(2012/08) Aug 2012

jljz >>> hahhaa ok i hope i dun burst out laughing! LOL

mommies - how big are your tummy now?? my frd said just 1 week she could tell my tummy grown! LOL. One frd lagi even funnier.. she said how come now afternoon ur tummy bigger than the morning! LOL

For maid, some new non-exp maid is quite blur?. In my in law place, they have this Myanmar maid:-
1. cant cook
2. iron clothes in 2-3 hours
3. Use washing machine, too strong in opening the top cover, end up, cover spoilt, repaired.
4. Use washing machine, pour water into the section in between clothes tank and outer layer, in which the motor located, end up, machine spoilt de (demo and asked her to repeat, she does it correctly, but dunno why, one of the day, she poured water there, may be she is trying to get the clothes cleaned up faster?)
5. BB wanted to pang sai, she'll shout bb wanna pang sai and never bring bb to pang sai and wait for MIL.
6. Ask her wash bb after bb pang sai, she will get bb's whole body wet and she is wet too, dunno if she understand the different between wash and bath.
7. Ask her wipe ceiling fans, or ceiling lamps, she said, too high, she is scare.
8. Ask her carry bb, she said, bb dun want her and she make bb cry and let bb cry so that MIL will take over.
9. Ask her look after bb a while as my MIL need to cook, she leaved bb alone and locked in another bathroom and she went to the next toilet w/o informing, and bb cried and shouted.

Complaint to the agency, but they said, cant change as the probation period is over. Initially, MIL wanted to change maid but they keep on saying give her a chance and my IL soft-hearted and thought after few times of training session, should be fine, but getting worst. As they have paid 1 year wages in advance, they still keep the maid and the contract is 2 years contract.

Sashamama,
=) all the best for your scan too! i'll pray that your bb is growing well despite the lesser space that he/she has... keep each other updated yah!

Re: Maids
for those who are waiting for your maid's arrival or are thinking of getting one, maybe you can start drafting a schedule for your her so that you'll know what are the things that you want her to do on a daily basis. then if she is unsure of the task even after teaching she can come ask u on what she needs to do...

my first maid was being taught by my father and he didn't have a schedule... so the maid become like what my dad ask her to do she do.. nv ask she nv do that kind lor.. this kind needs constant supervision.. damn tiring!

QQ,
wahhhhh.. could totally understand abt ur MIL's maid!!! i find that maid's attitude is very important!!!

my parents also soft hearted!!! said give her chance... okie lah... cos still within a month that she came mah! but the fact that she get scolding from ah gong everyday!? hahaa.. that shows something rite? the common complains that my dad kept repeating are "she doesnt understand" "she does it her own way" this kind of helper ah... either kenna scolding till purposely do it the wrong way or too stubborn to change and do it our ways!

jljz, ya. Each time I meet my IL, i felt I wanna faintz..when look at the maid. Felt like hiring someone to 气死自己. My hb said, this is 自虐. Not my maid, hired by SIL for MIL to look after her bb. Really is luck to get a good maid. Tat maid really look guai guai type lor but never ever thought her attitude is terrible and I think she is really acting blur. May be they are being taught to behave this way in Myanmar b4 sending over?

Joanne: Don't worry too much, sometimes we gotta learn to trust (of cos when it comes to live and death situation like taking care of bb, it's better to err on the cautious side, or else everything else is just materials). What I did is to buy a safe before and places all my valuables inside, i don't keep cash in the house and rest of the stuff are big things like laptop tv, if they ever go missing, I'll notice straight away. And like I mention, set the boundaries, so as long as you tell her what housework she has to do and to have it done by the time you come home, then in the meantime let her be free at what she do. It's just like when we work, we also don't like our boss to keep breathing down our neck until we feel very stressed and no privacy at all. And of course, I believe sometime we also do "eat snake" when boss is not around, so if the maid does want to nap in the afternoon but still manage to finish to finish all the housework then should be still fine. Prob the only thing you are worried is they bring strangers into the house.

I find that in order to have a good working relationship, communication is the key, so if the maid cannot understand your spoken language, it's better to send her to classes. Because when there's good communication, you are able to explain to her why some things cannot be done and the consequences of doing such things (like teaching kids or even other ppl, when told something cannot be done, we all want to know the reason why)

And of course, everyone wants to be encouraged when they did a good job, let alone some jobs like housework which can be so mudane and boring. So from time to time, if she keep up the good work, can give her some small rewards, like buying her lunch instead of her getting to cook herself, or getting her some new clothes, taking her to the hairdresser to get her hair cut, let her call home longer, even let her attend classes out of your own pocket etc (impt: no money rewards), show her that we care for her well being and i believe that the maid will feel it and keep on her good behavior and work.

QQ: I think there might be some communication problem although some maids are just really slow learners (low IQ) and some of these incidents she repeat cos she don't understand the correct way of doing.

jljz: That shows it all boils down to communication problems. The maid just don't understand and therefore harder for them to remember the way we want it done. Although the maid can reply you "yes mdm" to what you say, don't expect her to understand. That's why happen to my maid, every english I say, the best she only understand 50%

joanne - erm dunno wad brand gt frm sim lim ask my contractor to install for me and the got the guy to configure for me including my iphones lor

so far she wakes up ard 6:15am lor and sleeps around 11pm (or i will shoo her to bed then)

mummyr, i am 19 weeks also can't see..

Sherry, good luck, hope bb open legs big big..

Maid, guess it really depends on luck whether u get a good or lousy maid..

I still prefer my privacy, so no. 2 also go infant care... Paid and made my booking liao.. hehehe..

Re: Maid
My maid is alone at home with my number one.. I mean she is not perfect but still ok la
We got a few CCTV.. Started with two that cost us almost 2k but super cmi.. Recently, we got another new set from foscam which is cheap n good.. U can search for it under BP..

Re: Hiring Maids

Found a good blog with guidelines, schedules, even an appraisal form for maid's performance and tips on how to manage your maid!!!

http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/

Just thought of sharing

Star, but.. that Myanmar maid will roll her eyes when u nagged her. I saw before. I think I can accept errors in first 2-3 months, but after 3 months, repeating the same task daily, demo done and she managed to do in proper way when u watching her but when u r not around, she did it her way, then a bit headache and unaccpetable.

Many years back, our ex-neighbour hired pino maid. That Pino maid is GREAT. She is a degree holder in her country. Not only willing to do housework w/o complaints, and she oso willing to teach bb to read and etc. She stayed at home alone with the bb too.

I think having a maid is not easy. Need a lot of patient too.

QQ: Yes, I do agree that there are some who are better off be send back if that attitude doesn't changes after so long, just like the black sheeps of the society. >_< Actually when we have higher education, we understand things more and are more capable of ration thoughts, so that explains why your ex-neighbour pino maid is good. But again some of them will use their cleverness the wrong way..
When dealing with maids, I always tell myself that I'm like teaching a 3 yo how to do stuff so I don't get so worked up if she don't do it right the first time..haha

mummyr - cant but friend says she does understand cause work for 1 yr in chinese households b4 .. she read dictionary at night to learn english lor so far shes ok bah .. i havent done the rooster yet

Joanne,
my mind worry is i really don have much chores for her esp when #1 and hb is not ard.
the usual chores i do at hm is alternate days sweeping.

i draft out the chores:

alternate day:
sweeping

twice a wk:
mop
wash toilet
general cleaning
wash clothes

bi-mthly:
change bedsheets

mthly:
wash toys

as i am alone, i have my meals alone n take care of myself.
i don have much ironing cos hb's work clothes is tee and jeans while i have less then 10pcs for ironing wkly
(p/s: i don expect my home wear clothes or panties to be ironed)

MIL side is abt the same but becos MIL is full vegetarian so she will prep her own food so its difficult tat maid b with her n MIL cooks her own, my daughter have her own food n maid have to cook food for herself also.

only reason why 2 wks before is becos i might take 2 wks advance ML if possible n maid can do all the major washing n cleaning when i am ard to supervise. n then hope tat by my confinement she can pick up some hands on from CL.

Aiyo, bb still super active.. Gynae had a hard time to determine the gender.. Still can't 100% sure but seems like its prob a girl

my sis maid tat time come my mum's place to stay for few days as my sis went overseas.. my mum's place only 3-rm flat bt she still can keep herself bz.. haha..
she will wipe all furnitures, even the chair legs of the dining table.. vacumm &amp; mop everyday... and she also iron practically everything.. even my panties &amp; pyjamas &amp; bedsheet.. haha..

my sis will give her a schedule on wat to do coz her main job is only to do housework nia.. so at around 8plus, my sis will let her watch tv..

Hi star n ayukie n other sisters here
Really learn alot abt maid here..;)thk u so much..
As for the cctv, we cant install now as when pregnant, we cant drill hole etc in our home right?? Headache... Btw, for those who hv maids, will they afraid of cockroache? I worry if maid see it n let it go.. Lol then will breed more n mire.. Yucks.. I hate cockroache..

One question, my bb cot is under my bed and need to lift up the mattress then can get the cot out but i understand when pregnant, we not suppose to move our bed right?? How?? As i need to buy mattress n if cant take out, i wun know the sizes of mattress to buy..;( any way to avoid or counter this pandang?? Thk u gals..

joanne - if u pantang about that then you stay away and let your hb handle the installation lor i was doing the reno while preg and for #1 even installed the wardrobe for him lor

spicy,
but cannot b ask maid do tat for a few mths right?

ayukie,
my #1 was induced @ 39wks due to too big cos till 39wks bb still don wanna come out.
i estimated 36wks cos by 32wks gynae say bb fully engaged n very low till cannot scan face liao, scare early but end up induce.

actually i really wanna get maid in early but cannot think of anything for her to do n no one help jaga

jen - actually i also gt this prob .. but well see how it goes lor as for rooster im still in midst of doing it up with friend help ..
but friends keep telling me better get early so she knows where and what things are.

also in another 2 months most prob will start washing the baby clothes so will ask her wash and prepare the bedsheets the blankies, towels and etc and clean my playpen, highchair, rocker for baby arrival lor
also the sterilizer and baby bottles ..

so she gt 2 mths honeymoon period bah to get used to my #1 and learn how to handle him and also to tidy and prepare my house before baby arrival lor

joanne, ask your hubby to take while u stay at living room, otherwise wait till last trimester.. So far i still change my own bedsheets, at times have to move the bed too.

ayukie,
pls share your rooster when u finish.
i really don wanna b facing the maid alone at hm everyday when hb is away.

jen - tats why tml im moving home to stay for 2 nights .. but have told my maid temporary she may have to sleep in the living room though but she says she's ok with it lah but only temporary as I dont want to be with my son and maid and puking badly and feeling sooo sick alone lor ..

Jen: If you worried that your maid don't have much chores, then you have made some cleaning more often. Like sweeping and moping the floor can be done every day. Washing the toilet once every 2-3 times a week, cleaning the windows (not climbing out!) once a week, if you do cook, the stove is to be clean every day. General dusting can be done 2 times a week. The rooster depends if your maid knows what to do. For example, mine will go find stuff to do when she has finished her usual chores, like tidying my clothes in the cupboard (sometimes hubby tried clothes but don't want wear will just toss back into the cupboard -_-). But she knows how to "put on a show", she only keep herself busy during weekends when me and hubby are around, weekdays she more slack (my mum told me). XD

joanne: drilling and hacking is highly not recommened in the house when one is pregnant (for pantang reasons) but if you really need to move the mattress, just like ayukie said, get your hubby or someone else to do it when you are not around. My mum said if can also say 小的请走开 (meaning little one please excuse yourself in english) when moving. My bed is positioned that every time need to change bedsheet need to lift the mattress and move a bit, so my mum always make my maid do it when I'm not around. Rging the bugs, you can get your agency to confirm with the maid if she's scared before you bring her back. Cos I got 4 cats and 2 chinchillas at home, when I hire my maid, I get the agent to ask her if she's afraid of cat and chinchillas (looks like big furry mouse) before I took her home.

oh and to add, if you have dog, more impt to ask because the maids are mainly muslims and they are not supposed to be touching dogs. Although due to their nature of their job (house keeper), most are willing to take care of the dog as well.

Jen: seriously, there isn't a lot of chores to do in a 5 room flat..
If she is a fast worker, she can prob complete all the standard chores in half a day...

Joanne> my hubby still drill but I just excuse myself for an hour by playing iPad at the void deck haha

wow starfantasy u have 4 cats! i used to have 1 cat but when #1 was 10 mths old and starting to walk, we brought the cat to my mum's plc coz he's a long-haired cat and the fur was all over the hse.. very difficult to keep the plc clean enough to let baby and cat co-exist without the constant worry of asthma.. is this your 1st baby?

jojo: Yes, it's my first and before I get married, I already told my mum that even if I have baby, my furkids are still my kids and I'll never give them away. And my hubby agree with me, so both sides of my family did not say much about the furkids. Guess they can feel our determination. But mine's all short hair domestic mixed breed, if brush them regularly they don't shed as much hair. And I believe that a little hair is alright, in fact bb environment should not be spotless clean because in that way, bb will grow up with a weak immune system, easily sensitive to a lot of stuff like my niece now. Something like the concept of a vaccine.

Sherry: If you don't have pets then probably the house is pretty clean as it is. For mine, I have quite a few furkids, so the maid is kinda kept busy cleaning the place to min the fur when bb born.

Praise the lord for answering our prayers!
My amino test result came out fine and is a baby gal!
My hubby was but Sian. I m so happy as can try for another. Kid and can groom bb.
Now got high blood pressure that is a concern. So taking meds to control n try to stay relax n no loosing temper

Starfantasy: haha I have two dogs at home

Yes, I can imagine the sheds of fur around etc

Yankin: that's good news! Congrats

Think I miss out quite abit. Cos having training the whole day so no time to log in.

Just receive call from taka Philip sale that there are stock for the sterilizer do going down now.

Joanne, guess u better hurry go down by today or tml.

Congrats yanlin!
I m back from my detailed scan already. Everything is normal so far n confirmed its a boy. Bb weight 318g at wk19+1 day.
Hope all ur scan will b normal too.

MummyR,
My tummy haven't show yet even though I'm going to Week 23 so most ppl in the train or bus never give way to me so I usually have to stand throughout though my bb is considered big in size :p

yanlin,
No worries abt having high blood pressure cos initially I had slightly high blood pressure too but was told that taking calcium pills would help to improve the high blood pressure issue which is now better....

Yanlin,
Congrats!! So happy for u
Can start shopping

Re: tummy
Thanks all for ur replies!
Took the train and no one gave seats to me too

Thanks for all the wishes.. Glad that bb is fine too. Yeah, can start to shop for nice clothes.
Now have to be more relax and not loosing temper easily. Trying my best for baby.

My friend who went on a week holiday come back say my tummy suddenly very obvious..

Congrats to yanlin and urchin..

Yanlin: yup yup must try to relax as much as possible.. Try listening to music at night to soothe ur mood as well as bb

Hi star n rest sisters
U gals hv been so helpful n am so touch.. Yes, i dun think we shd do drilling at hm too though when i am not at home as really very pantang.. My hb knock some pin on the wall when i hv my number one n didnt know i was pregnant then, when my son born, we see the pin shape exactly on his hand... In red dot.. We thot it will go away but actually wont.. Lucky is on his hand n not face so still ok.. Till today, i still see it so i dun dare anyhow hack or knock the wall in our hse for current pregnancy.. As for the moving of bed, think no choice i will asks my hb do it when i am not around..;) as we need to prepare the cot n mattress...

Thks gals..;)

Hi yanlin
Congrat!! So happy for u...

Hi Hazel
Thks so much for ur info.. Did u manage to get it today? I didnt hv time to go down today..