(2012/07) Jul 2012

Qin, I think ur gynae's nurse will book for u one, so no worries. If u r worried then u shd asked ur gynae the next time u visit so that u can put ur mind at ease

Hmmz maybe my next visit doc will ask me le...

Today i went ntuc but no yellow kiwi
End up buying grapes, honeydew, fuji apples, and oranges.

Wow... just after a few days of strenuous work and i have to read from archives liao.

thanks mummies for all the replies. checked. pineapples really not advisable as it will induced labour. in fact, all those with high vit A including liver. i took all these!!!

then i saw ur diets and realized i'm really terrible. every morning 1 cup of coffee, afternoon milo, drink coconut, green bean, barley and still eating taiwan famous pineapple tarts!

worse, recently, i had a dream of my HK fren who came to office pregnant. then next scene her tummy was flat... and everyone asked me not to ask her abt it cos she had a miscarriage! I was so so so fearful! but thankfully in the dream, my baby kicked. after the dream, baby also kicked. scary. think i better start stopping my irresponsible behavior.

btw, does tao suan count as green bean?

rykiel, me also haven't started anything at all. hvnt even prepared baby's cot as we are now staying with my mum. not enough space in the rooms for #1 and us and new baby + to be coming CL. Sigh... still hoping some house will just pop out for us to buy.

me asked gynae about booking. he said even though booked in advance also no use as all the dates are not exactly on EDD unless we plan to do C-sect. but of cos, vs a walk-in, they will give priority to those who have booked. so dun need to be so urgent as they also won't reject you. but then my gynae admins there still didn't bother to ask me which hospital i want. think next month i'll ask them to book for me...

hey u girls still consult TCM while going for gynae check ups?

sigh.. time passes so slowly when you are having a baby in your tummy. i keep telling myself to not countdown and ignore the dates but tough. so much so that I don't even know which week I am in now. so, i created this excel template. once i open, it will tell me exactly which week I am and how many more weeks to go to 37wks and 40wks (EDD). now i can ignore the weeks and only open up the sheet when people ask me. hahaha.. much ado about nothing right?

hubby going biz trip for 10 days. no nightly massages for 10 days!!!! :"(

oh anybody going travelling? was thinking of going nearby club med with #1 and hubby before I reach 3rd tri.

Lili gal, I will be traveling
during my week 26/27~
Already gotten the green light from my gynae

Me too, have not prep anything yet!! As I'm gona be getting quite a few "hand me down" items from friends & relatives.. Do now just waiting for "stocks" to arrive before I decided what other stuffs I will need to buy.. Hee

Hi hazie, I'm delivering in gleneagles as well. When is ur edd? Mine is on the 21st July.. Zhen,liligal. I bought almost everything for my baby until I have no more space in my house already. Total spent almost $3k. Only thing left is breast pump. Recently been buying a lot of new bras from aimer feel & wacoal. They are so comfortable. Breast getting bigger.. all my bra cannot wear. Really gotta control my spendings. Anyone doing prenatal massage now?

I have not bought a single thing also hah like Zhen waiting for hand me down to come in then assess what I need to get

Finally my hubby/Maria is coming back after his 6 wks detachment in Thailand!! I really hope to do a baby moon too!
Liligal my gyna said the same thing abt te bed situation as yr gynae

Linggie I went Bangkok for my babymoon in my 21st week. Wa so shiok.. eat birdnest, seafood & sharkfin throughout my 4 days 3 nights! So where ya planning to go for babymoon?

Was thinking of bkk too haha but sadly can't do foot massage, fave activity in bkk
We actually supp to go last dec, already bought tickets somemore but we forfeit because my gyna advised not to travel in first trim...
Anyway is fine, jus that it is hrd to take leave especially we r going to take maternity leave in later part of the yr

Yea true.. my hubby did massage there while I stayed in the room accompany him.. can't do much there except shopping & eating.. for first trimester we went Europe even before I knew I was 7 weeks pregnant.. anyway everything went smooth. Even carried so many luggages ard.. actually the best time to travel shld be 2nd trimester. No morning sickness, can eat & shop! If not have to wait till baby bigger then can travel.

hey ladies..

Need some advice on storage milk bags.. pros n cons of the brands.. and is it better than using storage bottles?

Dear mummies/mummies to be,

Just wanna say hello! I'm new to SMH and EDD is 26th Jul, made booking at Mt. A thru my clinic in Feb (very KS). Hehehe. So many dragon babies this year!!!

So excited as it will be our 1st baby!

Congrats to all!

shelle, that is soooooo awesome! Europe holidaying hehe and you dont know yet (best time really) bcos when you know then you start to worry.

long gone are the days of Europe-backpacking lor..i m glad i did it before i got married haha

Dear Mummies and MTBs

I am new here. Just want to say hi to all of you and congrats.. My EDD is 4th Jul and currently 25 weeks going 26. I am very excited as this is my first pregnancy.

Hospital:
I will be giving birth in gleneagles and have already booked through my doctor =)

Massage:
I have really bad backaches and has been going for massage at Bella Luna every week to relieve the pain..

Baby Movements:
It is really a joy to feel the lil one moving.. the movement has also cause sometimes more urge of wanting to pee.. are you experiencing the same thing?

Have anyone of you written your birth plan? or just going with the flow?

Do hope all of us will have a smooth preganncy and of course deliver.. =)

Hi mummylee, probably will see u in gleneagles if ur edd is same as mine.. hee. Linggie, yeah its actually so fun when I dint know I'm pregnant travelling in Europe. Dint have any morning sickness that time. My appetite also kept increasing. And just wondering why my period din't come.. moreover I quit my highly stressed job just to travel in Europe for a mth.. since boss dint allow me to take leave too.. now I'm thinking when can travel to europe again,hee. Missed everything. there. Hi me&tim, I'm also new in this forum & I'm delivering in gleneagles. I also thinking of doing prenatal massage for my backache. Actually swimming does help. I've been swimming regularly now since my house downstairs has a swimming pool.. so envious of u coming to 26 weeks.. I'm only 23 weeks. Long way to go!

Congrats all mummies!

I have several items that I need to clear. Please PM me if interested.

(i) Brand New, Avent fridge to go Thermal bag, Retail price: $29. Selling price: $23.20
(ii) Brand New, A box of 3 Avent 260ml bottles, Retail price: $37.90. Selling price: $30.30
(iii) Brand New, A set of Avent nipple protector, Retail price: $16.90. Selling price: $13.50
(iv) Brand New, Avent 18m+ straw bottle (blue colour), Retail price: $19.90. Selling price: $15.90
(vi) Brand New, Pigeon breastmilk storage milk bag. Package comes in 25 pieces, used 1 only. Retail price for 25 pieces is $15.90. Selling the remainder 24 pieces for $12
(vii) Brand New, Medela micro-steam bags. Package comes in 5 pieces, used 1 only. Left 4. Great for travelling or use in office for sterilising milk bottles and pump parts using a microwave. Each bag can be used for 20 times. Not sure retail price. Selling the 4 pieces for $10. One piece for $3. This is definitely much cheaper then retail price.

Also have an Avent Single Electric breast pump lightly used (in fact less than 5 times) for sale at $160. Comes with a set of brand new accessories. Pump can be battery operated and used as a manual pump as well.

Self collection at Boon Lay Mrt or Tanjong Pagar Mrt during weekdays. Thanks!

zhen, so good. I asked via FB for hand me downs but no one responded. i think they are all waiting for #2 or #3 etc. sigh... my girl just have to wear boy's clothes for a while. hahaha. I will be travelling for work in 2 wks' time! finally!!! hopefully i wun get food poisoning in china again like last time. *keeping fingers crossed*

guess i might have to shelf my club med dream for a while. it's 50% off leh!!!

Shelle, what did you spend on?!?!?! last time my most exp item was the pump! think i better start finding the list again and see what i am missing this time round. yah, today my bra abit tight. was looking for bra extender. last time i din hv to use it.

for prenatal massage, i tried once at baby bellies or is it the other way round. anyway, it jus quite relaxing but i'm more used to the HARD HARD massage so I don't think i will go bk again. hubby customized massage is better... but he's not around!!!! *sob sob*

linggie, 6wks away?! u not bad, can tahan so long without Maria! hahah. last time in 1st tri, i even went harbin, china to see ice sculptures. had to cancel all the skiing tho. it was dangerous since the whole place was icy and slippery and super super cold but we survived thankfully.

soulsista, i used those glass types given at hospitals to store. very good and easy to clean and sterilize.

meandtim & kshirin, welcome! i jus checked... i'm at 26wks too.

geeesh.. that means i'll be in my 28th week when i travel to china! better check w my gynae first....

Hi welcome all new mommies!

Liligal- ur hb stil so gd will massage for u so consistently though #2. Last time used to massage for mi Everynite too but nw for #2 one, barely got such treatment le. Till date only 2x. N only coz I reminded n forced him to. Lolz. He always say tonite but end up KO b4 mi nw lo!

Soul sista- I use glass bottles to store n Neva had chance to use milkbag coz no chance be cow lei...so tis time I'm more determined to be hardworking in expressing le. For mi glass bottles is gd coz it holds small qty n I jus warm it WO wastage. But again i might say otherwise if I had more milk! Hehe

yah.. SGSC, cos i kp sayin he is ill-treating his girl vs his boy. of cos the daddy's heart dropped and now i get daily massages unless i sleep much earlier.

i also din use the bottle or express alot last time cos i direct latch on all the time and last feed i use formula to get him used to the bottle. in fact, i find expressing causes lotsa problems for me - engorgement, more time spent on being cow and not as fast or quick vs direct latch.

haha more like i dont have a choice!
it is true that frens of our age are trying for 2nd/3rd, mine hand me down are from cousins mainly who have stopped, touched that they purposely kept it for me also haha

do be careful in China especially the food, when i travelled to jakarta for work, i mainly eat fast food hah

i tried to ask my masseur to do pre-antal massage for me but she asked me to wait till 3rd trim... backacheeeee

Good morning all beautiful ladies~

Another Baby Expo : 27 Apr 2012 - 29 Apr 2012
Previous one was quite disappointing to me though.

@liligal - Can still travel at 28weeks?? I thought there is a restriction till 2nd tri? Wah, I also want to travel...

@linggie - Can you share where do you go / engage for pre-natal massages? I've been reading all over forums, just dunno who to engage! The part above tailbone is hurting so badly..

soulsista, i hv to ask for it. you know those that they give to infants in the nursery? after that the empty bottles no use wat. so i asked for them. i was from Mt A but every hospital can give.

linggie & kshirin, sigh... my trip postponed one more week. friends telling me not worth it better not go. so think i'll skip. so silly right? if anything happens. tho i do miss my friends in China and was hoping to take this chance to catch up with them. think i'll hv to wait for another half year then. so sad!!!!

btw, kshirin, i tried babybellies once. u can try. it's quite nice and relaxing one.

linggie, you had bad experience with China food? I am travelling to Shanghai end Apr.. looks like i must be extra careful with what i eat...

i like mine, nice lady, Sharon- http://www.shalompostnatalmassage.com/, she do at your house and she bring her own bed. But she dont want to do for me till 3rd trim bcos of previous MC, but you can ask her if you can do =)

liligal, u better get a letter bcos the crew can stop you from boarding so need to prove u r not due yet hah

Zhen, Shanghai is fine, just avoid street food i guess.

2 more days to 24 weeks viability though not really sure what that means… baby almost 700g but I’ve put on 5kg… where’s the rest of the 4.3kg?!

Didn't know pantang related to buying baby stuff, but bought my first item for baby on 11 Mar... admitted to hospital on 12 Mar... still on bedrest now…
hope baby stay in me for many many more weeks until full term!

Ginseng… read of a 2003 Hong Kong study which found malformations in rat embryos after taking ginseng… so don’t dare to take anymore…

Taking papaya & prune juice everyday for bowels… missed 1 day & couldn’t go toilet that day… Regarding del monte bananas, checked with the hospital staff… they don’t believe in “liang”, so will serve del monte bananas, but they were ok when I requested not to have it after eating it twice

After reading your posts on ice-cream, got hubby to buy ice-cream :p

linggie, thanks, shall avoid street food...
my friend also recommended Sharon for doing both pre & post natal massage! she was telling me, she's very good..

Kawaii, do take care and rest well!
hah my baby was 360g and i gained 7kg, i reckon the 6.3 kg go to butt (70%), breast (30%)
i have yet to buy anythin but i started taking the things passed-down by relatives already, most cant wait to clear space

zhen, yeah Sharon is also a kind and sincere person by nature so you just feel at ease with her, honestly massage skill-wise, i also not good at judging since they cant do hard massage.

liligal - haha...emotional blackmail...but who cares so long as it works. My gynae says travelling till 7th or 8th month in 3rd tristill ok, so long as they issue the gynae's letter to travel chit in case they stop u from boarding seeing ur big belly ;p

Kawaii - hang on, u're almost there! Rest well..
Oh gosh, sounds bad lei..tink i better avoid ginseng then...so scary...

Soulsista - u can also buy them online if u interested. Some are selling quite cheaply wif caps.

Sorry if I sound yucky.

Any mummies here experienced smelly urine/discharge? I cannot tahan mine and my hubby said my urine stained the toilet bowl and it's so smelly till I wanna puke. Is it the fish oil that caused this?

diamondfericia - same here...the urea smell is stronger. cant imagine not wearing pantyliners...tink the wind blow pple will vomit..hehehehhe..but dunno issit coz cupplements, hormones or discharge tats causing the smell..

lilgal, i'm a leading crew and yes i will ask pregnant ladies to show me their doctor's letter if their tummy is too big. i will then show it to captain. some ladies have huge tummies but they are only in their 5 or 6 mnths but thats coz they are carrying twins. so to play safe, we will ask for doctor's letter. n dun be angry if everyone seems to be asking you to show your doc's letter in the holding room or in the plane.. coz everyone juz wanna protect themselves in case anything happens to u.. hope this helps..

linggie, for the massage, what previous MC? can you share how much does she charge? is it a company or just a personal masseur?

zhen, shanghai food in restaurant u also be careful. we stayed there for 5 years. only kena once in a restaurant on golden mushrooms during winter. sometimes they keep too long. summer food goes bad quickly. make sure it's thoroughly cooked. i went bk once 2 yrs ago and kena food poisoning due to street food. it was ok when i was based there. not sure what went wrong then. cd be summer.

kawaii, rest goes to waterbag, placenta, your bigger assets etc. i gained 0.7kg every week! u r not working previously? so long bed rest company fine with it? hang in there 13 wks to go to full term!

soulsista, good info! thanks! i never thought abt it. decided not to go after all. too risky. i mean, if anything happen it's totally not worth it. i won't forgive myself i think. and of cos, going to gynae to get letter is WAAAAYYY too troublesome. hahaha.... btw, wat's the difference between a leading crew vs a non-leading one?

oh, since we are on this topic, i was a frequent flyer b4 i got pregnant. other than those who are preferential to ang mohs, frankly, I hv absolute respect for the normal crews. there were a few incidents on plane and to keep that smiling face up and be nice to terrible customers who create a din all the time, not forgetting cleaning after those who doesn't lock toilet doors and flush, is really not easy. salute to you. keep the smiles up!

SGSC, i also recently learned one new trick i.e. manjahing or teh-ing or basically talking in a super sweety girly manner helped too. totally not my nature or personality. geeshhh... man! absolutely bowled over when we do that. i thought he was better than that but apparently not. so u can consider trying if all else fails. hahahhaa....

Lili gal : Leading crew is e one in charge of e whole flight.. Normal crew is e one who serve u e meals.. So Anything happens, complains etc, everyone goes to the leading crew. . Damn stressful.. Haha so im glad im on a one year break frm work n will only see my uniform next yr.. But no pay la.. So sad.. Thats y i still havent buy anything even when im almost 6 mnths.. Arghh!!!

Re urine stink, i dun smell it myself but my husband smell it. Hahaha... He asked me how come so smelly? Den i go wash with feimine wash. Zzz...

Re baby stuffs, i havent bought anything yet coz pantang. My husband said cannot buy so i got to listen to him.

Sorry to ask disgusting question. Any1 experience constipation? If u have constipation, what will u do? Will u squeeze them out or???

soulsista, ahhh.. interesting. i never knew the difference. u get no pay when you are pregnant?! that's so not fair right? isn't the tripartite association thing working?

that's close to 1 year of income. i mean what if u r the sole breadwinner or a single mum etc? they don't give you a ground position at least for a while?

i had a previous miscarriarge and she did post MC massage for me, so she want to be more kiasu and play safe till later. She previously charge me $60 for 1 hour (last year rate), is a 1 woman show.

Gynae letter can be emailed to you, i didnt even go down, i called and the nurse emailed it to me hah

Qin, washing with vagasil only clean the outside hah i would think drink more water help help to dilute your urine and in turn dilute the smell.

Constipation prob affect 5 in 10 preggers, pls dont squeeze, it is not good, will cause hemorrhoids.
http://www.babycenter.com/0_hemorrhoids-during-pregnancy_244.bc

aiya.. now i hv a big launch in KL. really thinking if i shud fly in but i'll be in mid-7th mth then! how how ah? what do you all think?

qin, i also kena constipation but once i drink coffee with milk (yes yes, bad bad) or soy milk, i tend to go toilet 1 hr later normally. but after being pregnant, in half a day.

last time i more disciplined and drink fybrogel.

if it's really bad, u can get those medicine where you shaft a small spout into your anus and squeeze the medicine in... in japanese i think it's called kancho. after a while, all will come out smooth smooth.

hi ladies! i'm from the aug thread but most likely will be delivering in about last week of July for a schedule csect!

i am now looking at newborn photography because i had one for my #1 and hope to do it for my #2 too...

I'm considering this PG. she is based in Malaysia but will come to Singapore for photo shoot. If there are enough clients booking for end July/Early August she will be able to extend her stay in Singapore because her next trip here is in mid July...

If there is anyone here who is interested in engaging her service and pretty sure that you will get her to do your newborn photography, do let me know? PM me! thank you!

http://www.phoebeleephotography.com/

I kena very bad constipation in my 1st tri and was bleeding profusing whenever I excrete. Gynae gave some capsule to insert into the anus, the bleeding stopped in a week! I had some small hemorrhoids. Must take more veggies, less oily and heaty food lor.

Btw, I engaged Mdm Ida (raved by some mommies in SMH) for pre-natal but she only do for week 24 to 32. She charges only $40/hr. Hope she's good! I will start in Apr since I am only 22 going on 23 weeks now =) Can't wait! Anyone here having pain around the area above tailbone...?