(2012/07) Jul 2012

Cherish, i saw a booth selling detergent but not worth just to go buy the detergent.

Joanne, first payment $1280 exclude gst. Subsequently, first year free and 2nd year onwards $275 exclude gst. If u got referral, the 2nd year discount by $50. We did ask if there is further discount for 2nd child, they said they did provide but we did not ask for details.

cherish: which hospital u chose?
i realised tat most mums now either choose tmc or mt A..
gd tat bb is doing fine for u=) hehe.. cnt wait for me to go see my lil Javen in 2 weeks time.whahha..
at least u at the comfort of ur home..
i m alone in the office now..my colleague just left..lucky thing my hubby say he will come pick me up at 10pm..

liligal: hehe..sounds fun..maybe next time bring ur son to those neighborhood swimming pool?? so he wun be so scare??
stemcord offer is for those who go to the fair only..

joanne: motherhood fair is much bigger n more things to buy??? i nv been to any fair before.. so i m quite a mountain turtle for the bb fair n motherhood fair..n i m nt very sure next sunday is wat fair ah.. hahahhaha..

qin: ohh is studio photo ah?sounds gd ah..but i oso got personal photo shoot i book for maternity to newborn bb.. haha..wonder if i can ask my photograher can i change hers to 1 yr old photoshoot instead..
yeah cordlife dun haf booth this time round at expo.btw u say gt disc. if gt referral?? meaning for yearly or just 1 time for the 2nd yr??

I just left the bb expo. I think it's good for 1st time mummies. I bought avent steriliser, avent bottle starter kit, fisher price rocker, customised cot mattress, carter's rompers, mittens, booties, washcloths.. Anyway, there will be the same fair at expo in jul. The fair can be better if they hv more bb consumables like diapers, milk, wet wipes, etc.

Joy, it is only for one time so 2nd year pay $225 exclude gst. It can be paid thru CDA account. 3rd year, if u refer ur friend or ur friend refer u, den another $50 off.

Thks Qin for ur detail feedback..;)

Hope motherhood fair got both stemcorb n cordlife booth for comparison.. Btw, u mean if i refer someone.. That someone n me (both of us) got $50 discount?

Hi Joy
Yes.. Motherhood bigger n much better..;) i went there every year for almost 10yrs liao..;)

liligal,
i hv always wanted to bring my son to go swimming pool but i'm so lazy. feel so guilty on this as my boy loves water!
i paid some deposit for the ward booking leh. dont know if this is the practise of tmc or my gynae. did the same for #1 too. but i know there is no guarantee of the booking since it still depends on the availablity of wards on the day.

joy_javen,
i cant choose as default is TMC. hahah.
you work very late alone in office leh!! ya, luckily i can bring my work home to continue else dont know how to manage the time to pick up my boy. hv to wait for him to zzz before i can start my own stuff. u must rest well too. it's very tiring lor.

Qin,
thanks for the update on detergents. had wanted to go see see look look in weekend but really too tired to squeeze with the crowds.

Rykiel,
i like the way u described your maid hunting. you're so adorable! hahah. so u confirmed liao? we went to Home Keeper 2nd time and my hubby confirmed an indo maid. i find it's too fast as she's a transfer and quite new, and can come to our hse by next mon =.='' havent prepare anything for her at home yet and i havent mentally prepared too. had wanted to interview another potential filipino maid but she rejected us when heard need to look after children. i think i'm so 'lucky' to get rejected twice. hahah

Linggie: I've tried Pigeon and Tollyjoy baby detergent, both r ok, you can try
1st time mummies, I'd advise to use baby detergent to wash your baby clothes, their skin are sensitive

Bhoo: Can I ask how much are the carter's rompers selling for? Cheap? Thanks thanks

Cherish n liligal: my boy LOVES swimming/playing with water in pool, initially when he started he was abit scared but he got over it very quickly and now we have to be the ones dragging him home. i think toddlers in general take to the waters easily, so just need to bring them to the pool a few times and they shd overcome any fear.

Welcome back liligal, how was the trip other than the bad start? feeling all refreshed now?

cherish, wow, so the 2nd filipino also turned you down cos know u have children? they are really empowered these days!

Cookie,
Ya, I didn't know maids can be so choosy nowadays. We were told there were 2 potential maids for interview, one indo whom we confirmed n one Filipino. After we interviewed e indo, agent said he will ask e Filipino maid to come over. But when he returned, he said e maid not interested e job n rejected to interview!

Baby detergent
I used for ard 1yr plus before switching to normal type. Yes, babies skin can be very sensitive

cherish, wah, you didnt even get to interview her! lol! but also good in a sense you know immediately she's not interested in taking care of babies. would be worse if u hire her then she give u attitude later..

Ya agree good for first time mummies like me as i havent got muh stuff yet. I hv not been to a single bb fair so it's useful for me but anyway I din buy much, only a few nursing bras. Cos I went alone. I tot the Philips 3-in-1Steriliser was good deal 30%+ discount. Warmer also discounted till abt $50 plus but OG that time beter till $45. Got rompers and a lot of bb clothes, strollers, and smaller items like detergents, wipes, milk bags, etc but no diapers. Breast pump also not many choices there (anyway most of us buy US sets?) No baby bjorn or other branded bb carriers. Only 1-2 brands like Infantino.

Joanne ; U din miss much. Nothing fantastic there.. U must be really huge now! Take care!

Joanne, yes both got $50 discount. Yest i ask stemcord why their competitor not here. The staff said only 1 will be at the fair. They take turn. Anyway i go gor cheaper one

Cherish, it is not crowded. Very emptied. I think metro sale more ppl.

joy, my son super introvert and shy. when he sees there are too many people around, he retreats so neighborhood pool is out. hv to now eye my relative's condo pool. heheheheee... btw, dun work so late!!! ur body needs the rest!

cherish, shud bring him more often. but yah, i know lah.. i hate swimming myself cos lazy with all the barang barang and washing and bathing. unless i'm in a hotel then easier. after this trip, i really must think and plan for #1. we just flow too much and now w 1 year gap from his last swim time, he already forgot how he is ok with water. sigh....

cookie, yah, good break. club med is a happy place. lotsa activities for kids e.g. cookie making, shows etc and my son won a bingo contest so me super happy!!! hahahha.... but frankly other than the nice white sand, super soft beach in bintan, club med bali is MUCH better somehow. food wise it was good for both side. and also last time i dun see so many PRCs there. here some of them are quite inconsiderate but at least behaving vs those in singapore. now dun feel like working but it's piling up liao. you should get a break too!

oh, i switched to normal detergent once's #1 is around 12mths! hahaha... lazy to separately wash lah... thankfully he's ok. think depends on the kid. my fren's one must rinse at least 5 times or else skin sensitive even tho he's 5yrs old now..

btw, cherish, i think it's very good that they reject you leh. cos it's really much better to know now then later and if they feign it, that's much much worse!!! me also like u bring work home and can only start after he's asleep. hahahha... life of a juggling FTWM.

me going to baby fair later. sigh.. just for stemcord, others look see look see. better get started.... wat time does it start and end? which hall in expo?

Singapore motherhood fair got sell avent double breast pump? The baby expo nvr sell. Would it be slightly cheaper if go philip warehouse to buy?

cookie,
i use the normal detergent for my boy already..to cut cost lor. hahah.

liligal,
yes, it's challenging and tiring to juggling life as FTWM. hopefully we can do it with #2 coming out soon. =)

it's such a hot and humid weather today. dont know how it will be like in jul >.<

cherish, i was thinking abt the same thing!!! perspiring like mad even with fan blowing directly at me. going baby fair soon if hubby can wake up...

Hi Tanny
Thk u..;) not huge yet.. Just tt tummy size like singleton @36wk..still can walk but easily 酸.. Will still be at work till maybe June..Some of my collegues thot i giving birth soon n when they know i still hv 2mths.. They looks surprise...;) think i dun dare go walk walk now...

jo, walking is good exercise or else legs might cramp or have bad circulation. do it slowly though.

agree w tanny. u din miss much at the baby fair. i went to do stemcord. the offer is not that fantastic cos i happened to hv privy to a file with all the promos there. apparently w some hospitals like NUH, the price goes for $980 vs $1280 (current offer price)! I hv seen some fares going lower than $1250 before. if u r a Mt A lady's card, you'll get back the $1280 price anyway. so seriously not a big deal except for a free mini baby photoshoot &amp; a stretch mark cream.

not a lot of vendors also. space was very very sparse and empty. lotsa clothes but prices are so so i find.

end up buying a few waterproof sheets, pacifiers and some girly rompers, bottle detergent (price everywhere same) and that's all.

Hi liligal
Ya.. I still doing some walking fr my seat to toilet.. Hee.. But cant walk long now.. Gynea say walk too much will result preterm so i better sit more.. No choice woah..

Thanks mummies for the feedback re baby detergent. I just tried washing a batch of my boy's clothes with normal detergent, hopefully no reaction. Yeah will def cut cost since baby detergent more ex

Joanne, take care, can imagine it must not be easy carrying twins

Hi J03,

think walking a bit will help to soothe the ache. yeah but dun exert too muchie leh....rest when u are tired.

Qin : May day Robinson has pte card sale. might wan to try there huh? but no sure issit lots of people will be there..neber been there leh.....

qin, i'm buying just one disposable pack for hospital 1st week.

sunbelle, so far i never found robinsons sale very good. i realized cos they already marked up the original list price in the first place and then discount after will mk it just the same as what you get outside. was upset over 1-2 purchases last time. :S let me know if u found good buys k?

jo, aiyooo... heed ur gynae's advice, u better sit!!! good excuse isn't it? hahaha...

btw, really so many dragon babies this year. i'm very very old liao but among my friends there's still 13 of them having dragon babies!!! the # is still growing!!! and so far, among my pals, mostly bb girls.

amy: Air purifier does not elimiate smoke smell bcos I have one unit (Sharp ion Plasmacluster) in my office and it does not eliminate any odour.

Sigh...just came back from the Baby Expo. What a waste of time, petrol and carpark $$. So small scale and nothing much to buy. I just bought 1 Avent milk bottles set, 1 box of Avent breast pads, 2 nee-tu and 1 set of blankets.

But I found more things to buy at the Metro Sale - TITBITs! LOL

Thks cookie, sunbelle n liligal
I just bought 2pkt of disposable panties fr watson.. As during the first two wks, menses sure more so dun want asks cl to wash my panty.. Rather use n throw..;)
Guess i cannot shop le.. Just now go cityhall, walk only half hr n start panting for breath like just run 24km.... Can feel tummy heavy too n rush to go home n rest on my sofa.. But sit too long, my tail bone start hurt abit.. Jiayou.. Another few wks to go..;) i dun mind any hardship or pain as long both of my darlings born healthily.. All will be worth it..;)
Every nite see my elder boy kiss my left n right tummy n say Gd night to didi n mei mei really touch me...;,)

Joanne: Your twins are long-feng twins? So nice! Yes, do rest well...you will probably be one of the earlier ones to pop among us...

Hi all, how's everyone? I slp too much in the day Nw can't slp. Have been ona wk mc due to fever, flu, cough sorethroat. Saw doc 4 times a week including gynae... Mc till tmr. I dread the pile of shit at wk. I also did some maid hunting n my mum insist on myannmar maid. We went asking for myannmar ones. N there's a transfer one whom I interview. I ask her u can look after baby? She saw my boy n she give me a face like kanna shock! Looks like alot dowan look after kids leh. We just based on agent recommendation n chose . No interviews tho, but i heard alot can be faked with whiteboard behind de. She shld be in end may early June. My hse nt ready for maid yet....

Thk u Mrs C.. I pray hard they can be in me till at least 34 or 35wk though..dun mind any sex as long as they r healthy..;) u take care too...

Arrggg... Shd hv take leave today as raining day.. So nice to zzzzzzz.... These few days too hot le..

Joanne : Yours is boy n girl! So LS was right? Mine is a gal at the Oscar scan; different from the prediction..I only seen the gender once though.

Hi J03,

rest more if you are tired. have u decided to take no pay leave to rest earlier at home before delivery? can also get to spend some time with your boy first too....so u got a maid to help you right? should be okie lah...so u taking elective c-sec with whole GA or localised one huh?your boy is natural huh?

Hi Tanny,

you bought all your tins liao huh? got baby fair again at suntec leh.....

morning mummies! ya.. the exhibition at expo was disappointing!
wanted to get diapers but there's only pureen brand.. it's so much smaller than i thought!
i hope the suntec one this weekend will be better!

Morning. Decided to pontent work in morning n go dim sum brunch w hubby. Whole body aching. Think I din sleep well. Arms back legs neck. Yah must b like Jo. Think of just few more weeks, let's all tahan.

Got fair at suntec? Anyone with details? I was thinking of just robinsons tmr and that's it.

Mummylee, what is this fair? I don't see it in the calendar of event at suntec website. I only see sportwear sales and romance wedding.

morning all ladies, thou on CCL tdy but seem to bz! gg to get ready cook some simple porridge for lunch with #1.

i chose my maid over the weekends ler. nation did cancel my $200 deposit for me than i thought oh well good anw. i can go to another agency to try, i went to the branch employment agency. the guy calculated n it costed 4K +, from the biodatas i only saw one i like. so i requested to speak to her on the spot, the line got thru, !!! she can speak gd english, so i started askin abt her family, hu look aft kids whn she cm sg, thn i started on duties, whn i mentioned newborn baby, she went :" oh mam~ so sorry to you madame, i cannot take good kare of newborn, my 4 childran my mather take care for me, i only tk care when the childran all bigger. so sorry madame, i dont think i am able to look after new born, its too difficult for me" .. than i was like =\ sian 1/2, found one can speak can answer can understand what i say but she rejected my job offer. ended up i still LL walk back to nation. =x

so i chose another 3 to interview, 1. too old 44YO agent ask me dun take. 2. line cannot get thru. 3.agent started interviewing for me. the agent ask her alot of questions! i was dumbfounded, i sitting in front of her i was thinkin, eh the other party is can understand bo? ask so much, then a few mins ltr agent say, nah, ur turn, u try asking her n talk to her, i say ask what? all u ask finish liao, thn agent say, jus ask what u wan or repeat what i asked, listen to how she speak n answer n see her understanding level, than my brain went 'siaoliao, sure jialat' ended up so much better than my previous choice the YESMAMMMMM (btw she was chopped by another employer) =(.. hehehe. so i confirmed this lady, shes 39YO thou. n she confessed to me she's nt skilled in cooking, so i told her no problem, cooking can slowly learn, she say ok ok ok also la. haha but i can understand her n she can understand what i trying to say. so tadah~~ end of my maid saga for now. now is waiting for application to be processed! bless me!

to those gg to nation agency for maid if gg yishun branch - look for serene. v v helpful n detailed young lady =)

anw, regards to replacement the $600 is for indo. i ownself blur. hahaha. if replace filipino within 3 mths:-
1. new - pay 288 + 140 &amp; gst.
2. transfer - pay 288 + 40 &amp; gst.
difference about $100.
BUT if after 3mths than u replace new maid u hv to pay everything u paid for first payment b4 the maid comes in, my case for eg: i'll b paying 1.2k.

don't too kancheong, sit dwn at the agency, ask them source for u, or see their biodata at hm first, reach agency ask them direct call for u to talk to them. at times i feel the more u call n ask the more u will wana find a perfect one (human nature)? tis thurs nation will have a new batch of maids, good luck to all still finding their maids!

Hi Tanny
Ya,think LS is right..;) she told me u will hv boy too so is gal u r having huh?

Hi sunbelle
Ya, think i will start rest on June school holiday.. Going to get mc fr gynea instead of using no pay leave..;) dun think can walk much on June too..;) just nice as my boy no schooling.. Ya, lucky maid is here so can asks her take things ir do things for me.. So far she ok except havent asks her cook yet.. Me will be going csect epudiural half body one so hb can be with me and we want to see our two darling together at the same time.. Feel more like natural birth then..;)
Me feel so sleepy today.. If know today weather so cooling, shd rest at home.. Zzzzz .. Think gonna be a hot day tomorow.. Sianz... Tt day i asks Doc for half day mc after checkup n he says, why take half day only.. Shd rest whole day n i say i want save my mc.. Hee..

joanne,
the weather is sooo hot outside now. if can stay at home, it's better. i was perspiring like mad when went out for lunch.

Rykiel,
hope ur maid will be fine too. i confirmed mine too but been feeling uncomfortable and insecure as she's very very the young. only 24yrs old and she looks blur. but hubby said he's fine with her as she looks okay. if really cannot make it, then change again. dont know what to say lor. praying hard hubby's choice is right.

it has been really hot and humid, i went to soak in the pool yesterday afternn haha literally soaking, i cant even say i went swimming because i didnt swim at all...

I am in 30 week and baby weighs 1.5kg now. So happy!

Amy: I dont have air purifier but we just bought a humidifier, since we always turn on aircon at night. I really like it cos it helps with my dry nose and skin condition..