(2012/07) Jul 2012

rykiel & cherish, great that both of you finally selected your maid. Fingers crossed that all will go well =)

qin, I might be going for the robinsons sale but not for baby's stuff. The last robinsons pte sale was just a few weeks back and the baby stuff are not much cheaper. Mostly 20% off only. Robinsons sale is good for menswear and household pdts. I suspect this time round will be the same.

Btw, can anyone recommend a stroller that can easily open/close with one hand, sturdy and easy to manoeuvre? It is Capella S705 good?

Rykiel, congrats!! Finally ur maid hunt settled! Hoping she will be a good fit for u
Haha even the yes ma'am lady also got reserved liao, good that u found urs finally

Rer rer n cherish, happy for u ladies too, at least maid chosen can focus on other things now or rest hehe. Cherish, don't worry, young n inexperienced can train

I have now entered 3rd trimester. Baby weighs 1.1kg at 27 weeks + 5 days. 12 more weeks to go to EDD. Let's jiayou together!

helllloooo mummies~~~ i m back after been mia since saturday..
haha.. basically went to titanic exhibition n mj on saturday..went to expo yesterdae..
seriously i reached there disappointed~~~ though i did get a few items at the fair beside signing up for the stemcord..else i will feel so stupid tk train from pioneer n go all the way down just to sign up for stemcord alone.. bought a height measurement(tigger design) since its $5,MAM pacifier for 0-3mths de..2 sets of cap,botties n mitten set($5/set),n d wash cloth..($5/set of 8pcs)..

just to reply some of u mummies posts=)

Qin: i signed up for stemcord too..they didnt give me any cream lei.. just the photo shoot only..
yeah i heard from my gf she say she will go to motherhood fair oso..she haf been going for d past 2 yrs already..
i oso dun see the suntec fair in the website..but i saw in forums thread there is lei.. haha..

Joanne: oki noted..will wait till motherhood fair n buy those diapers,wipes n such..since its much nearer to bb birth(my edd is 31st july)..
stay w in-law so only got a small room to keep my stuff..its better to wait till nearer to date dan buy..
so cool u got a twins which is long fong..

cherish: not always work till so late..so still nt bad lah=) hehe..
u too dun tired urself out yeah..

liligal: =) actually i heard tat swimming is bb natural instinct as they were in our womb full of water mah.. so they are natural swimmer.. hehe..
haha nice weather to stay home n slack today..
will try to rest more=)
n i do agreed with u i see many dragon bb esp just by seeing in fb.. haha..

laura: yeah agreed with u nth to buy..but at least u drove.. i took train down from pioneer to expo..sit till wanna slp sia.. n i didnt go expo..haha..

rer-rer: get well soon..

an hr to go to knock off~~~

cherish, my maid oso 24 yrs old, dunno really 24 bo!

cookie, my hb calls maid hunting the "yin lang ru shi". He din wanna get involve , everything I go n ask n find out. My mum also just see fotos n ask qns, the cost etc n rules nvr ask properly...I get nitemare ok.

Anyone got schedule for maid to share? I wanna try do up a schedule, like wat time shld wake up n rest etc. The chores etc. Whole family all no maid b4!

juz went gynae today, measures 26wk 2 day, my bb weighs 959g. Gynae say its average, but i saw forum, some says its quite big baby.. izzit big? i am worried too big difficult to give birth leh..i am very petite.. only 152cm, now weigh 45kg nia..

twittymon: when i was 24wks 5days my bb was already 800grm.. so i think urs shld b consider as average yeah=)
but u do sounds like u r really small in size wor..45kg is a WOW..how much u weigh before u r preggy??

hopefully i dun want too big bb oso, difficult to give birth.. my #1 born at 41wks, 3.12kg, already need assisted delivery liao.. now old liao no strength to push.. haha..b4 preggy i weigh 39kg nia.. good that all weight is absorb by my bb :p

twittymon, my bb is 898g at 26 weeks old leh, doc say avg oso. My #1 born at 37 weeks 2.775kg, also assisted delivery but I m 30 kg heavier than u tat time n nw! hahahha

thanks mummylee for the details.

jo, so nice to have long feng twins!!! congrats!!!

rykiel, so 39yo can take care of babies too? such a blessing in disguise since your YESMAAM can't communicate well. might have probs in future and not even sure if she can cook right? at least this one tells u upfront.

cherish, 6 more weeks to full term. for your maid, key is who will be the ultimate maid supervisor. if it's you, then better you be comfortable. guys are usually ok with anything.... as long as less work for them.

robinsons having private card sales from 1-3 may. u can find it in today's straits times. was thinking to go early, get everything and close shop. but yah, baby stuff not very cheap and end up about same price as outside since their starting price is already slightly higher in robinsons.

tracy, close to mine! a few more weeks to go!!! i only count till full term. hahhaa...

joy, for stemcord, i pointed at the board and asked what is the free gift! ahhaha.. then they gave me the cream.

twittymon, you are really petite and slim! my #1 was 3.5kg and have to do C-sect. now i'm 10KG more than you. wow.... before and after preggy too.

today very jialat. woke up with brown discharge! could be an infection vs labour. was asked to monitor for a while and see if there's more or there's cramping. really hope everything will be well. i better start preparing my stuff earlier just in case have to do bedrest.

Joy, maybe the stretchmark cream finish liao... Anyway the photo package is a good deal right? Hehe...
I think motherhood fair at end of May will be a better and big one, more discount.

Twittymon, when i was 26 weeks 6 days, my gynae said bb weigh abt a kg. She did not comment anything, juz said bb is growing well.

Liligal, u got to rest well and avoid cold stuff.

bhoo, cookie,
thanks!! i'm also crossing my fingers =)

Mrs C,
i hv ard 10-11 weeks to go!! jiayou jiayou!!! i do hope we mommies will still have time to login to the forum to share our journey. i definitely will hv more questions after bb is born! hahah

rer-rer,
ur maid also 24?? my house is not ready for maid too. still untidy and she's coming in this weekend. havent buy extra mattress for her and dont know where to let her sleep. headache. i'm also looking for schedule and what are the things to do.1st time experience.

liligal,
how are u now? hope there is no cramping for u. rest rest well..

Laura: lol I mean I didn't go metro sales.. silly me dunno wat I'm writing.. didn't haf d mood to work today sia..

liligal: lol I see.. I just directly go to d booth n tell them I wanna sign up.. so maybe they dun bother oso??

Qin:maybe lor
yea d photoshoot seems to b a good one.. n yea believe d motherhood fair will b better.. but still will drop by to suntec this week

Sunbelle : havent buy much yet leh. Bought a few nursing bra only and few packs of disposable milk bags and breast pads nia. Not counted as buying much.r And I have some hand me down clothes, steriliser and a baby cot. So I still need to buy the rest like breast pump, towels, diapers, wipes, baby carrier, etc etc. How about u? I will go to this motherhood fair on Friday too!

Joanne : Congrats on the long feng tai!! U must be overjoyed! Yeah mine is a girl
. Dunno will change to boy later on a not.. Haha... I ask dr to reconfirm when I see him next time which is end May.. So far I only seen the gender at 20 weeks as I'm not v curious abt the gender. Was telling my hubby dun need to know until delivery time
I also thinking of taking HL for a month to rest at home in June! When are exactly u due? Wahhhaa! U think he will agree right? Damn stressed at work..

Rykiel : I also went to a couple of maid agency and I wanted Mynamar maid and they told me can only choose from bio data. Cannot interview cos no phone lines to Mynamar or rather the maid home there got no phones lines due to those backward village type. Alemark then how to interview. Just told me select from bio data! So difficult to choose. What's their salary nowadays?

Last night boy boy really had fun rolling and kicking inside my tummy. He was literally stretching his limbs, turning his head and arching his back until my tummy looked really deformed and like a cone.

Cherish, I going to seahorse to buy the foldable mattress for her n toyogo drawer fr toa payoh. Or neighborhood furniture shop got foldable matresss. Tanny, u place dep at agency le mah? I went to small one who only bring in myannmar de since my mum insist n prefers tat one. Otherwise I going to AG, can use credit card for payment. New myannmar maid salary is $400 no off day. But my mum is the main caregiver I let her decide

Hi mummies!!

Happy holidays!!!!

Any recommendation for pram?
Any review on Capella S705? How about lucky baby? Anyone has used this brand of pram b4?

Cherish, thanks for asking. So far ok I think. Discharge stopped somewhat. Need to monitor tho. Tummy heavier and I'm walking much much slower. Today tried to chiong for robinsons sale so that I can conclude all or at least most shopping. but prices still expensive. Went to Baby Kingdom instead. Bought nearly all oredi except sterilizer so now can rest my heart.

Joy I've been so lax at work now my boss is getting panicky especially since I'm going away soon. Haha shud really learn fr u and work harder a bit.

I love May so many holidays and my birthday month!

Oh btw the dragon baby count among my frens still growing. Now I hv 15 frens w dragon babies this year!

Sharon: I'm not an expert but i myself am looking at lucky baby skipper stroller
coz I like d fact d wheels can turn 360 n d leg rest be lift up n down.. saw at jp ntuc selling $129..

liligal: lol I haf no choice but my supervisor is panicking too not knowing who to b my backup.. lol.. the only holiday is today plus 1 in lieu only.. thinking to tk leave on d last day of d mth to go motherhood fair on Friday.. hahaha..
Happy Birthday in advance though not sure when is it
hehe

joy, it's mid-May! hehehe.. thanks in advance tho. even tho old liao, i still find birthday a happy occasion and a reason for celebration. i took lotsa leaves in May cos my mum is going on a holiday and will not be able to take care of my son plus a few days off for my birthday! hahaha...

sharon, i used combi lightest one.. only 4.2kg as i can handle w one hand and light for me to carry around when hubby not around or when we go travel. that said, we stop using it around 1.5yrs cos we wanted the boy to be not reliant on it. now at 3yrs old, he is out w us without any pram or stroller... so one item less to lug around.

Baby Baby Exhibition 2012 at Suntec....

but but but really strange why Suntec's event calendar not mentioning this event.

Hi Tanny
For twins will hv earlier delivery so i think if can give birth at beginning of July will be ideal.. Tts why i need to rest well in June.. How abt ur edd? Why u need to rest in June? Then how abt July? How r u feeling now? If u can walk will be gd to continue walking since u r trying natural birth n risk of preterm for singleton will be lower.. Last time i work till my boy is born... As for maid, i am using mymaar maid.. And my agency mainly hv mymaar maid too.. Her salary is $400 with no off day for 2years..
So far my maid quite hardworking n communication oso improving..She is a transfer maid n she works in the previous employer for only 5mths n she resign as the previous employer keep scold her.. Think bec she is a new maid that time.. So communication got problem.. Can only speak simple english.. Bec she is a transfer maid so we get to interview her face to face.. Else really only see biodata n the agency will help us interview the new maid telling her our requirement.. Now i Hope she can be up to standard then i wun headache..;)
But gals, i really dun want maid to help care for my bbies.. Worry.. So i hope i can cope if to hv two bbies in my bedroom... Will u let ur maid take care ur bb?

Joanne, u got ur maid fr which agency? The one I went to oso only got myannmar de. Tink new maids we must b patient hor. We nt going to let maid slp with the kids but she oso can't let the Bb cry n wait for my mum to handle. It's a super mixed feeling cos on a hand we scared the maid n baby bond too much n she use Bb as excuse, on the other we scared she too scared of Bb.... Aiyoh my family n inlaws got no maid exp b4. The rm we gonna let her slp in got all our impt docs n valuables.... Need major reshuffling

jo, i think slowly you'll find your rhythm on whether to let maid handle or not. we can think alot now but later when twins are out, one cry and the other one also cry, you might need her help to carry or do this and that especially if no other help around. last time i was very obstinate in not letting my confinement lady (yah, i know i dumb) do everything for the bb cos i first time mum and wanna learn everything and kp giving lotsa instructions but after that really, needed the rest. so 2 wks down then i let her handle. same with my mum as i scared i lose touch w boy. but really, extra help is much appreciated as handling kids is no mean feat, not forgetting you'll be having twins.

Hi liligal
Happy birthday to u in advance!! Glad to know u hv no more discharge..

Do u hv any increase watery discharge? Me hv neh though i hv put a panty liner but still can wet my panty.. Wonder is it normal?

Rer rer,
I'm also intend to get mattress fr seahorse n waiting if there will be sales or promotion. Has an existing one to tong first. N going to let her use my existing toyogo drawers too. For sleeping arrangements, another headache. I don't know if going to let her sleep wif my son or study room. my mil will be same rm wif my son n find it's quite crowded if another adult there too. But if in study rm, that mean I can't do my stuff till late late

Joanne,
Happy for u that ur maid is doing fine so far =)
I don't intend to let my maid to fully take care bb. She's more to doing housework n helping out my mil during daytime. I'm also first time getting maid, no experience
That's my plan, will hv to see if it works or not as my mil is very dependent on ppl n when ask her to take care my boy now, she says she can't n don't know >.<

Liligal,
Must rest plentiful n take care too. And yes, Happy Birthday in advance too!

Joanne,
I encounter heavy discharge on n off. For my case, I realize if I drink very cold drink or carry heavy stuff for too long distance, will hv more discharge lor

Joanne, I got jialat discharge that time till my mum say I stink. Pantyliner make me itch, got serious prob, cos of my fever flu saga, I took antibiotics cos no choice n miraculously no more discharge. I tink I got some kind of infection down there. Joanne/cherish , we all can bitch abt maids next time. I m still looking for sample time table, if I can find any I share with u all k. No choice we can't wk in the tv rm or watch tv till late oso.... Need alot of adjustments

Hi rer rer
My agency is a small one at geylang area.. Urs? I give up my study room for maid since my son sleeps in aircon rm n i dun want a stranger to sleep with my boy.. Not sure what will she do in middle of night.. My study rm add a bed n she can sleep there herself.. I buy seahorse 4inch mattress for around $60-70 ba.. Buy at those shophouses do not too ex.. Oso i feel wht She breath out may not be healthy for my boy to breath in too.. Hee...
Oh ya, here is a rough maid schedule for ur reference.. But soon u will notice is adhoc basic, schedule oso no use as hard to follow..;)
https://docs.google.com/View?docid=dcrz6397_174n2qzmj&amp;pageview=1&amp;hgd=1&amp;hl=en

Hi liligal
My discharge is not water bag broke neh.. Choy choy.. Just tt transparent discharge not sure why end of day can see it go thru my liner and stain my panty.. Think will asks gynea when i see him next time.. Hope is normal...

For CL, i am fine tt they touch my bbies since they r experience n hire for this reason so we can recupperate for the first month.. I dun feel at ease on maid experience though.. What if they shake bbies too hard if we r not there n they r crying.. But like u say, if we r shorthanded, we may hv no choice.. Will still try my best to care for them myself or asks hb for help.. Think if we go out, we can leave maid alone at home since car got no space for her too..;p
I think with me, hb n elder son help, shd be able to manage when outside ba..;)

Hi cherish
Lets hope we can manage our bbies ourselves though going to be challenging..;) me daily got discharge.. Not sure is it ok though.. Pray hard all is fine..;)

jo, hhahahhaa... scary!!! luckily not. i recently read lotsa labor stories until i paranoid liao. paiseh... hehehe..

i think i'll be like u when i get maid. dun want them to touch my kids at all. but then, that's still at least 6 mths away. we need to get our own place first but now it's so so so so ex!!! sigh.. shud hv bought earlier.

btw, other than sterilizer, i think i bought most stuff liao. yeah yeah... will start doing my hospital bag soon. need to be better than my last time.

Will u set up ur bb cot only after bbies r born? As i hear some say that is pantang to set up the cot early.. I still thot of set up the cot at 3rd trimester.. What r ur thots on this? I think last time i set up my boy bb cot at 3rd trimester.. Hmm..

Joanne, the agency I went to is at shopping centre, also small agency. My mum plc there at Geylang got maid agency but the maids seems to b forever grooming dogs n the boss attitude is horrid. We just keep fingers crossed,hope all ok when time comes.

Joanne, my mum only allow me setup cot after my boy was born.... But I know as long as the preggy nt at hm it's ok. Cham I can't slp n tmr gotta wk!!! Talking abt leaving maid at hm.... Wat if they watch tv at hm n on aircon ah? I worry abt lots of things

The maid thingy I read Liao also headache. Aircon, dryer, tv, radio. Lol. I've got a camera up ler. M gonna get another one for my bedroom as that's where bb will b sleeping. One in living room one in my room bah. So far been testing it, quite gd I can say. Tmr gg try view from office n c if anyone home to help me test. I feel like Sunday night today, so hard to fall aslp. Been bz whole day didn't log in to post but been reading all ur posts thru emails! Hahaha!!! Alright mummies, worries aside for now, the lil babies need to rest. We stress they also stress, hurhurhur.. Ketchup with u ladies tmr! =) gd night!

Hi mummies, hope everyone had a great holiday!

Liligal, good to hear that the discharge was a one off thing, can imagine that it must have been worrying. Monitor and rest more ok. Pls take good care. Happy birthday in advance!

Joanne, actually I think since I fell sick my discharge less.. Dunno if this is normal or not. Anyway, monitor and if u feel it is unusually heavy, better to highlight to your gynae on the next visit, or else maybe can call the clinic to ask if it really bothers you. Setting up cot wise, heard from a few friends (during no 1's time) that normally mummy will more or less sense when baby is coming and will want to set up cot when the feeling is there. Normally this shd be in later 3rd tri.. But if believe in any pantangs then do follow for reassurance

Re maid taking care of bb, as moms we definitely don't want anyone to mishandle our babies, but I agree that sometimes we just might need help. Joanne, esp for twins I can imagine it will be even more taxing on you so it's good that u have that extra help as an option. If u can manage by yourself then I guess don't need the maid to help, but if u need help, then use her? I guess when your darlings r here u can get a better feel of whether u can trust her to handle your darlings or not. And, I think Rykiel's idea of setting up the camera is a good one, cos when maid knows her actions are monitored, it is a v good deterrent for any 'bad' behavior. Can consider if have budget

Good morning to all sister.. Lucky is not mon today..;) so not so blue...

Thks cookie, rer n rykiel for ur advise.. I like to be here more n more as u gals r sooo helpful in giving advise..;)
Hi rykiel
Wht brand of camera u bought? How much n how many camera u place? Smooth image capture?But now how u install the camera since we cant drill hole to the wall.. U just place it high up there? I been want to buy but thot after give birth then buy so can drill hole to install..;)

Hi rer
Ohh.. Think my agency breed dog too.. As my maid say the day before she comes to our place, she sleeps at 1plus as need to breed 4 dogs... Didnt know tt maid agency oso incharge of take care dog.. >_<" boss atitude so so but at least no need pay anything if to change maid except their insurance n first mth pay.. I get the contact fr another twin parent who say their maids r gd n notice the boss scold the maid very fierce one n he say he has to do tt so tt maid wun easily say want to go back agency.. Am glad mine so far ok n hope i dun say too early now..;)

Hi cookie
Regarding set up cot.. If no set up, i cant buy the mattress as not sure the measurement neh.. Using back my boy cot which under my bed now so headache when can setup.. Initally thot can do it in 3rd trimester but now...

Regarding discharge, think will wait till next scan.. Thks gals for ur advise n hope all r ok for me..

Joanne, then it's my mum hse tat one, my boy will go jiejie beat dog dog cos they forever like groom, train the dogs de. As long as maid gd, no need care abt agency rite? If liddat, u must setup the cot b4 Bb arrives , my sil really headache when Bb premature n bil setup bed when they in hospital n but sala size. Re:camera, I m also gonna plc one in my hse. Make sure she is nt up to no gd. Gonna put 1 in living rm or Bb rm ba, I scared wait I put in weird plc my hb change or wat I see hahaha! Likewise for me

Hi rer
When u go out, put ur aircon, tv control in master room n close n lock ur master bedroom k.. Make sure she knows how to operate the gas stove else dun let her cook..;) ya lor.. Later we put at wrong location then sure funny if see it.. Hee.. U mean the agency tt groom dog only one agency at geylang? Then shd be tt one ler.. I was surprise when she told us she take care 4 dogs too.. Lol..

Joanne: During my #1, the delivery guy set up the cot for us during my 36th week, thereabout...when he set up, i just go downstairs for a walk until he leaves the house...can't imagine my hubby doing that by himself while i am in the hospital coz he wants to be with us too...now for #2, we will need to adjust the cot height position back to the newborn position, so hubby will probably do it nearer to EDD...

Regarding discharge, i have more of it too, gynae said it is due to me walking a lot...as long as no foul smell and no itch, then should be ok...to be safe, just check with your gynae...

Morning mummies!!

re: setting up cot
will set up mine in few wks time bah. when my hubby does it, i will just walk out of the hse and wait a while. for my #1, we setup before bb was born.

rer-rer,
ur maid will be alone with ur bb during daytime?

i tink for cot, is depending on personal comfort level too. follow the way that you feel most comfortable with hehe
my fren hasnt passed me the cot and also the plan pen. i havent decieded whether to use the plan pen or the baby cot for the baby to sleep in...hmmhmmmhmm.....what are your views huh?

yeah havent buy the cot mattress but bought a normal mattress for playpen liao lor...

J03, i tink is very normal for more discharge esp when we are preggie. so long as they are not itchy and green and have foul smell can liao..if not have to go back and see gynae lor.....

wah i din know setup cot also pantang. i was actively involved in the setup last time during 3rd tri as hubby is not very good with structures. most prob i will do it by end May.

my mum also very pantang. ask me not to use needles etc. that time i terrible, while i was wearing the dress, the hemline kind of loose so i just use needles and try to sew it back while wearing the dress. she freaked out and especially when i was using scissors. but i really bo chap lah, late already for work. now still ok leh... hehehehee...

rer rer, win, joy, tracy

I so small size thats y i cannot afford too big bb, else make my own life difficult,.. now already having pelvic pain liao.. sometimes sleep and flip oso pain, not to mention walking sign.. still got 3 mnths to go dunno how to endure..

For those who are getting maids to take care of bb, i still think u hv to let the maid handle the bb, but hv to monitor strictly, coz sry to say that maids are not open to worlds of ours they come from different background, so their iq, eq is more or less limited.. so keep monitoring.

For those who r having 2nd or 3rd kid do u guys still store the cord blood?