(2012/07) Jul 2012

I saw in the forum archive there was a lady who gave birth to her 3.445kg baby by natural w/o epi in TMC. WOW! Wonder if I can do the same.

wow..the thread is running so fast..last whole week was busy working at both office n expo, dun hv time to catch up with u all here..I was so tired cox need to stand most of time n walked here n there to visit customers n suppliers..wat a tiring week for me..

I going to enter my last tri in 2 days time..yeah..I am praying hard tat my bb can "tong" till full term, which means out after 37 weeks..cox my #1 was out abt 35 weeks. Due to my petite size, doc also advised me to induce if bb weight is abt 2.5kg..cant more than 3kg

last week i ate alot of ice cream, cakes..all sweet stuffs..quite worry bb will over weight..will know it by tis friday..hehe

Hi mummies, what for lunchie today??
just packet back mui fan from the canteen opposite my office..the weather is too hot n i m still feeling giddy..hence packet back n take the chance to catch up on what i had missed.

liligal: i dunoe how i gained 3kg but maybe coz 1st trimester i lost 2 kg??n slowly gained back to normal weight n dan a mth gained 3 kg??
anyway hope u r feeling better n all geared up for ur bbmoon=)
btw when do we need to book for the stemcord??

bhoo: i m a full time working mummy..n as my bb came unexpected, me n hubby didnt haf much saving..so we not getting a CL or a maid.. my mil will help me out after i give birth for the 1st week.. my sis in law will be cooking the confinement food..n i think i will be left all alone after bb is 2 weeks old..
is infant care good?? i was talking to hubby yesterday after i go back to work who will look after bb.. still no conclusion.. his answer: still a long way to go..later dan think lor..

Cookie & Qin: what is GTT??what is it use for??when do we need to do??

cookie: hope u r feeling better too.. take good care.. guess the weather been really really bad..
so all MUMMIES: drink more water n haf more fruits n veges..

sblbee: is amazon tat u visit the same as the iphone app amazon??i chose the USA.. but i yet to purchase..
haha hubby keep nagging at me(though i just bought 1 romper on saturday)he say dun buy too many..
seriously i only have hmm less dan 10pcs of clothings which range from new born,0-3,3-6 n 6-9.. waiting for my gf to pass down my god-son clothings..

rykiel: me same as u..bb is still at young stage.. my bb now is only 25weeks6days..=)

qing-er, so the contraction came first b4 u induce or after? my gynae did a swipe at the water bag when i was 37wks. but bb only came around 39wks+. try to sit & put ur legs up yah?

my another fren jus got pregnant. yah, around me i already know close to 12 dragon babies! she's a PE teacher. i really admire preggy teachers. wonder how they tahan pregnancy when they have to walk up and down and stand mostly.

joy, still!!! 5kg is very good lor!!! i m going to try pack today but feeling ugly and all the nice beach clothing dun fit anymore. swimsuit also din get maternity ones so will expose my tummy big big with a 2 pc. but lucky the 2 pc is not bikini lah.. or else quite unsightly. no choice, can't find my 1pc suit anymore. just hv to bah a bit and be confident!

really dun feel like working. my company now undergoing lotsa reorg so abit sian too. some bosses have really no integrity and doing funny things. me definitely not inspired and hope Jun or Jul quickly come soon!

Rykiel, my gynae runs his own small clinic and he is very personal. I have his office number as well as his home number so he can be contactable 24/7 =). Good that you dun have any more pain now.

lili_gal, you are looking to buy a place? Pty prices very ex now. HB and I have been looking to upgrade to a bigger place now that we are starting a family but really cannot bring ourselves to stomach the high prices... everywhere we look we see crazy prices. Even those far flung places also ridiculous.

qing-er, 3kg is considered big? I always presume 3kg is pretty ideal for most pple. I am also on the small side. I think I will ask my gynae in my next visit. I've been gaining a lot of weight (now at 26 weeks and have gained more than 8 kg) and dunno if my baby will get too big...

joy_javen, altho' I am opting for infant care, I am still not sure if it is the best option =( For me, it's more like a really no choice option at this point in time. My plan is to chope an infant care first then work things out as we go along. For infant care, you just need to give 1 mth notice before you pull your child out. So it can be a temporary solution until you work out whether you want to hire nanny, maid, or be a SAHM. Try to start looking for infant care centres now cos this year is really a very popular year and most centres are fully booked.

lili_gal, d contraction came b4 first..was admitted to hospital at 12am..gynae said i cant go bk although i didnt feel anything in d middle of night cox d contraction still there based on ctg..and I was dilated abt 2.5cm tat time..so anytime might pop..ended up nurse broke my waterbag at abt 11am+..then i only delivered at 6pm+..very tired n i was exhausted n super hungry..but not appetite to eat after tat..

bhoo..3kg is not big but depends on our pelvic bone size i think..my friend's wife also in petite size, bb also weight 3kg+, 10cm dilated but ended up c-section after tried natural..same as my sil also.. she not in small size but pelvic bone quite small, bb is abt 3.2kg, also c-section after tried natural but failed.
Hope both of us can hv natural delivery

joy_javen: Read that you are thinking of putting your baby in infant care...think you might have to shortlist some as soon as you decide, especially if you are thinking of putting her in infant care after 4 months maternity. My sis works with a local childcare chain who also provides infant care, not to scare you, but the queue list is very long. You may not get your baby into your ideal infant care.
Infant care was also one of our consideration a few months back, my husband said the same thing as yours....still a long time to go, can wait. But after hearing what my sis and my aunt said (especially this yr is dragon yr), he totally zipped his mouth.
But we eventually decided on getting a maid as through experience from a couple of friends, their babies actually falls ill very often, in fact at least once a month when they were in infant care. After one of my friend decided to hire a maid to take care of the baby instead, the baby stopped falling ill so often.

marie ang, I also hear many cases of infants falling sick the first year in infant care. Some even get HFMD more than once =( sigh ... so I do feel very sad that I have to send my baby to infant care right after my ML ends. Hopefully if I breastfeed 100% my baby will be stronger and not fall sick so easily.

ya my dad my mum myself hear too much tt y they ask me dun put infant care which was my top first option. so aft giving birth liao the 4mths will be intensive training for the maid to look after bb as she will be all alone taking care aft i finish my ML. =( still worried thou. hais~

tis morning pain was gone till i had lunch n kikapoo. i broke out in cold sweat halfway walking back to office. stopped n sat dwn cant talk cos hv to keep breathing. bk to office i went up dwn up dwn toilet to nth, 3rd time i went up i had bad diarrhea. total 3times till nw. nw the strong pain is gone, only slight tugs once in awhile. =\

lili_gal:pack abit here n there=) an excuse to go shopping..when i went maldives the other time i bring those like tube dress to act as sundress n wore a bikini inside..lucky i stayed on the boat most of the time so i no need to scare got strangers as all is frenz.. try to bring those lightweight loose n cooling t-shirt lor..
haha 5kg maybe still okie lah..my hubby is like saying i make his son starve la..i starve nvm bb cnt starve=.=

bhoo & marie ang: i think i have no choice.. coz my mil is working..n my sis in law got 6 kids(her youngest is 3yrs old)..i cnt be sahm as i just got my job permanent in March(convert from contract to perm)n $$ is oso an issue..dun think a maid is a solution oso coz very tight on budget!!! unless i put my bb at my gf who is going to be sahm but she oso got 2 kids(2yo n 1yo this yr..) sth for me to worry abt again=(
i heard before putting at infant care the rate of being sick is higher but sometimes i think no choice bah.. else i will ask my neighbor if she wanna be a nanny for me or not..
where can i find a list of infant cares ah??anyone know any at jurong west street 93 area??

joy_javen: you lost 2kg in your 1st trim? Me too, I wonder why. Lost about 2-3kg and gained it back in my 2nd and now in my 3rd I think so far I've gained about 4-5kg.

I was a 3kg+ baby myself so not sure if my baby's growing speed is due to genetic reason or could it be he's an IVF baby cos' the sonography I met during my OSCAR scan told me that IVF babies are bound to grow bigger than those who are conceived naturally (she had IVF too). Anybody have that experience to share?

a bad news received from my friend..due to reno, my gynae not helping patient to deliver at mt. A..so I die die must go to tmc le..very sianzz..

Anyone delivered at tmc b4 can share? I dun like their parking system there..but wat to do le..

bhoo: Thanks for the link. I thought JW have no infant care centre. But MIL said that she'll take care of baby....I'm a bit sceptical so I think I better think of an alternative first.

bhoo, ya, I did check with Mt. A b4 but I still duno my gynae's decision..will check with him tis friday..hopefully can make it at Mt.A again..

Qing-er: my gynae also doesn't want to go mt. A due to the reno...she explained even parking for the doctors is difficult, they might not get to us on time....so no choice I also can't chose

Laura_Queh: ya i lost weight during my 1st trim despite i didnt have any morning sickness or vomitting..i gained back n put on 3kg during my 2nd trimester though i m only wk 26 tml..haha..
colleagues say after 6mths weight will go up even faster..

pink piglet: yup i stayed at st 93..i saw the sparkle tots..maybe i will go check it out after work this week(provided its still open when i reach home..haha)thanks anyway..

bhoo: ya i will breastfeed my bb(hopefully i gt enough milk for him)thanks=)

qing-er & Marie: hmm i think its better for u all to check with your gyne or the nurses at the clinic of the gyne..think have to book le bah esp since the bb boom this yr..

joy_javen & bhoo: Think on top of breast-feeding, once baby starts solid food, you may want to consider giving baby organic food as well. I've got a friend who put her daughter through organic food for the first entire year and she only fell sick once. Even now when she's already 3, she still do not fall sick very often.

laura, frankly i find infant care should be last choice if possible as so far i find the get sick rate is very high. among all my friends all said the same thing i.e. sick every month, BF or not. so if u hv some support just take it! what's more it's MIL cos they sure will care for the kid... tho will spoil abit too much later on.

joy, thanks for the packing
tips!!! i still think 5kg is very good weight gain. i lost 1.5kg earlier but gained all back and added another 8kg! your kid problem is very real. last time we had the same and in the end thankfully my mum quit her job just to help us take care. really thankful.

i now also wondering who to take care of #2 cos my mum is hinting on getting bk to work. #1 can send to full day childcare but i find #2 too young. sigh...

rykiel, might be worth it to see a doc or gynae leh... piece of mind also.

qing-er, i think TMC is quite good. so far all my pals hv gd experience. btw, break water bag = induce is it? oh... then i also was induced when i went in. 2am contraction & show, 5am go hospital (cos i was busy packing hospital bag), break water bag around 8am, hold all the way till 8pm for natural and in the end C-sect around 9pm. think from your examples, i'll most likely be c-sect again...cos girl already 1.3kg now & most prob end up around 3kg and my pelvic bone was considered small *sob sob*

joy_javen,
then we are staying nearby each other, i'm staying in st 93 too haha...tik there is a big banner at the road junction, there's a phone number to call...
cos currently i dun see anybody at the sparkle tots yet...

bhoo: duno leh! last nite tao jiak myojo ckn tanmee with egg lor. hehehehhe! shud nt be that la hor.. muahahaha.. now done twice motion feeling much better ler. thanks =))

i just finish the phone interview. the maid supposedly married is seperated from the husband. i ask her how old are you, which year u born in
she YES MAM!, thn i ask 1. how old are u? she replied. 2. which year u born in she replied her year. ok than nvm, i ask her y u wan come singapore. she say she separate from da husband i wan the to come to the singapore to work for mammmmmm. i tink she pre dubbed the YES MAM in her mind? last question i asked her was, do you wan to renew ur contract after 2years? or go back? she YES MAM again, than i slowly ask again, after 2years u wan stay in singapore or go back? she answer me mam stay i stay mam go i go.

laura, you are lucky that your MIL is willing to care for your baby =) I think having family members take care of baby is really one of the better options.

qing-er, I am going to delivery at Mt A too... so I really hope the reno will be completed on time. Otherwise, have to put up with the messy layout and the noise.

marie, thanks for the tip on organic food =) I will definitely do all I can to raise a strong and healthy baby.

rykeil, instant noodle should be ok lar, altho not healthy. Haahha ... But you really should go see a doc if your tummy situation returns tmr. Preggers falling sick is no joke!

bhoo: hehehehe i seldom eat that, only whn i crave then i go buy. ytd lor go shopnsave, than buy freshmik, saw the noodle waving to me=x so i bought for supper! AHHAAHHAAA!

nw i give the interview make until v gong.. i tink i shud interview annother to listen to their standard b4 i confirm.

joanne: ur maid angmoh hw?

Marie: thanks for the tips
i doubt my hubby will like the ideal of me going organic food for bb..to him is dun be choosy.. coz he will say his sis in law n his mum all the old method oso tk care of kids,they still grow up healthy.haha..

Rykiel: lucky for u still able to eat maggie mee..my hubby allows me to eat but my fren is against me eating it..haha.. been awhile i last ate maggie mee le..

Bhoo:thanks for the link..its quite useful.. but now i gt 2nd tots of putting into infant care after seeing the cost.. faint!!!

Pink_piglet: hehe its oki i got the info i need from the webbie given by Bhoo le..
cost $1177 for the infant care ah..omg..is puting an infant care cheaper or having a maid cheaper??gosh..else need to find a nanny i can rely on=(

lili_gal:welcome.. well as long as u n ur bb is healthy can liao.we mummies put on weight now,worst come to worst in the future work harder to shed those kgs lor..
anyway i think when come to nearer to u giving birth ur mum will help u to look after ur #2 again lah=) hehe..

oki silly me didnt go read up on the mycs subsidy..
so i will only need to pay $577/mth after the subsidy.. this make it sounds more logical=)

just called up the infant care that is nearest to my place n is the newest place at my area..haha..well its full..they going to haf final round of balloting this coming friday..so they ask me to go down n fill in the interest form first..

Rykiel, ur interview with maid is hilarious! Where is she from? I think those new maids tend to have poor command of english.

Joy_javen, on top of the $600 working mother subsi, u can also use baby bonus to pay for the infantcare monthly fee. Altho baby bonus is not much it will still be of some help :) After using for vaccinations, cord blood storage, etc can still hv abit left to pay for a few mths of infantcare.

bhoo, think there's no need to be worried as I just visited my friend who delivered her bb in early apr....the noise from the renovation is not as bad as she didn't really complain to me abt the noise level

bhoo: wow okie i think there r lots of things n small little details i need to look into..
bb expo fair this weekend=) not sure able to make it.. sigh..

Hi rykiel
Mine is mymarra maid sO her english sucks too..Lucky she works here for 5mths so know abit english liao else sure vomit blood.. U oso interview mymar maid?
I realise maid not so smart.. Asks them clean toilet, only clean toilet floor n bowl.. No clean door.. Say clean here, only clean there n not the whole thing.. Is this normal??

Would anyone happen to have any idea the opening hours of the si ma lu store?? I rushed over after work today (abt 6.15pm) but it wasn't open.. Not sure if they only open weekends or something?? Thanks!!

bhoo: filipino lai de.

joanne: wah. hmm ok.

i tink i shud stick to her bah. at least i kan de shang. slowly guide her? v mao dun nw. darns

Oooh thanks linggie, guess I missed the shop's hours by a bit..

Regarding maids, well u can look at it in 2 ways I guess. They definitely don't speak our lang when they r first here so they probably learn a few phrases to get by interviews.. However over time ull have problems speaking in any language without them eavesdropping when u complain/have secrets! Haha.. They are actually quite bright.. Just take some time for them to warm up n chut pattern. also, I always felt there is a reason why they do only what u tell them, n without thinking. When new, they don't knw what is the "limit" of ur instruction, so they will do exactly as u show/tell them. No extra, cos who knws if the extra is right or wrong? Which is why I said lor, new maids need a lot of guidance to tell them "when I say clean toilet, u must do this n this n this". Have to always remem that in their own hometown, they may not have same standards/houses like ours.. They don't do things the same way we have taken for granted everyone knows.. Haha

lili_gal: No worries cos' infant care is definately the last choice for me. Just in case only.

bhoo: Yup! What else can I complaint? MIL quitting job just to take care of junior but of course we are also paying her the same value as her monthly "wages".

joy-javen & Pink_Piglet: I'm staying at St 91! Maybe we met before. hee hee hee

Ladies: Does anyone of you also suffering from joint aches around the inner thigh and backside bone? Whenever I am making my way into my driver seat, the aching will be very prominent.

mommies,
good evening!!! too busy at work and no chance to login the forum. so sad...
need time to follow u gals on the threads again =)

lili gal,
my #1 was delivered via c-sect and i think i will just stick with it for #2 though i dread
on the op. i dont hv the courage to try natural leh.

regarding the baby expo fair, does anyone know what booths it's having? dont know if want to go during weekends..

qinger, marie,
my gynae also not delivering in Mt A anymore so no choice but TMC. as you can see the parking area, it's worse lor.

Rykiel,
then how for your maid? are u going to settle this one? i'm still on hunting.

Cherish, same here. been a crazy day at work...worked till 8.30 pm today...last week even worse..one day worked till 10pm. So bad for myself n bb... Realli counting down to ML...

Qing er, marie, cherish - R we having the same gynae? hw come all dun deliver at Mt A anymore? I wanna try Mt A lei... Dun like TMC

laura, all my joints are aching and cracking. even my spine is cracking, no kidding. driving wise, i find it hard to slouch anymore. had to sit up very straight cos my bb seemed to have not enuff space to move around. it's especially difficult to drive nowadays w a tight and kicking tummy.

rykiel, i hv been wanting to ask... what is "idk"?

SGSC, me too!!! counting down to ML. really no mood to work.

cherish, you not planning to at least try for natural? cos natural heals better. i really drag the operating theater moment and cutting myself open. everytime i look at my scar, it's quite scary to think of the layers of stitches beneath it... at least 7 layers leh. plus they mk u sign this indemnity form b4 they cut u open and before epidural. really odd.

hika, you have the name of store and address? i think i also want to check it out this weekend. really nd to get myself moving.

hika: true also. they learn the few phrases to get thru us. hais. thanks for ur input =)

cherish: gg interview another 2 b4 i cfm on ytd one. hehehe. slowly teach. mei ban fa. if they are so good n so clever they dun hv to leave hms to b maids ler. rights?

liligal: idk = i don't know

gd morning all mummies & babies =DDD