(2012/05) May 2012

Baby kicks: It's true that if you obsess about the movements, it might cause stress and panic. But we as mothers also have an instinct. So if something tells you that it doesn't feel right then probably best to get it checked out
Other than that, just go through each day as per normal and enjoy the rest of the pregnancy.

ZP: That is tiny. My twins were born at 29weeks weighed about the same. So I can understand what you went through. It does make you more cautious with following pregnancies.

Thanks Michelle.
Good thing I bought those sleepsuits in 6-9 mos. Although too big for baby, it's the smallest size available.

sasha:
oh, your twins too? But i'm sure that they are growing as well as my son, many said that he does not look like a preemie at all.

anyway, it is a tough time thus i really dun wish to go through all that again.

ZP: Yeah. Twin boys and they are 7 years now. Can't tell they were born preemies but only we know what they've been through

Sardonyx: Better to buy bigger size. They will outgrow it in no time at all!

Sardonyx, huh? Smallest size available? Stupid Mothercare. Think at the start of the sale they took out all the newborn, 0-3 n 6-9mths clothes. End of the sale they take out the bigger sizes. So when I go early I'm forced to grab the small ones. They do have a few 9-12mth n 12-18mths one too, but not so nice design n limited sets. So I grab the small ones.

Long cotton socks

Any idea where to get these?

I'd prefer the 100% cotton, absorbent type rather than the spandex type coz I have sweaty feet & need something more absorbent.

Also want those which are reaching to mid-calf level.

I dun care abt colour or looks, but shd be quite cheap

Sasha, yeah most of the clothes I bought are sized 3-6 mos.

Michelle, I saw so many newborn sizes but I didn't buy any of those because baby will outgrow them fast.

Went to the taka baby fair today and the deals were good!! The cheeky bon bon was selling for 14.90 after discount original price was 29.90!!

Oh sorry nv made myself clear. Heehee. Cheeky bon bon is the brand of those baby pdts. They have fitted sheets, bolsters, pillows, bean sprout pillows etc. I buy all my supplies from that brand.

Kayla, my friend tried Chilli Padi confinement catering and highly recommends it! Can check it out here: http://www.chillipadi.com.sg/Confinement/

Hey mummies, I'm selling three bags of loose red raspberry leaf tea for those who want to start drinking from 34 weeks. This tea is said to strengthen your uterus for more efficient contractions. I'm drinking three cups a day of it myself, but selling the bags because I bought way too many! My gynae has verified that it's safe to drink. Check out my listing here: http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/330700103592?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

For those who are planning a natural, drug-free birth, I'm also selling Ina May's Guide to Childbirth: one of the must-have books to read on this topic
http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/330700104728?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

Thanks for looking!

WTS: New Old Navy Bodysuits for 3 to 6 months baby boys at S$8 each. Images of the bodysuits are attached with the links to website.

The bodysuits are suitable for babies from 3 to 6 months, measuring 23" to 27" and weigh 12 to 17 pounds.

1) http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=54061&vid=1&pid=897479&scid=897479062

2)http://oldnavy.gap.com/browse/product.do?cid=54061&vid=1&pid=897479&scid=897479022

I just received the package from Old Navy and my 3 months old son cannot wear the bodysuits because he is too big. If you are interested, kindly contact me at 96568688 to deal. Collection at Kovan MRT Station.

ask u something, when the baby is moving do u feel ur tummy hardening and a sudden 1-2 seconds slight pain during the time when ur tummy is hard??
i'm 33 weeks dis week

hi mummy_baby2008..

i do sometimes feel a sudden 1-2 sec pain when the baby kick..
and he is kicking harder nowadays..

>> jul.. socks for yourself? I think Chinatown there should have.. or pasar malam would have too~

Hi yingzz,

mine is pain when my baby hardens up, not during kicks and it's like a sudden urge to pee as well.. its something like contraction feeling

mummy_baby2008 >> Me too .. i do feel the hardening at times at certain side of the tummy and it'll go off in awhile .. usually less than a minute .. and i told myself it was baby turning and it's the head ..

mummy_baby2008: i feel the hardening as well.. and like bb pushing my bladder, make me feel like peeing at that point in time.. its amazing to see my tummy looking "out of shape" when bb moves, and goes back to original shape after 1 to 2 secs.. hehe

by the way, during my recent gynae checkup on sat, i had "homework" to do.. gotta count bb movement and chart it down.. bb must move at least 10 times a day.. otherwise, must go straight to delivery ward according to the nurse. Also, my gynae said my bb is on the smaller side (some lower percentile based on a graph that my gynae showed me).. so he asked me to do more blood tests to find out the reason for the smaller size.. the blood tests cost me $550 for 5 different tests (dunno the results yet).. im 32 weeks and bb weighs 1.5kg..

hi mummies, what is the weight of ur bb at 32 weeks? is 1.5kg normal weight?

i oso feel like peeing and when i go to the toilet it's like very little urine.

my baby is 2.2kg between 31-32 weeks. not to worry because when i was expecting my #1, i still remember at the very last month baby was only 1.9kg and during the last month i drank alot of chicken soup. about 2 times a week. baby was 3.3kg during birth.

mummy_baby2008: 2.2kg between 31-32 weeks? no wonder gynae says mine is on the smaller side.. cos mine 1.5kg at 32weeks? now i dunno whether to eat more durians to make bb grow bigger.. heard durians will make bb grow bigger faster.. chicken soup.. hmm.. i eat chicken like every other day.. yours is chicken herbal soup?

Hi mommies! Where can we buy maternity pads with wings? I have a hard time finding in both Guardian and Watson's shops. And what will you use to protect bed or car if your waterbag might break, is it the disposable waterproof sheet or underpad?

sasha, yingzz

hehe socks for myself. To wear in the hosp coz the aircon is cold. I managed to get a coupld from Careefour, not cheap but a bit tired to go all over Spore looking for socks now.

Starting to panick after drawing up a list of thins to do, & I realised that time is running out!

braxton Hicks

I'm also having. Quite uncomfortable

sardonyx

I haven't seen any with wings. This time round, I bouht a variety of Sofy, Kotex etc normal pads with wings & of various lengths. I just made sure that they're not ultrathin ones, coz I need the padding for he stitches.

As for waterbag breaking, nvr experienced it before. I was having contractions all the way. How abt putting some old towels, rugs etc in the car to standby?

newbie2012, hmm my baby was 1.2kg at 28 weeks. So I'm guessing he should be heavier by now (32 weeks). Durians definitely help with baby weight gain. My gynae said any sweet fruits like mango will also help (and as a result, he told me to limit intake of those haha).

sardonyx, I think I'll use those incontinence underpads that they sell at Guardian. I hope I won't have to resort to buying adult diapers because maxi pads already don't absorb very much for me when I'm having regular periods!
My doula also recommended to keep two big, thick towels in the car just in case. Don't want to be leaking amniotic fluid all over the car seat on the way to the hospital...

Re: maternity pads
Btw, my fren said not to buy those dri-net kind, buy the cottony ones... coz she said the former will kind of stick to your wounds leh... fyi...

I bought Pureen maternity pads during the baby fair, but no wings... will definitely buy more, those normal Sofy or Laurier super long ones with wings...

Re: Braxton Hicks
I also feel hardening at one part of the tummy area at times... reckon thats not BH right? That should be the bb's head pushing..? Coz very weird shape.....

sunflower

Agree, don't use the dry-weave net thingy. It HURTs when rubbed against the stitches!

yumii

it depends on individual & whether it's C-sec or natural. If natural, I bled for 5 weeks
Used up more than 100 pads haha

My waterbag burst for my #1...
I took a shower and just put on a normal pad on the way to hospital.( think mine was those ultra thin type from Watson ).
It lasted though..not sure if its the case for all waterbag burst scenario or up to individual...
It will not be like water gushing out, its more of like a trickle of water coming out, not controllable....

Yumii,

Mine lasted for ard 5 weeks too, with the last week n a half, just using panty liner, its like the end of menses....causing stains oni

Braxton Hicks are normal as long as they are not too frequent and yes, it prepares our body for labour
Been having them since last week and it's quite bad especially when I'm walking. So have to make a break. Lucky they dont last so long!

As for pads, am just getting normal ones extra long with wings
For my previous pregnancies, my bleeding lasts between 3-4weeks usually

Usually the Braxton hicks occurs at lower abdomen or somewhere near the belly button? I also feel the hardening, but mine is just next to the belly button n I can feel her "turning" there n her joints. Ouch!,

Have been following this thread but did not log in to chat. I m in my 32wks n can feel bb kicks n punches at times reali make me jump up.

Can check did anyone stock up newborn diaper? Can advise how many packs shld we stock up?

thanks mommies! i guess i'm more comfortable using the normal ones, extra long with wings, than maternity pads without wings.

as for diapers, we will only buy after baby is born. at least, we're sure of the size. my friend's past experience was that they stocked up on the wrong diaper size. ended up giving those away instead. such a waste.

For the pad I heard tat using those extra long or nite use one will do. No need spent extra to get those maternity pad.

Hm.... Was thinking of having some on hand otherwise after discharge from hospital too tired to go find. :p

Hi mummy,

I'm fm nov 2011 forum. Is anyone Looking for baby car seat "maxy-cosi cabriofix". Its only $200 + free infant chair in blue cover and extra pink cover. Message me if anyone interest.

Very brand new and only used less than 5 times.

So wat brand normal pads shld we buy? I have been using whisper ones previously. Liked it cos its dry. But since we cant use those netted surface, wat brands got cotton surface?

Maternity Pads:
I remember last time round i also used Whispers Ultra Thin and its fine. Didn't like those maternity pads given cos when its soaked, its so heavy & uncomfortable...

Newborn diapers:
I intend to buy after delivery as what sardonyx said, you can then know the right size to buy. Though those baby fairs got offer but what if you buy too small or too big, its going to be a waste. Just make sure you know which brand to buy and ask hubby to get it once delivered.

has anyone ordered Avent Sterilizer Bundle @ $188?

i booked on 08-Mar-12, till date there's no one calling me for the status... a bit frustated to wait for it.

made a call to their customer service (Philips) the staff claimed that he didn't know anything about the fair... fainted *_*

should i go down to Taka again?

>> jane hon: I have also placed my order. Went down to Taka last friday and it's still oos. The salesperson say stock will only arrive after 20 Mar.. (Let's hope its true)

Hi Jane,

My friend bought 1 bundle last week.... then after that she went taka see look to buy other stuff on sat 10 March... and she told mi she saw alot of stock and manage to pick it up on sat lor...
But now still got stock or not i dun know lah... maybe u can try calling taka instead of philips

I also bought the bundle. Heard from the staff there that definitely we will be able to get the bundle before the end of the fair. So let's keep finger cross

Mummies who bought the Avent Sterilizer Bundle, I also placed an order and was told to collect on 23rd March. But when i happen to be there last sat, saw plenty of new stocks, so i collected mine on the spot. Their mine warehouse there was piled up with the steril. bundle...so can still try your luck since today is only tues.

I just came back from the Robinson member sale.
For Avent steriliser, there is only the 4in1 bundle @ $199.
I bought the Pigeon Steriliser for $95 instead and offset with $20 vouchers.
Also bought Medela nipple cream, cardmember have 25% off so less than $10 for a tube...
Also bought 2 sets of baby clothes, each about $4. =)
And some disposable panties...
More or less purchased everything I need le...phew...

DolceVita: which robinson store did u go? the one at centrepoint or the one at raffles city? wondering whether the one at raffles city sells bb stuff..