(2012/07) Jul 2012

qin, i was worse last time with #1! hahahhaa... yes, i think it's a preggy thing. i can't wait to download and rest on my tummy!!! and stop feeling like a hippo!!!

cherish, i got everything more or less settled except for sterilizer and just waiting for motherhood fair... so nothing to check lor. hehehe.. i knew u'll reply cos u seemed to be online very often too!!! hehehehe....

liligal: congrats that your review was good! Then you can concentrate to rest during your maternity!

i also waiting for the fair to finish up all my shopping!

I want to ask if yoga mat can be used for massage?? is it long enough?

ourlovestory, you ordered massage? home service? i think yoga mat also got different sizes right? those that i used to see in the gym not that long i think. only up to thigh area.

yeah yeah the review allowed me to just fade off nicely... and then come bk and see if there's still a nice cushy job for me. i'm bored in this role already and hoped for a change.

liligal: yes i already confirmed my massage and she is home service one. I saw watsons selling the yoga mat at 19.90... but do not know how long... it seems thick..

so will you be able to get your bonus too? I worried about aws since i will be on maternity leave le...
worked so hard and get nothing in the end...

ourlovestory, yes, i'm getting 100% pay and AWS. my side no bonus as I am in sales. btw, AWS is a given in singapore, they cannot take that from you leh...

let me know how ur massage go. i'm still dily dallying...

Ourlovestory,
Why they can don't give u aws? I thot as long as we work in a comp more than a yr, we entitle it in full rated.

Liligal,
Aiyoyo. Me paisei liao. Now wif these hp, can surf net in room while making my l boy sleep. Heheh.

cherish, aiyooo don't lah. at least got people to talk to me! hahahhaha.... btw, how you make your boy sleep while you surf net? u jus sit there and he roll around until he sleeps?

Liligal,
I will start to surf net when he's abt to doze off n will use pillow to hide my hp while surfing. If he sees it, I jialat. He will becomes awake again n I hv to start all over again. LOL.

I did not ask about my aws but because I m on maternity leave could it be pro-rated?? I also thinking of taking unpaid leave after maternity leave leh.. Are you mummies considering unpaid leave too?? Maybe can concentrate to breast feed better when at home??

ourlovestory, shouldn't be at all. geeshhh.. i hv never gotten my AWS cut in any form! me not taking unpaid leave cos i dun think i'll survive so long being at home. i'm only take 3mths ML first and then slowly take the the last month. i took 2.5years to finish the last mth last time for #1. had to specially arrange with bosses.

cherish, hahaha. you are just like my hubby!!! he used to hide the phone and listen to news on BBC! but now we just tell a story then come out and ask him to sleep by himself. of cos we'll periodically go in and check. takes longer for him to sleep though. hopefully it will speed up in near future.

ourlovestory, I'm thinking of getting the mattress from seahorse for my jamu massage. It's selling at $39 and I think it's the right size. Quite a few of my frens bought that...

AWS is part of our basic pay. They cannot pro-rate it just because you are on maternity leave.

My plan is to clear my annual leave and childcare leave and only go back to work in Jan next year =) I hope it will work out nicely.

Ourlovestory,
I'm taking 3mths ml first. Will spread e last 4wks n ccl over e mths. Feel bad to ask my colleague to backup me for so long as she's preparing her wedding too. N I just standby to use those leaves for bb jab day or in case kids for sick.
from what I understand, pro rated aws is only when an employee joins a comp less than a yr, not because we take ml.

Bhoo,
Wow. ur planning sound good too. At least u can hv good bonding wif ur bb. If I were to request this, I think my mgr might ask me not to come back. Not so flexible lor.

Liligal,
How do u manage to train ur boy to sleep by himself? In long term, this is good. My boy still wants me to accompany. If I walk out, he cries loudly. When he's abt to zzz, he will still call mommy few times to chk if I'm ard.

cherish, lotsa patience is one. btw, my kid is born in aug 2009.

in the beginning, we tell stories and wait till he's sleepy. then i'll say i'll go toilet or fill his water or shower first and will be back. i have to pep talk him until he gives his consent or else sure cannot. so initially i only go toilet and waited outside for about 15mins before i go in to check on him.

sometimes he was ok and by the time i'm in, he's asleep. but other times, he'll also open door and tried to find me. i'll be near the door then and pep talk him to be inside. then the cycle starts again.

slowly slowly he realizes that i nd to bathe/pee/shit/fill water etc and he's ok to be on his own. sometimes now, he'll chase me out and says he wants to be alone. but of cos sure got times he's clingy and will only let me off until he's asleep.

my hubby best. tell stories. say good night n tell him strongly cannot come out. so he's quite a good boy and will stand at door and not come out but keep peeping. hubby will go periodically to tell him the same message. then somehow he gets tired and will go bk to sleep by himself. but this process takes longer in my perspective.

come to think of it, we shud hv done this earlier like when he's 6-8 mths. so for #2, we are trying new styles... hyper scheduling is one.

Wow... It sure takes a lot of tactics to make a child sleep!! Must learn from you mummies!!

I'm glad that I m still entitled to my aws! Whew! But a bit heart pain to take unpaid leave.. But no choice if for the sake of bb.. Moreover ML includes PH.. So very bo hua.. Very soon 16 weeks will be gone!!

Bhoo: If you can reuse the mattress for something else then is gd.. But I scare the oil or smell from the massage will stink the mattress so I just want o get a cheapo one only ... Coz I will have no use after that. I also need to get a cheap towel to put on top of it..

Liligal,
Ur method is good!. I will try out tmr. My boy born yr 2010. I guess I need to be patience n consistent. I tried telling him I need to go shower n let papa take over. He used to be ok wif that but as he grows n my hubby always travel (I take care of his nite time when he's out of town), my boy seems very attached to me for sleep time now. sometimes, he just pushes his papa out of e rm n pull me in. n my hubby is so happy to be able to go watch his TV program >.<
definitely going to try out ur method else how to cope when #2 comes out. Thanks for sharing it.

Cherish, haha my hubby so different! We hv to fight to see who gets to put boy to sleep and do rostering! Cos he thinks boy is clingy to mummy n he's not happy. Boy also prefers me but hubby is very insistent that we r fair! Haha

Ourlovestory, mine definitely not ideal but can use for reference. Other friends can tahan the cry to sleep method since young but I very bu she de which is why took so long. I got this fren can ignore crying for an hour plus for 2-3 weeks since birth! Later she v gd just read story close door n done. I think I'm more traumatized by this than her babies.

Hi everyone, was soooo swamped w work ytd I had no time to read the forum even. Definitely had monday blues.. In fact i still feel the dread now! Someone was saying abt having no heart to work already, I can totally identify with that.. Every morning I walk into office wishing it's time to knock off. I sometimes feel a little guilty about it heh.. Dont exactly possess superb employee attitude hor?

Ourlovestory: yup me! I plan to go on leave/NPL until mid Mar.. Will have to still help cover n work a week or two here n there at the end of the year tho.. Would have loved to extend further but afraid that I'd b pushing my luck.. Lol.. Big boss wasn't too willing to let me go but thankfully my boss supported my decision.

But I also heard from other mummy friends whose verdict was that they can't wait to return to work when their ML ended, claiming that it's really a tiring n draining job to take care of the kid n that they couldn't wait to have their own time back - hence they rather work.. Do the second time mums here agree with that? Cos here I am dreading my return in Mar'12 n wishing I could have taken another 6 mths off..

Talking abt slp on own. My mum bu she de let my boy slp on his own n he is so attached to her. If mum nt ard he will stick to me! Chase hb away....

so jealous of those who can take no pay leave ah!

liligal, i m also in sales but zero chance of hitting my target this yr so definitely no bonus for me this yr. No pay leave is also not possible lar sigh already my boss is fretting what will happen when i go on ML, hah she said try to get pregnant in June so we will deliver in early part of the yr so wont affect yr end sales. if only baby comes from vending machine, i told her!

morning ladies ;) work was hectic yesterday.. totally in monday blues mode..
Having leg cramps in the middle of the night for the past 2days &amp; the freq of waking to visit toilet also increased.. all these are draining off all my energy.. practically dragging myself to work in the morning...

Good morning ladies....went for my check-up yesterday...baby's weight is 1.8kg and I've increased by 1kg...still on track for my targeted max. 13kg weight increase

zhen: i also woke up last night to massage my legs because it cramped suddenly.. so painful and i didn't want to wake up my hubby.

hika: you can take so long NPL? i think the most i will just take one or two months extra else i think i will suffer financially. Also must save some leave for bb injections etc...

liligal: there are many school of thoughts when it comes to bb crying.. this is an interesting article to read on:
http://baby-monitor-review.toptenreviews.com/sleep-training-what-is-normal-and-how-long-should-i-let-my-baby-cry-.html

btw i feel that there are some pressure at my pelvic area when walking, is it because our tummy is getting big now?

i did my BW.. no more "forest bush"! ;p

Late morning mommies!
eyes puffy puffy today and can hardly open big. couldn't slept well last nite as my left side of body was so aching that i called help but no one came rescue me! hahaha

rer-rer,
have u went to pick up your helper already?

liligal,
ur hubby is sweet. my boy is more attached to me as my hubby does not spend much time with him. if i ask him to help look after the boy, i will see the big one sits on sofa playing with his phone and my boy just walks here and there, plays by himself. sighh lor.

motherhood fair is coming!! anyone going? i heard there will be more booths.

ourlovestory: i also tried to massage on my own, but the cramps just wont go away, so i have no choice but to wake my hubby up.. he asked me to try wearing socks to slp tonight &amp; see if it will help. btw, where did u do your BW? I'm thinking to go remove my forest bushessss too. :p

Cherish: i will be going for the motherhood fair, now considering whether to take 1/2 on friday to go for the fair. wanted to go on Sat, but hubby is worried it will be too crowded, and with my big tum will be hard to move around.. i also heard there will be more booth.. and i think this will be the last fair for us to grab all the bb stuffs...

hi mummies..
took MC yesterday as had a very bad headache=(
today wanted to take mc again but coz i left with 2 days MC n oso i need to do month end closing report.. so i decided to come office=(
yesterday all i did was slp n slp n slp!!!

the thread is really running fast..

cherish: i m taking 1/2 day to go expo on Thursday.. Friday going to TMC for hospital tour.. n on Saturday evening will go expo again with hubby n he will be the coolie to carry all the barangs.. Thursday is more to me sourcing wat i wanna buy n aim n see wat good promotions they haf..

on Sunday I went to my hubby sis in law hse.. n she already prepared alot of ginger wine n red wine for my confinement period already.. she asked me want to eat red wine chicken or not.. whaha.. she say now i can take abit liao.. but dun overdose.. but i politely decline lah.. dun wan my bb to be alcoholic when he is out..lolx..
but the ginger wine taste really nice.. i took a sip of it..

liligal: sorry for teh late reply. manager cum hr. married. n i suspect shes preggy too. siao one right. she came back to me ytd n told me oh. give me #1 bc first can liao, than #2 u pass me when u have it can liao. totally pissed with her at times.

talking about bb weight, the first time i knw bb weight was at 28wks 1kg. now im close to 31wks, dunno bb weight as yet. must wait till 2nd week june than checkup. but most of u all the bb weight looks good eh!? hehehehe.

at work i feel so wei qu, feel so bad. hai.. i was merely checking IF gynae give HL to me am i entitled nia. n she kick up a big hoo haa idk wad she said to boss. boss reply to her was.. day 1: if sick mc or hl i cannot force u to work also ma. ML is for maternity use. day2: she morning say agn say boss ytd cm bk frm mtg ask her agn. n say ML is more thn enf to cover. dun hv to take HL AGAINNN.. like that. i mean wtf rights. shudnt u b the one who is fighting rights for us? =(((

Cherish, not yet picked her up, will do so on Sunday. She is having training these few days at agency n also going for her medical n the SIP. But according to the mom website, she attended the SIP ytd.We are going for staycation tmr at MBS cos hb got free stay, so will be on half day tmr pm n thurs am, cannot take full day cos mth end….n we are very down with staff!

Rykiel, ur HR a bit shot shot....those with #1 de how?

Super happy to receive the IP camera fr the ebay seller ytd! Playing with it halfway trying to configure n my stupid laptop hang n I have to restart the whole configuration…too tired tho. I got the foscam latest model for $195, 2 cameras!

I'm going motherhood fair on Thurs cos last day to claim off-in-lieu for Vesak Day PH so shun Bian can avoid the crowd on weekends.. They have daily offers so different day will have different discounts for different products. Will go and grab some Goon NB &amp; S size diapers and J&amp;J top-to-toe got 30% off for first 50 bottles :p so kiasu but to save $$ ... will share the good buys when back from the sale

Amy mummies washed bb clothes with normal detergent like Dynamo? Cos dug out #1 nb clothes ytd for his mei mei den wanna wash this weekend. Also if anyone knows if it's ok to use add Dettol to wash too? Thanks in advance

So tired so tired so tired today.
Later still have to go head office for training. Zzz...
Last night no wet dream but weird dreams until like never get to sleep at all.

Saturday target to go Expo then to Ikea.
Must pray hard hard that I will still have the energy to drive from far west to far east.
lili_gal will know what I mean.

linggie, yah... the outlook forecast is not good for coming months, so me also target hard to reach. having 100% pay is very good. hehehee... btw, in some schools, the teachers schedule their baby makings cos the principal hinted very strongly on it.

hika, i used to be like that but taking care of 1 baby is really quite monotonous unless u hv other activities to do. so i started blogging, blogshops, sewing, baking etc etc. then the day to go bk office came, of cos i dreaded it but when i'm at work for 2 wks, i realized that the me-time is realy good. hehehe... now w 2 kids, i'm not so sure.

zhen, the cramps are crazy right? i so scared so every night do stretching, massages and while sleeping try to ensure my feet are flexed and not pointed. and wake up with backside pains. me tahan-ing

ourlovestory, yah.. read thru a lot for #1. in the end, it's my tolerance lah.

cherish, no lah.. u must see how much i nag my hubby and do "reviews" with him. he likes to read and read and read, be it on the computer or books. basically i hv this theory, guys jus like to space out. girls jus like to be on the move and do stuff. i'm going to motherhoold fair on the very first day i.e 31 may taking half day off.

joy, you left only 2 MC days?! how did you take so much?
btw, can we take wine during confinement ah? my gynae strongly advise against it if i'm BF-ing. but i feel like it leh...

laura, ur bedsheet looks like what i'm having for my bb!!! btw, no offense yah? from your pic, queen laura, you win... hands down!!!! u gained how much from pregnancy? my friend gained 20kg!

rykiel, jus blame it on baby brain for her since she's a preggy. it happened to me today. my kid's preschool meet the parents session i thot was 29 may i.e. today but applied for 28 may leave. then i jus found out that it's actually 29 jun!!! aiyooo.... baby brain. my boss says he gets confused w all my leave application and cancellation already.

rer-rer, so nice!!! envious!!!

di, me like you. going on thu and digging gor gor's stuff for mei mei this weekend. i'm using baby detergent cos not sure if mei mei will have sensitive skin. so just in case.

laura, yah.. me sian to drive already. now hubby sends me to work, run his errands, leaves the car at my office, takes public transport home and then i drive home. but it's really tiring and sometimes i drive on autopilot and in a daze! scary. 2 more weeks and i'm working from home!!! tahan tahan.

Laura: wow.. it likes u gonna give birth any time soon already..
n its a good ideal hor abt going ikea..
haha can go ikea n eat chicken wing.. n go Giant for toiletries shopping!!!

di: yeah i was thinking if wanna go watson today to grab some of the toiletries or not.. but scare gonna be very pack..
where u see what promotion they haf for day to day promotion? eg the J&amp;J de..

Rykiel: sometimes pple just misunderstand what we meant bah..
speak to ur boss if let say u r comfortable talking to them..

rer-rer: so good.. go for a relaxation first=) enjoy urself during ur staycation=)

I was telling hubby n his fren the other day to go JB.. his friend scold me n say how i go squeeze with pple at the custom if we take bus=(

lili_gal: haha ya really alot of MC hor.. n imagine its from March till now i m entitled to full 14 days of MC.. so from March to end May i already used 12 days of MC liao=X
anyway mostly is becoz when i was back from Maldives i kept falling sick.. n stresses in March period also played a part..
hence my MC always is like 2-3 days de..
As for the wine.. hmm just be moderate bah.. not too much.. n not before we breastfeed?
maybe u can ask ur gyne the next time round u see ur gyne=)

today my bb is week 31.. n i realised he super active.. keep moving abt in my tummy.. from morning till now.. n i got 3-4 new stretch marks!!!! gosh..

di,
i'm going to use baby detergent to wash the clothes for #2. like liligal, not sure if bb has sensitive skin or not. so just to play safe.

rer-rer,
i just finished my mth end so these few days still managable at work. if i didnt login for some time, it mean i damn damn busy at work, kena chased by ppl. heheh.
enjoy your staycation

Laura,
when is your edd??

And for mommies. fyi on the motherhood fair.
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/images/8ppbrochure1big.jpg
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/images/8ppbrochure2big.jpg

cherish: thanks for the links!

woah.. so envious of those who can take NPL! I plan to work till the day i deliver and i'm only taking 8 weeks of ML. i'll clear the rest as and when.

I guess I shall buy baby detergent during the fair and wash the bb clothes to be safe.

Joy_javen: the watsons fair is tomorrow so today should be not packed ba. The daily offers for the motherhood fair will be advertised on Straits Times from Thurs onwards..

Laura: I Thot my tummy is huge but urs is bigger and it must be a strain for ur back as bb is big too. sacrifices mummy makes for our baby

rerrer: hannor i reali bth her at times u know. she realli something wrong. ltr go hm liao faster play with ur cam, mine basically is up n working but i din set it to record or anything. previously set with motion detector but the cam keep email me. even when my parrot climbing up n dwn also email me. HAHAHHAA!

di: ok to wash but half the dose instead? incase smell too strong=) dettol is ok also. jus make sure not too strong smell.

liligal: got once i chagne leave due to gynae on leave i was 'issued' a msg 'please stick to ur leave dates'.. sibeh jialat right. my office small co, 4girls also so much problem!

joy_javen: i approach manager cos she is manager cum HR, if i go straight to boss become overwrite her than not nice, but she always dun fight enf for us. =(

thanks Cherish=)

mummy lee: i m thinking of the same thing too..
but since my edd is 31st July i m thinking of taking 30/7 as AL..haha.. but my supervisor asking me to take a week before.. he scare i m too tired n ask me to relax.. (another reason oso scare we give birth in office.. dan everyone kan jong bah)

Di:eek:ops.. haha i kept thinking the watson is today.. hahhaha.. 1 day member sales.. maybe go tml during lunch time to see see look look..

Rykiel: ohh.. hmm.. dan its abit tough on ur side le.. speak to the hr again n ask her does she understand what u meant or not..

joy_javen: she always dun understand what i mean. or rather she always ask wrong things or put things the wrong way to bosses. =( u ask her check HL, she duno ask or say what to bosses. hais.. i never say i 100% taking HL ma. i also not gynae how i knw wahd doc will give right. i just checking my entitlement. i dun ask her as hr ask who dui bu dui.. she hor. iyo headache mans..

take one week b4 EDD. me also one week b4. but now i tinking shud take 2weeks b4 anot. hehehe!

do u all feel panting after walking for more than 15 mins huh? nattan, i am one week after you and mi seems to be panting like mad adfter 30 mins walk ....

dun noe what is the offer for the diapers at mother hood fair this week. anyone use napia diapers before huh?

i think for baby stuffs better wash with baby detergent initially and maybe after 3 months switch to adult one. cos baby skin is more sensitive so baby detergent tends to be more mild.
do u all wake up in the middle of the nite too huh?

have you all discuss your birth plan with your gynae huh?

hahahhaaha ......guess is really blur me.....so tired lately...woke up in the middle of nite and cannot fall sleep at night from 4am onwards...and from 6.30am onwards feel like sleepping again....

sunbelle: i am panting even when im hm, wash clothes, dishes, pack sch bag, clear dishes, walk up down the house (small house ok) also panting. =((( hmm birth plans meaning?

di: i often do that to my clothes one =x even 5drips i also 'song'. HAHA KILLGERMS!

i tink dettol is good for killing germs but guess dun over do it. cos the smell is rather strong too.

jus wondering whether do we need to put a waterproof sheet beneath baby's bottom if we are using the cloth diapers for first month huh?

sunbelle: ya a few drops is enf. i used to have a helper she taught me this sanitization method for kitchen toilets etc, pour half cap dettol in a bottle, those spray flower type. than dillute. can spray at window edges to prevent ants, lizards, roaches.. etc. i often mass spray at my rubbish chute. hahah

sunbelle: oh so far she din say anything wor. i only know i left 2 visits to her b4 my edd. how about u all? n y u reply so fast!!!

Aiya, actually very hard to plan maternity leave right? We all know our EDD but how many of us will actually delivery on that date? I really hope I dun have to take my ML in advance. I want to work right till the day I pop. Is that possible? or again too optimistic?

I'm definitely going for the motherhoodfair this weekend. I've been looking forward to it =) But I dun think I will be so on as to go down everyday lar. It's damn out of the way lei... my HB confirm will think I've gone crazy to make him drive there everyday.

Rykiel, your HR and boss really no welfare. They think gynaes give out HL for no rhyme or reason meh? When we get HL is usually for bedrest which is serious business ok. Not that we preggers want to cheat the co of leave.

Laura, I salute you!!!