(2012/07) Jul 2012

joy_javen: me too! i had my maternity shoot done by her on sunday too! i'm the last of the day and her trip and she told me she had 2 photoshoots b4 me, so coincidental that you're one of them! =) yea.. someone (i forgot who) suggested her and i also like her pictures! haha! talking about age, my hubby and i were quite surprised that she's just 17! we were like saying it's very good for a child to be this independent.

jo, mine not yet cos i realized it's END of 37wk then considered full term. so it will be this Fri. so we are abt the same time. yah yah... let's chat more here or else boring right? hahaha... on the sex issue, yah we still get it going but no drip leh. once it's regular the top will regulate itself. at least i din recall at all. u din bf for #1?

joy, hahahhaa.. maybe. but yesterday when i try to poo, the anus was painful and like sore. today all smooth operation. hehehehee... share your bloom pics!!!

Hi sunbelle
He say will do ctg for my next checkup..i prefer half body c sect so can see bbies at first sight..n hb can be with me too.. But fr my conversation with him yesterday, i feel he wants me try natural.. See how by then.. Btw, hv he asks u do ctg already? Ya, most things bought already except car seat..only hv one so far..i think i will just carry them home in car.. Tts what i do for my boy last time too.. U seeing him weekly now?

Hi pink
Yes, tts the one i meant.. Thks for the link..;) is their charges most reasonable?

Hi joy
Maybe u can request fr ur gynea some mc to rest too? If not, hv an early night everyday.. I think we really must tresure our sleep now..

Btw, for those who bought medala pisa pump, what r the parts tt we shd sterilize huh?Tubing need sterilize? Tt means we shd sterilize now before our edd date?? What u use to sterilize? Sorry for so many questions..

Joanne: oh yes! you reminded me of the qns i have! when do we sterilize the parts? i bought freestyle.. my hubby was saying over the weekend but i told him too soon! can we use the avent sterilizer to sterilize? heard that we bring the breast pump to the hospital so that the lactation consultant will be able to teach us how to do it using our pumps!

Pink piglet, gynae use v-scan to measure cervix length.

Sunbelle, I hv the same qn wrt carseat! Hubs say newborn too small to put in carseat but arent car seats designed for kids from birth upwards?

Liligal your parts so ting1hua4

BB, I've been taking papaya everyday for past few mths cos clinic nurse say ok! How how.. Last time I rely on tea to go toilet but stopped after preg..

Re breastfeeding, do the night feeds/pumps hv to be maintained for as long as we're breastfeeding to maintain supply? Meaning even after going back to work still hv to wake up in the middle of the night to feed/pump?

mummylee: yeah mine was the first session at 8am.. which was really early.. d thing is i haf no ideals what kind of shoot to take..haha.. n her comment on my tummy is that it is small.. hence i haf to take more side view shoots..
agreed with u..i saw her n i was like u look really young how old r u.. yeah she quite independent.. fly to n fro.. which i must say is not easy..

liligal: haha.. try to drink yogurt n yakult=) it might help..
as for the bloom shot well my hubby was not very involve n just stand ard.. he didnt take any sneak shot using our own camera.. hence i got to wait for the photographer to load up some sneak peek via her blog..

joanne: haha my gyne visit usually is on saturdays.. n he see me okie lei.. he always tell me its normal to feel tired.. n yeah i slp early almost everyday.. usually before 10pm on weekdays i m already finding position to slp already..

Carol: I haven't done my CTG...going to do on my next Monday visit. I think Dr Soong's C-sect is about $4k plus rite? Hee hee....forgot already...I wrote down the charges breakdown somewhere when I paid the deposit during the last visit

Hi lili
Haha.. No lah, we not same time.. Me only 33th wk.. Still got one mth before reach 37th wk... I only bf 6th wk for my boy as i sick tt time n ignorance me worry will spread my virus to him so had stop bf by then.. Hee.. I thot if hb touch the boobs will result in massaging n milk will drip..*blush*..so wun huh?? I worry dirty my bed full of milk smell then very smelly..hee..Btw, ur toking to ur body parts r interesting...;)

joanne,
i'm opp. i prefer full GA if doing c-sec as i'm very very scared of pain. But gynae wants me to do half, said will recover faster. And yes, my hubby also wants me to try natural, said his friends wives all tried natural and pop out very fast. But i'm scared lor.

cherish: i wanted c-section too until my cousin shared her experience to me.. she was on epidural and said she felt nothing all the way to delivery.. she pushed and pushed then felt something blob out, which is the baby! that was it! even the wound was painless! so she said on the other hand, she admires women who goes through c-section.. very painful after the op..

mummy lee,
going c-sec is 先甜后苦. the recovery takes longer and yes, painful after the op. i admires women who went thru natural.

liligal,
congrats. your body parts are responding to u leh!

kawaii_baby, sunbelle, i think it's best to put baby in carseat when we bring them home from hospital.. carseats are design for NB onwards, so should not be any issue..
hubby insisted to put him in carseat, as he says must make them get used to sitting in carseat.. hahaha

haha, cherish admires those who went thru natural and mummy lee's cousin admire those who went thru c-sec...actually we shd all admire and be proud of ourselves for bringing the little ones to this world, whether via natural birth or c-sec...some even went thru iui/ivf to conceive...i think we are better than some women who don't even want to give birth at all for the many reasons/excuses that they may have...

So sleepy. I need my mid day nap!

lili-gal, your body parts are very obedient. Mine mostly just ignore me and have a mind of their own. I can plead, beg, scold ... all no effect. Really sian.

I think should try natural before opting for c-sect. C-sect is considered major surgery and the recovery period can be quite long.

As for ferrying infants in car, I am super pro carseat. That's the safest way to ferry your NB ard =)

I bought Medela PISA from US. Took it out to check if in working order last weekend. I saw a note that says 1st use no need to sterilize? I was hoping to bring to hospital and ask them to sterilize for me. Can I?
My unit doesn't work when I use travel adaptor. But it works when using the battery pack they provided. So I think it's the AC power cable? adaptor? thing that I need to change. Any mommies out there bought US unit too? Can share how to get the unit to work on AC and where to get? Thanks.

citizen,
i was having same thot as u on the breast pump. i was checking my hospital bag last weekend and realised i only done 50%. And i can't possible sterilize the storage bottles now. it seems too early.
remembered someone asking abt the tubing. from what i understand, it cannot be sterilized. i used to sterilize other assembly parts but if my memory didn't failed me, the assembly parts can be washed using warm soapy water. pls. correct me if i'm wrong. THanks!

Cherish, when I was pregnant with my #1, my hb promised to let me csect cos I was really frightened of natural. I happily enjoyed my pregnancy till few months later when it was time to discuss with my gynae about the delivery, he rejected doing csect for me. He said "unless no choice then csect, we aimed natural first k?" The fear came back again n I was depressed. Luckily my delivery was such a blessing. Now hoping my #2 also sayang me n come out smoothly.

Lili gal, my mil making yam kuey for me now, u stay east? As what 56mama said, it is not so good for the skin so I will not eat much. Relatives r here to visit me n I try to play mahjong with them, can't even complete one east round, pelvic muscle pain. Luckily one bil is here too, help me to play. I would rather take a cold shower n hide in my room n rest on bed at this time.

Talking about newborn baby, I will carry my baby in my arm when coming back from hospital. It is too tiny to be placed on car seat n subject to the seatbelt n impact. I would rather carry in my arms n ask my hb to only drive at less than 80km/h.

Kawaii, we r delivering soon so stop taking yellowish food now. I reduce spinach, tomatoes, ... N totally stop papaya, mango, yellow kiwi... My #1 was born with jaundice which I rented the infra ray bed for her to sleep for weeks, very heartbreaking cos I didn't believe in avoiding food. Now I more obedient listen to my TCM physician.

mummy lee: IUI is one of those artificial insemination method - sperms are placed into the women's uterus to facilitate fertilization.

Hi citizen
U can get a adaptor at sim lim square or home fix.. Is an adaptor input 230v.. Cost around $18.. U cant use the adaptor tt come with it as i heard will see smoke fr the pump.. Will spoilt it too..

Can we eat carrot cake? Is the white carrot too cooling?

BB: to add to your list of food to avoid, I heard curry and laksa also better to take in moderation to avoid jaundice baby...due to the spices that makes the gravy yellowish

ooh no.. i just had curry udon for lunch! and i also like to eat the gold kiwi since it is in season now! so we should be avoiding these food is it?

cherish: i also thought the pipe connected to the pump does not need to be washed right?

BB: so good to play mj and relax!! it has been a long long time since i play mj.. i think when bb arrive, no more chance at all!

citizen: there is a medela spree in the forum, you can get your adaptor. I also purchasing some spare parts too.

can i ask when will the nurse will poke us with the long long needle in our hand for the glucose?? i hate that needle.. so painful!!

i have received my emma jane nursing bra from asos.. it is so big.. like milking for cow like that! *LOL* I still prefer those from spring maternity.. maybe i will buy more...

mummylee: i also have a change in my skin condition due to pregnancy hormones initially.. but i think it is all coming back soon.. i can feel my original hormones again
i hope that it does not change for the worst! *fingers crossed!!

BB & ourlovestory: i was still thinking of asking my frenz to play mj this coming friday sia.. but i scared i will be tired too..

Marie: serious?? i just ate curry in the afternoon oso lei..

n i m thinking of heading to udders' ice cream to eat the mao shan wan ice cream later.. =X

Ourlovestory, no lar the needle cannot be seen one. Juz a sound click and den it's done. Juz like piercing ur ear. Hehe...

Joy, wah so good. I cannot play mahjong coz my blood pressure will shoot up.

joy: wow... so shiok to eat ice cream!! this udder ice cream is opening up in more location now but their ice cream a lot got liquor one..

qin: the needle so small meh? i thought it is quite a long one and it is very obvious because it is very near to the skin and just along our veins? no? we will still be poked regardless if it is natural or csect right??

Qin: my hubby say will shoot up.. but once awhile only shld be ok lah..
if next day i got check up dan i wun play mj.. haha.. my gf even play before d day she went for c-sect... haha..
i always tell hubby after give birth liao very hard for me to go n play liao.. n mj is 1 of my hobbies.. so i always say let me go play before i give birth lah..=p

ourlovestory: haha..yeah but coz my gfs mostly stay whampoa area..so i think its fair for me to travel down to novena n eat later=)
yea i agreed with u n i love to eat their rum rum.. haha.. but no choice.. but their snickers or mars de oso not bad=p
haha..

Cherish, I've only packed those stuff that I don't use on a daily basis. Am hoping to pack the clothes and toiletries at the last min ... maybe while having contractions. Haha. Cos' anyway, my doc says to try to delay going to the hospital. Otherwise will just be there focusing on the pain; outside more distractions, so hopefully in this case can tahan the pain longer. Which hospital will you be at? I read that at Mt E can ask them for glass bottles. Hopefully they don't find me cheeky to be asking for so many stuff/service. :p

Thanks, Joanne.

hahahha. yah! so far 2 body parts very ting1 hua4 and obedient. maybe i super fed up already! hahahha.... now i'm progressing to my throat for the cough thingy. see if tonight it behaves!

sunbelle & kawaii, officially by law, has to be car seat. u can put cushy insets for newborns. prams also need it for some. but of cos, on the car seat issue until u get caught everything is permissible. hahaha...

pump-wise, i suggest sterilize the bottle, funnel, valve, the connector thingy for the pump. come to think of it, tubes not really necessary cos it won't touch or do anything right? can bring to hospital to sterilize for u. 1st time mummies can bring so that the lactation consultant can be consulted. it took me 1 mth to realize my funnel size too small then.

citizen, i also hv a US unit. u nd to buy a converter from 240V to 110V or something like that. dun plug directly, it will spoil or blow after a while.

kawaii, for me, i slowly cut off night feeds when my boy can sleep thru 5-6 hours at one shot around 3mths. if he doesn't wake me, i dun feed at all at night. lazy mum...

BB, waaahhhh... me stay in NE now orh kueh craving gone liao. but mahjong!!! anything to get my mind off the tummy!!! ahhahaha... but i'm quite lousy in it lor. just like the thrill of playing.

It's really strange...
I realised the people around us (me & hb) are more anxious than us.
Why I said so? I just received a call from my ex-colleague (a friend) to check on me and after knowing my gynea's prior decision to deliver before 20Jun she advised me not to wait until 18Jun to start my ML but start ASAP.
So...
Tomorrow when I'm back to work does it mean that I should announce my sudden decision to bring forward my ML and handover my work? Those 2 aunties sure faint cos my 小弟 who suppose to be covering me is still on ICT. :p

Luckily I still know what I can eat and what I should avoid eating.
Last night had dinner over at my MIL's and she asked me to eat the steamed otah. Oh no no no...
The sight of it scares me - so YELLOW!
Some more my BIL bought rambutan and lychee. If I eat those I sure 200% peng san. Rambutan is 湿热 and lychee even worse, 1 lychee is = 三把火. Sure burn to death by my internal heat.

I ate rambutan too because i saw my hubby eating! ooh no.. cannot eat also?? :-/

liligal: how to determine if the funnel size is a good fit or not? I went to the shop and they do not allow me to try so I do not even know what size to buy now... ??

hm.. i never try the horlicks ice cream before... *drool drool...

ourlovestory: Maybe some people can eat rambutan bah but I know I can't cos I'm already not feeling well. Anyway, I also don't really have a thing for rambutans.

ourlovestory, that's the thing. i also din know and went to their website to check. after a while i still not very comfy. since my assets are quite big. so i went to buy 1 size bigger. and then life was good!!! so best if u can bring to hospital and dun pai seh. get the lactation consultant to come and check.

liligal:eek:ki doki i will go see if haf later n try out=) hehe..

laura: cannot eat mah for lychee?? the other day was eating lei..but not much lah..

Hi laura
Why need to bring forward ur ML? No need ba as tt time i work till friday n got show on sat n give birth to my son on sun mornimg...

Now need to rest early due to twins n worry more of preterm delivery...

Just wokeup fr a half hr nap.. Shiok...
Can anyone advise whether can eat white carrot cake? As suddenly got craving but worry white carrot too cooling??
Thk u...

Hi lili n ourlovestory
If we bring bp there then do we need to sterilize it each time after we pump? Save to asks hospital to sterilize for us?

Joanne my dear, my body seems to be getting weaker each day and I am consuming my AL like drinking water. Then I might as well start my ML.

ourlovestory & joy_javen: the curry thingy was told to me by a friend...her gynae advised her against laksa (think due to the tumeric or ginger that has the color) but she had cravings...end up baby had jaundice....not sure if it's coincidental, but just take in moderation lar...

Laura: agree...lychee very heaty...used to be my fav fruit until I found out it is very heaty

By the way girls....I know that if we use bottles to store breastmilk, the bottles can be reused...what about storage bags? Can they be reused or need to throw after use?

can eat longan??

i like laksa and curry leh.. but last month already.. nothing i can do to reverse it..i just hope my bb is ok *pray pray*

liligal: then what size should i buy now for a start? will need at least a pair to start off with right? Hm... other mummies do not have this problem??

jo, actually first 2 days nothing much to pump cos it's colostrum only and for me, i'm bringing it tho i dun think i'll need it but jus have it there to keep it going if i want to. and usually i sterilize each time before i use. last time i borrowed from them their industrialized pump when my son was still in nursery for that week and i went bk to feed him so they told me it was sterilized. shud be ok i think. it's jus good to have a consultant there and help u to it if u r 1st time.