(2012/05) May 2012

Call me kiasu, but im now going thru website, sorting out full month packages, those cake giveaways.....hahahaha...
Since I have the time now to go thru and select, so when the time comes, i just need to go order...hahahaa...

Dolcevita: hi-5!! This morning hubby say to quickly settle bb's full month venue as well as it will be during the June hols. So those chalets would e booked...;)

DolceVita, I want to be kiasu and research full month packages too hehe! Which are you looking at? I'm a FTM so not sure what to expect, and worried that I'll be too tired or busy to deal with this when the time comes.

oh wow dolcevita and m_int.. you all are super fast! I havent even packed my bags for the hospital stay yet. next up on my agenda is only the maternity shoot :p

Btw ladies, speaking of full month celebrations... What is the protocol?

If I hold a buffet at a venue or at my place and invite friends and relatives, do I still need to cater cakes for them? Or are the cakes only for those who are not invited/can't attend/if there's no party held?

Thanks, appreciate any feedback from experienced mums!

Wow u gals r fast haahaa
Actuali I am also looking around for full month too. Cakes ordering will be a big headache. Coz dunno which is good to order. Some packaging is nice n cakes so so. Some cake is nice but packaging so so haiz....

N for venue oso a headache. Coz it June school holiday some chalet oreadi been occupied. Got to think of other venue

Also difficult to book coz dunno if baby will pop early or not haiz....

Hi mummies as Adeline said, just go down to pick up the Avent bundle in Taka. I doubt they will call.
I called their customer service & children department few times no one pick up, so went down Saturday quite a lot of ready stock. At the moment the blanket is only pink avail.

haha u all so fast leh.. thinking abt full month celebration... i havent even settle alot of things yet haiz.. but ya, it's good to look forward to baby full month celebration too!

DolceVita: thanks! maybe i go check out later after work.. didnt know they sell bb stuff there haha.. last time never take note, normally go robinson buy cosmetics/shoes.. hehe

newbie,

The shoe/cosmetics section is the most crowded.
You can try bringing your stuff to L2 Lingerie section for payment. Its empty with no q...hahaha..

Full Month cake
I think I ordered from Melrose for my #1, might order from them again cos I like package with Glutinous Rice + Red Egg + Ang Ku Kueh + Cake...hahahaha..more traditional n meaningful...
Melrose price pretty reasonable.
According to my mum, cake must give to all relatives. I will also order these cake sets for office in general too.

Was looking at Gobi ( www.gobi.com.sg ) petit fours...simply cute and pretty..
Might order these for friends/close colleagues.

For celebration, we held it at restaurant for #1...might do the same for #2, to be fair..haha but yet to settle at a venue yet.

DolceVita, were the Melrose cakes yummy? I'm so tempted to order all these cute, custom cupcakes but I know relatives will prefer something tasty as opposed to just something pretty. :p

My friend recently used Gobi; their packages are really cute indeed!

Think was ok, not too bad...
But I think its the most value for $ and their package does have tartlets too...
For eg:
Marble Cake + 2 Red Eggs + 2 Angkus + 2 Glutinous Rice + 6 Tartlets = $12.20
This is the one im interested in....Very value for $...

Gobi so cute right??? So tempted to order them for friends, Im sure would impress =)

DolceVita, that's a great price - thanks for sharing! Shall go check it out.
The Gobi would def be great for friends and colleagues hehe.

Just to update that Ive put on 13kg to date.
Hit 70kg last night ! Im only in week 30 now...
Oooh no.... =(
And I cant seems to stop eating, like right now im feeling hungry, when I just had a subway at ard 1.30pm

>> yingzz

i'm staying Toa Payoh, it's super inconvenient for me to drive to Taka so often.

feeling disappointed, thought Avent would have ring us once the stock is ready OR inform us the next available date instead of keepin quiet

>> Lyn (dreamymi)

sadden by the Avent promoter...

been waited till neck-long-long, yet there wasn't any respond from them.

any contact to reach Taka?

>> jazzlyne

oh dear... i can't imagine the situation to go down to TAKA again just to pick up the goods.

it's not crowded, but from my office to TAKA... it's always JAM on the expressway

>> adeline

it's raining now outside, i don't think the traffic will be going smooth.

feeling to go down, but afraid of "empty hands" back again...

hi to all

>>Jane hon
regarding Avent newborn essentials>>>I ordered mine on 8 /3/12 and got a call from them to collect on last sat. I collected mine on this Monday.

>> goundpepper

oops, we're on the same date!

too bad, i received no call from Avent at all

still thinking should i go down today or not... dilemma, so u've picked up yours yesterday?

>> janehon and groundpepper

i ordered mine on 4/3/12 - and i didnt get any calls from Avent. Seems like they are quite messy in informing customers, and give diff messages.. wonder if i should just wait for their call - who knows it might be oos today too..

Do u think there will be other baby fairs after taka's baby fair but before we deliver?

I'm still thinking whether to get the 799 medela freestyle bundle but it comes with infra red thermometer, which I already have so I rather sell away but dunno to who..

Called up baby kingdom, their 699 set also now changed to 799 set..

Candymix ... U can try the shop call the first year @ paragon ... Been there last week saw that they are selling quite reasonable if I m not wrong ... Their seems to be us set but with local guarantee .... They are at the baby clothes level right at the corner near to the escalator.....

Quite busy recently trying to rush all my assignments before delivery. How's everyone?

yumii: First week (or 1.5 weeks) will be quite heavy. After that, usually will lighten but duration varies from person to person (can be anything from 3-6 weeks usually but mostly spotting. So you generally need maternity pads for abt 1.5 weeks or so. After that, thin ones & panty liners will suffice.

jazzlyne: Newborn usually dun buy much as outgrow very fast. Hospitals usually provide 1 pack which you can bring home. After that about 1-2 packs more at most.

Candymix, Lyn: First few years set is also import set (i.e. same as spree). Warranty is by their shop itself & not Medela service centre. Might as well get from spree. What for pay extra for the same thing. If you want local set (i.e. with warranty by Medela), if you all can gather 5 pple, I should be able to get you at the $699 price but no freebies. I got lobang.

Hi Fifi,

Thanks for the info.... i thot their warranty is by medela ... chey... i got another brand liao... cos medela is too out of reach for me... hahahah I think is Candymix looking for the set!!

Fifi
Thanks for the info. Was wondering need to buy few packs to keep at home first :p

Jane
Bo pian need to go down Taka take a look if u feel uneasy. I juz afraid that we can't choose the color for the towel/ blanket since it's so limited. I maybe piping by at Taka nxt week Friday after my doc appt. Hopefully can collect the bundle.

Full month cakes
Gobi is nice but abit x. Tried their peti four previous but seems like it's chocolates. Not sure if they have it for cakes. mayb I bought the wrong one :p

Those mtbs who did photoshoot w studio loft, how was the shoot? Sms her tt's but nvr reply me leh...

Any of u DIY anything in prep for coming bb? I made rice pillows n cases, slings, cross-stitch n a 3d photo frame. Gonna make nursing bib/cover next. Feel so happy when making stuff for bb. Wondering wat else to make next... Hahaha!

>> yingzz

i went down yesterday, wasted my parking fee & erp

emphasized to them about their WAY OF INFORMING, they apologized again & again... that wasn't what i want.

result: WAIT for their call by 25-Mar-12
guarantee: those who has written their name, will get it -> quoted by Avent >.<"

>> jazzlyne

i've gone down to TAKA yesterday, long zong bo bo bo!

i don't mind about the color issue, feel disappointed on their way of informing

thanks Fifi for the recommendation. but i think getting 5 people is tough!

now trying to think of ways to sell away my glucose monitor and infra red thermometer (><!) sigh

dolcevita: thanks for informing abt pte sale @ robinsons! haha, i picked up my tiny love products at even cheaper rate than taka hehehe..plus got free delivery and additional $30 off $180..quite gd..just that the baby section in raffles city quite small..centrepoint's bigger..

i thought the pigeon wipes etc are good buys at 25% off..but i bought it already lar, when they gave this special voucher of 25% off $200..

Mrs ho: im off the glucos monitoring already...but i think dr tham just close 1 eye..cos i ended up with food poisoning after 1 wk of the the diet control...maybe he was scared lol...when i went to see him for that, it was shocking to know i lost 0.4kg but baby grew 0.3kg instead in 1 wk..

but what to do when baby loves to eat?? hehe..but now im trying hard to control also..@ work seems more difficult..cos of limited food choices and need energy for brain

Today is OG member sale only at Orchard Point...
Now wondering if I shld go after work..heehee..
Btw, they close at 11pm today

>> janehon.. oh no a wasted trip
seems like the bundle is quite hot.. guess its safer to wait for their call..

>> chocolateteddy.. wah you diy so many stuff! haha i didnt do anything at all.. but last time my sis did a cross stitch.. and used it as a prop during her maternity shoot :p

Jane
Oops waste trip. Guess all they can do is to apologize ba. Hope they can compensate heeheeee anyway I tink the bundle at Taka is more attractive than Robinson.

How come OG sale at orchard outlet onli.lazy to travel to orchard. Bet must be crowded.

So most of you going for the photoshoot? I am still tinking. Hubby keep saying waste of money.

Janehon >> Are you gals talking bout the bundle tat's $215 ?? I saw Robinson selling &amp; promise a delivery when the stock comes. Just got to make payment for it..

Candymix >> i cleared mine .. anyway we juz control our diet .. i feel tat we cant do much also .. juz do our part to control the sweet stuff ..

Hi Candymix, are you with Dr Benjamine Tham from Thomson? I'm also diagnosed with GD..
Actually I was wondering how is Dr Tham's stitching.... scare need a long time to recover...

mrs ho: yah exactly, over the weekend when hubby was back in town, he controlled my diet very strictly and baby kicks were damn hard cos he was hungry..although i was too..

he wants to be fat, i can't do anything also hehehe..unless i starve?

Jazz, what is inside the taka avent bundle? i thought i saw food warmer too right? think its very subjective to what u need in the bundle bah.

anyway mummies,would like to ask something..recently heard a couple of stories where people say their milk supply is low esp just after giving birth..how do u ensure good supply? cos i read that there are growth spurts usually around 3rd or 4th day and also around 1 wk, 3 wks etc..

what could we do? is it immediately after delivery, we drink those lactation teas like traditional medicinals and earth mama? how long does it take effect? cos i read some warning labels that we shouldnt take the tea while still being preggy..

am wondering how we can try to avoid supplementing with formula milk in the early days..

Gina ford's book says shouldnt express out during the first 6 weeks of birth..but if we start pumping soon after delivery, it will help to kickstart the milk supply right?

hey keiko, yes i also got GD...and yes with dr tham..but im off it now after diet control..do u need to do sugar monitoring? cos i have no need for the monitor now and can let go of it cheaper than u buy from them...

seems like alot of dr tham patients get GD..

can pm me..

>> candymix:

For Taka..

Avent: Sterilizer, Bottle &amp; Food Warmer, 2 x 125ml bottle, 3 x 260ml bottle, Silicone soothers, hooded blanket, baby wipes @ 188 (U.P: 322.60)

FYI, the bundle for Pigeon: Sterilizer, Bottle and Food Warmer, Sponge Brush, Silicon Pacifier, 2 Nipple cleansing brush, 200ml liquid cleanser, 240ml wide neck bottle, 2 x 160ml wide neck bottle, baby wipes @ $188 (U.P 283.80)

i think my sis took papaya soup to get more milk supply.. shld be quite safe to drink during pregnancy?.. she started only after giving birth though.. when her supply was not enough for my niece..

>> jazzlyne

I am going for the photoshoot
we dont always get pregnant :p

candymix : i am also reading gina ford's book.
am in a dilemma to follow scheduled or on demand feeding. haiz... confuse leh. Did she mention about not expressing out during the first 6 weeks? keep tinking can start expressing immediately... i tink i missed out this part.

Still considering to buy the sterilizer or not.. my mum says use hot water boil can liao... hmmm... dilemma again... haha

I've the following to let go:

- Pupsik sling size M $35
- BN Playskool busy balls patterns &amp; colours $15
- BN Pigeon breastmilk storage bottles (3pcs) $10 &amp; FOC 18 breastpads
- BN Pigeon S sized teat (standard neck) $2.50
- BN Pigeon M sized teat (wide neck) $3.00
- BN Nuk Anti colic wide neck teat 1 0-6m (silicone) $5
- Tiny Love Musical Mobile $65
- 2 boxes of Tollyjoy napkin liners 200 pcs $10
- 2 tins of NAN 2 400g (exp Oct'12) $10 each
- Avent twin electronic breast pump full set $350
- Avent refill 10 cups (240ml) $18

Kindly PM me if keen/ for pics, thanks!

Cupcakes for 1st month: Won't recommend Cupcake Momma. They are small and icing too sweet. Plus only 2 flavours. But if you are going for design, hers is extensive. Cupcake Divinity is good or even Twelve Cupcakes

Keiko: Dr Tham is pretty good with stitching and gentle too. You should be in good hands.

MagL: With my older kids, they were breastfed on schedule. But I think it also depends on your baby. You may want to breastfeed on demand in the first 4-6 weeks then slowly feed on schedule.

Mrs Ho / Candymix: I think it might be because I had ice cream the day before... But whatever the case, my monitor chart don't make sense when I did the 2 day check... But Dr Tham says it looks fine and ask me to just continue the diet, no need other stuffs...

Strange thing when I had the snacks in between I lost weight, but my sugar level is higher before I eat (30 mins) than after I eat (2 hrs later)... So I'm wondering if I shld still snack..

And yes, baby kicks a lot during those strict diet days... Now I still follow, but at times... Not so strictly lah... hahaha!!

Sasha: you're also with Dr Tham?
I feel more assured now.. Hahhah!!

CandyMix &amp; Keiko,

I'm also with Dr Tham. Also din pass the GD as it was 8.2, 0.2 over range. Did the 2 days of poking needle on with diet control, he close 1 eye to let me off but says I should control diet and stay as close to his diet plan . Haiz, I din put on much from the time I visited him at 12weeks @ 66.5kg and now 32weeks @ 69.6kg. In fact I only put on 3kg as actually I have not much appeitte thru out .

When is your next appt with Dr Tham ? Mine is 19th Mar (Monday).

I planned to start my ML 2 weeks b4 my EDD 3 May. How about you mummies ? Now everyday also shack ....

>> jazzlyne (jazznpop)

the promoters told me, it's all about "management policy"... i really went there &amp; throw my tantrum

>> yingzz

i swear, no more going down till Avent called me

erp costs me $2
paragon parking costs me $3.38/ entry