(2012/07) Jul 2012

when my friend did her confinement, her mum didnt allow her to turn on the air con! only fan that was just blowing ard her but not her directly..
but i'm feeling very hot lately.. i appreciate aircon now.. where most of my colleagues tell me its cold but im enjoying it!

Hi mummies, I'm a first time mum and the info shared by everyone is so useful! I'm in my 25th week now. Strangely I don't feel hot at all. Infact I feel cold easily. Does that have anything to do with my diet? I have been eating kangkong, watermelons, chinchow ..!!! I have absolutely no idea i cannot eat any of these! I asked my gynae on food I should avoid and he just said no raw food.

During my last confinement, the CL allows aircon but not fan that blows directly at me...heng ah! My last confinement also in July period but surprisingly that July was a wet one, rained quite a lot and not too hot. Hope this time will not be too hot.

joanne,
may i ask u abt the maid agency that u engaged? i just realised i hv a lot of things did not consider. now feeling very panic. ur hubby is nice to help out with u on the training.

Hika: yes our temp is going up beside d weather.. I can still complain I'm feeling hot though d aircon is on..

thanks cherish n cookie..

liligal: yup actually by right Kang kong even during normal period we cnt eat much of it too as it will make our legs weaker too.. well there r lots of things which is folk tales but it's better to b safe dan sorry yea..

bhoo: guess try to cut down on those
my gyne tell me sashimi can but make sure it's clean n fresh n nt too much of it.. anyway as long as ur gyne tell u tt both u n bb is fine sld b d most impt..

Well my personal take is aircon >> fan anytime.. Even before pregnant I didn't like the fan.. It always makes me feel achy after.. So I have no problems with the no fan rule. But even tho I initially was thinking of only aircon at night when sleeping, going by current temp n how I feel, I really doubt if I can take it! Might end up turning on more than just night.. I already told hubby if I can't take it, I'll just turn on. We will have to cringe n pay pub bill for that (two) months lor..cos bill will surely overrun more than one month. My rationale is since I'm not having a confinement nanny (PILs helping me) I suppose I can't possibly see a $2k power bill ba! Anyway I guess we should all hope that since its already so hot so early, hopefully by jul the weather is starting to cool off? Hee.

Joanne: btw it's Mrs C's mum that had 3kg twins haha.. Not mine.. But I agree, super steady.

About raw food, I think it's critical to avoid in first trim.. Thereafter I knw of mothers who do take the occasional sashimi etc.. The impt thing is to make sure u are consuming fresh food that is well prepared. The general advice to avoid all raw food is because poorly prepared raw food will carry the bacteria.. But if u don't go for the more dubious (left there for quite a while) places, it's actually ok.. Of course personally I'd rather avoid if I can help it. But while I manage to abstain from sashimi so far, I can't resist the occasional Parma ham and pepperoni! Key is in moderation ba..

My mil is making rice wine for my confinement use.
She is also making rice wine for sale.
Pls pm me if you are keen.
Lead-time : 6 weeks
Price : $15/bottle

Yay! I hope there are good deals at Baby Expo. I've not bought any big ticket items yet ...

Realised that most of you will have help from either mother or mil. Envious! I will be getting confinement nanny from agency. Keeping fingers crossed that nanny will be good. So many horror stories out there are making me wary.

Hee.. Paiseh Hika..;)

Hi cherish
My agency is success manpower.. They hv more myrammar maids than others.. I was recommend this agency thru another twin parent.. Agency fee cost $488. Not cheap though..

Hi liligal
Sure.. Will keep u gals update of her.. She just fried my mum ginger till black yesterday..>_<" and she very smart.. See how mu mum cut the orange to small pieces for my son and she does tt for herself too... Think they learn fast on how to pamper herself..;p

Hi bhoo
How heavy ur bb now? My week is oso 25th week plus now..;) wah.. U steady.. What u eat now is what i hv been avoiding thruout my pregnancy...;)

Can i check with u all.. Is it true tt hep B carrier mummy cant do breastfeeding for bb?

hi tanny_angelbaby

Rgding the rice wine,if 4 bottles &amp; abv will be free delivery.
less than 4 bottles will be self collect at punggol mrt or a delivery charge of $5.

joanne,
regarding hep b carrier question, i'm not too sure. is your gynae able to advise u on this?

the maid really learns very fast leh. thanks for the info on agency. i intending to get indonesian or filipino helper. actually, hv engaged a agency but i realised the service not very good. he didnt tell us the costs involved and i often hv hard time finding him. so i better think of another alternative.

Joanne, my last scan was done 2 weeks ago and BB was ard 700g... and to date, I've gained 8 kg! Gynae claims that my BB weight is within the acceptable range but not my weight. LOL. So now trying to cut down on sugared stuff. I have such sweet tooth so really a struggle for me.

With regard to your question on Hep B you can check out this link.

http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/can-a-hepatitis-b-carrier-breastfeed.html

It is apparently ok for Hep B carriers to breastfeed their bb as long as their bb receive vaccination right at birth.

morning all mummies &amp; babies =)

i got dark underarms now leh. soo ugly. =( how to counter it?

badly need a maternity belt!heard it will ease backpain huh? anyone got recommendations? i saw alot in taobao!

hi morning..so long didnt visit here..been busy with the exhibition..so tired..later need to go expo again..wat a tiring week for me..yesterday my boy birthday..so last few days busy to prepare the door gift until midnight..

lil beanie seem getting more active from day to day..quite violence sometimes..hehe..

Rykiel, i am also looking for maternity belt.. heard Medela one is not bad
considering to get it... hopefully it will ease my backpain after using it..

i also got darker underarms now~

Jo, so interesting. you let her access to everything in the fridge for herself? usually the helper will only take things for themselves when they are offered unless it's to cook for all then they will take some only.

bhoo, yah yah... me also craving for sweet stuff recently. very very bad especially when i have them during late night supper. worse is after every sweet moments at night, i get bloated and nausea again. recently in 3rd tri it started.

hey anybody in 3rd tri yet? why it seemed like only me? everybody's EDD is mid to end Jul?

qing-er, yah, my lil girl also very violent recently. i think she is running out of space already as i felt jabs at my ribs, sides and down there too.

mine is the very last day of July heh

Zhen, i bought the medela 1 from taka fair, hah it feel like a bellybelt what come attached with maternity pants, whether it works or not, i m not sure bcos my back still aching but who know if i dont wear, the ache might be worse.
it is light though so wont show beneath your clothes

Hi Lil Gal

I also 3rd trimester.. for a moment i tot i also only one here.. 29 weeks liao..

I also got darker underarms.. also find that after a day, sweat like mad and make underarm smells!!! now i relying on deoderant.. is it ok?

meandtime, me too!! i jus complete 29wks today. so we shud hv very close EDD!
so exciting. 8 more wks to full term. waiting to get my figure back soon but not looking towards the long cow period with no sleep.

i have rings on my neck too. like darker neck i think. last time nt so obvious. i'm not sure abt the darker underarms though.

lil gal
So qiao! somehow i do hope my gal will arrive sooner in june leh.. i also wan very much to get my figure back.. regards to the cow period.. i scared no milk wo.. hahah.. but anyway let nature takes its course..

I have been wearing my ring round my neck quite early before..

Do you find all the first trimester symptons coming back? my heartburn and small appetite coming back.. and sleep deprive-ness!!

lili gal: looks like you will be one of the earlier ones to pop here...me only due 23 July, currently 26 weeks...

does maternity belt really help with backache?mine is hurting quite badly now and i think it is due to my sleeping position - slept on one side for too long and strained the lower back muscle...and i am still in 2nd trimester, 3rd tri how? aiyoh...

Mrs C.. i also have very bad backaches and cannot sit too long. I try to walk more and do a bit of stretching.. during sleep, i experiment with all types of sleeping position with the support of 2 other pillow aside the pillow supporting my head.. somehow i still can survive the ache till now.. i always sit with a small pillow supporting my back.. maybe you can try that?

Really tempted to invest on a belt or maternity pillow.. but... think better save a lil.. hehe..

<font color="red"><font size="-1"> Rykiel's Maternity Barangs BP#3</font></font>

Last call, anyone wana add anything?

talking abt the darn backache how severe is the pains u all get? i sit time when i sit back the pain is ouch. morning slp wake up sit up still ok. less than 10secs ltr. ouch again. thn whn i get up frm bed to walk. ill b limping. cannot impose pressure. i looking to bring in one belt frm taobao but got too many idk which one to get. =(

aft lunch n icecream i tink i dozing off v v soon! ROAR!

meandtim, yah yah!!! high five! my rings also appear early early stage but now like got darker. yes, my heartburn, bloating, nausea all coming bk. can't sleep really well and having vivid odd dreams alot. keep waking up halfway as well. last time i din hv it so bad.

me also hoping to pop in 2nd wk or somewhere in Jun. hehehe... aiya.. i thot i'm the only one here and was thinking maybe i shud join the jun group as well. hahaha.

do you find the tummy suddenly grew to be enormous? i looked like i can pop anytime.

lil gal
Yes yes.. my tummy suddenly grew.. and i mum keep saying i eat too much when actually i cannot eat much if not my night will be tough .. the heartburn will really affect my sleep .. and with my gal doing exercise in my tummy as well at night.. sleeping is very tedious.. Yesterday night i think i reached my limit so really slept regardless liao... Oh yar and the toilet visit increase back to 3 times a night.. during 2nd tri was only once or twice one.. hai..

i was think of which group to join too.. but i think should follow edd lar.. who knows lil one wans to stay in till full term.. wahahhaa..

i think you small size is it? that is why you look like you can pop anytime.. i quite big sz.. can only see that my tummy is big.. but still not drooping or big enough to pop yet i guess...
in any case do hope baby doing good.. will be visiting gynae tomorrow..

Besides backaches and dark patches everywhere (which I have on my neck, underarms and tummy!!) do you mummies get swollen feet? My feet and ankles are so swollen they look like pig trotters. I cannot squeeze into any of my shoes now. Have to wear slippers everywhere.

meandtim, I have one of those long pillows that's supposed to support back/belly. Does not really work for me. I sleep better with many regular pillows so I can position them anywhere I like rather than fight and struggle with one huge massive piece of a pillow.

Bhoo..
hahaha.. i think i am the same as you.. a lot of regular pillow to support any area as and when required..

My leg will start swelling when i really stand for really long hours.. eg shopping.. and when i eat too salty.. then at night, the swelling will be obvious.. otherwise, i do have more cramping rather.. in terms of my legs lar.. i resorting to the scholl compression socks.. that one is actually quite comfy.. but i did not dare to wear too long as scared will affect blood circulation to bb.. was intending to query more on that with my gynea tomorrow.. heehee...

i asked my gynae about all these pain and his reply was i am having the LZT syndrome - Long Zhong Tieh (everywhere pain). It's common apparently. i even used my boy's bolster and shaft it behind my back or here and there to sleep. every morning got up with a over-cracked back feeling. i think i have been subconsciously cracking all the bones on my back and neck during my sleep.

funny that is one thing i din have this time round yet. last time i get leg cramps in the middle of the night very often. so far i hv only gotten it once. hopefully won't get it at all.

yes yes, swollen feet.

btw, i asked my hubby if i'm fat. he dare not reply... but later he cannot take it anymore and tell me a story about those female pigs. when they are abt to deliver, they will start snorting and grunting and scrap the floor with their trotters. that's when u know they are ready.

now u can't get the pig out of your minds right?

My gynea actually recommends the compression socks =) Recommended to wear thru'out the whole day ... but they definitely do not compliment any work outfits!

LOL!!! liligal, your hb is terrible! I already feel very unattractive without having image of pig permanently ingrained in my mind!

bhoo.. really?! that is good to know.. for a moment i was guilty of disrupting this blood supply to my gal.. wahaha..

erm.. you bought the day use one? i bought the purple one for night use only wo..

lili gal &amp; meandtim: stay on this thread lar...last time my #1 was due 6 july but came out 25 june but i still stay on with the july group...;)

lili gal: lol! your hubby is humorous...

luckily my feet size is still the same - it's the back that is killing me...shall try shafting different pillows and bolster for support tonight...

do you ladies find that it is harder to cut toe nails now? like more difficult to bend forward to reach the toes?

yah yah... with this pig thing i dunno to laugh or to cry. everytime i was going to be not nice to him i think of the snorting pig then i try to control abit. i secretly think that is his ploy.

bhoo yah... think of swollen feet, think of pig trotters. hahhaa...

to all the mummies with pigs ingrained, hang in there!!! we snort, we grunt, we scrap but we DELIVER!

I've not bought my compression socks yet cos I dunno if I can commit to wearing them thru'out the whole day. I din know they have compression socks for night use. Where did you get them from? The ones I saw at Guardian are all for daytime wear (beige or black). Mmm... think i will ask my gynea abt the night use ones. I rather wear at night than in the day.

Mrs C, I just go for pedicure to get my toe nails cut =) I can still reach my toes but I suspect it will not be for long.

Mrs C

Definitely will stay on this thread .. here like more active..
I almost dun lean forward to cut my toenails liao.. i pull my foot to me.. haha... also to stretch my thigh at the same time.. then fast fast cut lor.. if not, cannot depend on hubby... i dun trust his skills.. go nail palour will scared of fumes.. haiyah.. very toublesome one lar..

Lil gal
i really like the slogon in the end.. Yeah! wahaha.. men step aside !