(2012/08) Aug 2012

When I was week 5, I had a massive acne breakout. Not exaggerating, there were at least 20 pimples on my face and face became soooo red. So bad I couldn't step out of the house. Went to see a skin doc and the first thing he asked was 'any change in lifestyle?'. I said I was pregnant. So he gave a facial wash n a cream. The cream was so powerful - used once a day for 3 days and all pimples were gone. But it dried up my skin so for the following week just use some oil-free moisturizer. Then I fully recovered and I think my skin now better than before pregnant maybe coz sleep alot more and drink alot more water =)

JC
wah thats painful..i had one on my nose too but smaller one i guess...

Tigeroo
wah seh the cream so gd ah..shall i go see a doc too??

Tiggeroo,
My face also start to have pimples popping. I only apply Tea Tree oil from Bodyshop to control it. I dont dare do anything to it.

JC,
Try Tea Tree oil else u got to endure until after u deliver then it will heal automatically. Dont squeeze cos it will form scar. I ever go Jean Yeap for facial when I have #1, I did not know i am preggy until later stage. As usual they promise within 2 session will see result but no result for me. The beautical also anyhow squeeze even though there is no plus just reddness. I stopped after i know i preggy. After delivery the reddness heal but i can see the scar there. Like they squeeze hard and form a dimple on your skin. I banned Jean Yeap forever,only know how to push for package.

Good morning Mummies,

JC,I still go for my facial every 3 wks. But i do inform the beautician tat i'm preg. My breakout is on both my jawline... everytime i gotta endure the painful extracting process ;(

The doctor that I saw is actually a GP who does dermatology as well. His name is A/Prof Cheong Pak Yean and his clinic is Cheong Medical Clinic at 76 Jln Jurong Kechil Singapore 598589. I've seen him now and then for skin prob since I was a teenager. He charges ard $100 including medicine if you consult him for skin related stuff.

When I said I'm pregnant, he even said those pimple cream which contains 'something' (cannot remember the name) cannot use coz it will harm the baby. So he was sure to prescribe a cream that is safe for pregnancy. I even went online to research on the cream he gave and ppl said is safe too.

I am sick again, down with fever and sore throat, no strength at all. I lost my voice totally now can only whisper. gosh I have been falling sick so often for the past month.

>__< I have squeezed all of them! OMG! zzzz how to resist not squeezing the pimples?!

The pimple cream or acne cream usually contains retinol... that is harmful...

haiz.. I still dun dare to do facial no doubt u girls done it.. maybe becos it wasnt easy to reach 2nd trim so i also dun wan to risk. So tired to be pregnant.. physically n mentally.. sighs.

the extraction process is ok but its the product of that my facial centre is using I do not feel ok about it. My sis in law went for both but i just feel uneasy about it so i insist no facial.. think i can go plastic surgery after giving birth. wahahahah!

JC, for my #1, I went to a skin doctor who specialized in preggie woman but its so exp so I am not going this time round. Cos I think those cream that are safe for preggy woman are not useful at all. Just endure and still go through your normal skincare routine. you will have clear skin in 6 months time. I also have acne now...a big acne at my chin area...so tempted to go facial liao:p

100plus helps for sore throat? btw, what lozenges is safe for preggy woman. I am going to see doctor later, the queue is so long and I have to go back at 12pm.

AG> thanks ya... I am REN-ing.. wahahhahahaa! 100 plus sort of help for the sore throat.. u can try to gargle with salt water or those alcohol free mouth wash..it helps a lot. 100 plus also helps for the fever cos 100 plus got salt and helps to retain water... u wont feel like eating anything also with the pain so it gives u energy also. any lozenges that can be purchased off the shelf is safe but i think MAC lozenges from doctor is good. and make sure do not overdosage.. cos before preggie i keep on taking but after become preggie i just follow the dosage to max 3.

AG,
weather is bad have to take care.
pump up on vit c also if u can.

bottles:
i went to the WBB class n got free Avent 4oz bottles so maybe mummies going for the classes can c if they still give free samples.
my girl was fine with avent bottles n silicone teats but the holes too small so use sterile needle to poke.

skin:
i don have ance outbreak *touch wood*
but my skin is horrible, small red bumps n skin look dark.

JC, or u too over heaty le? Initally i keep taking chicken essence, then when i go TCM, he said i too heaty, tats y pimples outbreak also, then i drank more water, fruits, now clear abit, not so terrible..

ET> no leh.. has been like that ever since 8th weeks onwards... thought it subsided then pop out again.. i take a lot of fruits now and drinks a lot of water cos easily thirsty.. its purely a hormone problem... cos before pregnant, i do not have much pimples regardless of the diet.. now the skin is like ruined. sobs.

AG> there is a certain MG of vit C we can take daily.. so do check it out and do not overdose.. that is what i understand from the pharmacist. usually if it is sore throat, i do not take vit C cos my case my throat gets worse after vit C. but may be ok for u.. just watch the dosage.

back at wrk from hl .. so tired .. down with flu also .. anyway i gt my freestyle us set yesterday ..

pimples i have alot especially after my prostergean (whatever thats spelt as) pills .. now my hormones imbalance again ..

hopefully our 2nd trim will be smooth smooth ...

*prays*

also lastly .. i finally told my boss .. i feelllll sooooooo relievedddd ..

Hello Mummies!

I've still got pimple-liked red bumps on my chest since the 1st trimester... I only apply baby powder and drink more water...

Now I've got stuffy nose! I read from babycenter.com that stuffy nose is very common from 2nd trimester till delivery.... Oh my!....
Any mummies got any natural remedies besides taking medi from GP/Gynae?
I hope mine wont last till delivery!.... Very xinku to be out of breath most of the time

Do you realise you got alot of body hair recently ? My body become hairy.
I also catch flu virus from colleague. Hiaz but dont dare take MC i scare give ppl chance to attack.

Bright - I used ginger tea , tea halia for stuffy nose and wind in tummy

sandy : alot of medicine we cannt eat .. so my colleague from hk reccomended coke cook with lemon to help the cold ..

anyway if anyone experience headache .. seriously 100 plus is quite helpful hahaha

Just came back from dentist .. haiz .. got pregnanacy gingivitis .. my god .. is there anymore things to torture the mummies.. haiz ...

Nahnah:
Coke cook with lemon I heard of it but now we preggy must reduce caffine intake.

Do u have problem crossing your leg. I dont feel confortable after crossing it for awhile. I thought normally at 5th mth then i will have problem crossing. Hiaz Btw, anyone heard of twins hidden throughout pregnancy until delivery then realise there is another one ?

Sandy - i totally cut coffee and tea .. but coke .. i just cant live without it .. haha a

Ag- from what i heard , 100plus with gas , cos the gas will help push more oxygen supply to the brain .. haha .. but then again .. its nt proven by doc .. i find it does helps a little .. so u can try if u wan .. hahaa

AG,
The GP I went to recommended MAC lozenges as well. But his clinic did not carry it. I asked abt strepsils and fisherman's friend since it's available easily off the shelf and he says these are safe but quite mild. Try to gargle with concentrated salt water frequently as well, it helps.

The area below my mouth is so dry it's constantly flaking. I just went to Body Shop to buy the Vit E facial wash for dry skin, hopefully it helps. Actually I dunno whether it's 100% safe but I find that Body Shop products are generally more natural coz when it gets to the eyes, it will not sting.

Actually what facial wash/moisturiser are safe for us ah?

I just came back from doctor and I bought 100plus without gas
never mind I think I will buy it tmrw then. the clinic super crowded, took me 1.5 hr even I took a queue number at 9am+. doctor gave me so many medicine, including antibotics which is safe for preggy but I am still thinking if I should take. anyone took antibotics so far?

Hi mommies, may I know how long it takes to know the oscar test result? Waited 1 wk but no call yet... Wonder if I shd call n check with them....

AG> I did not take the antibiotics.. the only antibiotics i took is for my fungal infection. My gynae was pretty concern and keep asking if the antibiotics i took is it for fungal infection only. I would suggest not to take if possible. I took ice cold 100 plus.. damn shiok. wahahahahaha..

nahnah> its common to have gingivitis because our mouth will produce more acidic stuffs just like our vagina and thats why it will cause fungal infection... and its back to haunt me.. gonna wait till next visit then tell my gynae.

hey Sandy, i have the same problem, i cannot cross my legs for too long anymore, but it is good becos crossing your legs affects your spinal cord. i have to move my legs around a bit now to circulate blood i believe, i also place a box under my table now to raise my legs.

my pimple breakout on my back is beyond horrendous. i dont even know what word can describe it, i use 100% tea tree oil from thursday plantation to dot on it, but it is still there. very very upsetting.

any mummies know of pre-nantal yoga classes i can explore? i am very keen to start some sort of exercise!

Ling> Tea Tree oil only help to control and prevent further infection. Healing part so-so cos use too much your skin become dry.

With #1 do your child start to feel jealousy ? My boy normally will sleep alone w/o asking his daddy to company him but after my father kept telling him possible slibing on the way, he start to behave adnormal especially at night. Hmm..

sandy, I think telling our older kids that we have a baby coming is our job cos others may paint a different story and not explain. so its better for you to start telling him and explain to him rather then the elderly. I told my mum and mil not to mentioned baby to him cos they tend to make 'funny' statements like once my sil said to him next time, you will have no stand in the house liao..i was there and got a shock and diverted my boy's attention.

I just checked the medicine that doctor given me, all Cat B medicine. haiz, should I take it or wait till I see my gynae on Wed...advice pls.

AG> I suggest u try with the mouth wash or salt water gargle.. seriously it will ease some pain of the sore throat.. If u feel uneasy about the antibiotics then dun take.. sometimes got to go with the gut feeling.. cos if u start to take the antibiotics u need to continue.

I hope all mummies pimples will go away soon.. my col keep saying pimples = boy.. i m like.. HUH.. I hope its a girl.

AG,
I cannot stop my father's mouth. My son know got slibing on the way but not to the extreme that he will be in no position after #2 out so dont know what my father told him cos my boy just stay at my father's house for a afternoon. Hiaz

As for Medicine, better play safe dont use first, else call your gynea for advice.

Ag ,
that day i went doctore cos i got flu .. apprently all medicine cat c also cabnnt although its the mildest .. my advise is go direct to your gynea and ask ..cos now i flu or what i go gynea direct easier and also nt so worrying

JC, I asked the doctor to give me some medicine to apply for my acne earlier. i guess I will just take the lozenges and cough syrup for now since I am visiting my gynae this Wed morning. haiz see doctor also now use, dun dare to take it.

i tink i sibei kiasee ... i went to skin doc in tong building .. so he gave me pimple cream and also facial wash that is ok for preggies like us .. so if you all interested can try .. his product is DRX , when he noe i pregnant he already start to cut this and that .. so apparently blemish gel is safe, facial wash and moisturer is safe...

monitor your tempearature too... have a good rest and will be better.. Sometimes the medicine that the doc gives we are not sure can take or not.. i even seen a doc before who ask me u wan antibiotics or not.. i ask her safe or not.. her initial reply is safe.. then she flip the book then say hmm its not scientifically proven safe for pregnant but also din state its unsafe then end up dun dare to give. i think if she gives i also dun dare to take. zzz

but their advice will always be try not to take medicine if possible. Or take as little as possible.

Nahnah, I been to drx before I was preggy. Not cheap rite.
Haha sandy I am very straightforward to my inlaws. I will hint hint and made comments to them that if they say or do something, how that will affect my boy. I dun care. My hb also said whatever u wanna say u go day it :p

hey mummies, http://www.babystudio.com.sg got sale 24-25feb. btw if anyone knows of a good cot sale, let me know. I feel like buying one cos I dun like my ikea one cos the side cannot bring down. eventhough its still so new but hb said can buy since we will use for at least 2 years. my budget $200+, not exceeding $300...hee can find any?

AG> babystudio sell online? Have u bought anything from them before? I feel like buying a stroller. My mum gave away my stroller cost $300 plus to my niece if take back will be fourth hand liao. Hiaz.

Ag - the Ikea cot got 2 levels so it can be adjusted? Why not try it first? I bought a drop side cot then realized we never needed to bring the side down as it was inconvenience to do so. Also at 6 month my boy sleep with us haha now the cot used to hold stuff toys.

ikea cot cannot drop at the side but the bed can be lowered. so meaning i have to bend down to carry him. I guess becos my boy slept till 2yo in the cot. when he was about 6months old, we have to lower the bed and he was getting heavy so strained on my back.

btw, Isetan sales seems not bad based on papers. i saw a lucky baby cot at $299...do you mummies think its cheap? 3level adjustment.

I been eating crabs consecutive for 3 weeks or 2 weeks, 2 weeks ago. whahah.....

yogi, rich food got a booth in baby fair, think coming week also have.

liquid Gavison is definitely more digestible than pills one I think.

Sherry, u go with ur PIL and family every alt week to eat seafood ar? Shiok Shiok. U bring ur kid also?

I am thinking after confinement 28 days, order the rich food confinement food, for 2 weeks, is it cheaper and can the rich food do it huh? Was thinking to eat confinement food longer a bit to bu????????