(2012/05) May 2012

Esteelin, how are yr wrist now? much better?

I went to see a chinese physician near my house. He just prescribed some medicine. I did not take as it affects breasfeeding. He said that my body is weak. Just ask me to keep my hand dry and dont drink cold water.

Thanks FAAA, suspect it's heat rash too, though it's more serious on his cheeks, so could be milk rash too. Will check with pd first.

Ruhee, it was getting better initially with rest but got worse recently as I started to strain it by carrying bb in and out of Yaolan. It seems impossible not to strain it when carrying bb, dunno what is the correct technique.

Dolly, my gal doesn't need to feed very often leh. You are doing the nursing marathon which I read online. Very effective in bringing up supply.

Do u want to try California baby calendula cream for the rash? Heard its good for ezema or skin problems. I apply on my baby neck too when I see tiny red dots. They disappear v fast after 1-2 application once daily.

I jus started my LC's pumping schedule suggestion, now pump
5min each side at fixed timing. Can yield big bottle compared to previously hv to pump 10-15min each side. She says nipples can be 'trained'. Shw suggest i pump jus sufficient for daily intake or excess a bit but inwas concerned what if baby demand more later? She says supply can up by increase pumping but have to be at fixed timing.

Mummies, have you started wearing normal bras to work or continue to wear nursing bras? I'm back to work now. Still wearing nursing bras cos have to hook to the pump straps.

If we were to wear normal under-wired bras, will we get blocked ducts?

Mommies, have you heard of Hygenie Portable Sterilizer? Or any tips on how to travel light if I have to bring sterilizer, etc.?

Dolly. Where to buy wired and padded nursing bras at affordable prices? Today I pumped at work at 12 and 4pm. Both times yielding 110ml only. So tmr I may just pump once at 3pm and see how it goes.

If supply maintain low, I may have to feed FM in the day and do latching when I'm home.

FAAA: I got most of them from bp few years back. There was one wacoal (Thailand) spree very good quality, but now I dun see it. I also buy from other spree, so far ok though the cup could be a bit small or I just cannot bring myself to order 90C. Hahaha always undersized.
If time permits, pump regularly at 12 and 3pm, dun change the timing. Our breasts not water tap lah, not say turn on then got milk. Need at least a day or two to adjust wor! Dun give up yet! Supply sure drop beginning of work, cos not uses to it

Dolly I also wearing the same bras from 3 years bk. haha. Most are cotton ones and the elastic not so good. I ordered 5 pieces from a source in FB. Non-wired, padded. Quite cheap also at $19.50 each. hopefully they fit :S

Now I headache what to wear to work. Wear dress not convenient to pump cannot wear so fitting also. Sigh!!

FAAA: I try to wear 2 pieces, but dresses still more comfortable. So when I wear dress I'll wear a girdle that covers my thigh. I got quite a few girdle from various BP. Babyland is quite a good buy, got many girdles from her

M&S also got non-wired nursing bra, I got 2pairs (4 bras) from them during sales and wear them as maternity bras as well. U can also go to the baby expo in oct. Then can try some more! The birth shop was previously moms in mind. I got many nursing tops from there. Recently I get from this milky way which has nice design, some even fit for work and can pump.
Just weighed myself earlier, I'm now below 70kg! Was thinking whether to weigh or not cos I eat quite a lot over weekends and have my fav bubble tea n MOS ice milk tea as well

Dolly looks like the program suits u!!! Indulge yourself over weekends lor, so how much weight have u lost since u started the program?

Problem is most of my clothes quite fitting and I never tot that I'll be going bk to work so soon so never really unpack those pre-preg clothes yet. So now wear quite simply. Every morning rush and late for work. Haha

FAAA: yeah, guess I got lots of fat to start with. Lost around 3-4kg so far

My hubby progress is slower though, but the got much less fat to begin with. Hopefully for him the visceral fat will go down.

I was wearing my pregnancy clothes, unpacked my pre-pregnancy ones but cannot fit. haha Anyway, I'm not buying any more, hopefully I can buy some smaller size (L or M?) soon

My gal right eye is swollon, and seems itchy cos she keeps rubbing it. Got to hold her hand and she is super cranky. Suspect it's mosquito bite cos not discharge. Huh.. very tiring for me, cannot apply cream cos it's her eye area

FAAA: how's your pumping today? Give yourself a week to try, dun give up so soon!
It's just 2 more months before baby goes on solid and u dun need to pump so often anymore! Just 2 more months! 8 weeks?

Dolly, today I pump at 12 and 4pm and got 120ml and 105ml. Same like yesterday. Now I latch on once I'm home so not doing pumping at 10pm like I used to. My gal can latch on for like 1 hr.

My gal also had an eye infection when she was 5 weeks old. Got discharge so brought her to pd for antibiotic cream. It's probably contamination.

So your hubby and yourself both on the TRA program?

Btw Dolly when did u stop pumping at work? Currently my gal takes 3 bottles per day, 2x BM and 1x FM. I still have abt 20 bags of frozen milk in my freezer.

FAAA: Yeah, both of us on it, for him it's more of visceral fat and high cholesterol... not so much of unsightly fat

Forget when I stopped pumping last time! haha, but slowly will get the cue lah. Now I pump twice at work, yield around 300-400ml each day. Which is a little bit less than what she takes already. Probably when she take less then I'll pump less. Looking forward to it though.

Do you drink a lot of water? I do, and I loves milk too

I drink more water at work then home. But my milk flow is slow and I do not experience let-down all the time. So I need to pump for 20mins then stop 5 mins then pump another 10 mins. So I got it tougher than u.

My gal is still only drinking between 110ml- 130ml per feed. At 12, 3 and 6pm. So my pump per day is only enough for her 2 btls of BM. I am still reluctant to use my frozen supply so supplement with 1 btl FM per day.

Did u introduce FM to your son after u wean him off? My son is still taking 3 btls of milk per day. Is he off diapers already?

rabbitz: My gal feeds from the bottle 3x per day at 12, 3 and 6pm. Once i am home, i start latching on from 8pm onwards all the way to next morning at 9am.

Mummies how do you wash your pump parts at work? Do you bring a container to soak with warm soapy water or just rinse with tap water? Brush? I'm returning to work tomorrow and I'm stress about the bm ss, to begin with my ss is low
going to miss bb

Phyllis: Mu supply is low too. Pump at 12 and 4pm each yielding between 100-120ml only. I don't wash the pump parts. I place in a ziplock bag and leave it in the fridge.

Im back to work alr, miss baby too but im ok cos I think its gd to be separated from baby at times. Need my personal space. For me, I brought the liquid cleanser to wash n then Soak in hot start, cant use the fridge here as its too packed! Supply still OK as of now.

Faaa same here but I don't latch my bb anymore because he bites and gives me sore nipples. Very naughty it's his way of telling me I've enough already. Now exclusive pumping. He drinks 6 times a day and I supplement with 2x fm at 12am and 6am feeds. I think I won't have enough bm tomorrow only 1bottle frozen.

AK yes I agree it's healthy to get some personal space. Really envy your ss. Can you share your daily diet? How much water do you take daily?

Do you all feed bb only when bb cries? I use time as a gauge for his feeding sessions. I notice he no longer cries for milk. Maybe he knows he gets milk at a specific time.

Phyllis: Since I will pump twice at work so intend to buy 1 more set of pump parts to reduce time in washing & sterilizing. Previously, I will wash with liquid detergent & soak in a Tupperware with hot water.

Ak: what liquid detergent u use? I m using pigeon & seems that I use up the 700ml bottle every 3days. Seems this cannot go long run, will burn my pocket.

Phyllis:
i flush pump parts with soapy water and rinse off after each pump. then sterilise with medela micro steam bag just before next pump. each bag can use about 20 times.

my milk ss also low. pump two times at work and one time before i sleep. each pump about 100ml. baby drinks 3x100ml at infant care so so far so good. hardly have any frozen ones in the fridge left. i think left only three bottles. i eat oats and drink mother's milk tea to help up supply but wont say its particular effective. but eating more protein sometimes helps too. stress plays a part also i think.

Shawnjas - Pigeon liquid detergent seems more diluted. Can try Pureen, just a small pump will do as it is quite foamy.

FAAA: will buy & try. Tks.

For refrigerated breastmilk, how long do you all keep b4 freezing if not use? Is it still 48hrs? Sometimes, will cross this timeline for few hrs, believe its ok right?

Shawnjas - I read online that milk meant to be freezed should be freezed immediately and not refrigerated then put in freezer.

i also use pureen, personally I find it better than Pigeon..it is soapy and only need a bit..the refill is also not too expensive..

FAAA: I gave my son both fresh and FM. Now he still drink a cup or so before he sleeps. He refused bottles since 6 mth old. Using straw n cup since
He is off diapers day time since 2.5 yo? Then he just started sleeping wo it in Aug, wet our bed a couple of times so far

Phyllis: my son bite me when he had teeth too, I slaped him when he do that, after a few time he no longer bite

shawnjas: wow pigeon need so much huh? my nanny likes Tollyjoy, which has mint flavour n like detergent, just pump a bit and run w strong water to generate the bubbles and wash.
sometimes I left half-filled bottles in company's chiller over the weekend,then continue to pour. Read somewhere as long as not sour, ok to use

Hi Mummies, mostly silent reader.
My baby used to have Friso Soy. Just knew that soy is not good for baby boy as it contains estrogen so today i introduced Enfalac to bb in the afternoon. 3 hours later he vomited all the milk and then i fed him with friso soy but still vomited. now he is having fever some more.. no energy to cry..

any mummies have similar experience?

Hi Russelmum, your Bb may have lactose intolerance as u changed from soy to cow's milk & have upset his stomach. Believe u didn't introduce gradually to him on the change.
My advice is to monitor him and bring Bb to doc for proper diagnose.

FAAA: I prefer to give refrigerated bm as its fresher than frozen bm. And sometimes, my boy has longer feeding interval resulting in extra 1 or 2 bottles, so its a waste to throw away...

Dolly: i think there r many sch of thoughts. will try smell b4 freeze.

Berry: I meant I used to pump 15min each side to yield one bottle. But now in jus 5min I get about same vol too. So I think the LC suggestion works for me as today is my 3rd day following the fixed timing my breast manage to get emptied in 5min. But I extend to 6min cos I using Medela and I don't include 1 min of stimulation phase.

Pumping at morning 7,11,3noon, 7pm and 11pm. Latch on demand. Yield btw 60-150 max 200+ for morning first pump. I add total vol a day is abt 600ml include on demand latch as I not working yet.

My baby refuse bottle and really headache. Thot of trying the comotomo bottle, anyone can feedback? Avent, NUK and pigeon Y-cut doesn't work. Duno how many more teats I need to try. After trying bottle, baby bite the teat then when latch on bites me!

I am v discouraged with my BF as my baby stil drinking v little. Latch 5-8min only and still remain small size baby. Hv seen LC and corrected my bending forward posture to lean back still drink so little. Stuff nipple to him he use tongue push away. So I will donate all my 2 freezer full of BM away and rece my pumping. LC ask me start on solids to fatten baby up but I Thot recommend is 6mth exclusive BF is best right? I felt so I adequate that I hv over supply milk but baby doesn't drink much an hv to break the 6mth ideal time frame

Shawnjas: some websites said that refrigerated milk can be kept for up to 5-8 days so not to worry. I also ever fed my baby milk that has been longer than 48 hours. Normally I only keep 2 bottles in fridge and any extra I will freeze immediately.

Dolly: so your son just told u that he doesn't need to wear diapers at night? My boy off diapers in the day since 2 years but still wearing diapers at night. Dunno how to train him.

Rabbitz: you can use BM to mix with cereal to feed baby and frozen BM can be kept for up to 3-6 months. Maybe you extend the hours then you won't feel that you will have so much excess. My elder son was like your baby, last time latch like 5-10mins so I pump exclusively. Normally baby also drink much lesser from 3-4 months. My son drank little milk from 4th month and I also dun feed solids till 6 months. Will also feed solely milk for my gal until she turns 6 months

rabbitz:

your baby gaining enough weight? my daughter used to drink 60ml every 2-3 hours until i put in infantcare and she started taking 100ml in second week there. i bf her exclusively before. maybe it's finding a right teat that will help. latch 5-8min only maybe cos your flow good. dont be discouraged. you have it better than most of us cos your ss is good. possible teat flow not fast enuff? for my elder girl, i used to cut the hole so bigger then she will finish milk, if not she will stop halfway and push away with tongue. you can buy the next-faster-flowing teat to try? but watch carefully so baby dont choke.i imagine it must be quire tiring for them to suck. so stop after tired.

FAAA: My son will say it's shame to put on diapers when we are wearing it for him. And then sometimes he'll wake up us and insist to go toilet middle of the night even with diaper on. Then we also start to notice the diaper is dry in the morning. So off it goes!

Russelmum: how's your baby now? Is he better?

shawnjas: you are using the detergent like water! haha, I use very little, the parts are not that dirty anyway. But I only clean the pump parts because my gal always direct latch when I'm around. Am using this vegetable detergent from Sugar bubble, I make it foam by pumping 2 pump into each bottle and run with very strong water, it then foams easily and I let the water flow to the rest of the pump parts. Looks and feels clean to me.

FAAA: So far for the past few years every order were received except once only. I ordered some discounted books, the seller keep saying she posted, but never receive.

I didn't use register mail cos normally nobody home and I dun want to make trips to post office.

I ordered Aden + Anais blankets from this seller. At first she said reach 1st week Sept then she said she cannot contact supplier so gotta cancel and refund but till today no news from her.

Dolly, you are so lucky that your son initiated. My son sleeps like a log every night. Feel bad to wake him up to go pee. How's your gal's eye?

smak: I uses pupsik, easy to handle, no buckle! Can double up as blanket when she sleep in stroller

FAAA: My gal much better now, Thanks!
well after my son wet the bed, I woke him around 3am for 2 nights to let him pee. He was sleeping until cant stand straight, then went back to sleep after that.
Maybe u alsostart telling him shame shame to wear diaper? Does he wet the diaper?

Ya. His diaper will be wet. Sometimes very heavy sometimes light. He still taking 240ml milk before sleep and now we telling him to make a habit of peeing before going to bed.

Does your son go to school? The nanny take him?

Hi Mummies, been awhile since I last log on. By now, our babies should be around 4 months old, they are really adorable at this stage, they start to respond and giggle when we play with them. Feels good... Lol. Kudos to us!!!

But my boy is getting some mood swing once in awhile, he will start wailing in the evening, can be quite difficult to soothe him. I also don't know what is wrong with him. Its kind of scary.

Smak: I bought Beco Gemini carrier for my DS. I find it quite easy to use n my boy seems to be ok in it too. The only setback will be the material, I notice that my boy perspire quite abit when he is in it.

FAAA: my boy goes to pre-nursery at Daysprings punggol now, the school bus will pick from nanny home. She stays at the ground floor so the sch bus stops just outside

Liang2: how bad is the wailing? My gal will smile at one minute n cry the next. To me it's normal la. N she cry even when carry, so I latch her to sooth her. I'm latching her now at this moment! It's almost every 40 min! Haha