(2012/07) Jul 2012

thanks mommies for the info abt boosting milk supply. i think i will go get fenugreek near to edd. my supply was pathetic last time

hello all, i'm back. just dislike it when i have to read from archives. it's like so missed out!

kshirin, I agree with the LC. baby is realy the best pump. in the first 2 months it's always tough i find, to get a good rhythm to the whole BF-ing thing. have to pump, latch, pump cos can't latch, latch then try again etc. after 2nd month if u cn persist till then, then it gets slightly better. around 3.5-4mths, it was really good liao.

btw, anybody went for a hair dye during pregnancy? i really feel like doing leh....

I was also tempted to have a hair dye. But my gynae say no no. I guess safer not to dye hair during pregnancy.

Other than fenugreek, any other stuff help to boast Milk supply? Hmmm, my supply was low when I had my first child. And my mother-in-law scolded me for low supply every alternate when she came to visit my son during my confinement.

hippo, scold you!?!?!?!? how can?!?! actually one trick i learned is this. try to pump after BF-ing in the beginning when your baby still wakes up for milk in less than 2.5hrs after last feed. when you pump, even if until like no milk already or super little, don't stop, just continue on for a few more mins. it will still hv some traces of milk. after next few feeds kp doing the same. somehow the body will register it needs to produce more milk and then will produce enuff. i learnt from a friend and later my few friends all used this method and worked.

some say fish soup with milk, papaya etc will help in milk supply also.

so how ah cannot dye hair ah... touch up can or not? i super can't tahan leh... i dun like black black dull dull hair.

kshirin, if dye hair cannot, rebond lagi worse.

a few hundreds around 300+ SGD i think depending on the type you want to get e.g. dual pumps or single. try searching throw the archives in this forum. there was somebody who wrote about a sale somewhere for the freestyle pump.

i seldom use it cos for #1 i stayed very near office and walked back to feed the boy instead of pumping which took me more time. so mine is just a medela swing (single pump). good to carry around when I went on biz travel after delivery.

oh.. try get it from USA if you can via friends. definitely much cheaper but no warranty and need a power transformer or converter at around $11 at neighborhood electrical stores.

cherish, cookie, SG_SC, linggie, liligal, thanks!

cookie, good to know ikea cot can adjust 3 level, those on ikea website can only adjust 2 level.

clarins oil.. like the fragrance
but also itchy until scratch, then will use the stretchmark cream from clinic which sooths like a moisturizer.

tetanus jab.. think last for 10yrs.

happy long weekend

Yah Liligal, my mil scolded me say I useless as no milk where she got milk for all her 6 kids. She further added that coz I no Milk and have to waste money to buy formula. I am going to try the method u mention this round.

No reborn of hair too. That is even more chemicals. Will Getting a better pump boast supply?

$460 Wah better.. Go n see.

WhIch maternity stores sell breast pump of brands Medela, Ameda n Unimom? Vivo, Taka got a not?

Btw when is the next baby fair?

My colleague says I got dandruff which I nvr hv such problem b4!

My mom seems to think less milk is because moms nvr eat healthy food prior to pregnancy. U know like always eat out non home cooked nutritious food. Like that meh?

Tanny, i wanna know medela freestyle in the market sell how much.

My friend told me after give birth sure got milk. It depend on how diligent you are to pump the milk. She said have to pump regularly and let the baby latch on to produce more milk. Even after the baby latch on, she still pump so as to tell her breast not enough milk, got to produce more.

She said most impt is to drink more tonic soup after delivery and red date water.

$460 for a pump is a good deal...

qin,
I saw freestyle in some malls selling at ard 900plus w/o discount. Getting fr local stores are definitely more ex.

Hippo,
Ur mil really said that?!! I find it was so hurting. Some ppl are lucky to hv quite a smooth bf journey but some might hv a more difficult start. Let's jia you!

I wanted to wake up late late for fri morn but my boy already woke up at 6plus..arrgh

Qin, I got my freestyle at $699 at kiddy palace promo, that time my first few years also selling at the same price.

lili_gal, I went to colour and highlight my hair in end jan, gonna do that again before I deliver. Can't stand all my white hair!!!

tanny, I know that the next motherhood fair is in may at expo, perhaps u can wait for it! If not, GSS also can Cheong!

Qin, u can call the first few years to check if they still have stock....the warranty will start after u have given birth so no worries to buy earlier

Sblbee, u mean they carry limited stock? Why must check if they have stock?

Oic... If this is the case, then can buy early

Qin, cos they said the promotion is while stock last mah so better call to check if they still got this promotion if u r keen then u can qualify to be a member

Hi ladies, I've got a girlfren who writes a blog on researches and analysis she's made when she had to make purchases like breast pumps, car seats etc....and also she shares her thoughts on how she copes with being a mum for the first time.
I thought the information she give is actually quite useful as she really does extensive research. Hope you ladies will find it useful

http://www.askelaine.net/

Kawaii baby, for ikea cot not all models have 3 levels, check before you buy ok (if u decide on ikea)

I also wanna dye hair but will take precaution n just leave it, now the contrast of the black vs colored hair so obvious!
abt 6 mths liao the last time I colored hair!

Happy long weekend mummies! Have a great break!!!

Qin : Outside mothercare just saw the price at : $988 freestyle, $754 pisa, $336 swing.

That beauty loft like nvr reply emails leh... Is the website still alive?

Btw u all know if the avente sterilizer cum warmer can heat the Medela bottles?

May I know why must put the milk in the disposable milk bag and not bottles? Is it cos bottles not enough?

Hi Tanny
Yes, still alive website. I just communicate with them last wk..;) pp use the disposable bag as it saves more space in fridge and is more expensive to buy so many bottles for storage so pp buy bags for storage.. My collegue say usually we only use once for the bag and throw away.. If u use avent bottle then u just pour the milk fr the bag to avent bottles n use avent warmer to warm it..

Any gals got advise what brand of storage bag is good?

Tanny, wow outside market no promotion is double the price... So expensive...

Joanne, u get the pump from beautyloft? For storage bag, my friend recommend me Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bag. She said this brand she used so far nvr leak milk. Other brand she use will leak. Alternatively, she said can buy medela storage bag but expensive.

Sblbee, u got a good deal for ur pump. Now market no promotion already, will wait for baby fair at expo end of this mth.

Hi Qin
No, havent get yet but intend to get fr them since their leadtime is short (1-2wks only).. And cheap..;) intend to save the $ for baby instead.. Think medela is gd brand so
not easily spoilt.. Moreover, not sure will we hv alot of breastmilk so dun want to spend too much on it..;p My friend says she use pigeon brand one oso not bad.. Btw, where to get lanisoh storage bag?

There are some promotions for diapers at cold storage Fyi.

And yes, medela brand is good n seldom heard it get faulty. Milk storage bags are cheaper compared to bottles but same thot as Joanne, I don't know if I will hv that supply to use storage bags lor.

cherish, hahhahaa... normally i will also grow white hair but not sure why this pregnancy quite nice, all black growth so far.

kawaii, i am also getting the itchy spells recently especially on arms and legs. scratch until got marks already. now applying all sorts of moisturizers and oil. super jia lat. suddenly one... not sure why.

hippo, wow 6 kids!!! not easy mann... but one thing it's true that formula is really quite a big expenditure. but she shouldn't scold you leh.. i mean it's not easy for you too. as if you don't want to BF your kid. lucky you din go into post natal depression like my friend did. most imptly, mk sure your hubby is on your side!!!

my mum and auntie gang are on the reverse, maybe they were from msia before. they were all wondering why i persist so much in BF-ing and make the baby keep crying when a formula is fast quick and easy. but later she kind of saw the benefits especially when we go out, i don't have to bring anything except a cover vs my friends who bring this bottle that bottle + containers. travelling was also slightly more convenient. keep persisting ok? remember to give yourself 2-3 months, in between jus feed formula while pump also. we'll support each other then... if we hv time to log in! hahaha...

think all pumps are similar. of cos the electrical ones are more powerful in suction than hand or manual pumps. and definitely electricity is stronger than battery operated. if u wana save time, dual pumps are recommended. oh oh.. becos my son had high jaundice in the beginning, he stayed in hosp for 1 wk. every day i go visit him and try to feed. after that pump there. the "industrial like" pump machine was very very powerful and quick. so i think must get a good enough pump.

sblbee, i'm going to quote you!!!! I want to color my hair!!!! hopefully that won't stop my nightly massages....

marie, your frien's blog very cool! i love reading good blogs and especially funny ones.

oh mummies, i wana say, i have very bad experiences with the pigeon sterilizer and food warmer the last round. starting very good after 6 months it started acting up. sometimes hard to on and sometimes the functions cannot press. i even went to pigeon to exchange once. later still similar. just fyi.

oh oh oh... for pumps, please ensure you get a right funnel fit. i decided to try and bought a few different sizes to try later and it was then a breeze for me. the standard didn't fit me so well.

hey.. i have a question for you mummies w > 1 kid. how do you squeeze or place 2 car seats into small sedan and where does the mummy sit? especially when there's an infant?

lili gal,
i hv the itchy spells during my 1st 4mths. it was terrible and i can scratch till my skin bled. left a lot of 10cent marks on my legs now. my gynae prescribed me physiogel to apply which can get from pharmacies. we suspect it is due to the hormones changes in pregnancy. And i try to avoid seafood stuff.

wow, u hv black hair growing..that's good. so envy. my white hair still grows as normal leh. so sianz.

car seats
my plan is to let my boy sit booster seat and the current car seat will let my gal use. but i havent go check booster seat yet and also not sure if he can upgrade to it or not too.

And talking abt breast pumps, may i know if mommies who use dual pumps are able to pump both at the same time? last time i needed to pump one side first and then the next though i was using dual pumps lor. i found there was leaking.

cherish, when i pump one side, the other side will leak also so I got myself a breast shield or cup thingy that kinda holds the leakage so don't waste! but yes, dual pumps can pump both at same time. u hv to hold two pumps up though. some mothers device a bra-like thing to hold it by cutting holes in old bras so that hands can be free. hilarious but it worked.

how old is your #1 again? my son switches to the front facing car seat when he was about 8-9 mths. he was very happy with it and can last until he's 20kg. so now if i get another infant car seat, i don't know where i'll sit or how i squeeze in leh....

Hi Cherish, I used freestyle and pump both sides on the occasions that I do pump. Cos if pump 1 side first, the other will 'leak' during letdown n also saves time to pump both sides tog. Just a thought, could the leak be because the funnel wasn't a good fit?

hi everyone I just joined today as recommended by my friend's wife. I'm from Hong Kong so I had no idea which forum is good... husband is a SG citizen but he has no idea as well... glad to find an active one finally
my EDD is July 27 at Thomson Medical Centre. Now I'm looking for photographer for maternity photography. Do you have any recommendations?

Liligal, haha hilarious indeed! I can't imagine cutting holes in my old bras to hold pump! Hahaha... Really wonder how they cut, very innovative I must say!

Mummies, FYI, if you are choosing the Medea freestyle, it does come with a hands free strap/device so don't need to resort to modifying your old bras :D and for freestyle don't need to buy converter even if u buy USA set, but for PISA USA set you need the converter

lili gal, cookie,
thanks again.. yes, i also faced the other will leak when i was pumping the 1st side. so it was a mess! i had frequent engorgement that time so when i pumped one side, i had to massage my breast to relieve and when doing so, the funnel was not really fit well. thus, 1 at a time and it was very time consuming. hmm, i will get another size of funnel to try out this time too.

my boy is 22mths old. frankly speaking, i don't hv the intention to get 1 more car seat as it will be very squeezing for our small sedan car since i'm going to get a helper too. how to sit leh?? i actually saw a mommy sat in between of 2 car seats at the back of car before. this is another headache question to think about..

Thks Qin for the link.. Is it 50 for $19.90? Is quite reasonable.. Wonder how much is the shipment cost n leadtime? As i intend to buy only after abt to go back to work during maternity leave as tts when will know whether hv enough supply..;)

Hi Cookie
But for pisa dun hv the hands free stripe right? Intend to get pisa as heard it is stronger..;)

Welcome ophelia!!

cherish, yah yah yah!!! i also saw my cousin-in-law did that. i wonder how she got in in the first place. she's not that small.

so how? helper hold infant? not allowed now right?

Hi cherish n liligal
I oso headache as hv one boy plus my twins and maid.. Normal saden car sure cant squueze in all if plus two infant seat.. May i know is it a must tt bbies must lie in infant carseat else will get fine?