(2012/10) Oct 2012

Re: BF and pumps
For the suction power between PISA and FS, i think its possibly subjective bah?..cos my boobs not very big (haha!) so even when i used FS, i felt the power was damn strong. I pumped only at level 4 all the time..highest is level 8-which is too strong for me liao...i know PISA's is even stronger which is good if mummies want powerful suction

For manual breastpump, i vote for Avent! Best contours for the boobs to express in the fastest time!.

I think for me rite, cos of work and all..time to me is everything. So i chose the pumps that allowed me to execute my BF endeavours with minimal interruptions to my daily schedule.
One time, i was out with my (female) colleagues for lunch and then my boobs started leaking and i was like "urgh, i need to pump now!". But then no nursing room nearby, so what i did was cover myself with shawl and express there and then wahahaha. I think i could only do this because the FS is small and discreet cos of the handsfree plus not noisy!

Joanna, its ok if you opt not to do Oscar like what starrymummy says - my gynae always tell me its personal preference

I think the other compulsory test that u are referring to is the Detailed Scan at 20weeks. It checks for baby's organs etc - this is with a view to be (medically) prepared upon delivery should there be any issues - but usually everything should be fine, dont think so much!

<font color="0000ff">Yen &amp; Njon:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I thgt mine was slowly getting better.. But day MS hit me back 2 days ago.. Today feel uncomfy and bloated all the way.. And climbing the stairs makes me breathless for at least 5mins..

May, my nausea ebbed away sometime around week9. I read that its cause placenta takes over around that time so hormonal activities that's been causing MS starts to decrease too.

But of course i tell my hubby i still have nausea all the time khkekhke. So i get to rest and sleep w/o guilt while he takes over the other tasks at home and dealing with my #1 hehe

<font color="0000ff">Autumn:</font> <font color="aa00aa">You are so lucky.. My MS starts to get stronger fm wk 7 onwards till wk 11.. Now slide better lao.. But still feel nausea, vomit n bloated at times.. Appetite still no gd too.. As my hubby witness how xin ku I am.. He will auto do all the task at home.

May: i think as the weeks increase it seems worst for MS =(

Autumn: long time nv see u le...thanks babe.. i guess have to discuss with hubby on the OScar see what he says before i decide.. sign.. so u taking oscar? or u also passing?

Tiffany Nip: u so cute =) gong xi too

OT: can i ask u all if there is food from customers from jap will u all eat?

i have alot of junk food on my table try some le.. but now thinking safe to eat?

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ya lo.. Seems like getting worse as the wks pass.. Hope mine will chg for better next wk on.. As I am gg wk12 next wk.. Cross my fingers..</font>

I'm oso thinking whether to get FS or PIS and when to get it (b4 or after delivery)... What's the general price now for these 2 pumps?

Joanna/May: for my previous pregnancies, my MS only subsided ard 15-16 weeks... So I guess we'll hv to "suffer" for a little while more... But I've oso heard some mommies getting better ard week 12, so all the best

<font color="0000ff">Serene:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Thanks for sharing.. Tt means we gona suffer in our early 2nd trim too.. Sad.. I pray tt our MS will subside after wk12..</font>

Joanna, ya past few weeks didnt log in because hit by nausea and feel very down and no mood for anything...things only started to look up early this week. I'm week10 this week...baby will pop in Oct gynae say...no hope for a Nov baby haha

Oscar im doing cos hubby say must be fair...#1 do so this time also must do...altho i think no correlation heeeee

<font color="0000ff">May</font> <font color="ff6000">In general, I do feel my MS is less intense this week. I'm at Week 10, Day 3. The nausea is worse at night and when I gobble down my food too quickly. But generally, seems to affect me less during the day. But I'm still very tired. Can fall asleep at my desk type. And the horrid sourish-bitter taste still on my mouth.

I'm very bloated too! Wearing my maternity jeans today already! But it's the elasticised sides kind from topshop maternity, quite tight still :p</font>

<font color="0000ff">autumn</font> <font color="ff6000">Yeah, im with you on milking the hubby's sympathy all the way. We have only 40 weeks to get out way and already 10 weeks or more down. Darn! Hahaha.</font>

<font color="0000ff">joanna</font> <font color="ff6000">Dont stress over the Oscar. Have a chat with hubby. And if still cant decide then talk to gynae about it.

And no, I will avoid all food from Japan. The radiation issue is very real. I've heard of more than three verified cases of couples who come back from their Japan holiday and been told they shouldn't conceive for 5 years cos the radiation level is harmful for bb. So sad.</font>

I'm 13 weeks and still having nausea on and off. Now I'm really praying to get better next week!

<font color="0077aa">Joanna</font>
I try to avoid food made from Japan too. Apparently, they do have very minimal radiation levels and radiation can accumulate in your body for years. So better to be safe.

<font color="0000ff">Starry:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I am suppose to be in wk11 day4 lao.. Nausea will hit evening time and somex after lunch... I also still hv e horrid sourish-bitter taste in my mouth too.. Esp on the tongue.. If I clean my tongue at nite.. High chance will vomit my dinner out.. So I can only clean in the morning.. Which will less likely trigger me to vomit.. After cleaning the tongue the taste will be gone.. But once I drink / eat somethg e taste will be thr again..</font>

May,
I bring my tougue cleaner all the time. Every meal/drink, I will clean my tougue. If not, I will feel horrible.

Breathless breathless breathless....sitting also breathless. So sleepy, hope can go bck now

reineluv/starry mummy: sob sob i already ate alot leh since i join this company.. now i gave away 4 to 6 packets of goodies

die duno will it affect my baby anot?

starry mummy: i think gyane will advise us to take lor.. standard de..

Autumn: hahaha damm funny u die die wan nov.. can i exchange with u.. me either end of oct or 2nd nov..

May: correct lor.. wah 12 weeks so fast super envy...1st trimester finish soon.. haizz i hate the feeling of fan wei and every day au au au.. even damm hungry also will suddenly fan wei..

<font color="0000ff">Starry:</font> <font color="aa00aa">I still wearing my usual top n bottoms.. My tummy start to grow bigger since last wkend.. So now quite obvious lao.. Cos I wear sweater in office so dun think anyone noticed my tummy yet.. As for bottom I bought the belly belt.. Maybe will start using it next wk as bottoms getting tighter lao..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Yen:</font> <font color="aa00aa">At least u can clean yr tongue.. I can't clean after meals.. Clean = vomit.. Got once I clean after dinner n vomit straight after touching the tongue into the sink..</font>

<font color="0000ff">Joanna:</font> <font color="aa00aa">Ya.. Gg got the Oscar test(I think) next wed.. But gg wk12 still hv MS.. So I think as Serene said.. Most pro I hv to suffer till wk 15-16 or more..

<font color="ff1493"> Anyone has went through Amniocentsis in your 1st pregnancy? If yes, Do you still remember the cost? Went through the test without going on anesthesia?</font>

Yah the recent kidnapping attempts cases quite scary... I was initially thinking of gg to Genting ard June but now, my sis keeps saying better dun go... Only me and hubby wif 3 kids, pregnant somemore... So now reconsidering again... Sigh...

hello weekend! already planned to go ECP tmr to cycle (for my boy). hehe.. i think better not to cycle during pregnancy

so happy to see baby during OSCAR today. memories of my pregnancy with #1 came back too

Sigh! Getting abit frustrated with MS.
Wonder when will it go away?!?!?

Btw, during Oscar test scan, will they disclose the gender?

Hi charris - thinking abt u n ur oscar test today my twin! Hope everything went well ! Saw ur post that ur Bb moved d hand fr face - so cute!! Can see such details !!!

Keiko - b strong n hv faith in our b ! Life creationis a miracle so hold on to that!

My oscar test is tmr , talking to my darling Bb now

Hihi, anyone been sleepless lately? I've been losing lots of sleep recently... Sometimes can only fall asleep ard 2-3am, luckily I'm a SAHM so can wake up late sometimes too... But my dark eye rings are getting darker

Hi mommies, anyone bought extra insurance during pregnancy in case of extra costs incurred? Is there such an insurance? My colleague told me about his friend's wife who delivered two months earlier and the bill nearly came to $100k cos of bb's hospital stay. In the end downgrade ward class for his wife and reduced to $30k. Scary....

Btil
No need full bladder

Slchua
There is something from Prudential u can check it out. From 18 weeks onwards provided preg is natural and no complications eg gd, placenta previa etc. The protection will cover the baby immediately after born. Other medical insurance for baby u can only buy 14 days after baby is discharge and takes abt a mth after to come into effect. If the baby falls ill within this period, e.g if they discover any congenital defects, it will be excluded from coverage.

For other insurance that cOver preg, it has to be purchased one year before u get preg to enjoy the coverage.
That's my understanding last time. U check if there are any changes.

My MS is still bad, if not worse, at week 12. Normally it ranges from 1-3 times but I puked 6times yesterday! Horrible. I told my #1 to to tell my #2 not to make mummy sick and surprisingly, no puking yet.

I am doing triple tests scheduled 23 April. All along I thought both tests are the same. Only difference is the term used.

I've been eating sushi a few times a week cuz of cravings but I skipped those raw fish types. Will this affect my baby? Most of the time after eating sushi, I'd vomit almost immediately so hopefully, this helps to keep baby safe from radiation.

Ladies, how long do you intend to bf this time? I only bf 10 weeks for #1 and I am not sure if I can do it longer this time round.

Hi everyone - I just did my oscar test today (w12 d3), Bb was upright waving hands n kicking , so cute! Then was still for a sec w hand by d head like waving at us! Thrn doc needed Bb in a lying position in order to measure but Bb didn't (I felt guilty cos I talked to Bb all week to give us strong signal of health !). D thing that shocked me is d doc shook d scanner vigorously n pressed hard against my abdomen - I had to ask 'can press so hard one meh?' ... Rather taken aback cos I only dare to stroke my cream gently on d stomach ! I had to take a walk n ret later to scan... I think it's silly but yet is believing that my Bb cAn hear/feel mummy's instruction - I told Bb well done just now, now next got to lie down still for a few min . Bb really did at d 2nd scan !

My Hubby n I are in awe with d experience, it shows that life starts out so positively ! Now I hv to remain strong n positive for d next few days till d test result is out .

What an experience !

Oh charris - I Paid $450+ for oscar plus fa scan (d compulsory scan at wk 20) to d lab. N another small amt for d add'l non-oscar related blood test (those I needed to do at d start)

btil, u could kaypo ask ur clinic for results. i did mmine ystd and the clinic called me at 6+ ystd but i missed the call, so i tried to call back this morn and got the results..

my #1 time the result was out on same day, this time too. perhaps for u will b mon since i guess sat is half day.

hi all!
what's the crl like for the oscar scan?
any mummmies care to share?

had my oscar done today, and waitin for result. *cross fingers*

Hi btil, thanks for sharing your experience. I'm going for mine on mon. I hope my little one would be cooperative like yours too.

Hi devilene, I've just started week 12 but still feeling giddy and nauseous too. I tell myself not to puke during the daytime and it's been successful for the past few days but I still puke in the evenings after dinner.

I also want to join the Facebook group. How to join?

Tamago - crl 60mm at wk12 d3 during my doc visit Today which is same day as oscar.

Strawberry128- I had to do oscar scan 2x in order to measure, but i feel it's ok cos first scan there was lots of movement like Bb showing off ;-)

Devilene - I still puking every night n nausea in d day now at wk 12 since wk 6 thou much better than earlier . N I lost a Kg every 3 weeks for 6 weeks , total 2 Kg loss in first trimester. Got to find ways to eat now cos I originally m under wt

Hi all, I went to the gynae today. No need fast or watsoever for the Oscar test. But juz to find out more...oscar test means to take blood test or scan for foetal development? I am confused and my oscar test will be this wed.

Tamag0 - What do you mean by crl? Mine was 55mm at wk12d1 during Oscar.

Hope everyone's having a good weekend! It's been quite quiet on the forum this weekend.

sing ling yes.. Insure your child before he/she is born. AXA's Mum’s Advantage is a combination of 2 plans, a pre-natal plan (MumCare) and a regular premium investment-linked whole life plan (INSPIRE Flexi2). It is open to all mothers who are 18 to 32 weeks pregnant.

MumCare provides coverage on 5 main benefits
1.Death Benefit for mother
2.Hospital Care Benefit for mother
3.Pregnancy Complications
4.Congenital Illnesses
5.Hospital Care Benefit for child

U can PM me for more info.

Anyone knows if we get pictures fr tmc oscar test ? I didn't get anything on day of test ..

Now my mum n mum in law asking indirectly when can tell relatives and I want ti get oscar test final rEsult to hv a piece of mins bEfore announcing !!! This is definitely training up my patience !!! Praying hard. !!

kanelmo - crl is the crown rump length they measure from the ultrasound to determine how old beanie is~ i got the measurement from the ultrasound at oscar and my measurement is same as Btil!!!! .. the lady said mine is 60mm and im just 12 wks yesterdat. seem kinda big and bit off from my previous 2 ultrasounds done with the gyne. should have tell the gyne dont save the $ and go ahead with the ultrasound when i visited her after the oscar! lol!

Btil - the lady from tmc helping me with the oscar ultrasound, she printed a snapshot for me just before i left the room. but it's more of a generic pic of beanie. not the kind with all the measurements we get from the gyne. cant see the gender thou i saw the rump side. thighs cover everything!