(2012/10) Oct 2012

Starrymummy and Ming8110, Im ok with the fish oil gel but the MTV is bad. I hate its smell when I got 'gas' from the throat after eating it.

Ming8110, I also hope I can get the same room that I had previously. Mine's from Mt A. But I think it depends on the availability of the room on that day. The 'booking' form is only sort-of for us to indicate our 'preference'. I remember that day I got admitted, its quite packed. At the labour room, the nurses told me that all the single-room are full, only left with twin-bedded. Even twin-bedded, its only 1 bed-space left, meaning I cant have the whole room, I need to share with another mummy. I got no choice. Only the next day, they came to me and said, 1 mummy discharged from a Single-room and whether I want to take it, then I managed to swap to the Single-room. My hb got to go back on the 1st night cause no stay-in for hb if not single-bedded. Heng, its 1st night, cause I was too exhausted and hardly got time to rest with the frequent bfing.

Ccharis: U r so funny. U aiming for boy boy ya? Gd luck!

Ming8110: Umm I don't remember booking a room when I delivered my no1. Hw u knw when u will actually give birth unless c-sect then got a more confirm date right ?

<font color="0000ff">Mom of 3 Monsters</font> - Thanks for the headsup!

<font color="0000ff">Skinney</font> - I agree the 'worse' part too, but I think my fear on that aspect would come from Grandparents, hahahah! I've also seen &amp; felt bad for the toddler &amp; helper in some instance whereby the grandparents say no to the maid, but the grandparents themselves would do it, like double standards? That is also gonna be confusing for the poor kid (and the maid).

<font color="0000ff">Ming8110</font> - I asked my gynae on last visit, she said 6th month can start booking already. Btw how to book exact room? I thought we can only choose the category?

<font color="0000ff">Vankel</font> - Yup, hehe! In fact, HB &amp; the entire family is side-betting for a boy. Abit stress leh, so hoping for a big KKJ just so to be undeniable, hahahah! I even ask HB what if it's a girl (cause all the while he only think of boy activities, boy name, boy this and that) then he sigh and went speechless...

Now I sigh!!!

<font color="0000ff">Jo</font> - I dunno yet, praying for Big KKJ.
It takes time for God to form de mah, so start calling forth a boy first loh...

I read a lot is seeing dr at TMC. so have u started the gynae package yet?

Jo: I eat saba fish moderately. Once every week or two weeks. But the 1st semester I take saba, I feel a bit bloated especially when burb... But cant take half boiled egg. Confirm diarrhea the next day.

I m from June 2012 Mtb.
Anyone interested in sharing the bundle for the capella stroller n car seat from the metro baby sale? I already have a car seat n I only want to buy the stroller only.

ccharis: hahaha u wan a boy arH? lol... what is KKJ? lol.. full word though it sounds like u wan a boy haha..

Chapa chic. what!!! so fast? how u book share with me whahhaa..

Shirley: ahhhh can arh? oooo i wanna eat leh.. but i duno can eat anot so i nv eat? eel leh? i wanna eat pepper lunch unagi...

<font color="0077aa">mini22</font>
Oh no, so what happened to your puke ah?
Cos just now I was on the train, sitting down, but I felt like fainting and then felt like going to puke. I was so worried I would puke, I think I swallowed it back in.

<font color="0077aa">ccharis</font>
I told my mum, she said I have backaches cos I just lie on my sofa, plus my back posture. Last night I walked a fair bit, seems to be ok today le. I think I really need to walk more often instead of being tua pek gong. Haha.

<font color="0077aa">Jo</font>
The last time I had saba fish, I burped so much, reminded me of excessive fish oil! Yucks.

<font color="0077aa">Chapa</font>
How do you book your room with Mt A ah?

u know,
when we made our payment for antenatal package,
the nurse also helped us to "reserve" a room

i think its for resource allocation purpose only for our case.

since EDD is expected only.
not actual.

The 'room' booking is actually pre-registration with the hospital. For Mt A, can get the form from the reception counter. Its not really 'booking' of the room. Its more pre-registration, so that when you go into delivery, they got your details in the system already. They don't reserve any room for us cause our delivery dates are not firm.

<font color="0000ff">Shirley:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Welcome!!!!</font>

<font color="0000ff">SnU:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ya.. The test only tell you the risk factor.. But at least of low risk will feel more secure.. </font>

<font color="0000ff">raspy:</font> <font color="aa00aa">So far I only know OPI polish are safe for preggy mums to use..</font>

<font color="0000ff">ccharis:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ic.. Hope tt my diarrhea in 2nt T is due to body adjusting to the mtv.. Today no diarrhea but no poo oso.. haha..</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Dear all.. Yest I squatted in office for abt 10min.. Dan stands up tummy abt pain... Dan nite time oso abit uncomfy.. Just now before lunch.. Tummy abit uncomfy.. Neither pain nor cramp.. Duno how to say.. Hope tt it is not cause by e squatting tt I hurt my little one.. </font>

May: I seldom paint my nails. So no worries for me. Just thought of sharing the article.

For the 'pain', is it feel like some gas bumping around in your stomach? During my #1 time, I had a hard time when I first started my MTV. My stomach felt very uncomfortable and infact abit pain at some parts for a small moment at times. Then we realised that its the MTV pills that is causing my discomfort. My body don't react well to them, got constipation and cause the gas in my body to be 'trap', cant escape. Then my gynae changed my pills to another type of MTV, and I got well. You try to monitor if there's any more discomfort.

<font color="0000ff">raspy:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I dun think is gas.. It is abit like crampy pain.. But mild type.. Mostly when I walk/move ard dan will feel it.. If I sit still wnt feel it..</font>

ask u all ar.

wats 20weeks detailed scan?

is there some kind of 3D scans around ?
to be done week wat ar?

pai seh, leeching on you all's info.

reineluv: really? arh.. eeeeee hahahah eat other fish? salmon? good for u...

May: den is like the same as OScar for detail checking on 20 week? correct me if wrong?

raspy: ahhh so chim.. den what is the point of registering since cannot book?

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Oscar the internal organs anot form yet mah.. I am not very sure too.. haha..</font>

SnU, My previous detailed scan is done at 20th week. The scanning is like the oscar, they just use the normal u/s machine. For 3D scans, most of the places need to pay for it. But I heard some 'high class' gynae, their machines are already 3D type, so they just use the 3D to do the detail scan.

May, I see. Then maybe its uterus expanding. Try to monitor, anything, call the clinic to check.

Joanna, I think for the hospital side, they just want to speed up the process of registration. For my #1, we also did the pre-registration. So when I admit with my doc letter, they had all my info in their system already. But sad to say, the room is still subject to availability. Because unlike hotel booking, we will surely go on that day. But for delivery, no one can be sure which date, so the hospital won't set aside the room for us.

<font color="0000ff">raspy:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Hope so is uterus expanding.. Than I better start using my stretch cream too.. My sis told me most pro my bb will measure abt 10cm e next appt which is 2 wks away.. So if uterus expanding.. Meaning bb growing n need more space.. Can only think this way to comfort myself..</font>

<font color="0077aa">May</font>
Maybe you moved to fast. Sometimes I get sharp pains when I turn to fast or something. Don't think so much.
Forgot to ask you, the oscar scan Dr Chua did is using the same machine or a different machine? Sorry ah, cos I didn't opt for Oscar so I wasn't sure haha. I find her machine sometimes not clear one leh.

<font color="0077aa">chapa</font>
Cool, means maybe next visit I can make reservation. Actually I'm not even sure if I'm going Mt A. I think my gynae has an alternative hospital, need to check haha.

<font color="0077aa">Jo</font>
Yah, salmon is good hahah.

<font color="0000ff">reineluv:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Using the same machine.. Only tt it is not like my 1st scan.. she only measure e length.. For Oscar, she shake my tummy to get bb into position so as she can take some other measurements and the neck thickness of bb.. See fm the monitor ok.. But the photo printed out for e bb in e Oscar abit blur..</font>

raspy: ahhh like this arh? means is not booked mah.. is just a registration that u will wanna give birth in mount A tat's all

Chapa chic: u mean u manage to book the room u wan?

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Some ppl opt not to do the Oscar test.. Some ppl will do as they wana knw bb is high or low risk for dwn syndrome.. As some ppl maybe wana terminate the pregnancy if result is cfm high after maybe 2 or 3 other opinions.. So it all depends on individual.. For me I wana play safe as I only intend to hv 1 and I took so long to conceive too.. </font>

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ya.. Not 100% but at least wnt keep thinking abt it lo.. For my case.. And I think there is a difference in both scan bah.. I not sure.. Hv to wait till next mth I do my detail scan dan knw.. haha</font>

Booking of rooms - Am looking to book again the premier ward at the 6th floor of TMC so it is possible to specify which room I want (they only have 5 rooms anyway). I really liked the nurses there as they have a dedicated team of nurses just for those 5 rooms so you get familiar with the nurses looking after you and baby.

I know for certain hospitals like Mt E, they only have one or two suites so important to book early if you want one of those. My gf delivered at Mt A and I think at that time the rooms in one of the wings were upgraded but not others. So should check out and see.

My company insurance covers the bulk of the bill(fortunately) so I am more concerned about a comfy stay
TMC has hospital tours so you can sign up for one and inspect the rooms before deciding.

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ya.. Oscar still hv the blood test to see blood count, HIV, blood grp, etc</font>

Joanna, If Im not wrong, Oscar is more for checking down sydrome. They are more interested to scan the liquid at the back of the neck as well as the nose bone. Then they worked out the estimate with the blood test. While for detailed scan, its more for checking the development of major organs, like the heart, kidney etc. Hole in the heart or some organs deficiency etc.. Some also check for cleft lips etc.

Joanna, they told us during ward tour that we can register for our preferred room but that also depend on the room availability on that day. Mine is scheduled caesaran so my date is confirm.

Reine, maybe u can find out from yr gynae first before doing the registration.

walao ytd i vomit in train...soooo many ppl...during peak hour...somemore so many ppl ard mi...they saw mi puke..but they continue talking like im transparent... =(

Joanne: ppl nowadays are like tat...pretend cannot see...i cannot eat sweet to stop the vomitting too..

reineluv: i cant control the feeling...cannot swallow back...

Mini, These ppl are really cold blooded, no one went up to you to show any concern?
Rem to bring a plastic bag with you.

Joanna, caesarean. C section adomnial delivery not natural birth.

hi mummies, how is everyone?

i haven't been in here for a long time due to my bad bad morning sickness. these couple of days then got better. hope morning sickness will be completely gone soon! im done with my oscar and can see baby's penis already! another baby boy for me....

Hi may - do u know how pple get 2nd and 3rd opinion after oscar ?

All - can we take curry with coconut milk cooked with it ? How abt spicy food like Tom yam and kimchi ? I hv Korean food craving n mum n Hubby say can't eat !!

Hi all, haven't logged in for quite awhile cos I've been nursing a flu and cough. I seem to be taking quite a long time to recover this time round, not sure if it's due to a lowered immune system during pregnancy or what. But for your info, please DON'T try to self-medicate. Always go to a GP if you've fallen ill cos they'll be able to prescribe drugs that will be safe for expecting mothers. Anyway, better take care of yourselves, ladies. Flu + pregnancy symptoms = not fun.

By the way, wanted to share a preliminary review of the Clarins Stretch Mark Control cream. Can't tell you for sure if it will PREVENT stretchmarks cos I've only been using it for a week but the usage experience has been pretty good thusfar. Ran to get it cos I felt abit of stretching around the sides of my pelvic bones and my lower back already.

It's quite rich consistency-wise but but goes on quite light and smooth over my skin. I've been asked to use it just after towelling off from my shower but it still absorbs pretty well. No oily streaks after application. Just don't use too much lah, a hazelnut-sized blob is enough for the belly and lower back area. Just dispense a little more if you want to use it over your boobs or bum.

Retails for 82 bucks for a 200ml tube at the Clarins counter. Can supposedly last 2 months if you use it daily. Dermatologically tested to be safe on pregnant women.

Best thing is, it's fragrance-free!!! I've developed a super severe aversion towards fragrances now so when I went to check out the yellow Clarins oil that some women swear by, I can tell you that the beauty advisor certainly wasn't very amused when I reeled back and started choking.

That's my 2 cents worth!