(2012/07) Jul 2012

bhoo: i had initially planned that, u having no.? i #2. they say will earlier. idk anything about birth thou its #2. #1 was induced at 36wks. so i din hv to worry if waterbag burst or wad cos i was SAHM that time n i was induced. now i also kalang kabok so i took one week before EDD for my ML. u also got the feel that she scared i cheat hor, siao wan leh. tummy bluff one meh dio boh. haiyo i reali bth her one leh. she duno go tell boss what now give me the feeling boss misunderstand me i taking advvantage lor. sads....

just realized my hp autospell dettol as detail =p
yup, will just put like 5 drops for the sake of killing germs and easing my mind.

sunbelle: it's better to put the waterproof mat/sheet below bb's buttock when u use cloth diaper cos sometimes the pee too much or if u b/f den the poo poo is def more watery will stain thru the cloth diaper, at least can minimize the num of times for changing of bedsheet.

sunbelle, my gynea is very old school one ... to him, there is no need for birth plan. If bb is in right position, natural birth. If not, c-sect. I know there are some fancy gynaes out there who will allow alternate birth plans like water birth, home birth, hypnotherapy etc etc or even bring in doulas to the delivery ward. My gynae is against all that. At the very most he will allow is soft music is the background. LOL. So I also dun bother with any birth plan.

There is Dettol for clothes right? The smell is more acceptable then the std Dettol. The std Dettol will make you smell like a hospital if you use too much in your laundry =P

rykiel: sometimes ah.. pple just misunderstand what we meant lor.. espcially woman they read too much in between lines.. ( sorry mummies.. i oso a woman.. but cnt blame me for this thinking coz alot of us tend to think A link to B link to C) so that is why some say its better to have male superior/manager/boss.. but pros n cons lah..

sunbelle: no lei didnt discuss but did mention to him i wanna give birth naturally.. tat is why he ask me to cut down on sweet things..
as for panting: it depends.. if ask me to squat down n wash my undergarments n i stand up i will be breathless..
but sth for sure is i always perspire.. even when my air con is on n my hubby is freezing in d room..

bhoo: me same as u.. thinking to pop till i deliver.. but hard to say lah..
my supervisor wife due on 26th May.. n she was asked to stay in the hospital last wednesday when she went for check up.. till today still havent give birth yet.. think will give birth today as went to induce already..

bhoo: i use the normal dettol =x hehehehhe!

joyjaven: i agree, but if u wrk with bosses whos a married couple? + manager cum hr is boss friend?

cherish: how come u call for help and no one help you? your hubby?

i will be going to the fair during the weekend after my gynae appt. hopefully can complete my final shopping for all the bb items!

zhen: i did my BW at strips.. i feel that the service at the ion outlet is better..

joy & di: can update if there is any good deals at the fair since you are going on thurs??

i have washed my bb clothes with bb detergent, but i do not know why there are yellow stains when i washed my bumper.. not sure if i have poured too much detergent? no sunshine these days, it is so hard to get it to dry!

i also bought the bb chnaging mat.. but the rubbery smell is putting me off!! any mummies has the same experience? is it normal to have the rubbery smell?

sunbelle: i am also panting even for a short distance walk... in fact i walk very slowly coz i feel the pain at my pelvic area when walking sometimes... i cannot bent down and squatting down is getting tougher these days too!

my gynae is not discussing any delivery plan with me yet.. also depends if your bb is turning? anyway i feel no "chemistry" with my current gynae.. just hope that everything goes smoothly!

ourlovestory: wah u also gg to the fair! i nt gg leh. hvn visited any.. scared too crowded =( hmmmm where u seeing now? me n my gynae just hi, anything? oh nth. hows bb? kicking? how u feel? thn ill tell what i need to tell or complain what i need, than she will advise,thn ok byebye ill see u again tkkare. full stop liao. hHAHAAAa

hi mummies! yes.. i get out of breath when i walk a little too much! and my legs.. they get so sore and achy after a short walk.. that i need to sit. and last night, baby seem to be pressing on my stomach so much so that i wanted to throw up! =(
and just today, my left butt hurts everytime i walk, as if i sprained it.. guess he's pressing on some nerves.. grrr.

joy_javen, I think really very unpredictable ... what I read is that only abt 5% of women deliver on their EDD. Most will delivery +/- 2 weeks from EDD. Anyway for me, -2 weeks is the best. Cos no matter when I deliver, I have to be back at work by mid Oct for my peak period. Plus carry this big belly is really no joke. Can offload 2 weeks earlier also better. Hehe.

Rykiel, best is to work for lady boss with young kids =) My boss has 2 young kids and she is very understanding and supportive of me getting pregnant. As it is, before I got pregnant, she kept bugging me to faster produce baby cos I not young anymore.

sunbelle, 15mins? i walk 2mins and i tired liao. i think i walk too fast also. breathless feeling. and have to open legs wide wide to walk. my only birth plan is VBAC and wait for 2-3mins before clamping umbilical cord. others i free and easy.

on the waterproof sheets, i usually put below cot bedsheet at the strategic area cos last time #1 keeps leaking when we tried w diff diapers. his shit also very explosive. and also sometimes when we try to change him, he does a fountain pee on us before we had time to put on new diaper to cover. why not above the bedsheet is becos by 1st week he can rotate round the entire bed liao when he sleeps. not sure he he did that but we speculate cos he keeps kicking. so the sheet will get out of place. hahhaa...

bhoo, it's possible but if yours is #1, i suggest you rest 1wk before EDD just to be safe or best, get arrangement to work from home. or else too kan cheong and when u try to coordinate then abit tough.

rykiel, she's not ur direct mgr right? cannot write official mail to her and ask the entitlement question? instead of relying on verbal?

queen laura, i think u should go take maternity shots! then later show ur kid when he grows. or show the hubby when he misbehaves or is just plain lazy!

me in sales, but dunno why these few days just keep doing reports and reports. and keep getting things jumbled up. dates wrong. countries wrong. aiyoo... really baby pea brain this week. u all have the same symptoms?

btw, ladies, those who have delivered naturally before, did you all have episiotomy done? i.e. cut your perineum.

ourlovestory, I got my baby changing mat from Ikea and also bought the cotton covers for the changing mat. I pref that to the rubber ones that I saw at kiddy palace.

bhoo, i think depends on the boss' personality. i prefer to work with guys. ok married ones. cos they are more scared of "wifey" type. hahahha... i say and they ok ok. hehehehehee... my boss very funny, one day he said, "i hv enuf nagging from my wife, so i dun need another in office". so usually what i say for pregnancy rules! hahahah...

errrrrr, someone other than ourlovestory wrote to me asking for hospital bag list but i think i lost that email already. errr.. can you please write here again cos it might have went into my mail junk folder.

sunbelle: my gynae ask me about my birth plan too yesterday...I just told her mine's very simple...pain use gas first...then more pain just take epi....nothing fanciful...haha

lili_gal, I'm definitely going to work from home 2 to 3 weeks prior to EDD. I dun want to waste my ML. So really really hope can tahan until the very day I deliver.

rykiel: i am going to the fair also because i need to check out cordlife too.. so just settle everything together in one place!
your gynae is a lady so it is easier to ask questions right? sometimes i feel shy asking my gynae also like i feel my virginal is a bit dry so i am not sure if this is normal or not?

i like male boss, i feel that they are more easy than woman boss! ;p woman boss tends to think too much at times!

liligal: what is VBAC?? I bought the 3/4 waterproof mattress protector so it is not big enough and will shift when bb moves a lot in the cot??

bhoo: i got the rubbery type lor.. but i find it smelly! ;p i bought the nuk brand.. the one u bought from ikea is quite big right? like put on top of those playpen kind?

ourlovestory: sure i will update the deals=) but most likely will update on friday morning.. haha.. coz thursday i m gonna haf gals nite out w frenz.. haha..so scare i go home i will be too tired.

rykiel: haha dan no choice liao lor.. if they r those frenz frenz type of coz wat u say oso no use liao..

i feel my whole body is gonna be tear apart..
the joints all is aching.. n hubby warning me not to take cold drinks n try not to direct wind blowing at me liao.. but i always feel very hot lei.. somemore recently keep raining n all my "friends" come looking for me n giving me pain=(

bhoo: really is unpredictable.. like the name already stated: EDD- ESTIMATED Delivery DATE!!!
haha.. only estimated nia..
oh well.. early or later i just hope it is full term liao n its healthy when its out=) hehe..

hi Rykiel,

i tot for gynae visits after week 35 is weekly visits..how come u are left with two visits? or u left with 2 visits in your package huh? hehehe sometimes i can take ages to reply. sometimes if i am at the screen, can reply immediately hehehe

hi di, thank you very much for your advice. i am still thinking whether wan to use cloth diaper as i am only thinking using it for 1st month where i have confinement lady to help to change in the day.at night will use pampers liao....

hi bhoo, who is your gynae huh? to me, i tink baby's well being is most impt. yeah as for breastfeeding i will try my best, but if really no milk, I am okie with FM. unlike one of my frens whom is so stressed with this tinggy such that she stressed herself out. cos i tink not really necessary lor.

our love story: i think you are not alone panting hehheee looks like most of us are in our panting stage now hehehe
wearing socks is a great challenge..

bhoo: where u wrkin! i like ur boss! HAHAHHAHAHAA! so supportive n undrstanding i like~~~

liligal: no, i work under 2 bosses actually. one of the boss is young. the other is married with wife. wife is lady boss. this office manager is boss fren. she is office manager cum HR. =9

ourlovestory: urs guy? mine lady. but hub accs me for visits at times n i shy to tell her also. me also dry. last time fast click. now like wahhhh. system spoil =x

joy_javen: yes. she draw line too clearly liao. i dun like lor. i treat her like fren she dun treat me like one.

sunbelle: i seeing her 3 to 4 wks.. im nw close to 31wks! i no package but she schedule me like that so im ok lor. hehehehhe =) same here. sometimes i whole day missing cos i read emails only. nw waiting go hm im all ready!

bhoo, then ok lah. me also working from home till i pop to save on ML.

ourlovestory, VBAC = Vaginal Birth After Cesarean. Meaning natural after u had a c-sect. 3/4 waterproof enuf. mine was only size of 2 A4 paper for waterproof sheet that i place under bedsheet.

joy, me too!!! i keep using fan to blow directly and stil perspire. aches all over. used massager and then feel like blueblack there cos maybe i overdo. can't wait to download baby soon.

sunbelle, BF takes perseverance. usually better after 1.5-2mths. but after that really very very convenient.

Ourlovestory,
I was sleeping alone in our rm n hubby slept wif my boy last nite. Shouted help but he didn't heard it n our hse small small.

Mommies wif bosses or comp that allow to work fr home, that's very nice. My lady boss is not treating me like pregnant at all. when I req this, I'll hear all sort of excuses. Her reply is if I want to work fr home, she rather I take mc. But hello, I'm not sick n can't possible take 2wk mc at home n my claim cannot cover so much. Don't feel e personal touch fr her at all.

Liligal: I had episiotomy for #1.. actually I asked my gynae when it was nearer to my edd back in '09 if I can have a choice not to have that cos read online some article or website says it's not necessary. And some docs want fast and easy they just snip when bb's head is out to expedite the process :x my gynae's explanation was that he cut to prevent tear below which will cause more pain and also serious case will be tear till our pigu hole den healing part will be worst. He also mentioned Asians Vi-jay-jay/perineum not as flexible as caucasians so that's also one of the reason most have to cut.

Sunbelle: u're welcome! Actually if u have CL den just use cloth diaper for daytime(save $$ and lessen diaper rash risk) cos I think CL will wash for u too. For me I have to use diapers day & night cos doing confinement on my own so by the time wait for hubby to come back n wash I think too stinko le.

cherish, not sure what other right words to use leh... offload? hahaha... anyway, i think i shud follow you and sleep separately w hubby and boy cos when hubby grinds his teeth, i wake up. boy breathe too loudly, i wake up. he had bad dreams or sleep talk, i wake up. btw, how can hubby help w cramps? i tried to get him to help once and he jus created more pain cos he was dreamily sleepy and not really knowing what he was doing.

btw, how can jus take MC like that?! so how now? r u the first one to get pregnant there?

di, i suspect my gynae also had similar views and read the same type of articles as you did. which is why i doing survey now. hehehe.. thanks for your reply.

sunbelle: i asked my hubby to wear socks for me.. because i cannot reach anymore!! ;p

cherish: i think you can use your bb monitor if you have one so that if you are in pain or need help and someone can help you?

i am so tired already.. going home!

Hello! I’m emerging from hibernation again :p

I'm so tired even though on bedrest, wake every hour, can’t imagine if working..

Rer-rer, I have no more HL :p

Di, liligal, my gynae also say Asian skin not as flexible

Linggie & liligal, your companies / working environment sound good

My baby #1 but the movements can be painful esp. when kicking the ribs! But these 2 days don’t seem to be moving as much

Motherhood Fair sounds exciting, so sad cannot go..

Just found out my “treatment” ends end wk34, not beginning! Need to jab an “extra” 2 times.. so scared of injections already..

Just made my first baby clothes purchase, 5 rompers for $13.50. Is this cheap / expensive / average?

Is it necessary to have a bouncer? Else where do the babies lie/sit when in living rm?

Liligal, what is this binder we should bring to hospital & where to get?

yup di, i intend to tok to the CL on it. told agency alreadly. but have to remember to tell CL about it lor.

liligal : you are right...The initial period is always harder hehehe hope i have milk ss and also all the way to BF. heheheh

our love story : i also get my hubby to wear this morning hehehe

can u all get up easily from the floor huh? it really takes a while hehe

Ourlovestory: actually the amt of NPL im actually taking is only abt 1 mth.. because i have some annual leave carried over frm last yr that i will clear tis yr, plus all the various types of leave entitlements (childcare, parent, off in lieu etc) that i will clear.. and i still have all of this yrs leave plus at the start of nxt yr i'll take all the misc entitlements again. so nett effect ill b working fr home for abt 5-6 wks in between now till mid Mar lor (will be more if turns out i deliver earlier than my EDD).. at the end of it i will only have my 2013 leave entitlement to last me till Dec 2013. hopefully that's enuff for all the bb vaccination and stuff lah. by then he's abt 8mth, i dont suppose there are too frequent jabs by then also? i'll have abt 2 days leave per mth on average lor..

i do also feel the ache in the pelvic area, especially after walking for some time while carrying slightly heavy stuff like my bag and laptop for example. i guess that's normal?

liligal: like joy, i also have used up 11 of my 14 MC entitlement. Cos i fell ill twice this yr, and cos cant take meds it took me quite long to recover. Also, all gynae visits i'd get MC so i wouldnt have to rush like mad to finish work la..and about weight gain, i'm also worried i'm approaching the big 2-0.. so far i think i've gained 12kgs at wk28.. feeling v stressed when all my friends around me tell me they controlled like mad and only allowed themselves to gain 10kgs!! i'm gonna find out my nxt 'level' of gain when i go for the check this sat.. and really dreading what gynae is gonna say if there's a huge weight spike again. Doesnt help that i keep feeling hungry nowadays! i also agree w u abt working w married male bosses, haha.. And u gotta be careful when driving ok!

Mummylee, Joy: Same.. i will also intend to work till i pop.. luckily i get to work from home in the last 4 wks, so i guess that makes it more convenient.

All this talk abt 'working till pop' is actually quite unnerving since i'm a first time mom.. haha it's really gonna be happening soon! goshh it's rather scary to contemplate. By the way, i havent thought about the 1mth old cake giving.. hubby n MIL actually prefer to keep it simple and not to have a bash, so we are only planning on giving the cakes etc.. but what is the practise ah? i got no clue.. relatives definitely must give i suppose, what about friends/colleagues? is it a must/optional? do i give the entire dept one person one portion or do i buy some bigger cake for them to share? or how does it work?

Liligal,
In short, my boss means no working fr home. I'm not e first one get pregnant in my department. Hmm, but under her charge, I guess I am. When she sees me in office, never ask how am I coping wif pregnancy. Will ask when am I going on leave n make sure I handover my things properly. Sort of used to it so I can't be bothered wif her too.
I find it's help to ease e pain whenever I hv leg cramp or backache. My hubby will be quite awake if he sees me in pain. Don't follow lah. I don't think this sleeping arrangement is good. Hubby already grumbling lor.

Ourlovestory,
I don't hv baby monitor. Not going to buy it since already tong so long.

Sunbelle,
I hv hard time getting up fr floor or even getting up fr bed in sleeping position.

Cherish, dun care ur boss. I m at shut off mode. My team lead kept assigning things to me. I hack care her!!! I havnt take HL. Tempted to ask fr my gynae b4 he goes on
Leave... My left leg very pain, can hardly walk! Go loo oso hard

kawaii, hahahhaa.. you are like polar bear!!! but we are in summer leh... aiya.. that means sure will need to have episiotomy. that's another cut in my body.

me also think my baby not enuf space to move already. every movement is like painful to me. one day, i literally see a very very pointed jutting out from my left. scary!!! i had to push it back cos it was so painful. but funny leh. my gynae said water level very gd like got space to move but i really dun think so leh. think my body too short.

btw, why u can't go to motherhood fair? it last until 3 jun. by that time u shud be end of 34wks right?
oh and me have not bouncer at all.

for binder, it's supposed to help shrink ur tummy after delivery. it's like the jamu wrap but the western kind. you can search google images and type "abdominal binder pregnancy". i bought from my gynae then at hospital at around $60 or $80 so exp. but realized it's cheaper outside.

di, how you do confinement on ur own?! like quite tough leh.

sunbelle, key is remember to pump till dry and keep pumping for a while. the body will adjust accordingly.
hahahhaha.. me now can't even sit cross leg on floor well!!! had to get hubby to pull me up from floor if i lazy to use muscles. or else i'll roll to the side and then roll to kneeling position and then get up. sometimes i walk also find imbalance.

ourlovestory, good idea on the baby monitor for cherish!!! hahaha...

hika, 12kg at wk28 is ok lah. last time i gained 16kg i think. this time so far only 10kg. yah... for the sake of everyone's loved ones i'll drive safely! dun worry abt working till pop. frankly, by the time reach 37wks, every day is like "why so long?!?!?!". so when it realy comes, it's all excitment and joy!

cherish, she got kid? married?
btw, why u dun think the arrangement is good huh? i think maybe can help me sleep better leh. hubby suggested but i feel "lonely" leh...

oh btw, do u all know that it's better to keep a notebook on the baby's bowels, color, sleep time and your BF left/right and timing after the baby is out? paiseh ah, hubby and i abit data freak, so we took note and then after a while will do "review" etc. but bowels all that better track in case got abnormality and good to let PD know also.

anyway, me was looking at my past records for #1 esp on the BF part and his sleeping schedule. it was really interesting to see how i struggled in beginning and then later it became so much better.

point is, be prepared and hang in there!!!!

hehehe.. i also blogged then about #1 (told you i was very free). will copy and post some points on tips that i learnt for the new mummies for reference k? again, not official nor the bible but just my own learnings. interested? hehehe.....

Kawaii baby,
Didn't see u in threads for quite some time ;) how are u now?
I hv a net bouncer as a gift fr friend. Intend to use it when letting bb sleep or rest in living rm but don't know my mil allows or not. She has very very old thinking, will say later catch cold if sleep in living rm =.=''

Liligal,
I feel lonely sleeping by myself too. Hubby grumbled even since has kid, we sleep separately most of e time. But he's also funny lah. That day when we were in same bed, he complaint I was too noisy as I wld whine whenever I turned ard. In e end, he went to sleep wif our boy. Sob sob.. Hahaha.

Rer rer
Is ur posture not right or did u carry heavy things? U must rest well. E last time I had very bad pain n aching on my left leg was carried my boy fr use to carpark. Pained for 2 days n had to take painkiller. So, don't overstrain yourself.

Liligal,
I'm raising both hands, interested!
I kept a note of my boy feeding time too. It was so messy n haywire in e beginning too. LOL. I took quite a while to settle down for my boy.

cherish, you 2nd time mummy no need lah... after i re-read my own learnings, realized nothing much leh... hahahhaa...

btw, motherhood is really a learning process hor? it's like u thot u knew but then u don't. i think once #2 is out, we'll realized that it's all different again.

ah, hubby just left for his trip. me hope boy wun wake up halfway with bad dreams!!! or wanting to go pee!!!

liligal: I also dunno if I can cope w/o CL or not but #1 I did w/o too. Except I had my MIL who took 1 week leave to help out and had a maid to cook. Now MIL will still take 1 week leave and my mum will try to drop by between her work to prepare lunch if she can. It's def gonna be much tougher cos now got #1 to take care too except when he go playgroup from 9-11am. So must really really plan everything properly. I have prepared packets of oats in case really no 1 to cook, at least can just cook the oats in less than 5mins. Healthy food :p

My body is sooooooo tired but can't seemed to fall asleep especially at this later stage of preg. goodnight mummies and hope everyone have a gd rest and lesser wake-up-to-pee time! How I wish tml is the fair den can shop! Haha!

di, if you have a maid then not too bad and have MIL & mum for support. u can consider ordering confinement food from the caterers also. they have weekly meals as well. take care!

me also need to go sleep! tomorrow full day ahead... tahan tahan... 1.5 more weeks to working from home!

Morning mommies!
On train to work now. Can't imagine working ladies rushing in lrt just now to get seats. N when they saw me, acted blur. Though I know it's not a must to give up seat for more needy, but disappointed with e inconsiderate. We still hv a long way to learn fr countries like jp or Taiwan.

Yes, I agree motherhood is a non stop learning process. Though 2nd time mommy, still find I don't know a lot of things. Heheh. Got to learn as time comes. Hopefully will manage better this time round. ;p

I was so sleepy yesterday that I slept at ard 11pm. didn't hv this feeling for so long.

Cherish, I got shatec sch guy sitting at priority seat till he got off 3 stop in from of me, use Hp n it's at my tummy lvl.... Ppl next to hm all zzzz. Those standing near me nt very pls cos I sure get to sit dwn

good morning!!

Liligal: nah.. I dun have a maid, used to have but too much prob so return to agent. Have considered catering but wanna cut down on spending $$ cos am gonna be SAHM for awhile after my contract at work next week ends so saving on everything we can. Cos not planned that I will not be working. Thanks to my previous workplace for being such a big a**hole

Good morning ladies!
liligal: saw that u keep track of ur #1 feed n poo etc....now got app on iphone called Baby Connect that can help keep track in an organised manner...u can go app store to search if u r using an iPhone....not for android user though

kawaiibaby: wb. v long din see u here eh? hehehe

oh ya, recently whn i sit down i feel my bottom so heavy. er how to say. idk how to put it. but when u sit down u feel like ohhh. HAHAA. er, just like heavy feeling? i totally avoid full squat if possible! hehehe.

shareshare with u all my swim pics taken last weekends with my lil bump=)
it looked like it had shrinked. haha, those in my fb shud b able to see the rest of the pics!

7097162.jpg

Cherish: yeah Rykiel is not those who had put on weight her arms n legs.. i saw her in real person i was like wow..this mummy same time as me meh.. haha..

Di: ^5.. i oso no cl or maid to help me during confinment. mil taking 1 week leave.. but i got my sis in law to help me to cook the food n bring over in the morning dan i heat it up wheneven i m hungry.. i m thinking of asking my mum to help me on my 2nd week but like very far for her like tat.. coz she stay central(boon keng area) n i m staying at pioneer!!!

agreed with u mummies tat motherhood is a whole learning process..sth different..

Rykiel: cool sia u can take in the swimming pool.. i m gonna take my bump shoot next sunday at home..

mummies its mid week already=) hang in there!!!
cnt wait for tml 1/2 day n i call it off the week~~ hahaha..

later lunch time going to drop by Clementi Mall Watson to see if toiletries got any cheaper or not=)