(2012/07) Jul 2012

Hi mummies, anybody looking to buy 2nd hand Avent Phillip Electronic Single Pump? I have a lightly used one for less than 2 months. Still under warranty. Looking to sell @ SGD140, as i have received a medela one from my friend.
Please PM if keen. Thanks!

Cherish, hahahahhaha... men!!!! couldn't agree more!

kawaii, huh? i suggest you prepare some stuff first. when you are in confinement how to go buy!? cannot wait till baby out lah! hold on... i am assuming you got close to nothing yet.

if using cloth diapers, now go the high level type from Bums or something. very cool. inside got nappy liners so u just throw that one and can throw into washing machine to wash. apparently very re-usable and very good. for me, i lazy with #1, jus used diapers but one thing diapers will create some rashes i think. once he pooed, i usually wash the buttocks instead of jus wet wiping before changing diaper as i think that's another source of chemicals involved to create rash.

sigh.. very tedious work. now i think about it sian already.

my trip has been postponed to next week!
hopefully everything will be well and ok by then. but i'm pushing 30wks already then.

for nail clippers, i got those kiddy nail clippers. found them very good and still using for my boy.

how much is the brauns thermometer? does it drain the battery very fast? what type of batteries does it use? i am using this Doeramon (xiao ding dang) thermometer from Guardian which can scan ear & forehead. quite ok as it's cute and boy is ok with it cos it's cute and kiddy looking but battery drains super fast.

nappycream ill still use drapolene, hehee. old brand ma. n my #1 used that. so just spam it! n it won dry the skin up

gd morning all ladies & babies!

Good morning all mommies. feel like zzz already.

liligal,
for the braun thermometers, can check the price at guardian, unity and kiddy palace. i dont know how much it costs as it was a present from friend. battery wise, so far still okay.

yes men! we bought a second hand pigeon steriliser, my hubby asked why cant use the tefal plastic steamer i used to steam kueh. haha turns out he is right bcos my mum also agreed leh!

morning mummies.. been feeling sick since yesterday but still need to attend training in office for 2 days

i think there r certain things lets just wait for GSS!!things r much more cheaper

linggue: yea my hubby oso say use the old method way..n say no need to buy..

Linggie, hehe your hubby really innovative! He shd have suggested before u bought ur pigeon sterilizer! Something new
so far haven't heard of frens using the food steamer to sterilize bottles

For mummies planning to use traditional sterilization method of boiling, just a word of caution, be careful not to overboil the bottles if u r using plastic ones , cos my fren's maid overboiled the baby's bottles until it melted. After that he switched to electric sterilizer. Maybe if planning to boil bottles can use glass ones ( but heavier n risk of breaking)

linggie, jus say need to separate baby stuff with normal food stuff. sometimes things can stuck somewhere and you don't know. and also the melting mentioned by cookie helps to pursue your case. Hehehee...

I'm getting a sterilizer for sure... saves trouble. just dump in there and leave it there until i wanna use.

rykiel, can I have the baby list too? jus in case i miss out anything. kiasu already. btw, u found the link for the fitflops?

hmmm... my boss seems to know i'm going on maternity leave but like in denial. i told him that i might work from home for whole of jun cos it's full term already by then. he like still thinks there's a lot of time left. there's only 1 mth in may left!!!

how ah? remind him again that i'm gone is like i'm shirking responsibilities. don't remind also like not good for his planning... what do you all think?

btw, i started feeling very very heaty recently. everyone at home like cool cool and i super hot. found relief when i drink cooly stuff like coconuts. u all feeling it too already?

and my bloated feeling and slight nausea are also coming back.

lili gal: i think u need to talk to ur boss n sit down with him.. have a nice htht with him n tell him what is ur concern n let him know u would like to know what is his plannings..for eg if he need a part timer staff who can work while u r away or need to distribute jobs to ur other colleagues to share ur workload while u r gone?? u tell him all this need to be hand over n teach properly de else u on maternity leave dun expect them to disturb u unless really urgent mah.. =) i told my supervisor my edd is 31st july..i shld be taking my maternity leave on 30th july..meaning i work till friday..but if bb wanna come out earlier dan no choice lah.

Rykiel: yeah my hubby see the list yesterday he shake his head.. hahahah.. he still dun wan to face the music..like super lots of things to buy like that..

Liligal, maybe u can hint to him by asking him when u shd start copying ur backup for the impt emails n tasks.. That shd make him think of who to take over ur responsibilities during ur ML n when the person shd start taking over.. Good luck with him! I've also been feeling v heaty the past few weeks, dunno is that why I fell sick

Mummies, on top of being sick my upper teeth is aching, anyone experiencing that as well?

thanks joy & cookie. I think i'll use the subtle cookie method. he obviously know i'm preggy and i talk abt it quite often during lunch. maybe it's just guys.. they dun want to face up to reality! hahahaha...

cookie, no leh... no upper teeth problems. if u r heaty better drink more liang or cooly stuff now. or else falling sick will be bad.

really no takers for the Black Salon groupon voucher ah? Due date 25 Apr.

If not, i'll call to see if they can extend to Aug for me.

lili gal & cookie: i oso feeling heaty..n worst i just ate durians n sambal stingray on sunday nite=X my throat already giving way liao.. think its time to tone down on menus like porridge n soupy stuff for lunch n dinner..
btw isit oki we drink those liang teh?? i feel like eating ice cream though i just had it yesterday=X
lili gal yeah maybe u call them n tell them u r interested n see if they can do an extend for u or not lor=)

lili gal,
i hv also informed my boss roughly when i will take ML and been asking her who is going to be backup. she is still deciding, cant make up her mind yet. she's more concerned i'm taking 12wks or 16wks ML instead. hahah. but at least, we informed our boss so that they will decide lor. we did our part.

cookie, i didnt experience upper teeth problem too.
i'm also feeling heaty, maybe ate too much m&ms.

i told mine ill take in july. hahaha. i told her wait until 3rd trimester thn i let her know. cos nobody knows when de ma. if gg to be induced/csec we sure know date. else sure dunno. than my manager forever asking me. i v diff to tell her an exact date. so i told her in july at least she has time to find a temp staff in.

i was refrained from eating stingray.

hi mummies! eat healthily ok! together we can do it.
it's hard sometimes esp when the cravings set in.. b4 pregancy, i've nv liked fast food.. now i crave for fast food!
but esp breakfast and before i go to bed, i'll try to eat healthy food. =)

oh ya mummies! if you want healthy food, please PM me. i've been taking that since i was pregnant, and doctor said that i'm in good hands! my weight didnt go up by alot, but baby has been absorbing alot!

wat healthy food? I am also curious!!!

btw, thankfully, since 4.5wks ago i gained 2.5kg (instead of the 4-5kg that I thought i gained). baby is around 1.3kg now and total weight gain around 8.2kg. kid will be around 3kg at birth. now that's TOO BIG!!!! i was hoping for VBAC and gynae mentioned my pelvic area seemed small when he last cut me up for C-sect.

Lili gal: ya im feeling heaty too.. Till both eyes red n it feels hot when i close it.. Its been 3 days already.. U mentioned drink coconut water, those can ones or real ones?

lili gal,
you didnt gained a lot of weight. i don't know my current weight now and worried if i'm gaining a lot or not. today when i went to tapao food, another auntie asked me if i'm going to deliver soon. >.< my tummy is so big now that ppl kept asking.

are you going to try natural or opting for c-sect?

my backup came in last week, already i m panicking over my current workload and to work out his training plan and thinking how fast he can pick up!

haha ya what healthy food?? pls share, i put on 10kg (and that was based on last checkup, i dont have weighing machine at home hah cant monitor so everytime i go gyna and weigh, i dont dare to see the scale!)

wow! i see so many replies! basically we need alot of soy, grain fibres, fruits and veg every single day. the more varieties, the better.
my gynae always say we dont need meat! but how can we ever reject meat right? i love burgers! (for now)

i've PM-ed you ladies to share with you what they are!

rem, we need healthy and nutritious food to have a healthy baby! =)

soulsista, my cooly items that I usually trust on are barley, green bean soup, starfruit or pear juice and coconut juice (fresh coconut that I buy from supermarkets and open up myself).

cherish, i'm still hoping for natural. VBAC = Virginal Birth After Cesarean. you? your first is natural? if #1 is natural, #2 shud be no problem. my #1 head too big, jammed for very long and my dilation din progress. i m not sure if it's due to having epidural too early in the process and high dosage as well. i ended up with 2 rounds of epidural. this time round, hopefully i can hold longer.. but frankly, I doubt.

linggie, i keep thinking my digital scale not right or not working. turned out to be quite ok. hehehe... i nd to cut down on suppers and snacks!

mummy lee, yah!!! my hubby read a lot of books on this topic and said i shud become a vegetarian during this time and during BF-ing. eat lotsa veggies &amp; fruits. i absolutely reject this idea. i mean this is the only time in a rare chance we get to indulge our cravings right?

but for the sake of my VBAC desire.. i'm in a dilemma right now. sigh... woman!

lili gal,
my #1 was c-sect. intend to choose c-sect for #2 too but when i think of the whole procedure, it makes me shivers again.
ur hubby quite on leh. still will read on this topics for his and your knowledge. if i ask my hubby to do so, i can only wait long long. hahah

mummylee,
thanks for sharing
will check my email later.

mummy lee: what are the healthy food that u r having now??
basically nowadays i dun really eat much rice.. but i everyday definately need to haf fruits..

liligal: u r so lucky coz i think my hubby will just tell me to ask his sis-in-law(who got 6kids)..he say experience thick thick just ask her can liao..

Rykiel: why no stingray?? my hubby let me eat almost everything but he say cannot overeat...he only tell me sotong leg dun eat only..again he sources came from his sis-in-law.. hahah..

linggie: try to relax ya=) dun push urself too hard n give urself pressure.. my supervisor quite nice always tell me relax..dun worry i will handle it..haha.. cool supervisor i have=)

Hi mummylee
Pls pm me the healthy food too... U no accept pm but i do..;) thk u..

Went for my scan today.. At 25 th wk but both bbies oreadi weight 800plus gram.. Is it normal? What are ur bb weight at 25th wk scan? Worry will be premature since both bbies on big side plus are twins..
Also, If i am doing c sect, should i choose a gd date first? But go where to choose date? Any advise..
My maid comes in last weekend.. I really cannot get use to a stranger at home.. Sigh.. Thot is fun to hv maid but think i am wrong.. Maybe shouldnt asks her come in so early.. Nothing much for her to do now..;( and i find tt she does things kinda slow.. Maybe because i am kan cheong kind so really buay ta han.. My collegue say is normal n give them some time since they come fr slow pace country.. Wonder how long shd i give her to see some improvement?? Sigh... Really cant use having a maid.. Go out oso feel awkward to hv a stranger follow but yet not sure whether is safe to leave her at home alone now?? Any thinkers gals?

Hi joy
Ur boss so kind.. Oh no stingray as i think it is either toxic or mercury too high for this type of fish., i avoid too..;)

Joanne: wow twins lei!! lucky of u=)
anyway i went to my gyne on saturday wk24day5 n already weight 700grm le..anyway did u ask ur gyne??liek isit normal??anyway my gyne did told me all is just an est. only its not accurate de=) so if ur gyne didnt voice anything i guess its still okie=) dun scare urself oki..

hmm if u cfm on doing C-Sect n feel that u want to choose those auspicious date maybe u can try to go temple=) my wedding i went to the temple at Balestier to choose an auspicious date de..

As for ur maid, i agree with ur colleague=) give them abit of time like prob a mth??
let them be familaise with the area u stay..like where are the coffeeshops or supermarket n which stores u prefer to buy certain things..as for home just let them know where n what odd to be done..like bb clothings u can tell them dun mix with adult clothings blah blah blah.. bring ur maid along for shopping=) she can help u to carry stuff mah..u cnt carry heavy stuff..slowly give urself some time to get use to it oso..

yeah my supervisor quite nice..i see..my husband say i can eat anything just abit abit can liao=)
i guess i will avoid in the future.. thanks for the info=)

Joy, pineapple and liver also cannot yah? Read that recently. High vit A supposedly induce labor.

Jo, shud b ok weight. U should b very glad that they are both healthy. I have watched so many documentaries on one twin taking nutrients from the other twin and caused so many complications. so relax and talk to them yah?

Hey ladies can help me ask around on the groupon voucher? Willing to let go at $50 for $69 worth of hair color + treatment + wash + blow at Black Salon Marina Sq? Nd to sell it by 24apr and use by 25 Apr.

No meet up needed I just nd to fwd the groupon voucher.

The salon doesn't allow me to postpone at all.

Abit desperate liao. Pls help spread the word k? Thx.

Jo, for helper, yah give both of yourself some time. But if after awhile really can't stand seriously have to think twice. Could be chemistry so u jus try with another helper. if its really the privacy then hv to reconsider another arrangement or wait till ur kids are out and u r way too busy then u'll appreciate the help.

For us, we still thinking but thankfully still hv my mum to help n maybe get a part time helper who comes more often cos we really treasure our privacy. Already not happy staying w parents so one more member will be worse. See how then.

Joanne, I think I'll be facing some issue as u for helper. We are in midst getting helper but I already foresee no privacy for us n this is verysian. But no choice as really needs someone to help out. N I'm worrying if will get an average one n hope not much conflict too.

Lili gal: my gyne ask me eat more liver coz lack of iron

but yea I avoid pineapple n watermelon totally
no Kang kong no chin chow..

anyway morning mummies it's d mid week
Huat Huat for all
I'm gonna rest in bed,on MC today
yesterday loose stools twice n now having bad cough n sore throat n headache.. hope wun affect my bb..

Joanne, i think it's a good thing that both ur bbies are growing well now.. because they will soon run out of space and will no longer be able to expand as much as those of us with one kid.. so the bigger they are now is a good thing in my opinion. and 800g is fine at 25 wks ah... mine was abt 820 at 24+ also.. so dont worry!

As for maids, i think it's a gd thing that u got her in early because when u're busy looking after the kids, u wont have time to supervise her and correct any mistakes/things u dont like. it might seem too redundant to have her now, but like my friend who get the maid until she was abt 36wks simply didnt have enough time to 'run-in' the maid and end up it's added stress during confinement! at least now u got a chance to monitor and all. the lack of privacy, yeah i wouldnt like that too.. but given ur circumstances, i'm sure u will be glad for the extra help after the kids are out..

And hot weather aside, are u ladies feeling hot all the time? It's ridiculous for me! i've always been comfortable wearing sleeveless stuff with a thin cardigan, but lately even sitting in my office now i'm feeling slightly warm and like i'm about to perspire. and wearing my PJs to sleep under the comforter each night is now a torture cos i actually drip perspiration! i'm wondering if it's the pregnancy, or whether the weather is just getting really hot.

Liligal: the braun thermometer selling $100 plus at pharmacies but u can get at much lesser from amazon...I saw spree selling at $60 plus only... Batteries wise ok - changed only once since we owned the thermometer for 2 yrs...

Joanne: think ur bbs weight are ok... Mine at 700gm at close to 24 weeks...if ur gynae did not have concerns on the size, all shd be fine yah? Most impt both bbs are healthy... My mum delivered my twin sisters naturally 25 yrs ago at 38 weeks... Both 3kg plus! Salute her really!

joy,u take care. have a good rest at home.

hika,
it's normal for pregnant women to feel hot as our temperatures are higher and also, the weather does getting hotter nowadays.

Joy_javen, oh dear, pls take care, looks like quite a no of us feeling sick already

Hika, me me!! Think my internal body temp really elevated, plus now sick, really very uncomfortable n sometimes embarrassing cos I perspire so much

Mummy lee,do share what foods r good for us to eat, seems quite a few of us already sick, perhaps diet is also a factor, thanks!

Joanne, I guess there'll always be a phasing in period with external help, be it maid or CL. Agree with the other mummies, it is a good time to train her to do housework, cooking etc the way you'd like it to be done, get her familiar with where to buy what, make her carry stuff for u when u r out etc. hopefully by the time your twins arrive she'll know exactly what to do the way u prefer it. I'm like u, value our privacy a lot, also thinking of getting helper but wondering when is the best time to ask helper to start

joy, yee? kang kong cannot? my mum also kept harping on it but I still take. funny, i read on babycenter about livers so abit surprised that gynae says ok. usually mine will dispense iron pills in the first trimester but so far no need. you take care k? sleep as much as you can. read somewhere that our bodies are running a marathon during pregnancy! so that's my excuse for not doing anything.

thanks mrs c. i'll check it out. the doraemon one is so not reliable. example of your mum is fab and i heard alot more of this. i wonder how mums in the past do it. hubby says that the human race is getting weaker and i think i hv to believe it. we are so intolerant of pain or any type of suffering. think our kids might be worse.

hika &amp; cookie, me too! super heaty and hot hot hot. but i must say, last time with the boy, i was hotter, now slightly better. maybe my tolerance level has gone up.

we still can take supplement like collagen now meh?

nt to happy at wrk today. leave not approved even thou gynae got letter that she on leave nita change date; ML cannot take 3mths than slowly take over 1yr must take at a go.

Rykiel: it's best not to take supplement if you dont know the ingredients. but it's ok to take food that are wholesome! meaning natural foods that are high in antioxidant which in turn stimulate more collagen production!

ha, regarding ML, i'm also taking only 8 weeks 1st, followed by slowly taking over that 1 yr.. =)

Thks gals for ur opinion and for listen out..
Feel so better after say it out and see what u write.. Yes, agree with u all.. I already so tired last wkend training her and cant imagine if i am at 3rd trimester then how to peek on her.. Anyway, my hb is a great help.. He has been doing most of the training and he will just asks me ok then i say yes.. I oso dun feel like tok to her so leave it to hb now.. Lucky both of us work quite well and no quarrel.. My son got unhappy one night as i tell him dun treat her like guest due to one occasion when we r in car and she is nodding like gonna fall asleep.. Then when i tok to my hubby, my son keep say shhhhhh.. Really piss me at tt moment.. Lol..

Hi hika
Wah.. Ur mum can tahan to wk 38 for twins.. Steady ah..;) i hope too but my tummy already very big like full term mummy who having singleton.. Hee..
And yes, i get very hot everyday especially wkend when not in office so no aircon.. Really buay ta han the heat and my mum say as i got 3temperature now.. Feel like oways sit infront of the fan.. I really cant imagine when we do confinement on July as sure hotter since weather turning hotter now...

Joanne, ya! i share the same concern as yoU! i'm so scared of the HOT weather in jul! omg!! im hoping it'll be nice and cool.
can't even turn on the air con during confinement right?

Hi mummy
Can turn on aircon than fan.. But bill will be scary.. So i try to sleep in aircon room only at night.. Shiok and i like night time only...

yee? confinement period i totally opposite. feeling chilly most of the time that i had to wear those hotel room slippers in the house and go bathroom wear slippers too. yah only turn on the air con at night.

jo, keep us posted on ur helper thingy k? at least it will mk me really think hard on the helper as I am really thinking if i shud get help for my mum when #2 is out. btw, your son is soooo considerate!