(2012/05) May 2012

Hi fifi - heh, thanks for info. Pc by pc as in like one third of a small bowl kinda pc. 1/2 of v shaped vase? Errr, can't imagine leh.. anyway it's shaped like a wedge... or like a slice of orange (what's left of the peel after you've eaten the orange, just bigger) like how we normally see birds' nest? I tend to take it as breakfast, when my tummy is def empty, heh.

I am a bit confused... Is there any reason why we cannot take the bird nest in the first trimester and what happened if already consumed?

beebee: actually i wanted to buy bbplus online too but price has gone up to usd 149, plus shipping etc, its around 200 plus without warranty. plus im afraid electronic parts will spoil in shipping. so was thinking see how much the seller during parenthood fair seels, if close to 200plus, can consider..cos its discounted from usual 319 i think.

zara: i still eat pepper bak kut teh leh..

orangebb: where is the eys roadshow?

actually my colleague asked me to go taka basement to buy the bird nest by pieces..so we won't get cheated since we dunno how to buy hahaha..somemore they got sell this double boiler specially to cook the bird best..

des: bird nest is cooling so first tri not recommended cos may drop bb..

overall i heard don't take too much cos can generate a lot of phelgm..think once a wk should be gd..

Hi ladies! Day off for me!! Enjoying a pedicure now. Haha. A small break through the madness in the office!!

Re: birdnest
If u have taken it then dun think and it anymore. What's done is done. Not like u can puke it out right. So relax and chill, enjoy the pregnancy.

My mom and MIL buys the bird nest not me. I know my mom is very particular and she goes to her regular supplier so I'm not worried. As for my MIL, to me just by making something for me is very gd liao so I wont go and probe where or what type she gets.

Eh Fifi, I rem looking for those tees when we were in the same thread tog. But becos I was one of the latest in the thread by the time I looked for it, nobody wanted to buy liao. Haha. There are tees that says 'it's a boy/ gal' too! See I can find or not and post here.

Who was asking abt low iron? I m anaemic too. Am taking iron pills on alternate days. Nv heard of an iron jab before. Hrmmm. But rem to take a lot of water and fruits cos it causes constipation! I'm having pretty bad constipation even though I take a min of 2 servings of fruits a day. Dunno why. Some days I eat 4 servings of fruits + prunes!!

Hi All... Lately have been MSing till i no energy and alot of work ... so have not been logging in...wow so much topics ongoing... heheh Mi so looking forward for my appt on 14 Nov 2011. Not goign for oscar test at all... hence no chance to see my little beanie... it has been 4 weeks wonder if it growing well... Now i m at week 11 liao yeah.... hopefully next appt bb dun change my EDD to later lor...

Yeah here my vote btw..

VOTE !

Weekday
25th Nov, Fri
1) qinyi
2) sadsad
3) Dreamymi (nite only)

9th Dec, Fri
1) qinyi
2) kaylin
3) sadsad
4) FieDa
5) Dreamymi (nite only)
Weekend
26th Nov, Sat
1) rosegal

10th Dec, Sat
1) zara
2) rosegal
3) Sunflower

des, yep, agree with piggy - since already consumed, don't worry

thanks Ladies
It has been tough week and have a good weekend ahead....

Btw here's my vote..

VOTE !

Weekday
25th Nov, Fri
1) qinyi
2) sadsad
3) Dreamymi (nite only)

9th Dec, Fri
1) qinyi
2) kaylin
3) sadsad
4) FieDa
5) Dreamymi (nite only)
6) desdes (after office hr)

Weekend
26th Nov, Sat
1) rosegal

10th Dec, Sat
1) zara
2) rosegal
3) Sunflower
4) desdes

IM NEW to this thread.. my EDD 3rd week May 2012...
Looks like there's so many Dragon bbs...I Din plan to have one dragon though...din think of it.. just wanted a child...now I realise may too soon...hahaha...so much competition now...hahah...=)

Anyway, Im at 12 weeks and 6 days now.. apparently...keeps changing...

My Bb is no 5.85cm...was nice seeing bb 'jumpy' and active during our scan last tues..haha...and heard bb's heartbeat..=) pretty amazing...just 1 month ago bb was only 1.6cm...so fast man..

we're skipping our downs syndrome scan(is that what i call the Oscar scan??) we're gng to do detailed scan only at 20 weeks...for organ checks etc...

anyway, am a chilli eater and have alot of chili and feel i need to cut down but if I dun put chilli I cann't eat...much..haiz..so...anyone have any ideas???

Appetite is improving but once I eat 'wrong' food spoi my appetitie to eat already...hmmm...

Piggy
Ya la, me asking about low iron. Yes, apparently I was asked to go for the jab. It's meant to boost up my iron level. And I need to be on iron pills subsequently. I think mine is pregnancy induce cos this problem didnt surface up when I went for my usual annual checks. Haiz.

Zara,
Did your gynea said anything about ur low iron?

Re: Gathering
Looks like we can have our first wkday meet up 9 dec!

Any more mummies who can join us?

So quiet today mommies?

Qinyi, do tell me what kind of jab it is.. i didn't think iron will be in a soluble form and readily absorbed by the body... possible that urs is pregnancy induced, for me, i have always been borderline anaemic.. i wonder why.. haha..

Anyway, here's the link to the DO NOT TOUCH MY BELLY pregnancy tees..
this webby has many other designs.. happy browsing..
http://www.cafepress.com.au/+don%5c't-touch-my-belly+womens-maternity

Fifi: Concentrated one. Eys has the mini bottle. Not big bottle like urs. Now offer 25% off. 2 box of 12 small btl for $148. I hav to eat within 2days coz thats the shelf life once open. It shld b fine i think coz my #1 is ok. I take half b4 i sleep n half when i woke up. Haven start yet. Mayb next fri after oscar scan. Hehe!

Des: if u take bird nest too early also no effec on bb coz bb cant absorb yet. N if ms, even more wasteful

N fifi: N u r right, there's a timing to eat for better absorbtion of the bird nest.

Candymix: eys roadshow at compass pt sengkang atrium. Offer started mon until tml! Quite a nbr of eys stuff on offer.

Sandy: i am joining chilli fan-club here too!

Food intake: i haven been eating much. At times ignore my hunger. Either lazy, busy or wanna sleep. I hope bb ok.

Ystd i went to expo for parenthood fair. Bought a few items. See kai run shoe was 50% off and theres small small world playmat having good deals. Sales person says cheaper than bp coz no delivery. Luckily i hav my bunch of #1 mummies fren who is helping though their hands r full too. Hahaha!

Dun think i will join meetup this time rd. I am suppose to move hse end nov. Boxes fr movers are here but i have not move my finger to pack or throw a single thing.....moreover i cant do it w #1 ard. I pack in, he pack out..... Lolz

Anybody stays in bishan? I haven look for cc (half day) for my #1. any good recommendation?

This is my vote for the gathering:
Weekday
25th Nov, Fri
1) qinyi
2) sadsad
3) Dreamymi (nite only)

9th Dec, Fri
1) qinyi
2) kaylin
3) sadsad
4) FieDa
5) Dreamymi (nite only)
6) desdes (after office hr)

Weekend
26th Nov, Sat
1) rosegal

10th Dec, Sat
1) zara
2) rosegal
3) Sunflower
4) desdes
5) stobeli

you all make me want to take bird nest too ho ho ho. i like those bottled ones cos very sweet and yummy :p but mummy like those that u make from scratch.
Anyway! i have been eating 3 stuffs over the week repeatedly, same for lunch dinner and snack. durian ice cream, thunder tea rice and sam lor for fun haha! so boring right.

Qinyi, my gynae nvr say anything wor.. But he prescribed obimin as my supplement and it contains iron, calcium n colic acid n other stuffs. I have to take one tablet everyday so I shd be ok.. But my headache persists.. Not sure why.. Sometimes I wonder is it because our body too heaty.. Cos we can't eat cooling stuff n the heat builds up?

Today is not too good, puked twice.. N I usually dun...

Kayla and micteo,

Our two kiddos will be of the same ages, so fun! We must bring them for future gatherings, would be nice to see them play together!

Crystalline,

Ya I think quite fun that they can play together.

btw 2nd time Mummies....

Did anyone survived previously without CL and MIL or Mother to help during confinement ?

Crystalline, ya it will be super cute.. Haha! Hey saw ur girl's photo... She's so cheery!
think she look like u.

Kayla, no one can help u out after u give birth?

Hi kayla,
For both my kids, i didnt have cl or any helper. My mil cooked n sent e food over. My hb took 2 weeks of leave n we managed e baby care n hsehold chores by ourselves. For #2, he was busy w #1 of course. I remember mopping e floor e week after i returned fr hospital. Haha...
U thinkg of doing w/o help?

Kayla,

I just called PEM confinement today to book a CL, cos I got from them for my #1 and was very happy with the auntie and the herbal package purchased together. The charges increased by more than $250, really scary but no choice. I've maid at home but mum has passed away and MIL works so I dun wanna stress my maid too. For my #1 cos I had the CL, I was able to stock up a whole chest freezer full of breastmilk cos enough rest and little stress. If you are planning to do confinement yourself, think better get hubby to take leave and someone to help take care of your #1 then you can have time to rest. I rem one of the Apr mummies had a C sect for her #2 and it was really quite tough for her during confinement as she had no help. My good fren had her mum coming over during daytime to help for her #2 on weekdays only, she got really stressed and tired that she didn't really follow the confinement diet and just bathed with warm water without herbs. She looked rather pale during the full month party, sighs. If financial allows, do get some help or at least confinement food delivery, if not can discuss with your hubby to work out a best solution. Main thing is not to over-stress yourself.

I had my OSCAR yday and waited at the NUH fetal care centre for 4 hours! in the end the nurse asked how was their service... they are really nice.. surprised from a govt hospital tho i suspect it is cos they are from FCC ma... baby was really nottie. face down so i had to run to tiolet, do yoga pose and in an awkward position for the doc to scan properly. her comment was,... u sure u today 12 weeks 1 day? ur baby so big... he/she is measured close to 7cm CRL. i have nothing to compare but i guess, father's genes ba. hehe..

then, i had my blood test resuly from gynae. everything ok except iron too low. prescribed iron pills together with 2 other types. so now, i have 6 pills for me to eat nightly lor!

I have:
1. DHA for baby brain
2. Vit C
3. Iron
4. Obimin
5. Calcium
6. Folic Acid

But i quite sian. so only eat folic and DHA religiously.

Re: Birdnest:
When can we eat birdnest? mom and MIL is stocking up now! scary! i am the kind that hates birdnest.. sigh.. but i want baby nice complexion.. so bo bian..

Re: Morning sickness
Yay! Day #2 no puke. but the last i had, which was thursday, was a total merlion in a public toilet.. had a bumpy taxi ride... lucky colleagues helped me to find toilet and carry my barang... love them!

Crystalline,
Just curious, how much will e CL thru e agency cost? But u r right, it is best to have help, esp if u r doing c section or might have tough delivery.

Yip,
U sound like u might have lost quite a.bit of weight! Do take care. #1 the grans will definitely be more gan cheong. Enjoy e attention

micteo,
Haha most say my girl looks like my hubby, I think yours too right?

runningmuff,
Plus levy, round up to $2.3k. Plus herbal package $2.6k. And this is the cheapest cos I've maid at home to help else need to top up. Really not cheap lo....

runningmuff, nope! hahaha. i put on 4kg of weight these 12 weeks! lucky the last 3 weeks i only gained 0.5kg. wahahaha...

micteo , Crystralline :

I had a CL during #1 and cos the plan was to let my mum take care of my gal during then. So i had my confinement at my mum's place as i thought my mum can learn abt taking care of baby from the CL when she is still around. Who knows, mum is resistant to ideas and she like dont trust the CL ways to do things. Ended up I feel damn stressed lor. But its true I had all the time to myself during that month except latching and expressing milk.

Now that my gal is 30 mths onld and still at the terrible 2, mum really cant stand her even she goes full day childcare. Mum has already ask me to get a maid even before she knows I am expecting #2. Since I am going to get a maid, I am thinking if I could get the month in early and do without the CL a not. Some CL end up bossing the maids around and really din do much except cooking and bathing the baby. Then some are too talkative and keeps chatting on the phone. Plus now the price went up so much ! I think 2009 I paid 1.8K for 28 days of service. Is it $2K or $2.2K now ?

I am not keen to get back my previous CL though she is good with baby and housework. Her cooking not to my taste.... plus she tend to talk a bit more trying to promote her MLM products to me.... *yawn*

Morning mummies, or mummies-to-be

Yip, wow...u must be still having quite a good appetite despite e puking! N i must have misinterpreted yr prev post on e shorts. Haha.. I thot u have lost so much weight tt now, besides being able to pull it up w/o unbuttoning, theres now EXTRA 5cm space. Haha

Hello crystalline, is pem agency really good? Cos yest I went to parenthood fair n talked to them for quite a bit..still hesitant taking agency leh..heard of horror stories..

Yesterday went for oscars, baby was cooperative n playing peekaboo with the female nurse until she keep saying so cute so cute..But when come to my male gynae scan, totally Bo chup..can't scan much..refuse to move even after gynae ask me fake a cough..super funny..

morning all!

runnningmuff, haha no worries! yeah i also wonder why i can eat so much! lol. my entire brain is... what shld i eat for breakfast/tea/lunch/tea/dinner/supper. WAHAHAHA.

Crystalline,
Whats e herbal package for? Is it for bathing or for cooking? Then plus e special groceries for confinement food, n ang pows for the CL, roughly how much will e total be?

Kayla,
If u have a domestic helper, n yr #1 goes full day CC, n yr mum is ard to help in e day n cook for u, i guess it shd be pretty manageable. Coz then u only have to handle e night duties alone. Plus u 2nd time mummy already shd rpughly know what to expect n how to handle bb.

Me n hb were quite garang n did everything ourselves other than e cooking part for #1. It was hard wor. But we nvr regretted it coz we got to handle bb exactly e way we wanted fr day 1. We r intendg to do e same for #3. Except tt this time might cater cobfinement food so tt my mil can be freed up to help w #1 n 2.

Yip,
Wah how many.meals r u eatg in a day? Haha.. Its a blessing to have a gd appetite.
i m also always thinkg of what to eat. Except tt its a torture coz theres always nothing tt i can think of. N plenty tt i know i wont want. N yet i have to eat if not i will puke. Sigh.
But do eat healthily n watch e weight gain ok. If not it will be harder to get back into shape after delivery

Kayla, me too going to hire helper... Cos I don think I can handle 1 toddler and a nb at the same time! "Bite nails" and My plan is to get my mum to do confinement for me while the maid do the cleaning and stuff... But I'm prepared tat there sure to be disagreement with maid and the way we want things to be done so.. If want help den gotta close one eye lor... Bo Bian...

Kayla,
Same sentiments with runningmuff, if have maid to help and your #1 in full day childcare then shouldn't be a prob, just need to settle the confinement food issue cos cannot rely on maid to cook. Yeah now very exp, my colleague giving birth next Feb got a freelance one for $2.2k and it's so called "illegal" cos these CL come without work permit. If caught we will be banned from hiring maids in future so I wouldn't want to run a risk here.

Mummies hiring maids for the first time, you can start searching now. It takes at least 1-2 months for one to come, dun get a transfer maid pls, there must be a good reason why the previous employer didn't want them. Very seldom you will get a good transfer maid when the employer didn't need them. And you need time to train the maid, give yourself at least 1-2 months to train a fresh maid. My maid came 8 years back super blur, it took a long time to train her. But now she is super maid la hehe.

Candymix,
When I had my #1 in 2009, 3 of my colleagues had engaged CL from PEM. One got a nasty one, two got good ones. So I just tried my luck and it was good. I think it depends on luck and personality cos the chemistry we have with the CL matters too. Then I also have friends who got those freelance CL, also very scary. One dirtied a new spring mattress with lots of menstrual blood, and took the liberty to turn the mattress over and pretended nothing happened. A few days later just made excuses and scooted till my friend discovered that days later, super gross!!
I actually called a freelance CL during my #1 days and her charges were same as agency. Moreover wanted deposit with only a phone number for me to contact. Very insecure feeling so I rather get from agency. At least they won't run away with my money and anything can still complain against them.

runningmuff,
The herbal package includes the longan red date tea ingredients for the whole month, plus herbs for herbal soup everyday. And 10 packs of the herbs for bathing, which is not enough, need to get more from hock hwa. To me it's more convenient, else I wouldn't know what herbs to get too. At least the CL is very clear on how to boil the herbal soup too cos most of the mummies have gotten the herbal package as well,

Micteo & crystalline ,
U ladies gg for the meetup ? Din see your name there .

Runningmuff,
For my #1 , I give the CL $18 Ang pow to have good start
and when she left I think $88. She also requested for 2 sets of PJs (she says it's customs but I really dunno why). Some people so very pleased with the CL that they gave $188 if their financial is ok . Depends on u. But I rem she requested to have half day off on her last day 28th day to visit her SG friend. As it was a weekend and hubby around, we chin chai la. Release her early.

Kayla,
I wanna go for meetup but still having MS and I'm staying in far North so will see how closer to the date. Wah $188!! I think I gave $28 when auntie came and $40 or $50 when she left cis hubby bought her a lot of salmon to bring back for her granddaughter to eat. Plus she was really happy here, hubby bought her afternoon snacks every now and then and we were really chin chai with her. She still called me twice after she left so it was a nice experience.

Ang pow wise I think we just do within our means, no hard and fast rule.

Oh crystalline then did u get back the same nanny as yr #1?

Have u heard of any other gd nannies from pem besides the one u got? Can pm me? Thank u!

Candymix,
I only know of the one I got and the other nanny my colleague had so I requested for these two. If die die want my previous CL need to top up $200 leh, no point. If we are not giving birth in the same month, sure will recommend you mine.

rosegal,
Its abit hard to explain. But birds nest is stuck on the walls of the caves. Not like a nice shaped bowl on trees. So the shape has to look like that. Or broken parts of it. :p

des,
1st trimester is the crucial formation of the nervous system and organs. Not suitable to take any herbs during this time. Birds nest is a tonic that whilst it nourishes, those that are of inferior quality leads to feathers being consumed which affects lungs. For those who have asthma, excessive use can also trigger asthma. If you have taken, so be it. No point thinking abt it.

Candymix,
As long as you buy from reputable stores, they usually won't cheat you. Only thing is that you may not know how to get the best value. I cannot help you too much there as I don't buy from outside shops. I buy from a relative who supplies some restaurants and hotels in Singapore. I won't say its cheaper than outside but the quality is definitely good stuff. In fact, just see the bottle I show above, that is not concentrate though some people say 1 bottle so much look abit like concentrate. Pricewise, this bottle is about $25 (plus minus) which is value compared to those outside where you pay similar or more but get less bird's nest and more sugar water.

piggywiggy,
yah yah... I remember. You were one of those with the problem of people touching right? Or was it ali?

Orangebb,
I took before the concentrate. The small bottle so small u still can tarhan 2 days ah. I will 1 mouth finish it wor.

Kayla,
I survived 2 pregnancies without CL, MIL and Mum to help. Just depend on maid. I ordered confinement food. No nagging. :p
During #2, #1 was at home but she's quite independent. So maid mainly look after baby and #1. Food is catered. Not that much to look after me as I was able to walk ard slowly myself. Only thing was help me boil the herbs for bathing (which does not take that much time).

elffie,
4-5th month onwards is ok to start taking. Once a week is good. Do take at nights before sleep on empty stomach. Best for absorbing the goodness of it. :p

Re: Post Natal Massage
I find those Malay ladies good. Do source ard and book. Worth the money. Mine is an old Malay lady of Indonesia decent. After massage, really got effect of water loss and the lochia coming all out faster. :p

I just felt beanie's kick!!! Very sure of it! Heheh!

Kayla, still not sure yet, cos I seems to hv something on tat day, just can't recall wats on... Sigh. I'll see wats the confirm date... Hopefully I can make it for the meet up.

Post Natal Massage:
I did engage a malay lady for massage after I gave birth to #1, she would come to my house daily for 1.5hr massage. But the prob is I don like that my whole room will be very oily after tat, plus the bedssheets and towels and sarong all hv the massage oil smell, so difficult to wash away...
I think I'm those very yim chim type la.. So this time round I'm thinking I would rather go to the massage place itself... Anyone hv any recommendation?

Micteo,
Me. Me. I love to sing too!! Haven't gone to ktv for very long Liao. Think since preggy with #1. If we hv more mummies who love singing, mb can go together.

micteo,
I'm counting down to my school holidays to go KTV, hehehe... Now still not much time to go leh.

Candymix,
Is this your no. 1? Hee dun be too paranoid, I went for movies almost every week with hubby then cos if you don't, you wouldn't have much time for movies with hubby after that. In fact I think I only watched 5-6 movies with hubby since my girl was borned. Research has shown that whatever sound when travelled thru the amniotic liquid turns out blur and muffled, moreover foetus' hearing only develops from 18w onwards so I didn't bother talking to my bb during Oscar, just coughed and shook my body and bb turned already hehe.

Post Natal Massage

Do start as soon as possible, I started the next day after discharging from hospital. In fact I looked like 6 months pregnant even after delivery, my small bro even said to me in hospital "Jie, why is your tummy still so big huh??!!" Can die. By the 4th day of massage my tummy was totally flat le. But after that must still put tummy wrap for the next few months, I put on for few hours each day. My tummy was quite flat after that. Now the cycle starts again lol.

micteo,
those Javanese massage parlours do offer post natal massages at their sites too. But u sure u wanna travel? Not good to go out too much during confinement leh.