(2012/07) Jul 2012

Hui Chinz - i think my girl found bf extremely comforting so she doesn't drink, she sleeps?! i got no rotten or cracked nipples but i just found pumping easier, cos my hubby can help to feed btw 9-12midnight while i snooze then wake up at 3am to feed her again. which pump you use? my pump a bit faulty when i stopped bf, wondering if i want to use next july whether still working or not.

Angelia - eh, by right if want to wean baby from BM, cannot suddenly go into shock mode and stop BM suddenly. must buffer at least 1 - 2 weeks of introducing FM. start with 1 FM a day, then slowly increasing frequency of FM while the BM supply drops. it also helps mothers from getting engorgement from suddenly stopping BF. i fed my girl BM exclusively as recommended by WHO for almost 6 mths. she did go into a "shock" with FM but that's because nobody expected her to develop allergies with normal milk. the 1st 3 days we gave her FM (Friso), she threw up so i thought she not used to it. then under recommendation from friends, i switched to Enfa for 2 days and it got worse, she developed rashes around her mouth and body, and threw up more. I had to go back to exclusive BM to get her through the next few days, until Nestle decided to send me their HA milk sample, then realise that she can totally accept HA milk. Only then i know she has allergies to normal milk. she still on HA milk now. i am thinking of letting her try normal milk after 1 YO to see if she has grown out of her dairy allergy.

oh ya, talking about breastfeeding. it's easier if moms breastfeed together. you see people succeed, it helps you persevere also. let's do gatherings after we give birth to breastfeed and gossip together...I can volunteer my mom's house as a venue ard yio chu kang area.

Mom of 2 : ahahahaha!!! I think some mummies will feel weird bah.. Like me! =X i last time forum also got alot of gathering than when bb hungry, just feed like that . But of cause is a those mummies house lah.. Hahaha!!! For me.. I feel weird leh.. I can bf infront of my family but not others... If outside usually is nursing shawl to cover.. Lol !! But still there're mummies there just feed like that.. Hahah! =\

ya can just bring nursing shawl to cover la if you're shy. i went to this mother&baby place at tanglin mall. all ang moh there so they don't care. all just whip out and feed. then there's a midwife to go around helping moms who are not so good. i think we can also do something similar. but probably we can just help out each other for a start..

Mom of 2 : haha! That's ofcause! But now too early to plan.. Wait till july bah.. Heehee! But i will keep your this opinion in mind . ;)

can use ru yi oil? Mmm. i shall try that.

Pepper lunch is nice..I had that on Monday night..Yummy.. Very strange that I had no craving for porridge or soupy stuff at all.
Only for spicy stuff.. how abt the rest?

yup. erm how to i go to the group? i know you added me but once i go to "home", i can't see the group anymore? sorry not very frequent on FB so a bit lost. =/

i think you click on your own name on top somewhere, then you'll see groups on the left hand side. the group is called "Wonderful July Mommies Group"

heheh Angelia - Audrey must be sneezing tats y she log in coz she noe we toking abt her!

Audrey - so nice to hear ur ah long n ah feng waving to u!! must be so touched
i also hope to see my bb wave to me tml...

Oh i can neva bf outside lei, unless behind closed doors, i more shy...hehehe..bought nursing shawl, nursing bra but all neva use. but yeah, i saw tis mommy in church last sun, jus whip out a cover, put her bb under it. adjust adjust then voila! bb suckling liao, so quiet, hassle-free n very hands-on. she did everything all by herself

phew busy day for me at work

woah ur talking abt BF heard its a difficult process need advices from your next time when doing BF.

audrey
saw ur ah long ah feng waving at u so sweet of them
i miss my beanie too cant see it till 27 dec so long loh

Hi hi had been a silent reader sigh cos v lazy to type using iPhone n v busy at work. Wow e topics always v diverse so interesting. I pumped exclusively for my #1. Sheer determination n hard work n still have to wake up at night to pump n feed. Like double work when baby can actually pump for me. Din learn how to latch hence pumping was better n I also want to know how much she's drinking too. Kiasee mum.
Just received an email notification tt I have meeting on 28 dec afternoon! So can't join Ur for the outing. Next time bah. So disappointing..

peapea
ya hor hope we bump into each other u doing Oscar test right i'm just going for regular checkup Oscar test not yet.
pls call me if you recongnize me as i'm blur this days just now saw my frd didnt notice till she call me

peapea,
ahhaahaaa..dun worry too much k! I oso not the kind think too far one. When my #1 was abt 2 years, my Mummies group tok abt Pri Sch liao. Abit the far leh...unnecessary headaches for what? Now my #1 is starting N2 next year, I oso dun wanna think abt Pri sch 1st. LOL...can focus on An tai 1st bah. Enjoy your pregnancy 1st! LOL.

Aylie,
I was using Medela single pump. I oso find the motor like got no power anymore. Am thinking of getting a new one.

Mom of 2 : you saw the mom very long ago liao or?

Hahahahaha!!! I remember got once, i go go with Cherelle and my hb to shop. Than cherelle was in my manduca. Than i just use the manduca head cover and cover her head and bf while i
Eat... Than side way, i just use the jacket that i'm wearing and cover abit... Than my beside table got one lady keep on look at me with a very =.=!!! look. LOL!! My hb jidao paisay! Lol! And ask me to cover properly...

angelia - nope i am on blackberry.

hui chinz - i see. i was on the avent electric single for a short while but want to vomit blood. totally useless. after converting it to a manual hand pump it was much better so i use it when i go out. at home i use this korean pump introduced to me by my cousin. UNImom. Dual pump, huge motor with adjustable suction power. very very good. my supply also went up dramatically after i switch. not sure bcos the pump was good, or maybe supply established in the 2nd month. but now the motor has a weird sound so not sure got repair center or not.

Mom of 2 : if ahpek, my hb will jidao ban me from
Feeding in my manduca lo! Hahahaha!! He very scare than me.. but usually, my jacket can cover the side so i'm
Not afraid bah... =p

angelia - do you still manduca your girl now? i realise i can't manduca her for long leh, just feel very tired and i scare will affect my #2 inside. how heavy cherelle now? Ava is about 10-11kg i think.

mom of 2, i agree with your this statement "singaporean aunties very kaypoh one". hence we all got kaypoh relatives... hahahahaahahah

ok then experienced mummies, which breast pump do u ladies recommend?

Aylie,
oh wow! How much was ur korean pump?

Btw is Manduca = using nursing cover?

peapea,
me is using Medela. Good but i feel the power not strong enuf and short life-span.

Aylie : nope... I totally never Manduca Cherelle now... I cant tahan to carry her for more than 15min... What do you think? Hahaha! Usually if go out, is either hb carry or me(awhile) nia... If i'm alone than i usually put her in pram... Cherelle is around 8kg plus...

i have a pigeon one. sucks. then i bought the medela instyle one (backpack) which came included with a hand pump one. both the electric one and hand pump one very useful in their own ways. my medela still working but the tubing gets mouldy easily so i had to change the tubing.

hui chin - manduca is a baby carrier. baby faces you.

Hui Chinz - i think it's about SGD200+. it's a replicate of one of medela's models, but at a fraction of it's price. bought from 1 of the baby fair at expo, but you can find at kiddy palace. it's a dual pump with piping system, adjustable suction power so the pump is strong. can buy a converter to use with Avent system (not sure if they have a medela converter) so the pump fits on avent bottles so you can pump direct into the avent bottles.

i didn't want to buy their bottles since i bot so much of the avent bottles together with the avent pump. (mummies don't buy too much until you sure the pump works for you or you're stuck with a full system). but glad all worked out in the end.

Manduca is a baby carrier. there are some other brands like ergo, becco, baby bjorn, etc. did extensive research and personally prefer the manduca so bought that

breast pump: Im using medela swing...i do agree that the motor doesn't last long...cos everyday gonna pump so many time...until the motor going to "puncture" liao...

breastfeeding outdoor: nowadays there are more nursing rooms outside...but if sometimes really can't find one, i will cover w my sling...Im a great supporter of the mom2mom sling carrier...it allows me to breastfeeding my girl easily by covering her w the sling cloth...and its cheap compared to the carriers...

can act as carrier..nursing shawl...blanket for baby...stroller cover..

[Dragon Mummies Meet Up!] 

Date : 28th Dec 2011 
Time : 1pm 

1 : Angelia - #1 
2. HuiChin (Halah) 
3. Audrey 
4. Karen 
5. Angeline 
6. Fluffy 
7. Mai Ne 
8. Bingo 
9. Mahjonglove 
10. Mumenetan 
11. thng (tbc) 
12. bestberries 
13. Ayle - #1 

Reservation Book Under : Angelia 
Total of : 16pac + 3bbies chairs 
Time : 1pm 

peapea > the advanced in style. coz parentcraft at tmc also endorses that. at the end, if you don't need it anymore, they can help you pass number to moms who want to buy second hand. so for me, i factored in that there's also resale value.

breast pump - i used avent duo. v powerful. 1 day can pump 1.7 litre. really like moo moo cow.

these 2 days my guy colleagues ask me if i'm preggy. wah lau. what if i'm not ??? means i look dam fat lah. i just told them not to ask cos i cant say. they keep quiet after that.

i think UNImom replicates the medela PISA. PISA is about SGD800+ ya?

i read in some books that best not to buy 2nd hand pumps as you don't know how the previous user treat the machine and it's also a big hygiene issue. you can't sterilise the machine parts. since giving the best for your child with all the time and effort spent in pumping, best to get a new pump! IMHO

Thng : if you intend to BF for long than yes! A must... Cause you cannot be letting bb latch on all the time.. If your supply is more than bb demand, what you have to do, is pump out and store instead of hand squeeze and throw.

angelia
worry not enough milk to feed bb
will seek advice from you to missy moo hee...

will draft out my list of items to be bought gonna burnt a big hole cny coming too hee...