(2012/05) May 2012

littledotty and Olivia: Congrats! Yeah, csec first day can only stay in bed with the drip. First time movement was very painful, but it will slowly ease away, but of course, no need to purposedly moved lah ... you have another 2 days to rest before walking out of the hospital, take care!

Hi all, i pop on 30th Apr as well .. Olivia i was at lvl 5 also .. Shld hav seen the forum earlier .. I was discharge today ..

Mummies who pop need advice on hw to get the milkflow in.. Till nw, no signs of colostrum yet ..

Wah, so many mummies popped alr! Congrats to Mrs Ho and Olivia, take care and rest well!

Share your birth story when you feel better oki? So curious to find out . haha..

Rabbitz: pls take care oki! pls monitor your back and consult your gynae if it still hurts!

Xena: i think most of us would bath at home first if time permit, else cant bath anymore after delivery

Congrats Oliver! Ya, I didn't expect a caesarean also, but as long as baby is healthy n well, anything goes! When u discharge? I end up in e single premier room..
all one bedded full, nurse says today a lot of people came in n labor ward all full!

Did u breastfeed? I'm trying, but also use formula til my milk comes in, will persevere!

Mrs Ho, congrats!
Don't worry too much about milk supply, if you continue to breastfeed totally, the milk will come in on 4th day or so. I breastfeed by lying down sideway on the first day because I was bed ridden. And surprisingly, my gal is better at suckling, or rather, as my hubby put it, I'm more experienced and confidence now. Last time my boy will "forget" how to suck EVERYTIME! haha
But somehow, my gal also starts to have some problem on 4th day, mouth on breast but just cry and dunno how to suckle, however, I continue to TBF, finally she got the hang of it again. But nipple start to sore (and break a bit) by then liao, just got to tahan the pain everytime she sucks.

littledotty: Try not to rely on formula at all, else your milk might not come in because no demand, no supply

Oh yeah, can start to ask the nursery for the glass bottles liao, dun wait till on the day you discharge, cos there might not be enough for you. I kinda missed the chance on the 4 day's stay and only got quite few bottles. I make use of this re-admission to ask for more bottles when the nurses still got time to collect for me *phew*
You can buy the plastic caps (tollyjoy brand) at the hospital pharmacy, it sold at 71cents at Mt A pharmacy, but the colour not nice this time round.

Congrats Mrs Ho&Olivia, have a good rest and keep us update oki!

Miranda, jia you!

I will be joining u gals tonight a bit nervous too.

gave birth last april 30, 4:37 am via NSD with epidural. when i arrived at the hospital, cervix was already at 7cm! i timed my contractions the whole day last sun. it was between 5-10 minutes. then from 8 minutes, it jumped to 2-3 minutes! i got scared that i won't be given epidural because the anaesthesiologist was discouraging me about the side effects of epidural. then i didn't know that i tested positive for GBS. so we had to wait for 4 hours for the antibiotic to be injected twice. after that, i wanted epidural dosage to be topped up but i was already fully dilated. my lips bled from biting because i kept pushing for almost an hour to no avail. then i was given medicine via IV to speed up my contractions. finally gave birth to a bouncy baby boy at 6.5 lbs.

Congrats Sardonyx, Mrs Ho, Olivia, littledotty!

And to Maymama smooth delivery too!

Sardonyx
So how long was yr labour from start to end? Reached hospital with 7cm dilation seems like cut short alot of waiting time, altho the contractions must hv been really painful for you? So they put in epi first then antibiotics? Bb is a good weight, well done and get as much rest as you can!

Admitted in observation, its quite a busy and messy night I felt...no more single bed in TMC don't know where will they put me in sigh ;(.

Littledotty, u r lucky managed to get prem. Single, not even avialable now.

Sardonyx, congrat!

Thanks to all for the well wishes! You are right maymama, I heard from the nurses it was very packed last night, and it was lucky we had a premier room left..i was put in the chancery suite the night I gave birth..

Just to share my littlestory:
Had contractions 4 mins apart and hospital advised us to go in. Had a shower and washed my hair (dunno how long cannot wash after that) and we reached hospital about 10plus..checked in labor ward and it was quite empty..Midwife came, checked and only 1cm dilated..thought it is going to be a long night and when contractions came, very painful!

Another nurse came to check and asked me to turn to my left coz bb is not feeling comfortable..then more nurses came in to observe the pattern on the ctg and said better call gynae to come down..they look serious and worried..

gynae came and checked, after which things happened quite quickly..she spoke to us about having to do emergency c sect coz bb heartbeat dipped every time I have contractions but she also said that there may be no problem with bb at all, so she decided better not take chances..they are concerned if could be cord around neck..

wheeled into op room at 11.35pm and I was under GA, woke up at 1am still in op room and hubby said baby delivered at 11.51pm! So fast!

Baby is 2.4kg..at our last visit, he was est at 2.9kg..ha, but he is healthy thou abit small..

I must say the nurses at TMC are all really nice and friendly..they smile all the time..and they try to make you as comfortable as possible..the food is not too bad, soups are delicious!

Wound is not hurting so much now, can walk le! our little babies are all so adorable!

JIayou the rest of the mummies!

Littledotty and sardonyx: thks for sharing your story! Nonetheless, great that baby is safe n healthy!

Jia you to maymama! Update us oki!

Btw, how u all time the contraction? Just use a stopwatch or observe the timing will do? Only call the gynae when contraction is at 5 mins interval or once we detect the contraction, can call gynae to preempt him first?

thanks ak!
I timed mine using the normal digital clock at home..just need to observe the interval..

and once it gets to 4 mins with the intensity growing, you wont miss it (getting more painful) then i think can prepare go hospital.. when I arrived, only 1cm dilated but i guess it is different for everyone..

congrat littledotty!
congrat Sardonyx!!
congrat Mrs Ho!!
congrat Olivia!!

Wah so many mummy deliver already!
So excited, feel cant wait my little one to come out also 
My EDD is 14 May every close with Madeline Yeo(15 May) 
I started to drink young coconut once per week as well, very delicious.
My fingers and toes were swollen and middle fingers a bit pain for both hands.. don’t know how to relief it…
Do we still need to wear the anti-stretch mark product during our confinement?

Chai: drink more water might help w the water retention
stretch mark: I begin to think that stretch mark is hereditary, for first pregnancy I put on the stretch mark oil delegently, no stretch mark.
But my mum also didn't have stretch mark after giving birth without putting any cream. So this time I tried, and yeah, no stretch mark. And I gained more than 20 kg since my first pregnancy

Big congrats to Sardonyx, Mrs Ho, Olivia!

Chai: For water retention, As per what dolly mentioned, drinking more water helps but not before bed. I stop drinking after 10pm. Also, keep your feet elevated as much as you can. But understand how uncomfortable it feels. Some days I don't feel my toes!

As for the anti-stretch mark product, no harm in applying even during confinement. But I agree with Dolly again, it is more a hereditary genetic thing.

Rabbitz: I think it's individual. I never had any bloody show with my previous pregnancies #1 & #2, I had contractions and #3 my water bag broke.

Thanks sasha n Dolly. Usually I drink 4-6L per day. Does it consider enough? May be I need avoid drinking water b4 bed also this is the one I never aware :p hope my bb can come out as per EDD

Chai: The more you drink the better and definitely try to elevate them. But also monitor at the same time to make sure it's not excessiove because it could also be a sign of pre-eclampsia. When are you due?

I was wondering what is timeframe for us to gauge If we want to be administered with epidural? I wanted to go natural without epidural but scare last min can't take the pain.

Chai: maybe can try pre-natal massage as well? Not sure if it really works, but I did twice during my pregnancy and my swelling is not as bad as last round. Particularly right after massage it seems not to swell for a while.
My last pregnancy both feet swell until cannot see veins at all. I also lift up my leg while I sleep but not much help. However, I'm a water drinker so will still drink at night loh, maybe that's why

btw, 4L to 6L is quite a lot, dun drink too much!

Hi all mummies! Yeh! Finally I delivered with litle dd a bit small but she is doing well...it's a long journey with a few unpleasant things in TMC perhaps due to overwhelmed and not able to cope well. sigh ;(

Ak >> as long as u feel tat u cant take it, and at least 3cm dilated, u can request for epi .. It'll take 30mins to come into effect

Maymama: Congrats!

AK: See what your pain thresh-hold is like with the contractions before getting to hospital. Remember that it's only going to get more intense. Obviously, the earlier you ask for epidural the better as you never know how fast your labor may progress

ZP: If you choose General Anaesthetic then you will be knowcked out and won't be conscious. Your husband won't be allowed in the theatre either. With just a lower body epidural, you will be conscious during the procedure.

maymama: Congrats! Have a pleasant stay! Maybe the nurse at the ward are better?

zp1503: like what sasha said, you can choose, but better tell ur gynae first, not last minute though
And yeah, remember to relax in the OT, else the anesthetic dr might GA you

thank you ak, sasha and dolly.

dolly, yes nurse in the ward is better but perhaps so many baby, they are quite busy and seems a bit rushing sometimes overall still ok. btw, not sure if you were attended by ParentCraft Consultant, my god like a bullet train. she came to visit and provide some advise(became more confused at the end heehee
) when asking questions then she said i need to go for another patients bya...

Thanks Mommies!

Jinomo: Arrived at the hospital at 9 pm and gave birth at 4:27 am. Because of the antibiotics, I have to wait for 4 hours more, then the pushing time took more than an hour. Contraction pain was really very painful! It lasted for a minute with each interval. It's just that it jumped from 8-min. interval to 2-3 minutes! After the epidural was administered, the contraction pain completely disappeared and I thought that by insisting on having the epi was the best decision I've ever made! LOL. Contraction pain during active labor is the most painful stage in giving birth. I think they put in the epi first, then antibiotics, then 4 hours after, another dosage of the antibiotics. After that, they broke my water bag and it was pushing time already.

maymama: I was not attended by LC during my stay at Mt A, that's because I'm experienced in breastfeeding and my gal sucks well. When my gal was admitted again for jaundice, I stayed in 2-beded room and was really impressed by the LC and nurse there. The LC spent more than 30 min on the lady, and when baby still dun wan to latch, she asked them to call her back when the baby is ready. And the same thing repeats again the next day. So I guess it depends on patients, and the nurse are good too, they also help with the latching.
Some of them will make sure my gal latched before walking away eventhough I didn't request for help.

I hv bright red on panty liner, wonder is it due to fungi pill I inserted last night? Or mucus plug? But discharge not with sticky mucus. ...??? Panic

Congrats to all May mummies who have popped.

I'm a first time mum and have been following this thread for awhile. My EDD is on 19 May.

For the past two weeks I encountered sharp pain at my pubic bone area (right in the middle) when i walk for more than 15 mins, or when i try to lift my leg to wear my pants or turn over in bed at night. I asked my gynae about it last week and he said that its because the ligaments at the pelvic bone has become too relaxed and stretched. He didnt seem too concerned and didnt prescribed me any painkillers or medication for it.

However, these 2 days the pain has become so bad and hurts like hell just from walking from the living room to the kitchen. I also can't squat down because of the pain.

Has any mummy experience this before?? I'm very worried if this will affect me giving birth naturally.

Sardonyx: Thanks for sharing your birth story

Rabbitz: Hard to tell except to monitor and see if any contraction follows over the next few days. When's your EDD?

Maymay: I'm not sure if I'm experiencing the same as you but over this past week, I feel pain on my vagina area (which I believe is the baby's head pushing against). This definitely causes some discomfort and pain when walking. However, I also do feel pain when I try to lift my legs to put on bottoms and when I try to change my sleep position in bed at night. I don't recall having this pain with my previous pregnancies.

You are now about 37 weeks which is also about time to deliver and maybe the pressure is more intense now because baby has drop further into the birth canal. I believe if this pain would affect you delivering naturally, your gynae would have said so.

Maymay : welcome

These few days I'm also experiencing sharp pain occasionally . Making me so uncomfortable . Can feel the baby pressure quite strong . When I'm walking I need to hold on to my tummy .

rabbitz, I had the same thing as you..just bloody discharge in the morning but not mucus or anything sticky and I experienced mild contractions throughout the day..then on the samew night abt 10am, my contractions became regular, 4 mins apart and after gave birth..

so you observe your contractions n the discharge k.. mine was like brownish, red like very light menses..

Since last night I had 10-15min interval cramps till morning it got more intense but still bearable. Now it's sill between 5-15min interval with no fixed pattern. So difficult to see e cycle.
I had bloody discharge few times when go toilet throughout last nite. I'm waiting for pain to be slightly unbearable then go hospital. This is my first bb I'm at 38w.

I hope I dun miss the right cue to go hospital and not till suddenly intensity increase until I can't walk etc. I wonder how long more to 'observe' at home.

haven been checking here for a while.. to all mummies who have popped.. littledotty, olivia, mrs ho, sardonyx, maymama.. congrats!!

snowy - dont think there is any outing yet.. cos may mummies are still popping.. and then there is confinement period too.. so prob july? btw are u in the FB groups?

maymay - my edd quite close to you.. a bit of sharp pain here and there but i am still able to walk and go out.. think you may pop earlier since your bb prob drop even lower already? tts why the pain and discomfort..

rabbitz - maybe you can check with the hosp or gynae? should be soon.. all the best and have a smooth delivery (hahha i am saying this first cos i dunno when i will chk back here again.. )

Hi mums,

I gave birth on the 2nd may. Was supposed to induce on the 3rd may which is my edd.

7.45am - feel water leaking twice while sleeping. When to toilet check but no more water flowing out. Not sure if it is water burst so went back to lie on the bed. After half & hour feel water leaking again. Went toilet check but no more water flowing out.

9.00am - called my clinic to check
and they asked me to go back to clinic to do ctg.

10.30am - reached gynae clinic at Thomson to do ctg. doctor checked 3cm dilated. Told to admit to tmc.

11.30am - waited one hour at the chair at the delivery ward b4 sending me to premier suite cos all full at observation ward.

2.30pm - In premier suite for about 3 hrs. Contractions every 5 mins but still bearable. was sent to delivery ward when bed was available. Mid wife checked 4cm dilated. Gynae came and check and was told to put on drip to dilate faster. Pain increase and asked for laughing gas.

3.30pm - pain became unbearable, cried in pain. Cannot tahan anymore. Asked for epidural.

4.00pm - took epidural and was able to talk to husband. Doctor said already 7-8cm dilated. Cos first bb still can take epidural so late, if second bb cannot take already.

5.15pm - Gynae called to ask midwife how many cm dilated. Midwife checked and said 10.5cm. Gynae told midwife to start pushing.

5.45pm - Pushed a few times. Gynae came and checked and said 9cm dilated only. Still need to wait for another 1 cm and bb head still not very low. Wait for bb head to come down easier to push.

6.00pm - gynae saw bb heart beat very fast need to have emergency c-cest.

6.26pm - bb arrived. 3.625kg. gynae was quite surprised bb so big. Cos previous week checked at gynae clinic was 3.2kg.

Me not bf yet. No breast milk yet. Mums, how many days do u start to have breast milk?

Tks!

I went tmc observation ward 5-7min contractions but only 1cm dialated. Asked to go home wait till 2-3min or intense pain then come back. Gynea n nurse both predict not so fast since cervix still hard. My contraction now comes with back pain, quite intense liao... Can't imagine 2-3min how's it like. Shld I ask to be induced? Heard it will expedite cervix to open.