(2012/05) May 2012

zara, yes, i do have tat feeling, n its really uncomfortable right, gynae told me its the uterus/ womb expanding.

zp1503, yay, same. i also dont have any other sympthoms except that i feel very tired n sleepy at night. Also have the same concern as you, but i believed or bbs are doing well!

Esther: not acid rain.. Someone threw acid bombs down the streets of mongkok.. Hurt 6 pple this time... Sick.. Been a long time n this guy is not caught yet.. N I was staying in that area lor!! I hope I dun need to see docs in Melbourne, it's only for just in case...

Btw Esther, try eating prunes? My gynae told me to eat 10 prunes.. To be effective in helping with constipation... It helps with gas release too.. Haha..

Ak: thanks... At least I know it's normal... today I dun feel it as much as yday.. Really uncomfy.

Wats for lunch ladies? I had leftover soup n chicken from yday dinner.. Still yummy after I heat them up... Kekeke...

hello ladies!

i havent log in for quite a while. cos if u all still remember, i m the suay suay one that got terrible ms and is always complaining abt it. last week ms was damn bad for me, i was crying several times every day cos really feeling horrible. think tat must be the peak of my ms. oredi lost 3kg so far. sighhh!

lucky thing is, for the past 3 days, my ms seems to turn better! i m still feeling naseau, but stop puking completely. if base on my #1 exp, i think the ms shld gradually improve and hopefully stop in 1-2 weeks time. by then, i shld be in my 12-13wks, passed 1st tri! hooray! so those ladies having ms, hang on. its tough, but it will get better and eventually over soon.

re: maternity clothes
piggywiggy, dolcevita, micteo, rosegal, u all make me so excited! i also wanna take out my maternity wears from my storeroom soon. haa! u know, i recently bought some maternity top from asos, then i think back on my old maternity clothes i had. gosh! i also feel my old maternity wears CMI lor. haa! i m so tempted in buying more, but then hor, i m def stopping at #2, (i dun care if #2 is girl or boy). how ah?? buy or dun buy?

re: gathering
sounds good! ya, we shld do one in mid nov perhaps! by then most of us shld past 1st tri liao. those of us having ms should feel better then and have better appetite!

qinyi, Agree... donno shld buy or not... I still find ASOS quite ex lei... maybe i bad eye la... those I spotted one are more ex... still thinking... are the stuff worth buying? btw is it free shipping to SG? does it take longer time to ship den stated in their site?

#1 still got reason to say can buy and keep for #2.. but now after #2 den close shop.. no reason to buy liao... :p

micteo,
yes, asos is quite ex. but their clothes design and quality is way better then gap and old navy. yep, free shipping. and the shipping wun take longer than wat stated to u.

ya lor, haiz... if having #1 still can say reuse for #2. and now cfm stopping at #2, totally no reason manz. haa!

micteo,
haa... actually i can come up with many "excuses" to buy new maternity clothes too. eg: christmas coming, we need pretty dresses for upcoming parties. cny coming, we need new clothes. since stopping at #2, next time no opport to wear maternity clothes, so shld buy more now and wear them to the max. lastly, pretty maternity clothes make us happy, so happy mummy = happy bb. lol!

i'm 13 weeks and going for my oscar dis fri..

anybody here knows hw is it done? can i see the gender of the bb?? so excited, can't wait to buy new clothings for my No. 3

qinyi... Hhaha! Tats wat i told my hb... cos he was nagging at me on spending money.. later baby come we'll need xtra money.. must save... blah blah blah... so i told him im buying for CNY! hahahh!!! on la... tonight must go buy something liao! heheeh!

I am new to the thread but have been reading silently...
Seems like this thread is very active...

Just had my scan yesterday at 7w+. Could see baby and hear the heartbeat. This is my #2. My #1 is a Feb '08 baby.

So sian, dunno what to eat for dinner later leh.

AK, ok I see.. I changed to wearing wireless bra cos more comfortable, that's all, but the cup size never change, only become fuller only... kaka

hi ladies. i am zombified.. because i cried myself to sleep after watching the video clip of the poor toddler (she's dead now officially) ran over twice in china. when i saw the clip. i went speechless and immediately started tearing.. and i cld't stop.. for a simple reason. Yue Yue (the little girl).. is the same age as Bally.. and i can't imagine.. how to start feeling the plight of the parents (though yes i wondered.. where were her parents?)..

following my emo post out on facebook last time.. my frens and colleague commented that it reflected the cynical society that China as become.. i dunno about that.. all i tknow.. a little life has been lost.. to wake humanity up..

woke up at 2am still thinking.. the image vivid in my mind.. till 4am then force myself to sleep..zombified today when i taught my economics lesson.. *sigh*

micteo,
lol! happy shopping!

ayana,
to be very honest, i eat sour plums every day. for me, its just how much i m eating. some days i only eat 1-2 pcs, other days much much more. i cannot live w/o sour plums and medicated oil bcos of the ms! once i m out of the ms misery, i will stop eating sour plums, juz like when i m having my #1 prev. of cos, i m not encouraging u to eat these preservative fruits. can dun eat, better la!

re: maternity bra
actually my reg bra almost like CMI oredi. i m beginning to feel uncomfortable wearing those underwire bra! oh btw, wearing wireless bra may cos problem for ur milk duct development. so even if u feel okay with ur existing bra, at mid of pregnancy, better to use maternity bra.

Maternity Bra... I haven buy any yet.. think i still can fit in my old ones.. hehe! but somehow like my boobs are getting bigger.. super yucky! like becoming Fat Mama... OMG! *eyeroll*

I hv a weak heart so I spare myself from the poor toddler's vid... dispite the on going post of the vid in FB... hai... very sad...later watch liao cannot eat cannot sleep...

astro,
ya, alot of people are affected by tat video clip. i think many of us are more shaken by the reaction of those passer-by. how could they saw the lil girl lying there, obviously needing help and simply just ignore her??? totally unforgivable.

all right i scuumb to eating 1 choc truffle n now i feel like the gas is coming up ,need to burp,hahaha!

micteo:i bought from some of the bulk purchase spress in smh , they r from japan, not too ah ma ;)

micteo,
must share share with me if u figure out where to get pretty maternity bra. lolx! during my #1, i bought Wacoal wireless bra. def not ah ma, and pretty. but then hor, i think the support is a bit diff from maternity bra.

omg, i tink i got a typo up there... i mean wearing UNDERWIRE BRA may cos problem for ur milk duct development. note wireless bra.

Haha! I think I got wat u are trying to say qinyi...

And I wore those underwired bra throughout my whole pregnancy for my #1!!! Need to get things right now.. Haha!

Esther, do u still hv the link for the spree?

piggy: the test is called gendermaker. google and it shows up! i was curious la so i went to use paypal and shipped it to sg :p its a for fun kind of test since its 50-50 anyway. hehe lets see if i am right i felt its a girl, gendermaker says its a girl. 8 more weeks to see if this is right!

underwire bra if dont wear like one plump mass at my chest, especially if i wear sportsbra, i scared sag to my belly.

i gain 1.3 since pregnant, my gynae is very strict w weight gain so she doesnt want me to cross anymore than what i already am. I have the tendency to blow it up big to 70-80kg type so she says lighter is healthier for mummy and baby. how to control with all the food cravings! i just wanna have fried rice every meal.

Re
SCARS, reading up old threads sort of scare me. i dont understand the no.s like 1:97, 1:300 but i guess the larger the better cos smaller possibility. in a fix to go or not to go.

micteo/qin: dont watch la! i didnt catch it on news last night, when my gf told me about it she say "you better not watch" cos i will cry and flow like river. recently very emo, must be the hormones.
I am still wearing my old bras, i use to be a D, then i went to exercise lose weight for wedding become B, then now preggy back to D again. hope it stops expanding otherwise i need to spend $$ to buy bigger bras.

astro, i saw e video too... I really dun understand how can those pple be so heartless.. haiz.. i showed e video to my dh... he is damn shocked la.. haiz...

esp e passerby who witness e whole situation din even bother to see how's yue yue condition and called e cops or wat... haiz..

But come to it, i am also curious y her parents din take good care of her? Why let her walk alone to e road without even noticing she went missing or wat.. Parents oso parts a big part for this accident... And it took em so long to appear, i mean e mother... haiz...

The passerby and e driver are to blame but her parents plays a even bigger part to this accident cuz if they have watched her more carefully all these wouldn't have happen... haiz...

Its really sad la... U can see from e video tat e driver, 1st one.. from slow den like saw her and suddenly incease speeed lo.. Like purposely wanna knock her down... haiz...

I really dun understand how can pple be so heartless.. Cant they jus imagine if e kid is their own? Those who nv help rite.. Next time their kid oso will like tat lo.. I really believe this phrase.. "What goes around, comes around.."

beebeemer, tdy i go measure i already like gain 3kg la... 9weeks 4 days... haa... =D i oso wanna control my weight but den sometimes hungry really cannot control leh... haa... I eat rice can eat i full bowl... But i always take half first.. see eat finish still wan anot.. Den if wan den take some more.. haa... =D

I just finished watching the tv.. u see how apathetic people are. but before we start bashing China, u gotta understand if they help and interfere with the gal, the court can rule that they are liable for the injured's medical fees.. i don't blame them for having that scared attitude.. i blame the whole social system for being so screwed!

Astro, *pat pat*

Re: maternity wear
I ordered 2 dresses from ASOS. so cheap leh.. French connection dress only 50 pounds.. in s'pore can't find.. i dun like S'pore's maternity wear.. very loose and aunty.. not modern at all.. worse are the dresses.. so tent-like.. can have ppl camping under the dresses lor.

Vanilla, may be eat other types of food like brown rice instead of white rice? how abt wheat bread instead of white bread? all digest slower than plain whites..

Beebeemer, i would advise u to go lor.. unless u also wanna skip detailed scan at 20 wks? both serve the same purpose for me so if I dun go for OSCAR, i will find out the same thing (touch wood) at 20 wks. Woah i went to check out the gendermaker thingy u posted.. $50 for it? hehehe let's see how accurate it is! i still can't figure out the science behind it though.. how would our metabolites be different for different gender?

Re: maternity bra
What's a maternity bra? i didn't use it for my #1 and prob won't use for this preg either.. i dun have pains in the boobs while wearing underwired bras though.. so far so gd.. didn't affect my supply either. But when i was breastfeeding, i wore breastfeeding bras which at no wires.. else very laychey...

I noticed my nipples are producing the oils already.. like whiteheads.. u need to remove it regularly and when breastfeeding, u need to clean ur nipples to prevent the built up of dead cells and secretions to prevent blocks...

piggy: i didnt pay 50 for one! i paid i think 20 sg only including shipping. U saw that off ebay? i ordered frm the website straight. i dont think theres much truth in it actually. its a just for fun kind of thing eheh. my friend tried and she got a blue colour so the test does varies.

i didnt go check my nipples so clearly! cos its so sore and painful i just wanna get it over and done with when I shower. Maybe I should do some TLC check tonight hehe so bb gets nice nips to suck on in 8 months time.

i will discuss w hubby again and decide. the detailed scan is definitely a must go. its just we dont know how to deal with a what if a positive, what will we do. :|

van: i agree!dont take white rice, take brown rice instead. My favourite is thunder tea rice. I can get going w that every night for dinner :D i cant tell u to stay off carbs too, i guess next choice will be to do some light exercises. Swimming is the best! non strenuous and so comfortable. U can just float around if you want to :D

Vanilla,

Re Oscar, my understanding is that the result will be based on blood test. In terms of doing scanning it is probably to check on any deformed on the baby's physical feature - as explained by my gynae.

Re Detail scanning, the radiologist will do more to check on the heart, to ascertain any heart problems early etc. Another thing is that to confirm the gender of the baby. Can't really remember anything more.

No no Vanilla, both are different.. Oscars gives u an early warning if you baby has congenital problems.. it gives u the odds that ur baby might be down with certain genetic diseases. The detailed scan shows the development of the baby's everything. from heart to fingers to kidneys and toes. u can also pick up genetic abnormalities during detailed scan that's why i said u don't do Oscar, at 20 wks u are still gonna find out.

Beebeemer, i saw it on their webby leh.. USD$25.. did i see wrongly? may be there's science behind it but i need to go and read up.. haha.. well my point is if u skip oscar and find out at 20 wks that something is wrong *TOUCH WOOD* what will u do? get what i m trying to say? of cos nothing will happen to u lah.. choy choy choy!!!

Happy cleaning ur nipples.. mine was sooo crusty.. eee TMI!!

What's thunder tea rice? hrmm.. issit nice? i just had leftover seaweed tofu soup for dinner.. no appetite..

piggy:got so ex? haha i must have not been paying attention when paying then. :p its fun la, get one to try! they say if ure having a boy u produce testosterones, or a girl then no testosterones or smth. but they have indicated that this is not like a fullproof gender test "entertainment purpose only" stated on the metal foil.

my gf told me that if hubby and myself have no hereditary of similar genetic conditions e.g siblings or cousins then should be pretty safe, and diff blood type. Plus age plays a part. I want to get a peace of mind so i am 80% for. choy choy choy, nothing will happen, baby will be healthy and happy. i was so happy to see bb move arms and jerk around the waterbag. AW, tears went straight up to my eyes and I cannot explain how thats feels, just too amazing.

Thunder tea rice is a hakka dish, u can find it in most food republics, Vivo or suntec. not sure about Wisma's. Its brown rice, w loads of veg, ikan bilis, peanuts and then a soup made of basil/mint that u generously pour over your food.

http://ieatishootipost.sg/2007/12/thunder-tea-rice-one-for-ladies.html

piggy, oh.. so theres still a differences in both test la... okok.. We will be doing both...

And *TOUCHWOOD* we both will do something abt it.. This is even before we married we both came to a point together whereby we made this decision together.. We both agreed.. It may sounds heartless but we both tot of lots of things, like old liao who gonna take care of em.. etc etc..

Anyway, everyone beanie will be fine... Talk abt it i scare... *CHOY CHOY CHOY* =D

So looking forward to my oscar scan leh.. keke.. =D

Anyway, before oscar scan, anyone already done any blood test? Mine till now oso haven do any blood test leh.. 1st one will be oscar scan... I saw many mothers go to e clinic and they did e blood test leh.. but mine dun have leh.. lol.. Should i be worried?

Beebeemer, nah i will wait for ultrasounds to confirm gender.. hehe.. Abt what ur gf said, it is true but there are genetic diseases that are independent of what genes u and ur hb carry. Like Down Syndrome (female's 21st chromosome does not separate correctly) or trisomy 18. these are not something u can inherit from the parents but are spontaneous mutation.

Thanks for telling me what thunder tea rice is.. i have nv eaten it before.. prob cos i hate rice.. haha..

Vanilla, well my blood tests i did was to measure my HCG levels becos of my recurrent miscarriages. not every gynae will send every preg woman for it. aft those blood tests, i won't be doing until my oscar test. let i said, u need to trust ur gynae..
if he thinks don't need then don't need. these tests cost additional money too.

piggy, oh... i see.. haa.. ok leh.. pple do twice i only do once.. save money leh.. haa.. i rmb my gynae said do together.. save money.. =D

Hi mummies! My first time posting here, been reading but lazy to post but been reading, seems like many non first time mummies like me here hehe... My EDD should be 18 May, 1 day after my birthday lol.

My MS is very bad, that's one reason why I dun have much energy to chat here too. Vomiting no less than 8 times daily and can't take much water other than sweetened drinks. It's worse when I vomit every time after brushing teeth and I'm so paranoid of brushing now sighs.... Any mummies like me?

OSCAR TEST
Personally I feel that if you and hubby are very sure abortion is not the way to go then there is no need to go for the test. I'm going cos its tremendous stress for parents with subnormal kids, the kids dun lead an easy life too. So I rather be sure than regret in future. I'm a teacher and it's really not easy for the kids to cope well in today's education system, let alone a subnormal one. Just my personal opinions.

Mummies!!! I need help!!! Just came home and after shower I realized my legs are swollen!!! Feel abit weird when bending my legs like the skin on the legs are very tight! Tot swelling only kicks in later in the pregnancy? Anyone expirence this before? I'm worried!

Crystalline, yeap me too! I vomit everytime after brushing or during brushing teeth. U need to brush slower cos i think it is irritating the throat, thus, the vomit.

Micteo, my legs are not swollen at week 8 now. but my butt is quite pain when i sit etc. maybe when u sleep, u put a pillow under your legs, help to circulate it.

Morning Mummies.. I will be going to do my OSCAR TEST today! although is 3rd one but still abit nervous when comes to draw blood..

Yes astro, the bb gal clip is very sad.. we are pregnant think we should not think all the negative things in our mind now.. They are damn cruel.. but my mil said maybe the driver really can't see the gal due to the gal height.. but not sure loh.. only the god know..

I really hope all our babies will be healthy and fine.. although i will to have a bb gal since I already have 2 boys.. but the most important is still the best of health of bb...

Actually I agree with what Crystalline mentioned. If you are not ready to terminate your pregnancy [*choy choy choy*], dont go for the test. The numbers will give you sleepness night & constant worry. I been thru that, went thru pain cos I think that non from our either side of family has such case & ignore the high risk level thinking that I'm still young, wont be so lucky to hit us. And there are many cases whereby the bb was tested to be a down & etc, but born out to be a perfectly normal kid. So it all depends up to individual.
Hb & I came to a conclusion why these tests are made available. To give you the option & to get you mentally. There is religious belief that a child is god's gift therefore they must be given a chance to live but there is also belief that bringing a child out is to make them suffer. So it depends on what you belief. Caring for subnormal child is never going to be easy, for you & the child.
Just my two cents worth of kpo-ness, not wanting to scare all of you.
As for my previous case of my bb being a trisomy 18, it wasnt caused by genetically. If it is, I would have ligate after that.

Moment, great! ure the first to go for OSCARS, update us oki.. take care ya..

Chloie, thanks for sharing with us

esther, i havent got cravings for durians but i certainly love it before pregfy, let me go try if i wil get nausea from it.. haha.

I also like durian when I have my 2 boys but 1st boy likes more durian.. but funny now he big le he said durian is smelly hahaha...

Now I still din really crave for durian yet.. but I hope I can eat cos I am thinking of a durian that I bought from Whampoa.. is a stall who have their own durian field at Malaysia.. last month I try to call although I don like it.. they said this month then they have durian season.. keke.. one durian can cost $40-50 .. but is very nice.. after eating that stall i don like others anymore..

My fren told me, that time she got expecting boy during her oscar scan can see the 'didi' le haha..

I hope I wont be seeing anything means still got chance to get gal.. right? haha

Vanilla,
I just did my blood test yest, before my Oscar scan on 2nov leh.... For kk, i think there are 3 kinds of packages for the scan.. Package A without blood test one, Package B and C includes blood test and scan.... Hope that helps..

Afternoon mummies,

Re: oscars
I'm going for mine on 4/11. Well, they will scan baby n measure the thickness of the neck area. Then blood test also. Think from there they will comPute the ratios with reference to ur age as well. Of cos, the bigger the ratios the lesser the risks.

Re: durians
I love durians wen had #1. But don't eat too much cos high sugar n baby may become too big. So far have nt started eating yet. Pple say usually 3rd trimester then eat if u wan baby bigger.
Then also muz drink coconut water just before due date so baby clean clean.

moment: WAAA!!!!that durian must b super shiok, $40-$50 for one!?!!
correct, durian is super pu. can make baby AND mummy FAT FAT, yeah i heard abt the coconut drink that should start like once a week in the last month,but din try for #1,

Hi mummies...

Gave the clinic a call earlier... the nurse ask me to take note and reduce my salt intake... and elevate my legs when sitted... cos by right my legs shldnt swell at the early stage...

good thing my swelling went down already...

So here goes.. mummies must take note of wat you eat and drink alot of water... for working mummies leave up your legs on a box when sitting and if sitting for too long, stand up and walk abit...