="aa00aa">So far I only occasionally will feel tummy achy or funny and lower backache.. No pain on thigh.. Maybe this cramp strain my calf muscle.. Tts y v painful today.. Lucky still can drive.. Dun think will be able to drive in 3rd trim onwards lao..</font>

<font color="red">May</font>:<font color="blue">Hahaha, i've butt cramps now whenever i sit on an area for too long, will cause me to keep switching or moving around to find a more comfortable placing on the seat. If can't find, will get very irritated &amp; frustrated
Cause so uncomfortable.</font>

<font color="0000ff">Sksf:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Wow.. Tts bad.. Keep moving like a little gal who can't sit still.. Haha..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Think by now all our tummies are quite obvious lao rite.. Mine started to show in my normal clothing abt 2 wks ago.. But some ppl will still mistake mine as fat tummy instead.. Haha.. So if I am on MRT.. Ppl will look at my tummy but will not give up their seat for me

<font color="red">May</font>:<font color="blue">Exactly, so irritating. In my husband's car also like that, &amp; i'll kept complaining.. lol. Tummy was very obvious in tri1. But somehow when i hit Tri2 idk why i felt like it became smaller liao?? Hahahaha.</font>

Just won this Baby Swimming Tub and Neck Float from a lucky draw.

Retail at $80+, letting go at $45 only. It is brand new but some stain on the support due to their warehouse storage.

Suitable for babies upto 1 year of age.

PM or emial me at [email protected]
attachment_icon.gif
Swimming Tub and Neck Float
Swimming Tub and Neck Float.docx (18.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

HK CL: i think Melody is not looking for HK CL, is me who's staying in HK happened to talk about CL so Melody is sharing..but for this time I'm not hiring CL. I hired over to HK for #1. Sorry for confusion.

<font color="0000ff">Sksf:</font> <font color="aa00aa">If it happen to me.. My hubby sure say me itchy butt izit.. haha.. I think yr tummy looks smaller cos it is harder n firmer in trim 2 dan 1.. In trim 1, I can still feel my tummy fats.. Now in trim 2 as the tummy grows bigger.. I touch it form n hard.. And also maybe most of the food we ate goes to bb.. Tts y lesser fats to accumulate in our tummy.. Haha..

My frend ask me not to rub my tummy too much when she see me touching my tummy more often nowadays.. As it will cause early contraction in later stage.. So must stop myself fm feeling my bb too much..</font>