(2012/07) Jul 2012

lili gal,
yes, i also don't think it is allowed for adult to hold infant in the car now. really 'how' (in hokkien).. :'(

wow... jo, yours bigger headache i think. yes, traffic police regulation requires all kids under 8 hv a child seat and is belted.

even FAQs like this not spared:
If my friend has a kid who is below 8 years old and they want to hitch a ride in my car and my car has no child seats, will I be penalized if I were stopped by TP?

All private vehicles that come with seat belts will have to abide by the seat belt rules so if you have a child below 8 years old travelling with you, you will need to have a child seat for him. If the rides are frequent or regular, it is advised that you discuss with your friend on investing in a child seat.

but always key is don't get caught lor.

this is the extract from spf website:

----------------------------------------
Change in criterion to determine use of child restraints and booster seats

Currently, a child below the age of 8 is required to be properly secured with an appropriate child restraint or use a booster seat cushion to supplement the seat belt while travelling in a vehicle. Those above the age of 8 are required to put on seat belts.

From 1 January 2012 , age will no longer be used as a criterion to determine if child restraints or booster seats are required. Anyone below the height of 1.35m will be required to be secured with a child restraint appropriate for a person of that height and weight, use a booster seat to supplement the seat belt or an adjustable seat belt. Those with a height of 1.35m and above, irrespective of their age, will be required to wear a seat belt. This change in criterion was made in consultation with the Ministry of Health and following a review of international standards and practices. This threshold height is found to be more suitable in deciding the proper fitting of seat belts and also consistent with current practices in countries such as the United Kingdom , Netherlands , Sweden , Finland , and Belgium.

To ensure that those affected by this change have sufficient time to obtain the required booster seats, child restraints and adjustable seatbelts, a grace period of one month will be given. For the month of January 2012, Traffic Police officers on patrol will offer advice to motorists instead of taking enforcement action when they come across those who are below 1.35m who fail to use a booster seat, child restraint or adjustable seatbelt.
----------------------------------------

Hi liligal
Ya lor.. Really need a bigger car hor but coe so high now n my hb just change car two year plus ago only.. He no intention to change so fast so how.. Maybe asks maid take bus to where we go... Lol.. But well...Is a happy headache though...;)

Cherish,for handsfree strap perhaps can check out the link kshirin posted? Sorry I didn't buy separately since the freestyle already included it.

Joanne, yup, think it comes free only with the freestyle model

Kshirin, if u buying freestyle then dun need to order the strap since they will include one for u, maybe can use the money for accessories eg extra funnel instead

jo, yeah... happy headache. now COE way too high. we jus saw someone w a chery QQ which costs only $20K but with COE it's $80K! who would want to buy!? but then again, this is the country where BMWs and all the luxury cars spend is one of the highest in the world per population density. no kidding.

anywhere got medala promotion (localsets), please let me know.

kshirin : what made u decide on freestyle? i'm also contemplating between pisa and freestyle. i like the hands free and portabilility for freestyle (can use at work) but heard it operates on a rechargeable battery only? some reviews said the power/suction is not as strong as Pisa.

first time mum here - got a qn : got any type of stroller can use from birth till like age 3/4?

Hi Tanny
No need to worry abt buy stroller tt can sit till few years old as once they know how to walk, they wun want to sit in stroller as they prefer to run around to explore.. Tts what happen to my boy..;) and u wun want to bring the bulky stroller out too by then...

Hi lili
Wah so ex.. Btw, u mean after u put two car seat behind, the centre seat oso cant squeeze pp in to sit unless u very slim?

Cookie, yah now buy 2nd hand car better.

Tanny, my friend recommend me freestyle too as she said it can massage ur breast while pumping. I search online and most ppl recommend freestyle.

Anyone here use avent breast pump? How is avent compared to medela?

Wah...did not come in for one day, got so many posts to read...

Yeah, the car seating arrangement is also a problem...guess I have to sit in between 2 baby seats and see how things go...too expensive to change car now....

Mummy with kids of 2 year age gap, are u getting double stroller? Recently my boy is extremely manja, keep wanting the papa to carry him and refuse to sit in the stroller.... But when he wants to sleep, a stroller will come in handy... In a dilemma whether to get a double or not...

I was advised not to get milk bags first till after a mth or two cos of a couple of reasons: 1) might not have that much excess supply 2) bb might reject frozen/stored milk as the taste is different from those freshly expressed/within a few days.

It differs between kids too. My cousin has 2 kids, had no problems feeding frozen milk w #1; while #2 flatly refused. They ended up using it to soak their feet =/ haha.

As for the two car seat problem: what about putting #1 at the front seat while #2 n mummy/helper sits behind? At least that's what I think I'd do when #2 comes along in future.....? Or is that not advisable?

Tanny, like Joanne, through friends' recommendation at work & cos it's very portable and compact. It runs on rechargeable battery but with a full charge, it can last more than I think abt 4hrs of pumping(forgot already). We don't need to pump so much in a day in office ba. Yeah, I read that it has function to massage before the letdown and have many levels of suction...

There is No local warranty on my set but things usually break down after a yr... so not a bother for me...haha...

For stroller, I bought Capella from baby fair. We actually loaded all our barang on it and pushed it home. We love it! Comparable to Combi but cheaper. Metro having infant fair now... good to check it out.

Hika,
What u suggested abt e car seat is feasible. My sil is doing that too.

Mrs C,
My children will be 2yrs gap. I haven't thot of e strollers yet leh. Car seat, stroller, sleeping arrangement.. Are there more things that we need to consider too?

hika, cherish, oh yah! somehow that did not occur to me. but is it safe to put child seat on front seat? i thot not advisable due to the air bag?

jo, infant seat is rear facing so i think hard to go in via there. child seat is big but my car small small so must squeeze in lor. then ctr like v cramp w 2 car seats.

cherish, yah, lots to consider.

for strollers, for #1, we went for the lightest i.e. combi as it was really easier to carry around especially up planes or stairs, only 4kg. it reclines very low so bb can sleep there when he was younger. after about 1.5 yrs, we didn't use the stroller at all not even when going shopping as we usually make him walk or carry him for a while if he's tired. so #2, will just use the previous combi even though it's blue....

Mrs C, me too! I'm also considering to get a double/twin stroller, but like what other mummies say, at this age no 1 doesn't like to sit in stroller much anymore, they would rather walk and explore unless when very tired or napping. So we might just re-use no 1's stroller for no 2. I do think it will be nice for the siblings to sit next to each other though but of coz a twin stroller is bulkier, another factor to consider. For now, we r delaying this decision, anyway no sales now too

Tanny....Hihi..we met! Hee
Try & give a call to kiddy palace, they might still hv freestyle local set at $699 including free Purelan nipple cream. Last seen at J8 KP ard 1mth back, still avail.

Qin...I'm nt sure abt the newer sets but back in 2009, the electric pumps from avent are very problematic. The manual pump is very effective though.

It is not advisable to place car seat in the front passenger seat as in the event of activation of airbag, it is often the airbag which cause fatality to children & not the accident impact itself!

Lili gal,
I tried to put my son at front seat before but he kept touching radio, hand gear etc.. Cannot sat still that I gave up. And don't know why when my son was in front, tend to feel more worried maybe scared I did sudden brake.

Hello piyobaby! Thanks! Hmm, Im also seriously considering the Korean brand breast pump. Dunno the username of the lady that told me about the Korean brand - was it u? I wondered if the parts are easy to buy.

I realised Sterilizer and Food Warmer are 2 different things, I tot they always come together as in 2-in-1 thing. So advisable to get both? Experienced mommies - which brand is good?
Avente. Looking at the Avent Electric Food Warmer n Electric Steam steriliser.

Joanne : I rem you bought a warmer during the Taka fair, was it? How much?

Hi tanny
I buy as a set with sterilizer n warmer. It cost $188 with 4-5 bottles, pacifier, hood towel, wipes etc.. Delivering only end of april. If stand alone warmer already cost $60 so i think this is really value for $...

cherish, yah true true!!! our car seat got wet yesterday and we brought it up to wash. so we have a booster seat and put him in there with seat belt for the time being. it seemed ok. maybe we'll do just that and only have him on booster seat and #2 on infant seat. then my problem solved. hehheehhee...

but after a while, he got bored and started playing w the seat belt. haiz....

Qin: yes. I am going to cater for confinement tingkat. Planing to get from natal essentials. The 14 days single meal package. I did take the trial meal at 30$ for a try. I would say ok la, and one meal portion is quite big, around 1.5 person share so I decided to take one meal pack and eat for two meals.

Anyone has any idea when the renovation for mount alvernia finishes? Thanks!

Hippo, oic so u cater 1 meal and eat for lunch and dinner. I am still thinking... Initially i wanna cater 2 meals but after u said the serving is quite big and can split into lunch and dinner. Hmmz like that save $ also and the food won't be wasted. I am thinking if i can share wif my husband but it's heaty...

Dear Mommies,
Sorry to disturb you. I have a baby cot to sell.
Purchased in Mothercare in Paragon Sep 2010.
As my boy doesnt like to sleep in there, he slept there only 2 ~3times. since then, it just occupies my master bedroom and want to sell it finally. if interested, pls sms me 98531817.

originally purchased : baby cot $250 + mattress and bedsheet (2pcs) = apprx above $300.

letting it go at $180 negotiable. thank you

Sorry again mommies,
also want to sell - 4 new BUMWEAR pocket diapers + 11 inserts

4 BUMWEAR one size pocket diapers and 11 inserts going for $80 (paid just below $200). All NEW as stored at home since purchase.

Can be worn from 5 kg (11lbs) onwards until they are toilet trained. The package price online is for 4 bumwears + 10 inserts at $169!

SMS me if interested. 98531817

hey i started doing a list of todos and i'm overwhelmed! so many things to be done over the next 1-2 months! really scary.... i think i hv been way way too lax liao.

Lil-gal: can u share with me yr to do list? I also hv not done much except some frens pass me some hand me down bb stuff. Went to window shop but can only buy around month 7..Lucky the baby fair is around me next mth.. After that no more bb fair right?

Lil-gal, if possible, i also wan... So far i have not bought anything and i have no idea what to buy except breast pump, babycot.

Anyone has a list of item to bring to hospital when abt to deliver?

lili gal, can share your to do list pls too? i didn't do much this time round cos thinking clothes can use back gorgor's first though different sex..must save $$ lor. haha.

i bought some NB and S diapers, small milk bottles too. Oh, and some milk storage bottles for milk expressing.

Hi morning mummies..so long never chat here as my boy had hfmd and need to tk cr him at home for 2 weeks..

I dun think i can catch up with all the posts here..hehe..

I also got problem for the car seating..as my boy is 2yrs old and we need to get 2 car seats..but we hv decided to get a big one and put infront for him to sit..and then bb n me at the back..if got helper in future, I also duno wat to do..now coe too exp, not afford to change a bigger car also..but we really need 2 car seats if got one toddler n 1 bb cox my friend just get summon not long ago, $100 plus 3 demerit points..bo hua le..

Hi ladies, I just went to the wholesaler baby stall to get my round 1 baby stuff. When I hv #1, I hv no idea what to buy so I asked the boss to recommend me. This time I know what I want n specific brands I like. If you r interested I can post the store detail here. It is at People Park. (Things I bought for my round 1: small milk bottle for newborn, Avent milk bottle 3 in a box, pigeon wipes 6 in a pack x 3, newborn clothing string tie in front 4 sets (my confinement lady like the string tie ones) , breast pad x2 boxes (need more at round 2), pigeon hand n mouth wipes 2 in a pack x5, pigeon clothing detergent n softener, bottle detergent, baby mittens n socks x 5sets (u need a lot more if u hv no old ones), shower herbs 2 in a pack x 15, ....). I will be going there again for my round 2 after i get another list of things to get, forget diaper cream for my first trip.

Oh, I also bought disposable panties 6 in a pack x6. Still can get big size ones, so happy. Will get more in next trip.

I am a July MTB. My CL just called me to tell me that she couldn'tdo my confinement (had to follow her daughter to Korea).

I am really stressed out now. Called Siew Ling Jie and Siew Zhen Jie (recommended on forum) but they are fully booked already. Does anyone have any recommendation for a good CL?

Hi Lynn
Maybe u want to try PEM agency? They may still hv CL..

Hi Qinger
Oh no.. Tt means we must use infant seat for bb huh? I thot we can just say they dun like to lie in infant seat so we carry them lor... Last time, i oso no use infant seat for my son.. But tts many years ago so now the rules so strict n will get summon huh?

hi, wow, everyone is still so involved here throughout the long weekend. =)

I'm currently researching on breast pumps (thinking of getting it). what is the difference between the US set for medela and local set? other than the difference in voltage?

does more mummies recommend freestyle than PISA?

hi all, i put my thing on this chrome web app called rapidtask. Let me see if i cn extract to excel. btw, my list not exhaustive leh cos it's more related to what i dun hv and what i nd to do eg. pack my study room etc. i think the hospital & things to buy may help. let me check and get bk.

today so busy at work~!!!!

good thing is i'm in my 3rd tri officially!!!! 28 wks!!! hehehehe... 9 more weeks to go to full term.

lili gal,
me too, super busy at work today. congrat that u're in 3rd tri. i'm still counting and my tummy is getting so big now that i find it's very tiring and tough to bend down, sleep or walk too long. how to tong till delivery??

qinger,
hope your son has recovered well. does he go to ccc? with hfmd cases increasing in ccc, it can be quite stress for parents like us.

hi mommies - car seat...actually we have tot v long abt tis prob too...#1 who is 2 yo now actually doesnt use her car seat. She sits at the back wif mi. So for #2, we'll jus alternate lor...either carry NB, let jiejie sit car seat or meimei sit car seat, jiejie sits wif mi at back...dun intend to put car seat in front coz not safe too...jus hope dun kena road block or TP...hehehhe