(2012/07) Jul 2012

by the way, umm the last time i was there, the clothes were actually in packs of 6 (half dozen) and there are usually 2 of each colour etc.. so might not be necessary to share.

i just interviewed another filipino, hang up in less than 4mins, her line v distorted. wasnt as enthu as ytd the YES MAMM, her voice sounded dead. hello madame, i went "HI!" , than she monotone, yes madame in her low soft voice. than i asked her who will be taking care of your kids when u work here? she kept quiet, 2nd time she replied ' my mother' FULLSTOP. thn kept quiet. i told her i have a newborn n a 6YO boy, do you think you will like to work with my family? thn the line started become erotic but i heard her asking how old is my newborn or smtink like that. later agent gg to reconnect back the line for me.

rgds to ytd yes mam, i might consider getting her, at least she listens and answer. headache la me. really headache.

anyone dun interview maid only based on the online info u get?

qing-er, thx. wat is the temple called ah? and the actual road name of si ma lu?

rykiel, cannot do skype with maid interviews? no see face sometimes voice very unreliable. i used to have a helper in china and she is very quiet, monotone and of very few words but she was excellent in cleanliness, thoroughness etc. with another, talk very enthusiastically and alot but was very very crap in working.

laura: Woah, looks like you have gone thru' your fair share of surgical operations. Child birthing should be a walk in the park for you =) My most major op is my wisdom tooth operation... the idea of C-sect is really quite freaking me out. Even natural delivery sounds scary to me. Really need to mentally prep myself.

hika: thanks for the info! i guess i should make a trip there this week to check it out.... but so lazy nowadays. just want to go home straight after work.

bhoo: Gone under the knife twice, not including both my lower jaw wisdom tooth extractions, poking myself with needles which I've lost count for the entire IVF process and now pricking my fingers for blood to test for blood sugar level daily. Gosh! The discography procedure for my slipped discs before the op is still the worse.

Epidural and/or natural delivery w/o Epidural - still unknown. Cannot be so sure until I've experienced it.

Hi mummies, wow so much to catch up on, the thread is so active!

Rykiel, the way u relate how u interview ur potential maid(s) is so funny haha, keep the stories coming in gal! Choose carefully ok, cos the maid will be a 'permanant' person in ur house, so spend more time looking is worth it if u can find a suitable one

GTT: glucose tolerance test. It's to check for gestational diabetes/diabetes during pregnancy

Finally managed to drag myself to my gynae today after missing my prev appt, US machine was down so didnt manage to c or weigh bb, only listened to his heartbeat, hope he's growing well

cookie: agent din call me back for 2nd interview leh. hahaha. ya the first one made my day. she simi sai also YES MAMMMMMM. hahahahaha. till nw my colleagues also keep telling me YES MAMMM. hurhurhur! i hope i get the right one ... else i till i will seh.

Laura, why u got to test everyday? Izzit test every 2 hrs before and after meal?

Ai yo my backpain is killing me... Any mummies here experience back pain?

thanks bhoo!

heheheheee... hi everyone, guess what? it's finallly here. we are going to Bintan TOMORROW!!!! wish me a good time yah? and not lose my kid... yah the kidnapping thingy is still in me. :p

Qin: Bcos my boy is growing too fast and doctor wants me to watch my diet and blood sugar level very closely. What to do?

Rykiel, haha maybe the phone connection really cannot make it, if u think she got potential then can ask ur agency for the 2nd round still.. Ur colleagues also laughing abt the yes ma'am thing ah.. The way u type it, very funny hahaaa! Hey btw, re the first gal u interviewed, like what liligal said, saying yes ma'am to everything doesn't mean she'll automatically be very steady. Sometimes I think they say yes yes yes cos they don't understand u! At the end of the day hope u get the best one!

Liligal, enjoy the babymoon!!! Eat, play, relax and don't think of anything except having a good time ok!

Laura, sounds like u r having it pretty tough, I can't imagine pricking myself so often. Really admire u, hang in there, we are already 2/3 thru! Jia you!!!

Did someone ask for address for shop opp bugis temple? its blk 269 queen st, #01-246
But i didnt go there cos i went chinatown one and got some handdowns too.. shd b enuff for first few mths

Good morning, those ladies who stay in the east, the newborn pampers diaper 24pcs r at $6.50 only from the Chinese medical hall. I buy all my #1 diapers n milk powder from them n #2 will be the same. It is always cheaper than those discount n offer from the supermarkets.

I went to the shop opposite the temple at bugis twice but didn't really like the clothing n the attitude. But cos I took my helper there to buy some baby n toddler clothing back to Philippines for her holiday, no choice but to be her translator else I will never want to go there purposely to buy anything. I prefer those Expo sales from departmental store, cheap n good quality n many designs.

Keep seeing you ladies mentioning the baby clothes from si4 ma3 lu4. May I know exactly where it is and any shop name for reference? Most likely I will be shopping around this Sunday.

Is it blk 269 queen st, #01-246? That is, if we are talking about the same thing.

BB: I noticed that too and I wonder why they can sell them cheaper than supermarkets.
What kind of detergent do you use to wash your kid's clothes? Some aunty said detergent for kids and some said normal detergent will do. I am confused.

morning~~~~
i went to bed at 730pm last nite..was too tired!!!
haha...

Rykiel: when come to maid u just haf to be patient with them.. coz sometimes they tk abit of time to understand what u want n wat u meant.. =) so stay calm okie..dun gt angry or pek chek..

Laura & BB: how many pkt of new born pampers is needed?

joy_javen: I'm not sure but heard from friends that newborn's feaces is not easy to wash away so I intend to buy 1/2 dozen to standby and see how is the usuage. Estimate 4pcs daily.

ps: Hubby said MamyPoko's diapers is the most expensive brand.

been super busy lately so din log in..oh yes, jus a question, for natural birth do we need to use a binder st away to help support? cos i am thinking if e-sec hor, then later no time to buy binder since malay massage can only be done one month later...yeah any tots on the binder huh? what brand do you ladies recommend huh?

the weather is soo soo soo hot these days...going crazy..can bath up to 4 times during weekend oh mine.......

are you ladies getting excited huh?

Hi Joy_javen : think 3 or 4 packets are enuff cos some babies outgrown them fast..depending on the size of your baby when the baby is born...yeah can also stock a few packs of S sizes too

Hi Laura : there is a baby fair at expo this weekend so u can take your pick down there ..hehe should have some promotions going on ehehe

sunbelle: Yup! We'll sure be there at the Expo this weekend. Even if really can't find any suitable things to buy, which is quite impossible, at least I get to walk walk shop shop and see more bumps besides myself.

I'm getting more excited but at the same time worried too. Normal lah! Mommies are all the same.

Talking about diapers. I think I better have 1 pkt first since I know mine will be a big baby. Ska-li cannot wear those meant for 0 mth then wasted loh!

Since we are on the topic of diapers, anyone considering cloth diapers? I actually bought some of those bumwear diapers cos they prevent nappy rash, environmentally friendlier, saves $ in long run, etc etc ... but not too sure if it's going to be alot of hard work. Anyone with experience to share?

I did a brief survey with my mummy frens and most recommend Huggies in the day (economical!) and MamyPoko or Pampers (super absorbent!) at night.

Strangely, the NTUC at my place does not seem to sell NB diapers. The smallest size I see is M. Where do they stock NB and S size diapers?

sunbelle, I tot the messeuse will provide binder?? I have no clue where to get the binder from if they dun provide.

Seems like many pple going to baby expo this weekend! We might rub shoulders with many pple on this forum unknowingly!

Hi Lili gal,
Thanks for the explanation, it helps... i din feel itchy after epi, maybe too tired also after the long labour, slept very deeply after back in ward haha...

mummy lee,
not sure for the rest also, but for me i did vomit also, near to 10 times. whereas the nurses say normally shld be 2 or 3 times, but my vomitting was pretty bad... think depends on individual body...

sunbelle: okie noted
well think i will buy a few to stock up this weekends else next weekend at suntec's fair.. just that i m scare bb is allergy..=(

Laura: yes i m getting excited but at same time worry=(
i went down to the infant care at my hse there after work.. n they told me i cannot fill up interest form first coz my bb is not out.. must wait till i got bb birth cert dan i can fill up the interest form..n my hubby say when bb out dan fill lor..to him like no need for backup plan de.. maddening..

Bhoo: my hubby wanna me to get those white napkins type..he say save cost~~
coz initial stage need to keep changing..
n i agreed with u.. i dun see any NB diapers at NTUC or Giant shelf!!!
haha..
think will grab at bb fair..

I thought of letting my baby wear napkins and after hearing what my friend told, her newborn son's faeces can't wash away, then I've decided to get disposable ones. :/

Rightfully I should be only feeling stronger movements from my boy next week (week 30), but he is already doing summersaults at least 2 weeks ago. So you say my boy big or not? *shake head*

lili_gal, enjoy ur holidays ya!!

diapers, I also using mamypokko for my boy at night..i like it cox d absorbent is good compare with others brand.

mummies, anyone know where can I get the maternity support belt. I think I really need one..quite worry will pre-term cox tummy is big, ppl said my belly is quite low n i m in small size..

joy_javen, I have the same problem with some of the infantcare centres near my home too! They simply refused to let me register and ask me to return 2 mths prior to my child's admission to infantcare (which is end Sept) and even then, there's no guarantee that there will be vacancies. It's very frustrating. This is why I most likely will be going with Cherie Hearts cos they are able to guarantee a place for my baby in Nov/Dec upon placement of deposit even without birth cert. Dunno whether this means that they are not very good and hence unpopular with parents =S I'm trying not too think too much abt it now.

Anyway, I think no harm buying some cloth nappies to try out. Also good to have as standby cos dunno whether baby will get nappy rash or allergic to disposables =)

laura, it's good to have an active baby =) Do you see your tummy distorting? I can't wait for my baby to move more. So far, I feel only mild kicks and pushes.

qing-er, I think the maternity support belt is more for back support and not to prevent preterm births... From what I read in the book 'What to expect when you are expecting' how you carry your baby is dependent on your body shape and does not mean much. Maybe pple think your tummy is big cos it's in comparison to your slight frame. Dun worry too much =) I'm sure your gynae will sound the alarm if you are in great risk of pre-term birth.

bhoo: Not so much of distorting but can see ripples. Baby thinks that I didn't notice him moving and when he can feel the heat from my palm touching my tummy he will go, "Uh-oh! I got caught by mummy. I better behave." And he'll freeze his movements. HAHAHA! You know how jelly looks like when it's shaking? Ya...recently my baby will move in such a way that either the left or right side of my tummy will shake like jelly, and he also likes to arch his back (or is it his backside?) until my belly button feels so tight! Mischevious fella.

laura: LOL! That's so interesting! I can't wait to experience that! For me I only started to feel fetal movement in my 22nd week or so when according to most pple, at 17th week should be able to start feeling some movements already. And now at 27th week, I feel my baby move more often but the movements are nothing like you described. Maybe my baby is a girl or an extremely inert little boy. Heh...

bhoo: Don't worry, every baby has their own character. We can't compare their movement.

Whenever I refer back to the ultrasound image from my check-up last Fri I cannot help but laugh. Seeing his white and prominent "stick" is like....hahahaha....dunno what to say. Kuku bird? HAHAHAHAHA! I really take my hat off to my gynea.

bhoo, yalo..after asked, i did check online n is more on back support. Will see gynae tis friday n see wat he say..thanks for tat!

Laura: that is so interesting.. haha..imagine the little bb inside ur tummy doing 360degree turn..hahha.. my bb is more scare of my hubby.. he will kick me or move n when daddy wanna touch he will stop..daddy take away his hands n bb start moving again.. only gt once i was mad at my hubby..i told bb his daddy notti..n bb start to kick oso..i told hubby to tk his hands n feel bb anger kick..haha.. i ask bb: bb,is ur daddy notti..n he kick again.. whahhahaa..

Bhoo: but cherie heart is expensive right?? how much isit?? actually i think near my workplace got cherie heart at west coast market there..
so frustrating how to register when bb is out??cannot be more considerate n let mummies to book meh??
haha.. must feedback to MPs..=X if they do help..

yeah i think i will buy 2 pkts of cloth diapers bah..

anyway can i ask u mummies.where can i find or get samples for baby shampoos n diapers n milk powder??
coz i wanna use sample n try out first before commiting to buy big bottles/pkts..
coz my hubby skin is quite allergic to certain things..so i need to be cautious..

bhoo..is it ur #1 bb? Usually u will feel d movement later than those who hving #2..dun worry..when u step into 3rd trim, u will feel the hard kicks..and sometimes like earthquake..haha..

Laura, mine plays hide & seek with me! when i feel the movements & try to video, she'll stop!

joy_javen, my hubby also not the shopping type. we've bought even fewer things then u. he say can just walk into any shop, buy in June or after baby out, don't keep the things in house for so long.

Rykiel, your maid interview story very funny

joy_javen: Yes yes yes! Initially my baby does that to my hubby too but I think he is more daring now and will move whenever he likes.

kawaii_baby: Mine too! Keep wasting my hp batt!
I'll bite his backside when he is born. HAHAHA!

qing-er: Yup! Moves like earthquake until you want him to stop he also won't stop.

kawaii_baby: YES!!!! my hubby oso said the same thing..always tell me jurong point got kiddy palace n ntuc no need to scare..

Laura:haha.. coz as bb grow bigger they need more space to move..lolx..

qing-er & laura: haha earthquake..wow i cnt imagine how its gonna be like..

but recently i do keep waking up at night.. think i got too much things in my head liao.. tat y yesterday too tired n doze off at 730pm..but middle of nite woke up..n force myself to slp..

hi ladies, let us enjoy the kicking feeling and movements. i have collegues sharing with me that they miss these movements after their babies are born hehee

bhoo : think if c-sec, hor cannot do massage until one month later leh ..natural we can do it one week later. hehe

My hb and I decide to not scan for baby's gender cos we want to be kept in suspense thru'out the whole pregnancy. So for all my ultrasound scans my gynae will avoid the genital area. They say mummy usually has a gut feel of baby's gender but not so for me lei. I sometimes 'feel' that my baby is a girl and sometimes 'feel' that baby is a boy. Heh. Can't wait for baby to be born for the great reveal.

joy_javen, Cherie Hearts is ard $850 after subsi. It's considered mid-range in terms of pricing I think. But even if expensive also bo pian. My main objective is to secure a childcare arrangement so I can return to work after maternity leave. When I called nanny agency, they also could not guarantee me a nanny. Can you imagine the stress when at 2 mths into your maternity leave you find out that there are no infantcare vacancies and no nanny available for you? For first time mummies, maternity leave is for us to learn how to take care of our babies, learn to breastfeed, understand our babies temperaments ... where got the extra energy to source for alternative childcare arrangement? Dun mean to scare you ... this is just my 2 cents worth and I can be very KS. Heh. =P

I got some samples of wet wipes, diapers, etc from my gynae when I signed up for the package. Maybe there will be more samples at the baby expo this weekend =)

sunbelle: yeah my gf told me they miss the feeling oso.. =) am enjoying every time he is moving..

bhoo: yes i agreed with u.. hence i m thinking how..n each time bring up the topic to my hubby he say when the boat reaches d coast it will be straight naturally..so ask me dun think so much..

hmm good ideal..will try to see if gt samples or not.. n i saw stemcord n cordlife both r having promotion sign up over at their booth during the fair..thinking if i sld tk up the offer=X but still unsure which to tk..hahaha..

qing-er, mine is first baby =) my baby must be really gentle wor.

Never crossed my mind to take video of my tummy action cos it would be more unexciting than video-ing grass grow. Heh. Really hope I can start to feel all the actions all of you are talking abt!!!

sunbelle, i'm praying hard and keeping all my fingers crossed that i can go for natural. c-sect sounds scary.

joy_javen, my hb also very calm abt stuff like that. I have to be the one to arrange to visit infantcare centres, call up nanny agencies, search online for reviews, plan the nursery, etc etc ... he just drives me to where i want to go like a chauffeur =/

bhoo: lucky you..at least he drives u around..haha..my hubby is busy at work else is i need to OT at work.. whahhaa.. maybe i check again the other infant care near my house and see how=)

Hi qing
The shop selling bb clothes at simalu is selling at half dozen n not one dozen so 6pcs shirt shd be just nice for one bb..;)

Hi laura n gals
Tok abt bb movement, is there different kind of feeling for early 2nd trimester and early 3rd trimester? i notice these 2 days can only feel my bbies move in my tummy (late twenty week now) instead of the kicking feeling in the early twenty plus week.. Is this normal? Is it due to no space for them so they move only instead of kicking? Abit worry as dun feel they kick so frequent these few days but can feel them move...

Joanne..is it? Then maybe i remember or heard wrongly..hehe..I think i might go msia buy..is quite cheap there also n in good quality..so i dun need to buy all same pattern..

nanny..i m glad tat i already found 1 nanny who staying same block as me..so is very convenient..bhoo, u try to talk to ur neighbour, sometimes u can get some info also..but i will quit maybe early next yr to be sahm..wish me good luck..hehe..