(2012/05) May 2012

Hello all May 2012 mtbs,

happy lunar new year to you.
kao_smile2.gif

Felicia: thanks! I think day time CL sounds good cos' I'm staying with my in-laws so no extra room for CL to sleep too. Thinking of getting maid and CL together. Maid maybe can sleep in living room temporarily until my sister-in-law moves out in September this year. But CL not nice for her to sleep in living room hor.

newbie2012
sure, call auntie Serene at 97511169 and tell her referred by Felicia if you are fine with a daytime only CL.. she's a very nice and caring lady, met her once to settle deposit, very pleasant looking..

yup i also used to have a maid staying in living room, but CL lady not nice to sleep in living room lor, so end up i found her since she only does day time, she said she used to do day and night de but found herself tired the next day and can't concentrate with her work during daytime, so rather just focus on daytime work.. her service is from 9am to 6pm daily including weekends..

i also mentioned that i rather let my mil do the grocery shopping since she knows where to find the bargain and auntie Serene is fine with that.. overall a very nice person to talk to.. i smsed her that i need to cancel her service since my MIL decided to help out, she's very polite and told me it's a great thing and she will find one day to visit me after my delivery.. so very friendly and understanding i feel..

If you want to check the price of freestyle which is sold locally, check out baby hyperstore in Kakit Bukit and Isetan (I saw in Nex). Price isn't only at 699 as far as I remembered.

My holidays are now coming to end. Got to wait till maternity leave to be able to have more time to surf the forum.

How are the preparations of all baby's items?

I am quite in a mess; with constant backache, haven't sorted my elder child's baby items out for her mei mei. And with loads of work piling once holidays end, wonder if I have time to do so.

Hope no mummies in same stage as I am.=p

I'm getting my CL from TMC Parentcraft. They supply day, night, & 24h CL. I'm getting the stay-in one. Maybe you wanna check with them?

felicia

oh so you've decided on catering & no CL liao?

koalarie

heehee I'm also ard there. been too busy settling #1 into sch, work, resting etc. I sort of made a list of things to do, but only managed to buy the baby clothes. Still have tons to do! Esp big ticket items like rearranging my #1's room, getting him a new bed, settling him in etc.

jul
haha yup and thanks for your advice also! think this way mil is happier also since she never like stranger in the house.. and since she mentioned she could help me look after baby in the afternoon, hopefully i will get enough rest then.. compared to #1 that time, consider very good liao, that time no confinement food at all, LOL..

felicia

Heehee no lah, what advice. But it's gd that you managed to sort it out. Save some $$ also.

Me I die die must have CL. Coz staying at my own place this time mah. And nobody to interfere with me, yet got someone to help out, plus cook for me haha. I'm quite looking forward to confinement this time. Hopefully my BF-ing journey will be smooth.

HI mummies!

Happy Lunar New year!

I am here new
EDD sup 8th june but I be having C sec so it be end May. #3 will be delivered in TMC.

Gd to meet u all :D

thanks Felicia and jul! will check out which is the best option.. may need to discuss with hubby abt the space constraint at the in-laws..

If anyone need a stay-in CL, pls PM me
I booked one for this mid-May but I do not need her service now. Her charges is $2300.

Felicia and jul: i found one CL. she charges $2,200.

wondering what is the market rate for CL (stay-in) now?

Lilian: yours charge $2,300. Is that the market rate?

I booked my CL thru agency. She charged me $2400 inclusivr of transport and ang pao. She says Singapore PR more expensive. duno how true.

Well just hope for the best. Dont really like the idea of a stranger in my hse. just hope she wun mess up my kitchen thgh.

thanks jul! I am sourcing for a maid too.. and thinking of asking the maid (if i ever find one soon!) to come at the same time as my CL so that she can learn from the CL.. do you think its a good idea? or the maid can actually come after the CL leaves cos i heard from friends that the CL will do some housework too?

Momo: normally how much ang bao do we need to give the CL.. i was told that we need to give 2 ang baos.. 1 when the CL first comes to our place and 2nd ang bao when she leaves.. they say any amount.. yi si yi si only.. is it ard $50? if so, like that, if mine charges me $2,200 and i give $50 ang bao times 2, my total cost will be at least $2,300 including ang baos right? hehehe.. my CL didnt mention to me about her transport.. dunno whether her $2,200 includes transport.

Hmmm cos the agent told me she will give 2 ang paos of $100 each and send the CL to my door step. got one free replacement if i dont like the CL.

Haha macham tuition centre.

But dont wrap too little ah, tat time the CL complain say got one lady wrap duno $28 or wat lesser amt and yet CL still have to wash her undies for her. Haha. So funny

Ask u all, u all intend to wear disposable undies or the normal type? I scared disposable ones not comfy enough oso paiseh CL wash our undies leh. Hmmm

I got my CL from an agency and it cost us $2,300 because we asked for a specific person. I heard it's cheaper if you just let them randomly assign you a CL. We also have to pack ang pows too. This CL was the same one used by my BIL and apparently she gave him an ang pow on her last day too!

momo_baby, I dislike disposable undies so guess will be sticking to regular ones. Mine are all black so hopefully any stains won't be too off-putting...

Pls ask your maid to come before u deliver so u have time to train her in hsework, cooking whatever. The stress of confinement, training a new maud all at the same time will drive u nuts! Plus u dunno if you are happy with the maid. U may wanna change, which will take even longer

have something very personal to ask, do u still make love with ur hubby at dis stage? i juz had a short 1 yest and the feeling was weird & i feel abit swollen. shd i tell my gynae about it?

For those going to deliver at TMC, had u chosed the room type? Heard ple booked 4-bedder and got upgraded to single. But this yr dragon, the nurse at my gynea clinic says will not have such deal anymore. There is huge price difference btw 4-bedder and single. So no choice hv to book single bedder

rabbitz,

i'm going to book my room type next week, still hesitating whether to choose which room type. when i delivered at TMC 4 yrs back i got a free upgrade to 2-bedded when i opt for 4-bedded. when is ur EDD??

rabbitz,

i'm going to book my room type next week, still hesitating whether to choose which room type. when i delivered at TMC 4 yrs back i got a free upgrade to 2-bedded when i opt for 4-bedded. when is ur EDD??

hi pea berry >> wat type of undies u buy? those granny style or those triumph low cut? i am slowly trying to get my confinement wardrobe tided up.. suddenly like many things to do

momo_baby, I bought the maternity briefs from Mothercare - $21 for a pack of 5. They're super comfy and they go below the belly.
I bought two packs in the end cos they were so good.

mummy_baby2008, I wish my DH would still want to have sex but he feels weird about it...
Think some swelling is normal since your cervix and vaginal area should be quite sensitive now. Shouldn't have cause to worry unless you're spotting...

Hi rabbitz (rabbitz) / mummy_baby2008,

i am from Apr'12 mum, will be delivering in TMC too. was thinking of either 1 or 4(auto upgrade bed) when i delivered. will be a huge difference, etc how much? i gave birth at TMC too, 4yrs back, chose the auto upgrade bedding.

from the website, the single room rate is 480/day and 4 bedded is 195/day. is this the huge difference?

peaberry,

hmm.. it's really abit weird cos when we had our #2 we stopped having "activities" at ard 5mths. this time round we did a quick 1 and my vaginal area feels swollen and the discharge is weird, like abit watery. unlike normal days when having sex. 1 word to describe the feeling "weird"!! shy to discuss dis with gynae too..haha...

vonvon,

i'm not sure about this auto upgrade thing, i tot only when the bed u opt for is full den they will auto upgrade?? there's really a huge diff between single room n 4 bedded. maybe if we opt for 2 bedded den if the room is full we might hav a chance to get free upgrade to single bedded??? not too sure about this but if u do have any information can u pls share with me?

oh, the auto upgrade is extended to those TMC gynae's patient (ex: dr lawrence ang / dr woodworth)

4 yrs back, mine was a auto thingy. i chose the 4-bedded at his clinic then when delivered, was push to the 2 bedded room with any notification.

since then it's the dragon yr, i am not sure if this will be extended again.

2 bedded is good, cheap and good... provided you have a good and considerate 'bed neighbour'...
that time, my neighbour was crying in pain the whole night then it disturbed me, so i requested to upgrade to 1 bedded... too bad, it was fullllll!!!!

so this time round, was thinking if it worth to get the 1 bedded.

while, my friend took the 1 bedded but was full on her delivery day, so they gave her a 2 bedded first for a few hrs then changed to 1 bedded.
so no guaranteed one.

Dear mummies or mum to be I selling preloved boy and gal clothing from 0-2 years old. Condition ok with little stain. Some not even wear before. Include brand like Carter, fox, disney. Self collect at braddell mrt. Take all around 60pcs for $25. SMS me at 97878819 if keen. For pic please refer to this:http://m.facebook.com/?_rdr#!/editphoto.php?id=265803153480683&__user=524158484

Disposable panties from Sorella is good.
Its more durable and wont tear easily de..but i forgot did i buy maternity or normal disposable the other time...

We would also be wearing our pads during confinement.

Local Set Medela Freestyle for Sale @ $400
Still in Warranty till June 2012

$400 includes the following: -

- Medela Cooler Bag
- Medela Ice Pack
- Motor Pump
- Freestyle Spare Parts (Brand New in Box)
- Handsfree Kit
- Medela Pump Bag

Only thing left to buy is the funnel. PM me if interested =D

Just curious... What kind of pads is being worn for confinement? Those super heavy night flow type?

Hi mummies (sorry to disturb),

Have a Local Medela freestyle set selling at $400, with warranty till June 2012. Bought from paragon's my first years at $699.

It's a lightly used set only for a month, rest of the items (Ie. cooler bag, ice pack,hands free kit,pump bag) all brand new.

PM me if interested, thanks!

i'm waiting for the expo fair in Feb to see if I can get any good buys for those big ticket items like prams/cots etc.

But there's always kaki bukit- baby kingdom/baby town etc

there's baby avenue and a new warehouse at jalan pemimpin having discount for cots..

anyway mummies, can check with you if you all do any "testing" on the new breast pumps once u bought it? esp those us import sets?

cos if we buy in advance and only wait till later to open up and test, might not be able to qualify for any product exchanges right?

rabbitz: i should be getting from agapebabies in the BP thread..leng leng's prices are too high

momo_baby, I'm waiting for the Taka baby fair in March. The salesperson said that there will be cots on sale.

bibi81, welcome to the thread!

yho, Kotex sells maternity pads but heard they're expensive. I'm going to buy thick heavy overnight flow pads to try first.

Ladies, I'm selling 2 x Old Navy maternity blouses. Tagged XL size but would fit a XXL local lady instead. Never worn, brand new and still in the plastic packaging. Do check it out here: http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/330677368610?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649 and http://www.ebay.com.sg/itm/330681253642?ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

i been to kiddy palace and see their cot like quite flimsy. mother care cots are good. actually my family member wanted to give me a cot from mother care. very good, made of solid wood. but too bad too big for my house.

anyone keen to take over?

prob i will also pay a visit to baby avenue to see see.. wonder if they are cheaper than outside.

Does being hungry frequently means I'm not eating well/ healthily for baby? I think I've been eating the right foods, not much junk n processed foods... But it's irritating cos I hvnt slept well due to heartburn AND hunger simultaneously at wee hours. I only manage to fall asleep ard 4am onwards and I still wake intermittently.
I'm managing this prob so far but am curious if any of u gals hv the same prob?

Hi chocolateteddy, heart burn is caused by gastric juices getting into the esophagus and causing the irritation. Plus as baby grows, it pushes againsts ur tummy, causing more heart burns.

To prevent or avoid heart burns, dont take sour or spicy food that will irritate ur tummy. Try to take small meals at frequent intervals. Most imptly, do not lie down after meals and elevate ur sleeping posture.

If all doesnt help, there is always Gaviscon. Its safe for preggy mummies

Thanks momo but I know all abt heartburn and acid reflux, trust me... Had it all this while... I know wat to do abt it already.

It's the hunger I'm talking abt and gals who like me, hv to manage both the hunger AND the heartburn at wee hours. I've only gotten the hunger this recent week.

Sorry to interrupt. I have a pair of Brand New Medela Milk Collection Shells for sale. Bought it at $26.90 but letting go at $18.

Please PM me for quick deal. Thanks.

Hi im a first time mom to be. i would like to know whr's the cheapest place to buy playpen/travel cot or any place on sale/cheap that sells bb items . i'm on a very tight budget.