(2012/07) Jul 2012

Oris - yeah, i also book PEM confinement couple mths back, gave up searching n asking coz all booked le...faster book now coz i rang a couple other agencies all no avail le...

liligal - wow! so fast 3rd trimester!!
i like being preg coz i can officially stick out my big flabby tummy wo guilt..no need suck in whahahah n somehow preggy women get abit more privileges n concern frm others! SO lets enjoy it while we can....

liligal - no choice lei...cars so exp somemore...house getting smaller..call us have more children yet prices keep increasing...then they wanna impose tis n tat..gamble n write in appeal lor! lolz

Joanne..is quite stright nowadays..so we got no choice to get another car seat also but I think for our kids' safety also..

If I put 2 car seats at back, I dun think got space for me to entertain my #2..so think putting #1 infront is the best choice..praying coe will drop so we can get bigger car..*dreaming*..hehe..

Cherish: Thanks..my son fully recovered and bk to cc today..ya, very stress esp me tk cr him alone at home for 2 weeks..plus all d cooking, houseworks, really tired but I did enjoy

SG_SC, I dun think appeal works le..cox my friend kena on d spot. D officer refused to give 2nd chance to my friend..then she feedback this to Mr. Khaw Boon Wan..Mr. Khaw told her to upgrade to bigger car..she so disappointed and keep remind me on this..

SGSC, a very unlivable singapore now yeah? *wink*

qing-er, serious on the feedback?! geeesh! what kind of reply is that?!?!?! look at the COE prices, inflation etc how you expect the normal folks to upsize car?

kawaii, hang in there. eh, with you on bedrest i thought you would prefer it to be fast? :D

here's my hospital list too... similar to cherish's.

Bag to include:
- baby wipes, face towels, tissues, bath towels
- nursing bras, disposable panties, going home clothes, pajamas, cardigan
- hubby change of clothes
- breastfeeding cloth
- maternity pads
- moisturizer, body lotion, powder, lip balm
- hairbrush
- facial foam, bath soap, toothbrush, toothpaste
- slippers, shoes for going home
- baby clothes, mittens, nappy cloth, bonnet, diaper
- plastic bags
- wallet, keys, IC, mobile phone, touchpad, phone charger, touchpad charger
- camera, camera charger, laptop, laptop charger, music speakers
- books or magazines
- nipple cream
- hair bands
- some snacks and drinks
- breastfeeding pump, converter, sterilized bottles, funnel, valve, bottle cover, breast pad

qing-er - sounds like a tiring but fulfilling 2 weeks for u...glad to hear tat ur son is up n well now!

So strict ah...wah MP also dun help...sigh...dunno lei..then how. no $ upgrade old car, old house...
realli is SIGH SIGH SIGH

frankly, personal view, if you have been to a MP session before, u'd slowly realize
a. they really don't give a damn about your problem especially if you are in a incumbent GRC
b. they are doing this for "show" or mandatory service or else how to get the allowance?
c. everyone there including volunteers are super stuck up

i've been to quite a few and frankly, you are better off not going.

btw, i can't seemed to download the preparation list into a excel or word... so sorry, can't share liao.

Can i check about some stuff on cherish/lili gal's list with all you second time mummies pls? when I went to the hospital tour, i kind of got the impression that nowadays pretty much everything is already charged to us in the packages. Do we still nid to bring our own extra tissues/baby wipes/maternity pads etc? More for spare or to not use theirs?

Also wanted to ask abt face/bath towels.. do they not provide at all or charge us for using theirs or something? Thanks in advance!

Hika, I brought a lot of things to the hospital but hardly used them, diaper, maternity pad (string ones), tissues, shower accessories r provided. The additional thing for 1st time mom that u need to buy is a basin n a small bottle of salt for u to soak the vaginal area which I will be taking it with me to the hospital this time. No need to bring my purse not even IC. Balanced payment they will bill u. Snack? The 3 days stay includes every day breast feeding, baby shower, n other short lessons, other than that u will be busy breast feeding ur baby. No need breast pad n pump in the hospital yet, not even nipple cream, I saw all mommies in the breast feeding class all just started milk supply, not much milk. My mil brought the dates drink to hospital every day so I drink that n lot of plain water to get the milk supply flowing. I m either too painful or too tired to do anything esle. Other than attending short lessons, breast feed, play with baby, watch a little tv, the rest of the time is sleeping.

Hi mummies,sounds like a busy Monday for a lot of us, hope everyone had a nice long weekend break!

Qing-er, very glad to hear your boy is doing better now, my boy kena hfmd last yr, remember it was such a tough period to keep him entertained at home, he still has scars on his legs especially till now. Hope none of our babies ever kena hfmd (again)

Liligal, congrats for reaching 3rd tri! Final lap liao.. Are there really a lot of things to do for 2nd time mom? I've been relaxing n haven't started on anything. Planning to buy baby clothes later this month n disposable stuff like wipes, diapers towards the end.. My no 1 still not toilet trained btw hahaa so also still using diapers.. Good that u r giving us some urgency, otherwise some of us might think still got a lot of time

Bb alva, I think I would still recommend bringing nipple cream. If planning to bfeed 100%, I found it a life saver, maybe my boy was rough haha but the nipple cream really helped me pull through the tough early days/weeks. Btw mummies, pls invest in a good quality nipple cream if u planning to use, cos baby will def swallow some while they latch so better to pay more for good quality one

Hika, I bought many nice sleeping gowns button front but frankly I hardly touched my delivery bag when I was in the hospital. I worn their post maternity dress, good enough n easier to breast feed. Didn't wear my bra too. The 3 most important things in the hospital u need r disposable panties, camera n laptop with charges. Mt E provide free internet. When u leave the hospital, u need baby mittens, socks, a clothing for baby, beanie, a blanket to wrap the baby. Those leftover diapers, maternity pad, ... I brought home. If u r in Mt E, u may consider to buy their blanket. I bought 10 pieces very good for newborn shower towel cos they don't hv loose particles like normal towel which will stick onto the baby, it is cheaper too than getting from outside.

hika,
ya. u're right too. face/bath towels are included in the hospitals and they provide most of the baby stuff. i will bring own maternity pads though as i remembered they use 2 pads to make it longer for my case..found it very uncomfortable. as for breast pump, i most probably will bring it along this time as my boy was unable to latch on. just to play safe.

for IC, i thought we need it when first registered in the counter? sorry, my memory is failing me. heheh

Cookie, my girl only get bit "violent" after 2nd week breastfeed. Heehee... I use Medela nipple cream but very wasted cos hardly use. Maybe I was lucky n those mommies I saw in the hospital were lucky cos we didn't need nipple cream yet during the hospital stay. I remember the worst problem we faced was the engorgement. The lactation consultant will see our individual breast feeding problem n come to our room to specially guide us so please make full use of the service. They might teach our hb to help us in the engorgement too.

Cherish, if you hv advanced made the booking, u just need to bring the envelop n go direct to delivery suite with all other documents (cord blood donation or banking documents n some medical reports if u hv some complicated test results).

Bb alva, I wasn't so lucky hehe. Think it will be helpful for 'rougher' babies. My boy quite rough I think, even got blood n was painful esp in the beginning (sorry mummies if too graphic). Almost gave up my goal to bfeed 100% but thankfully persevered n pulled through. So depends on individual baby, but yes agree, one tube can last very long so mummies if u want to buy, just buy 1 first. I personally also dun wish for my bb to swallow so much of the cream so once bfeeding stabilized I also stopped using.

BB,
the hospital u stayed gave the attention what mummies really need lo ;)

qinger,
你好厉害. i couldn't manage to look after my boy alone for a day. he's very active and the only time i can really do things is when he zzz..

Thanks BB n cherish for the sharing!! I've gotten the bigger items but have yet to buy all the daily necessities.. So BB's buying list n the hospital lists by cherish n lili gal are really useful! Thanks!

tanny, what is unimom? Ahhahaha.. then i dun think i'm the one.

hika, i stayed for an extra day cos due to C-sect. after i realized they charge alot for 2nd "helpings" to maternity pads, wet wipes, diapers etc. so this time i kiasu and not going to kena. if we dun use, they will deduct from bill. small items but add up to quite an amount.

breast pump cos i had problems latching and kept trying in the beginning but i think it's easier to pump and generate a bit of demand then get the flow moving this time round. last time i wanted to do that but the pumps were not available for use during my wake times so since my medela swing is very portable, i'm bringing it.

like cookie also i was in pain the whole way through when starting to get the twin peaks to work. maybe becos ours are boys. then i discovered nipple cream and it helped alot. din want to my kid to eat most of it but it's so painful even after stabilization. tends to dry up. the BF milk doesn't help. maybe it's just me but i'm never leaving my cream behind. hehheeehee...

i never knew got maternity gown. maybe bcos i din check. my assets were really BIG assets then and most probably this time round so i wore nursing bras. prefer T-shirts cos easier to feed and lift. definitely prefer a cover as lots of guy guests came but were stuck behind the curtains talking to me. so i thought having a cover this time round might mk it more visitor friendly. Hahahaha....

cherish, you were at mt A? I asked for face towel they said don't have. only bath towels! yah, need to register with IC for Mt A. not sure why i dun remember having an envelop to bring to hospital.

also i don't feel like coming bk within 1 mth to register name for kid so maybe and hopefully can do all at one shot while at the hospital.

hika, just see what you need k? different folks have diff needs. i brought a small luggage to Mt A last time cos easy to take in and out and hubby very lousy in packing it back after we are done. so just throw in and that's it. for my going bk clothes, i still remember i brought a dress! then when time is up, need to give BF before i leave, i can't! hahahaha... so do consider such stuff.

Bb, you mentioned "The additional thing for 1st time mom that u need to buy is a basin n a small bottle of salt for u to soak the vaginal area which I will be taking it with me to the hospital this time."
why do we need to do that? i'm asking this out of curiosity as i'm a 1st time mum! =)

lili gal,
i was at tmc. yes, they hv face and bath towels but i hardly use them. Haha. maybe due to c-sec and i had a very very low pain threshold, so rest at the bed most of the time.

mentioning abt registration name, ya i think i will also try to do it one shot while at hospital too. i find manfan to go back again for that. and i'm the sort who will drag and drag things lor. like my son's name, i also very fast min go find ppl to calculate then submit.

thanks, BB. i will go ask abt maternity gown this round. i wore the operation gown for most of my stay lor!!

When I delivered at Mt A last time, some items are already given as part of the package that we paid. For eg: bb necessities (baby wipes, diapers, clohes during bb stay) & mummy's necessities (one pack of maternity packs, one disposable panty). But i still prefer my own pads and disposable panties, so will bring my own.

Good idea on bringing nursing cover - last time did not bring, very mah fan when visitors come...

Nipple cream:
Which nipple cream is good? Last time I tried the Lansinoh one...dun really like it...find it too sticky.

Mummylee - actually if u deliver naturally (via V) then they will provide an antiseptic wash for u to clean up aft ur business...i din like tat coz so troublesome n always bleed abit too...but no choice else wait infection there even worse..

My maternity baggage was also left mostly untouched the last round. mostly jus use wat they provide...but do remember taht they charge for every single thing u ask for..including gauze/pads/pumps...all chargeable one..

Mrs C - i used the medela one last round coz very painful n hb went down pharmacy get last min...i also found it quite sticky n oily...altenatatively must apply some breastmilk n air it dry...in betwn feeds. I tot it helped for mi...

SG_SC: Yeah, the best is to use breastmilk n airdry...i managed to do that only after a week plus when BM is established...the initial days, i didn't have much milk, didn't use any nipple cream and by the 3rd day, nipple started to bleed and i had to stop BF for a few days! I started using Lansinoh then but i think too late liao...Very discouraging...so this time i want to be better prepared...and hope girl will be gentler than boy in sucking!

SG_SC: thanks for your reply. but what is the water and salt for? What kind of salt does Bb refer to? Isn't it very painful to apply salt on the wound?

lili_gal, yes..he said tat to my friend..I was like harrr..wat a reply he get bk..I agree wat u said, they r mainly to show instead of solving our problems..

hospital bag: lili_gal, u bring alot of stuffs to hospital..I think some of the items we dun need to bring esp bb's stuffs, all provided by hospital..tis time round I just bring the a set of new clothes for him to wear bk, a blanket to wrap n maybe few pc of handkerchief..myself just bring a set of clothes to go home n 1 sleep wear..i think i will wear their maternity dress most of times too..

Thanks all mummies for ur blessing..is really not easy to tk cr my boy alone plus all d houseworks..but i m glad i m gone thru it..I am not very "li hai"..mummy Cherish..my boy also very active..non stop running here n move his toys all over the house..I only can clean n do my things when he sleep also..but if I wan to tk shower or hving breakfast, will on tv for him..fast fast settle myself b4 he sick of it..so everyday just like go war..cant imagine when #2 out as I m thinking to become sahm to tk cr 2 kids at home..good luck to me ya!!

mummy lee..I also bought a basin n then put salt to soak the vaginal area, it helps to recover d wound very fast..but I will not bring to hospital cox too troublesome..will use d antiseptic wash provided by hospital to clean..then at home use both..

mummy lee..u just put some salt (normal sea salt)n mix with water..then sit on top of the basin to soak ur vaginal..is old traditional method to recover d wound faster..it not painful but a bit of sharp feeling..i did it for almost 2 weeks i think..can prevent infection too..if can, better do it ya

Mrs C - yes yes! i also wanna be more pro-active/successfull in bf tis time round. Must be diligent. Let's jiayou!!

Mummylee - im not so sure abt the salt n water thing prob different hospital use different mtd...i din get to use tat, jus the rinse ;p

Mummy lee, when I delivered in 2009, the nurse encouraged me to get the basin n salt. It is placed in the toilet bowl n add bit of salt n sit there to soak for 10-20min every day. The first few toilet use, the nurse will help u. She will guide u on the maternity pad cos we need to use 2 pieces stack together. She will also teach u how to use the basin n salt. I will check with my gynae nurse to see if they still encourage that in the delivery ward, if yes, I will bring along. I didnt feel any pain at all when soaking the salt water. In fact, it was very cooling n I enjoyed it. It helped to relieve the stitching pain.

qing-er you are a FTWM now or SAHM? U thinking of being SAHM soon once #2 is out? Woww....

baby stuff only thing is clothes. other than that all is for me!!! hahahhaa... i think my bill came up quite a bit cos it was a emergency c-sect & boy was in nursery for a week so now i'm saving on all the miscellaneous costs as much as i can.

snacks is for delivery time ( i was in there from 5am to 8pm before i was moved to operating theater) cos my hubby was hungry and sleepy but i dun want him to leave me then. i dun need to eat cos they put me on tubes. baby wipes etc is also for me cos i had c-sect and 1st day din want to get down from bed but feeling dirty and very itchy. i asked them for wet wipes they provide 1 pack only and it's nt enuf somehow. they had no face towels when we asked. then they gave us this wet wipe lookalike thingy that you might see in chinese restaurants and charge like crazy after i saw the bill. so this time i'm getting it for myself.

oh oh for 1st time mum can consider bring pump funnel cos can show lactation consultant and they can advise if it's the right fit. i took 1 mth later to realize that myself and before that was in pain or agony cos BF-ing wasn't as natural to me as i read it to be.

to all, jus sharing my personal list only. please don't scrutinize and just take what you deem fit yah? i am abit chao kiasu in this area cos last time was way too lax. din even have magazines to accompany me and i dun really like watching tv. this is my last chance at delivery so want to be super comfy and prepared.

oh did i mention that last time i had contractions at around 2am and only pack my hospital bag at about 3:30am? at that time i dun think i even have a list with me! only reached hospital around 5am cos i was struggling with pain and trying to think what to throw into the bag. hahaha... i was THAT bad.

lili gal,
aiyoyo. u were really in last min packing leh!!! i started packing my hospital bag bit by bit a month ago last time. think it's better to pack earlier as i hv friend who delivered 1mth earlier than her edd.

qinger,
ur hubby also supports the idea of u being sahm after #2 delivers? i hv thought of this idea too as i'm still cracking my head on how and who could help to take care #2 when she's out. but expenses is so high and another problem is if i intend to be sahm for 2 or 3 yrs then later look for job again, age is not at my side.. sigh sigh

lili_gal, cherish..i m FTWM now..ya, will become SAHM once #2 out mostly..infact is my hubby's idea..now we send #1 to cc but he hoping i can teach him at home..now is the precious stage as they learning things very fast now..dun wan to waste it..but I told him i must hv a maid to help me..if not, I dun think i can cope..but another prob is $$$$..so me also struggling..and I love my job as is relax n got extra money everymth to buy things for my kids..

lili_gal, steady le! I packed my bag very early also..I also prepared 1 small bag with toiletries n clothes to put in office so I can tk shower b4 i go hospital..another bag put at hubby's car..ended up i admitted hospital on sat midnight..so did use it..

Do u all think is it fine tat I can bring my #1 to stay with me at hospital after i delivered? cox i thinking no one can tk cr of him..hubby might be very tired to rush here n there..if i happened to deliver during weekend..

Mrs C, I used lansinoh nipple cream for no 1 also, think the texture is meant to be like that to protect cracked,bleeding skin from further degeneration?

Liligal, you really steady! Pack while having labor contractions, was it cos ur boy arrived abit earlier than edd?

Qing-er n cherish, my boy also super active, cannot sit still kind and I am SAHM. No 2 is going to be another boy too, if as active as no 1 good luck to me haha.. But it helps that I put no 1 in half day preschool now, so I have my mornings free to do whatever, be it housework or go out shopping etc. What I can say abt being sahm is that it is also not easy taking care of bb 100% of the time, but it is satisfying watching him grow up.. No income and career though, so if u ladies r planning to become sahm, must be prepared for this..

cookie..me too..#2 also boy..r u planning for 3rd for a bb girl?..hehe..the cc which I sending him only got full day..I also thought to send him half day, then at least morning i can do some works at home..i like his cc now so is either full day, if not stop then continue when K1..how old is ur #1?

errr... my delivery date was few days before edd for #1. hahahha...

now you all know why this time i super KS and prepared a long list! cos too much bad experience then. since last chance might as well go the extreme opposite end!

qing-er & cookie, salute you both. SAHM nt easy. for me i'm quite active and needs to be on the go most of the time. even on holidays i cannot simply nua at the beach and dun like to repeat doing the same stuff too much. so i know it's not easy. i had a taste of it during my maternity leave last time and can't take it liao.

interestingly, i'm asking my hubby to be a house daddy for awhile cos he's so much better at kids handling and education. also he can stay at home and do repeatable stuff type and yet without going insane. he's still not convinced. hehehe...

Qing-er,hi 5!really hope can manage the 2 boys haha.. My no 1 is 28+mths,nov 09 bb. What abt ur no 1? If can cope with 2 then will prob try for no 3, but ah,think we must be prepared for gal or another boy! 50/50 chance.. Yeah I like the idea of putting no 1 for half day,cos at this age I still prefer spending more time with him, playing, teaching him things etc, but it can get tiring still.. N i get 1/2 day of me time! Liligal is right though, sahm is not for everyone, it can get monotonous at times n really need to be patient with ur kid.. For me, became sahm by no choice

Liligal, haha ur hubby is a lucky man! Not every wife offers this kind of proposition to her hubby
but u know, find that my hubby is also better at sitting down n 'teaching' my boy things. Perhaps it's because he sees so much of me n less of daddy

Lili gal,
U proposed that to ur hubby? Haha. I won't be surprised that he's not convinced ;)

ya, I also salute sahm. It's a tough n challenging job especially if no extra help available.
My son cannot keep still n his focus span is very very short. Last time I can still used his fav dvd to keep still for a while. Now, he watches less than 5 min n will run or jump ard. With tummy big big now, it's more tiring to catch up wif him. I'm scared if mei mei going to be same like him >.<

Hi gals....question for second-time mums:
After delivery, does the nurse clean up the baby immediately and put the baby with you to be pushed to the ward? How long did the baby stay with you before the nurse took baby away for checks and stuff?
Is the procedure the same for c-sect (epidural, not GA) and natural delivery?

So we bring our breast pump, cotton wool, towel etc then the hospital wont charge us?

Tks for the list! Really must start looking and preparing the stuff.

tanny, i don't think the hospital charge for usage of pumps. it's just tat there's only a few to go around and sometimes when you want to pump, it's not available. i had a non-availability once only though. Mt A charges me for "2nd helpings".

marie, i had c-sect and nurse bring bb to me for a while to say hi while i was stitched up and then boy was off to be cleaned, tested, take measurement etc. daddy went along though. then after that i was wheeled out and fell asleep.

mummies, the bp ish up =) those with bal frm previous spree can use to offset in this bp. lots of baby shops i added inside liaosh.

<font color="red"><font size="+0"> Rykiel's Maternity Barangs BP#3</font></font>

just done with coaching #1 with his spelling. teach until wan vomit. now adays k1 got spelling liao how to make it when go to p sch.. so stressful.

i tink kkh dun provide alot of things leh. i remember that time i got a bag inside full of phamplets, samples, than nb diapers. thats all? now 6years liao, shud b have improve lar hor?

im gonna take note of the using salt n water to wash wound step down. previously i kept gg toilet to just rinse n rinse. until my MIL tell me to stop touching water. she say no good. cos i felt it need to be cleaned somehow. so now i know.. hehehe.

i now tinking back whn i see u all taking abt FTWM &amp; SAHM. 360days ago i was a SAHM for 5yrs until last year april went to wrk thn now POP one bb come out. no wrk no bb. HAHAHAHA.. i nw making plans for #2, either get a maid, or infant care. #1 gg P1 nxt year ler. hais. v confusing. =(

marie,
i had the same procedure like lili gal for c-sect too. baby was been cleaned up first and the nurse will bring baby to me for a very short while. Then went for test and measurement.

rental of breast pumps in hospital
i asked for one during my stay at tmc but was told there is no such thing. if want to pump, either hv to bring own or get one. (mommies who stayed there before, pls correct me if i'm wrong) i did not get my breast pump in advance thus bought it at expensive price at last min.

i'm also headache about #2 arrangement. initial plan is mil will help out but her health is giving her problems recently. we will get a maid but will need to hv an adult along to 'oversee'. honestly speaking, i don't feel safe leaving an infant with maid alone. sometimes i hv this sudden strange thought that though giving birth is not easy but it was just a short time, only for that period. But when come to baby logistics planning, this is more headache.