(2012/05) May 2012

i feel it at my tailbone when i get up from seating position

ak> Guess what I read your msg as? "i felt my kneecap joint abit ache when i bend down to shit" I was like ???!?!!?!!??? Wahahahahahahahahaha! Sorry ah. Preggy woman tend to be abit bimbo. Read too fast. Cant helped but laughed to myself. Felt so silly.

ak> LOL! Dont put the pressure on your kneecap when you stand or sit down. I hold on to my table for support.

VaNiLLa> Your nipples "sun burnt" painful not? My nips are also diao pi-ing. I remember one evening I took off my bra to shower then saw the inner cup have these white white flakes or sumthg then at first I thought I got metal nipple lei! How come can brush against my bra till like the bra cloth got "hurt". And when I washed it, realised that it is skin then look at my nips. Can see dry skin flakes. So I assume my nipples are flaking dry skin. And my nipples are itchy too! Sometimes it suddenly itch and I am so kao wei lor! Want to scratch also cannot. Got to chiong to the toilet to do it. LOL!

i also have the hip bone/ bum bone? sore thingy...

Heh, also wanna update on my OSCAR yesterday

The scanning was done at KK, I think it took about 15 min or so.. quite fast...

At first the baby was not moving, but later it started kicking and kicking, like doing back stroke, and the whole body was moving up n down cos of the kicking.. I didn't wanna ask the gender yet cos wanted to find out with dh when we see the gynae next time, but it's always to good to see the beanie again.. and it's grown so much since the last visit some three weeks back.
Was 47.6mm at 11w 3 day yesterday.. my edd is now 6 May.

Later another doc in charge of the testings went thru with me the results (cos i took package B where i did the blood test first and can get to know the results after the scan), and things were gd on all counts (blood/serum test, scan where they measure the nuchal translucency & the nose bridge etc), so... thank God! V happy.

piggywiggy - all the best! Enjoy seeing your beanie!

rosegal: u took the scan at KK yest? So we are able to get the results all in a day including the blood test? Cos i'm a patient from Private Suite.

zp1503 - yes, did you take package B too? if so, you'll get to know the results after the scan

michelle- just read an earlier post from you about the prenatal massage - thanks! will check that out

I had this huge maternity pillow shipped in from US. around $200 plus, letting go at $50. very good condition and great for supporting the back. collect at bukit batok. sms 96922155 for photo.

Rosegal> ya u should check out the massage. I always recommend that to my pregnant friends after trying it out for myself when I was pregnant.

Me too.. I need massage and a good body scrub too!!! Been aching here n there... Super tired also... My sis jus comment tat I look very tired and I dose off easily.. Which I don use to be... Now sit at sofa also can sleep.. Hahah! Like pig lor...

rosegal: i have not chosen anything yet as i have only seen my gynae once & my next visit will be next week at 9 weeks. When will we need to choose? How much is package B? Whats the diff from the rest?

Although this is my #2 but my #1 was half private then switch to KK later at 24 weeks.

Massage> if u gals r interested, there is this lady who operates from her Hm at compassvale.
Like home spa massage. 38/HR or 50/1.5hr massage service for prenatal massage. Only can start from 2nd trimester onwards. Do a search on google for compassvale massage. Her name is ivy if I din remember wrongly. I go to her quite often for my previous pregnancy!

zp, yeap hubby still fetches me before and after work. but then, it means i must work earlier, and end off later. =(

chloie, yes mine hurts! at night when i go toilet, waking up also feel abit suan suan. then if i bend down also!

for OSCAR scan, is it that my gynae will tell me what package to take?

Lunch was duck porridge and then cedele cake! YUMMY!

Yip: lucky you, now that i am not riding, have to take bus home & walk for another 10mins to reach mum's place for dinner. my hubby works till quite late about 7pm+....

Sunflower, I also did my blood test on Tues and will have the scan on 2 Nov. Maybe will see you... but then again, even if I do, I prob won't recognise you coz dunno how you look like. Unless you bring a sunflower? Lol :p

Re: Durians and Coconut
Durians must eat in moderation. Coz mostly sugars which take very long to break down. May cause baby to be big and may cause gestational diabetes if take too much. Coconut juice can start from about 6th month - once a month. In last month, can up to once a week. Supposed to help baby have better skin.

zp1503, depending on what your office dress code is like, consider yoga pants? Pair with nice loose tops, can look very nice still.

m_int, yes you can breastfeed during pregnancy.

vanilla, esther, you can clean the nipples with warm water. No need to put anything and not advisable to do so as nipples have their own way of cleansing. :p

Re: Stretchmarks cream/oil
Try not to use Palmers okie. Coz seems like its quite common to be allergic to it. I used once during my #1 and broke out in a rash. Googled and found that a lot of pple have the same problem.

Can try California Baby's pregnancy moisturisers. Seems quite good. Its cheaper than Clarins Bio Oil and I quite like it. I am using from this seller who is my relative.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5999952.html?1315808415

Re: Calcium
Someone once told me this. Basically, whatever baby needs, baby will get because if its lacking in your diet, your body automatically strips you of it to give to the baby.

hey michelle, that ivy sounds familiar.. i think i went for her normal massages last time before preggy.. haha... din know she also do prenatal! was it good for prenatal??

Chloie: yes.. i have the ache whenever i stand up and try to walk.. everything seems so tight.. haha.. machiam old woman...

I tried pre-natal massage b4 at my regular massage place. The pressure was so soft that after the massage, i feel more tired from lying down than refreshed after the massage.
So now im abit skeptical of going for prenatal massage, wondering if it will really relieve the ache n pains. Or is it just oni for my massage place ? Somemore she is a certified prenatal masseur....

Hi Rosegal..

U mean you get your report immediately? I did it at Thomson yest, the report they will send to my gynae directly..

Btw did anyone of you did any blood test like HIV, HEP B etc.. I wonder when they will check for all this test? tot suppose to check b4 bb is born?

Re massage - this is the link about the massage that Michelle was talking about http://www.compassvalemassage.blogspot.com/

Re Oscar - ZP, AK - They have package A, B and C at KK. I can't remember the specifics but B is the most expensive one, at ard $320. I think cos they are able to give you the results immediately. Think for pkg C, it's similar but the blood test is done later on, so you do scan first, then blood test... sorry you might want to check with them if you want to know... forgetful!!
When I went for my check up at wk 8+, the doc recommended me to get the OSCARS done cos I'll be 34 soon, so risks are higher, so then they explained the diff packages and we decided to go for pkg B. They will tell you about it when you go for your next check up at wk 9 i believe. Not to worry too much!

moment - yes, I got the report immediately. They had a doc there (not my regular gynae) who was in charge of explaining the results to me.

moments, I did. Its a standard at KK. My gynae always arrange for me together with the Oscar blood test so that I only get pricked once. :p

Esther, plain paracentamol is safe to take.

me also waiting for knockoff... haha... it gets more tiring when you had nothing to do...as time pass slower.. cant wait for the clock to hit 6!

Icez: High-5! Wait until i can feel my stomach doing something but can't descibe the feeling... feels funny and weird...

Just been to my scan and OSCAR test too.

Hand also blue black from the blood withdrawal.

Very excited too can see the whole beanie and she's moving.. so cute... life is so amazing right... shes like moving so strongly but I din feel anything lei... funny hor... the specialist scan a lot of different angle and can see both legs on the back view, saw the hip, both hands... it's really very fun and exciting... I keep thinking about her back view with the legs after the scan... missing her already, can't wait to see her soon....

Cant imagine with only 6 weeks, and she's so big now from a tiny dot in a sac...

Next week got chance to see gender... super nervous...

I hope all have fun with their OSCAR experience..

BTW, anyone with Dr Lawrence Ang and bought the Omega 3 pills that was recommended? Is it good? Contemplating to buy from either GNC or Dr Ang lei... Or anyone have better recommendations? the pills look so big..

I have problem with swallowing pills... eeekss... worried

zp1503: yeah.. same lor.. stomach been having this weird 'feeling' inside.. tot is tummyache.. go toilet also nothing but keep feeling smtg is sorta moving inside.. haha...but it seems too early to feel bb movements inside also! weird!!.. haha

thanks mommies!popped X1 500mg paracetamol panadol 30min ago, now better. but can't wait to leave office,sleepy....

zp/ ICEz:Yeah too early, most likely is gas, i feel this quesiness too,constant intestinal movement

Thanks rosegal and fifi for the info.. but I wonder how come they don have to check like HIV, Hep B.. Do you all know or your gynae did told you all?

I going to ask my gynae next week..

I told a package which is oscar and the detailed scan at week 20 cost me $420+

Hi Micteo

I also hope is gal, but the radiographer did not try to scan what gender is it haha..

esther: i think so too. sometimes it makes me no appetite for dinner. sometimes at night i still will feel very tired & my hubby will take care of my 3yr son

suddenly reading the thread about durian.. I somehow think of durian.. Dunno I can take the smell anot but maybe go down and try my luck to go down to durian stall with my 2 kids tonight to see if I can eat anot.. hahaha...

Moment: mayb Tests like HIV and hep B, the gynae assume they shld be done pre-conception? I took all these tests as part of my pre-conception check up.

Do u believe eating crabs when pregnant will end up your baby 'itchy fingers ' like to touch this and that ?

I didn't eat crab when I'm with #1 but she is still very itchy fingers. Everything also wanna touch. So now with #2, I went ahead to eat crab. Can't resist the salted egg crab. Yummy !

kayla: i think no scientific stuff on this. but alot of old folks say dont loh, they say need to play safe better than sorry. But when i have craving i still go for it!!~ dont care!! itchy finger is inborn de, me also! :p i am very itchy fingers see things must touch touch and see how its like.

moment: i read this thread i keep wanting to eat durian too ahah, gonna ask my hubby to scout for it for me!

Heya...

My Oscar went pretty fast.. baby was in a gd position but moved quite a few times during the scan so she had to make sure she got the measurements correct. the nurses are very friendly there.. all smiling. the sonographer told me she measure the NT first before she show me the baby. aft measurements, she showed me the head, the heart, the stomach, hands and legs. I thought i saw something in btw the legs but she didn't say anything.. may be its the umbilical cord!

Rosegal: gd news for u! one hurdle down hor. i have to wait till next tues to know my blood test results though gynae would have received it today.

Icez, ZP, i felt felt my baby's kicks today. last week was fluttering feeling. today i def got one kick.. was in the middle of a talk some more.. i dun think its gas cos i m not too gassy now.

Moment, i think the HIV test was done at 36 wks or so for me.. or was it at 20 wks? not sure.. we have to test for HIV now unless u opt out, if i m not wrong.

Boo.. i gained 1kg last mth, which is ironic cos i haven't been eating!! could it be water weight?

Kayla, i ate a lot of crabs with my son.. i find him normal.. not really more itchy hands.. haha superstition lah.. anyway kids learn by touching so i m not too worried if he is overtly touchy, as long as he knows the boundaries.

piggy: hugs!! sounds like oscars is pretty detailed as well! im already doing a countdown to mine on nov 9th :D could it be a boy!!! something between the legs, oh the little one playing hide and seek w mama. hehe. *hugs* hoping for a girl? or another boy will just be fine, then u have motivation for a 3rd one to complete a "hao".

how does baby kick feel like...like a jab or what?

Came across this reading for mommies here interested on the triple screening. a little lengthy.

The triple screen test is a common and safe test performed during pregnancy. It is a non-invasive blood test taken between the beginning of the 15th week and the 17th week. This test measures levels of three proteins in the blood, AFP, HCG and UE3. The levels of these proteins are compared with the mother's age and ethnicity of the parents and can determine the probability of a potential genetic problem in the baby. Some of the more common problems the test can help identify include:
Downs syndrome

Neural tube defects (defect of the lower spine)

Babies at risk for low birth weight and premature delivery

Ventral wall abnormalities (defects of the umbilical cord and bowel)
It is important that you remember that no genetic test is 100% accurate. The triple test is a screening instrument and not a diagnosis. That means that while the test may indicate your fetus is at risk for Downs Syndrome, it doesn't mean that your baby will be born with this or any other disorder. In fact, many women can receive false positive tests. A false positive test is usually a result from your calculated due date being incorrect.

If your test results from a triple screen come back positive, your physician may recommend an amniocentesis, which is another invasive procedure that examines fluid from the amniotic sac. Amniocentesis requires that a needle be inserted through your abdomen and into the uterus. Your healthcare provider will then extract amniotic fluid for testing. The healthcare provider will use an ultrasound to ensure that they do not harm the baby with the needle. There is a risk of damage or infection in the baby when this procedure is chosen, thus it is typically only recommended during high-risk pregnancies, including those that have a positive triple screening test or advanced maternal age.

The CVS test is actually considered more risky than an amniocentesis. Whether or not you decide to opt for genetic testing is completely your decision. You may be pre-disposed to certain conditions. Many parents want to know the possibility of a potential problem ahead of time, so they can prepare themselves mentally for what is to come in the weeks to follow. It is important that you go into any testing situation fully informed and aware of the potential benefits and risks.

Remember that testing is not without its associated errors and false positive results. Many babies that have positive test results are born perfectly healthy. Be sure you discuss your situation with your doctor in detail before deciding on any procedures that may be suggested for you. Some women will opt to forgo any genetic screenings even if a triple marker test indicates the potential for a birth defect or genetic abnormality. Have confidence that you can make the decision that is best for you and your baby, and be sure to lean on your family and friends for support when necessary

Huh so early can feel kicks?

Am falling sick again so sian..all the supplements go to bb instead of me, end up immunity low..

Michelle> she don't go people house? Compassvale quite far hor..

Stobeii> I'm sick of the pills too!

Another extraction i found useful

Nuchal translucency (NT) scan
Nuchal translucency is a collection of fluid under the skin at the back of a baby's neck. It can be measured using ultrasound when your baby is between 11 and 13 weeks and 6 days old. All babies have some fluid, but many babies with Down's syndrome have an increased amount.

A nuchal translucency (NT) scan is a screening test which assesses whether your baby is likely to have Down's syndrome. A screening test can only estimate the risk of your baby having Down's, whereas a diagnostic test, such as CVS or amniocentesis will give you a definite diagnosis (but also carries a small risk of miscarriage).

The NT scan can't tell for certain whether your baby is affected. However, it can help you decide whether or not to have a diagnostic test.

Blood test
The blood test measures:

• free beta- hCG (human chorionic gonadotrophin)

• PAPP-A (pregnancy associated plasma protein A)

A woman who is carrying a baby with Down's syndrome will have abnormal levels of these two substances in her blood.

The NT scan alone probably picks up about 75 to 82 per cent of babies with Down's syndrome, and the blood test alone, about 60 to 70 per cent. If you put the two tests together, the detection rate is usually in the range of 90 to 93 per cent with about a 3 to 5 per cent false positive rate

Beebeemer, no she was just showing me the form of the baby. Didn't really examine each one thoroughly. It depends on the sonographer. They are not obliged to tell u anything actually. But this one is quite nice. I told myself I will go in smiling so she will be nice to me and talk to me!! Hahha. I'm going for my detailed scan on 28 dec!! So faraway!!

Baby's kick is really like a jolt out of the blue. Like something rearranging my intestines!! Hahaha. Other than that it seems like there are butterflies in my tummy. I don't have a gender preference. Aft 2 mcs u take whatever that comes as God's gift.

hi all..
i came back and slept thru out till like 5pm. and woke up with a 'shucks! i have work to do!!' but still not concentrating.. the lure of u gals on the forum.... lol..

Piggy: 'Aft 2 mcs u take whatever that comes as God's gift.'--->

thanks beebeemer for the info!

re: HIV test
today i signed the form to take the HIV blood test.. before i went for the OSCAR.. so i supposed anytime also can.. of course the earlier th ebetter.. taken all together with the blood test with OSCAR...

kayla: crabs. i love crabs.. not going to pay heed to supersition.. all bbs are itchy fingers! lol...

stobeii: the ladies here can tell u i am adverse to taking pills! i can stare at one tiny one for 5 minutes before swallowing it.. antibiotics. with their huge size.. are killers for me.. and i just finised a dose of it!.. i told my gynae.. i dun want the supplment (obimin) since first preg.. she knows it.. never ask ever again.. lol..

re:brestfeeding during preg
some would recommend to stop since suckling on the nipple induce some contractions.. i have colleagues who stopped once they are preg...

moment: yes. i did it at Thomson.. my gynae is here..

Piggy/mic teo: i wasn't told the gender by the sonographer and miser didn't ask also.. haha. we know she's not obliged to say anything..
this bb is moving throughout.. my first two guai guai lie there head up for the sonographers to scan. this one was doing cartwheels.. lucky i didn't have to go outside to walk man.. ha.. so i was told side ways and cough.. a couple of times.. before she can get the details she wants..
to the gynae.. she says still early to tell gender.. largely due to hyperactive bb again. she wants to hear the heartbeat.. but the movement was causing a lot of static.. she gave up after a while.. and said 'move till like this.. must be a boy'.. then laughed to her self and said 'i'm just teasing u'.. ha..

piggy: this semester i am doing macroecononmics.

Astro, lucky u. I almost fell aslp listening to some talk bat stable isotopes. Macroeconomics? Wah cheem. I have no clue what that entails man. Hahaha.

Ur baby is really active man! My #1 was aslp when we did the test but this one was kicking away, luckily not to the extend of doing cartwheels!! Did u heart sink when u heard the sonographer's joke??

Today I had 2 diff people coming up to me to ask if I was preg!! One of them hasn't seen me in a bit but when she saw me, she immed ask me eh u preg ah cos u look heavier!! Bleah. I wished to hide till 2nd trimester but don't like telling lies so told them ya lor, I'm preg!!