(2012/06) Jun 2012

Petrina- Yup i had a few options so that i can decide later as its my first child so i have no clue how i a going to feel after the whole delivery. Hehehe....But for sure hubby to be with me at all times!! Muahahaha....

Yes petrina i will be bringing it to work however i am fine with carrying the PISA or Freestyle to work.

Nattan-I agree with you most mothers i spoke to all spoke highly about PISA as it has a stronger suction however after checking out the specs online, both models are at least 60hz(power) so i dont understand why would PISA be stronger?

I know PISA can be hands free as well with the bustier but do they sell it here?

nattan: i bought the smaller size. 118ml * 100pcs
PAID $7.70 after disc. RP: $12.90
I haven't taken into account the member's rebate yet.

Jolene: my hb wanted to give me PUSH pressie. but i didn't want anything fancy as i find tat it's kinda waste of $. for our #1 he gave me a pair of earrings 4yrs later when i asked for it. in 2008 i delivered, 2012 he bought it.
U can reserve the right lah. hehe

<font color="0077aa">petrina, i have the OG brochure at home. the event is tomorrow and only at orchard point. u make me gian to go robinsons aft work. hehe! btw, the rebate is 5% of price w/o gst, i.e. price / 1.07 * 0.05.

jolene, what watch did you ask from your hubby? my #1 EDD was on my 1st wedding anniversary. the night before I was due to deliver, my hubby gave me a sapphire ring. this time round, EDD is again in Jun. I ask for a red ruby ring or watch! but dun think he will get. haha.</font>

Adeline: PISA is heavy. cause the adapter n motor is heavy. freestyle works with batteries. so it's definitely way lighter.
then if u gonna get US set, u need to lug additional transformer. even heavier..
for PISA to be handsfree, u just need to buy freestyle suction cups. it comes with the straps. i tried it but don't like it as i find it doesn't fit all breast size.

Good to have few options. but regarding FM vs BM, u need to be clear. cause once u give green light for FM, some nurses don't wake u up in the night for u to feed BM.
also regarding pain relief. if u chin chye, they may just give u relief instantly since u agreed b4 hand.

only thing u can't control is natural or c-sec. the rest r controllable. so u muz be clear ultimately what u want.

sapphire: OIC!! now i know.. LOL..
can u let me know how many sets r available? i wanna know if it's worth taking a cab down to buy. i think my hb prefer that since there is lights n music as compared to the newer model of rocker.

Am thinking about what brand? The only ones I can think of is Rolex or Cartier. Clueless about branded things. What others? He seldom give me anything, so I thought it is a good milestone to ask for one.

Adeline, I don't know why PISA has a stronger suction but it could be due to the design of the suction cups or something?

Petrina, hmm now that you mentioned that Freestyle can use batteries.. maybe I should get that instead since I intend to bring to work :p

I also bought the smaller size Playtex dropins.. think it's $8 at Taka fair.

Jolene, I don't really believe in demanding a push pressie la. The baby is jointly created by both of us and although I have to carry the baby for 40 weeks and go through the labour and delivery, hubby will be taking more care of the baby and me after delivery including cooking and cleaning for me, since we won't have any help. So if he needs to get me a push pressie, then I think I should get him a "caregiver" pressie also

Re epidural
If you want, then ask for it immediately. Don't try to see whether you can tahan or not coz when it's really painful, might be too late. My friend thought she had a lot of time, but she suddenly dilated a lot in one to two hours, super super painful. When my epidural ran out, i was really in great pain, and was glad i had it done early in the morning and could rest.

Petrina, btw, how do you use Playtex dropins with cable ties?? I thought you need to use the screw caps to close it.

Jolene, after giving birth, i started to think the money should either be saved up or spent on my son's education. So i didn't really ask for anything. But maybe i should, coz this bag that i'm carrying just a few times a year is starting to look grubby. Or even better still, save the money and invest in property.

Petrina-Is it that heavy? I better go for the Taka fair and check it out. I know PISA is about 9lbs and Freestyle is 5lbs.
I was told that a transformer is not required for the US set but just an adaptor. Got to clarify on this though. Thanks!

Yeah i have tick for BF exclusively. I have also signed up for a epidural package.

Yea most of it i am clear except for the part where do i want my baby to be with me throughtout or only during feedings and when i am awake. Not sure if i can get the sufficient rest required after delivery if baby sleeps in with us throughtout the stay. I guess it is very subjective to each mothers,right?

nattan: if u ok with suction, freestyle is a better choice. cause the cup is slanted. so i feel the suction isn't as good. u need to physically hold it though they say can handsfree.
u all buy US Set.. so it's heavy to lug with transformer and motor. for me i m not bringing home. just pump in ofc. then go home fully latch. plus i got a local set. so weight wise not too bad.

playtex price quite ok then.. maybe i'll go taka to buy more. since only 30cents difference.

<font color="0077aa">petrina, i fb u tonight when i check out the no of sets.

jolene, ladies watch u can also consider omega or chopard. but of coz rolex (particularly the sports series) has better resale value if it is a point to consider. ;p</font>

nattan: i mean the cable ties after pumping. i didn't buy lots bottles. so my friend currently, she is storing the milk in the bags after pumping and use cable tie to tighten for storage. all standing up position. leave some air for expansion.
when u r ready to use the milk, thaw and cut the cable tie then put the bag in the bottle to feed.

Adeline: transformer is needed since the voltage is not the same. i was using PISA US set initially. transformer spoil so end up i use batteries all the way.
I bought rechargeable ones. leave the charging device in ofc. 10pcs altogether. suction power same as plug into socket.
9pounds vs 5pounds is alot of difference! u gotta think carefully as it's gonna be long term right?

nattan: PISA also can use batteries.. 10pcs.

Adeline

Me too! At Glen. My gynae is there.
When is yr EDD?

Nattan

Only need a simple adaptor for the US freestyle. Confirm!

I haven't gone yet but will do so after next mth's appointment

Jolene

Not insisting or having an push present. Our baby is already the biggest present both of us can have. I dont need to have anything else to motivate me.

Glass

When u say ask for epidural immediately means once u get admitted into hosp issit? How soon is soon?

Adeline: What is the birth plan for? Is it to provide to the hospital/gynae?

RE Skincare Products
I changed mine to Jurlique as i was reading some reviews a few mths back that some pregnant women used it and found the ingredient safe. Not cheap but you can try ordering through Vconcierge (cheaper than SG) or buying from DFS if anyone is taking flight out. I think Kiehls should be fine too.

RE MATTRESS for CL
I didn't ask my CL about mattress when i met her to pay deposit. Neither did she mention.
I am looking for foldable mattress so its easier for me to store as opposed to sofa bed which takes up space. Was looking at the Seahorse foldable mattress online and its only 2". Not sure if CL will complain or am i being too mean to her too?

Petrina, I don't know if I want to leave the pump in the office or carry around with me so perhaps a lighter model is more suitable. I didn't check out the weight beforehand :p

Sapphire: If non OG cardmember will not be able to enjoy discounts? Silly me didn't sign up the last time as i thought my mum had it but hers expired! Do share what good buys as i am heading to Somerset tmr lunch time &amp; can drop by to see

Adeline: Me too! GlenE as well ... who knows we might be around same time too!!! Which week are you now?
Jolene/Nattan: I guess its a good time to get a nice gift from HB if financially they can afford and hardly shower us with pressies. But on the other hand, the emotional &amp; physical support we get from them is worth more than any gift plus the fact that the child is already a gift to both. p.s. but a Cartier/Rolex watch would be nice ;) haha Cartier is more affordable and classic in my opinion

<font color="0077aa">fleurfleur, entry is for OG member only. i also didn't sign up this year. i borrowed my mil's card to go in tomorrow. :p</font>

Push pressies, got it in my Birthday after I nag and nag hubby to buy me.. I bought 24K gold earring. Until now hasn't worn that at all. Afraid my #1 will pull it and broke it!

I bought purely also with intention as a part of investment. Becoz that one is pure gold without any diamond, and price wise is not that expensive since it's just an earrings. My #1's white gold with diamond earrings are much more expensive than that! And some more I'm the one buying haha..

I have brought #1 for ear piercing when she's around 9 mths old, get the diamond one that's why expensive.

Before she's born, bought the loop earring with diamond that can be detached. Actually I just want the loop earrings but it comes with the diamond.. It's quite expensive.. Dunno can get the same model for #2 or not.

All white gold for #1's earrings..
Cannot find a good yellow gold loop earrings that time..

woops just now remembered hubby bought another type of earrings for my push pressies.. The one with yellow &amp; white gold, but no diamond.. I think it's more expensive than the one I ask him to buy for me (the 24k gold one)

Glass > i m gonna to the maid agency to chk out on the details n procedures tmr. Sm of my frens tell mi to get new maids n young ones so tat thy r more receptive to instructions. Old maids tend to b stubborn. She has a point, bt we also nd experience maid if we wan thm to over look on the NB, rt?

Smilezz and Fleur - My Edd is 25 June.When is your Eddand which gynae are you with,Fleur?

Smilezz, which gynae are you with?

Fleur- The birth plan is for how i would like the whole delivery process and experience to go in the hospital as i would be either too tired or stressed over what needs to be done as i would probably cant remember by then, so i thought it is best to have a birth plan so everyone(docs,nurses,hubby)are all on the same page with me rather then keep asking me countless of questions when i am in labor. Hahaha....

Petrina-I have also checked and they said a transformer is not required just an adapter which is supplied in the US set as well. That's why i am skeptical too about that.

Nattan- Perhaps can head down to the Taka fair to check out the demo sets at the counter for its weight and differences in suction.I would most probably go this Friday then since i am off. Less people, i hope.

Adeline, Smilezz and Fleur: I am also @ GlenE. My EDD is 21 June. Just went for the maternity tour yesterday and will be doing pre-registration next Mon after my gynae visit

Fuyutsuki,Ssmilezz,Fleur-Cool! Imagine if all 4 of us ended up on the same day of delivery! Hahaha.....
Anything can happen.

Who are your gynaes? Have you guys decided on which bedder?

Fuyutsuki-Do you remember what is supplied by the hospital? I forgot as i went for the maternity tour last year in Dec.
Do they supply maternity pads,disposable underwear ,etc??

Am off for the Robinsons sale now!!

Fuyutsuki01 : what's pre registration?
I haven't gone for tour yet. Is it helpful? Do they tell you those misc charges they charge etc?

Our EDD all quite close

My gynae is Dr LC Foong. Pre registration is advance booking of the room but of coz no gurantee that u can get what u want on the day of ur delivery. the maternity tour includes tour of the various rooms, delivery suite and nursery, also explanation of the different packages available. medical and surgical supplies are included in the packages.
I am also looking at single room

Juz bath come out and discovered that when i squeeze my breast, my nipple discharge a clear liquid... Should be colostrum bah? Is it normal huh? Currently in 28 weeks le

Sad just want into ASOS site, the nursing bras on sales, don't have my size

It is a must-to-get if you intend to bf right?

Thanks for the watches advice. I told my hubby to get me if I can have a natural and drug free birth.

My EDD is on 20.6 at KK hosptial, gynae is Dr CK Khoo

Ssmilezz: my water bag broke at 1am. Went to hospital. Little dilation. So wait until morning. Think 7 or 8 am i had epidural. Cannot have frequent contractions coz you must be still for needle to go in. Then I just rested and slept until 8 or 9 pm then finally got dilation. Pushed until 11 plus. Epidural ran out around 10pm so it was super painful to push, plus the monitor strapped on me, hard to bend over.

Chris: Any age also can be stubborn. I think impt is whether can understand each other well. Look for one who is generally positive and jovial. Coz I've met a very quiet maid who went mad coz she bottle herself up too much. You also don't want those who use sick parent as an excuse to fly home suddenly. Even if they got own baby to look after, their style might be different from ours. One today told me that if baby keeps crying, she will keep rocking the baby. And she was very vigorous in her actions.

Give them some situations and see how they handle. All the best. The one I'm keen on doesn't seem to want to work for me. Agency didn't msg or call me back. Sigh.

ust came back from Robinsons Sale, didnt buying much as a lot of items i needed were out of stock.
Most items were 30% disc and the rest were 25% disc. Pretty good to stock up on daily baby items.

Fleur-I am with Dr Chan as well. I have done my pre-registration last year December and booked a single bedder, yup but they will tell us during the maternity tour no guarantees.

So there is 5 of us in total delivering starting from 17 Jun,18 Jun,21 Jun,23 Jun and 25 Jun.How cool!

Just came back from Robinsons Sale, didnt buy much as a lot of items i needed were out of stock.
Most items were 30% disc and the rest were 25% disc. Pretty good to stock up on daily baby items.

Fleur-I am with Dr Chan as well. I have done my pre-registration last year December and booked a single bedder, yup but they will tell us during the maternity tour no guarantees.

So there is 5 of us in total delivering starting from 17 Jun,18 Jun,21 Jun,23 Jun and 25 Jun.How cool!

Nattan, I can pair with you if you have yet to find someone since I'm looking at Origins Jamu too. Which package are you looking at, 5/7/10days?

Anna, I'm going for 10 days package. If you want, then I'll email Origins and let them know 2 of us are pairing up for the promo

Sorry.. I went to look at the promo again and realised it's a CHOICE of the gifts.. meaning you can only pick 1 :p .. so you still interested?

Adeline, I am also planning to go back to Taka maybe on Fri or morning Sat to shop for additional stuff. Will go and check out the weight of the Medela pumps too.

Adeline: what's the pre registration thing about. Mine Is just the nurse ask me which Bedder I wanted. That's all. Do I need to do anything else ?

<font color="0077aa">petrina, i fb u last night regarding the snow globe but not sure if the msg went thru. anyway, it's $98, limited to 50 sets and 1 set per customer. it's really a good buy but am sure hb will nag at me if i buy since i already have 2 rockers. ;p</font>

Went for my check up yesterday.

About 25weeks gained 7kg (The clinic's weighing scale quite scary 2 kg heavier than my own scale. Now showing that I'm 60kg). Baby 750g, already head down position. But cos theres still space for baby to swim around, baby might still rotate up though Dr Tham say usually they are quite smart to continue staying headdown.

He was soo quiet during the whole scan... sleeping so peacefully though I wanted to see him move. The moment I got back to the car he woke up. Alamak.

Fleur:Dr Chan's nurses handled it for you? My last visit she asked me about registration as well but i have informed her i have done a pre-registration, therefore she took my details of which bedder did i choose.

Alternatively at your next check-up i advise you to head to the main hospital registration and check with the information counter on the pre-registration. Registration will be done there so on your delivery day, all you have to do is bring all the forms that have been completed during your pre-registration.
Do get the baby bonus kit from them if you have not done so and complete the forms as well.

We have done all the above and photocopied documents which has been placed into a folder for the ease of processing during the delivery day as everything can be done at the hospital itself. Would definately help you or hubby out when you both are at the most "kan cheong" state. Avoids missing out documents.