(2012/05) May 2012

Wow so we can use the massage pad we have at home ?
I was worried we cant use it and its been an elephant sitting in one corner in my living room.
So if safe to use, then hope that can help to relive my intense lower back pain !!

Rabbitz, think you are too excited to see bb till dreamt of going into labour! I dreamt that I pumped 1 litre of milk the day I was discharged! Freak me out! My 1st preg I dreamt that I have milk leakage and indeed my supply is alot but bf career didnt last long coz my gal lactose intolerance. Now i dreamt of milk ss again, i scared....i want "just nice" ss already...i have phobia of engorgement....
Regarding names, I think the one mummy_baby recommended is one of them "you long zi" and i heard the tai mao pi which does the calligraphy pens also choose names coz my friend did that. i am asking my mum to do it coz she herself is doing feng shui. Save my $. Hehehe...

Michelle, massage chair ok? I thought cannot and I avoided it. In this case I wanna go home n use the legs massager liao! Been having slight leg cramps lately.

Opps: I meant:
Hi mummy_baby2008 ,

She will be coming to my house lei.. i booked her next tue (after work) at 8pm.
She's charging me for $50 i think for 90min.

Maybe after i tried le, will let u know how was it. i got her contact from this forum. if she's gd, i might try her for my post natal one

Hi Michelle (mwerkz),

is it cheap? i dunno the mrk rate coz i usu dont massage but my back is killing me, so gg to try out.
eh, how to PM huh? i dunno how to, can teach me?

MM6J:It's you!!aiya, ok ok i've recv a lot of positive feedback on natal essential so i might as well go with it.

BabyL: I am not excited, rather cos i was having cramp and in pain so in my dream its also associated with pain :z

I read that a lot of mums feedback that most geomancers tend to 'recycle' the BB name list where their frens or 2nd child also receive the same list. Then i wonder, since 8-character is different all the time, why the geomancer doesnt seem to have customized BB name list leh?

Linda : $50/90min is good deal. Can u provide me her details? I also need massage badly for my breaking back. I booked my pre-natal for $60/hr. Thinking maybe post-natal got include wrap so more exp?

LInda> not sure leh. Gynae say can as long as we're not lying face down and pressure not on the tummy.

The Hm massage I go to charges 50/90mins. But at sengkang. Too far for me. If this one comes to my Hm, that's even better!

Rabbit, ic... Hope u are feeling ok. I m having leg cramps n pain on knee now. Not sure if its wind. So pain till walk also difficult.

Michelle, i go ask my gynae this sat! =)

WTS: 2 tins of NAN HA Milk Powder @$37 each. Original price $42.50 each. Expiry date: 4 Jul 2013. Self-collection at Kovan MRT.

WTS: 6 bottles of Obimin @$18 each. Original price $28 each. Expiry date: 11 Jan 2013. Self Collection at Kovan MRT.

Pls call 96568688 to deal.

Hihi, mummies who are interested in the prenatal massage, do I share her contact here? Or how shall I go about doing it?
By the way, I've not tried yet, 1st session is on 16th jan at my home.
cross fingers that my aches will be lots better!

If she is gd, I might book her for post natal coz her charges is 52 per session for 7 days. I more budgeted... and she told me she got 14 yrs experience.

Wow Linda, can pm me her contact too? Thanks!

Most prob I'm gg babies bellies for pre natal massage.. They charge 55/hr I think

mommy 2008: i have the same problem.. my shoulder is aching like mad everyday cos of work.. then sit too long, backache... walk too long, legs ache.. aiyoh... for now, my hubby is the one massaging me, but not much use cos he's no expert..

me also interested in prenatal massage.. Linda, can share contact?

i've booked my postnatal with someone else, www.relaxingpostnatalmassage.blogspot.com recommended by my fren.. can check it out also.. her charges also not too exp..

hi hi ladies,

then i just share her contact here okie?
she's called Jenny 83305461. I got her contact from this Forum's (think its called the "malay massage thread)

by the way, she told me before if 2 pax, she'll charge $90 for 2. But provided its at the same premises hahaah...
PS: in case she quote u a higher amt, u can say Linda (Yishun), is charged $50 for 1.5hr ...

hope all our aches will be gone soon! cant wait to try out on mon.

If u gals also tried, can tell me if she's gd? coz i seldom massage, wont really know if the "standard" is there .hehehe

Hi any mummies suffering from motion sickness also? If yes, can tell me when will it go off? I'm in my wk 13...

My morn sickness started wk 6 till now... Sigh

Oh ya,
can anyone advise me roughly when should we be get the breastpumps huh?
I'm thinking of getting the Ameda (dual) but dunno when to start buying.
also dunno should get the US set (no warranty, but lots cheaper i guess) or Local set..

Linda: u're welcome! =) but she doesnt do prenatal..

for breastpumps, my mommy friends keep advising me not to buy first.. she says hospital has the pumps for us to try.. (gleneagles have, not sure abt others) but u can look ard and after birth, get ur hubby to go buy the one after u try in the hospital. one fren gave up after 3wks cos she had twins and couldnt keep up, so she thinks its a waste of money if we are not gg to BF for long. i'm thinking of medela freestyle or the avent duo..

personally, maybe buying first will make me more determine to BF cos i dun wan to waste money. i really hope i can persevere & BF at least 6 mths then switch to 50% BF and 50% formula. depends on individual preference..but i still deciding what to buy.. ahha.. prob buy after the bb fair in feb, i wan to ask about the pumps in detail..

Hi Linda, I'm Also gg to get ameda. It's as good as medela Pisa at half the price. I went to see it's usual is $399 but my friend told me to wait for taka sale cos at same price can get additional bottles, bag n cooler bag which is useful..

So wait for feb/mar to buy bah!

Yah hospitals can try..mine is at tmc I think they have medela n pigeon to try..Im thinking of buying first cos I will sure bf..latching or not =)

thanks Zara and Candymix for the feedback!

the taka sale, do we need to have taka card? or anybody can enjoy the sale?

CandyMix: ya my husband recommended me to get Ameda coz he read that the tubing or dunno which part doesnt flow back so will be cleaner or something like that.
and also that it is 1/2 price of Medela and lighter as well.. so prob will try out this brand in case not much milk hahah

Yumei, some women have morning sickness all throughout... I'm at 24 weeks and still have it too. Hang in there!

re breast pump> My SIL gave me a Medela Swing breast pump so hope to use that. But you can also rent a set locally to try it out to see if you like it! Check out: www.thebabyspecialist.com.sg

re gynae fees> My gynae charges about $2.3k for natural birth and $4.8k for water birth and twins. I really wanted a water birth until I saw the fees!

"AXA mothercare" plan that recommended by Thomson Medical Group is very good, and i just got mine. Thomson swich from prudential to AXA just started end of last yr, so think for those of you who wants to check it out, can give LUKE a call at 97299744. :)

Linda, the baby fair at taka is for everyone. Yah there are less parts to wash plus it's usable with 6 AA batteries or electric plug so quite portable..But according to my friend, the disadvantage is the valve always spoil lor..I guess every machine got good n bad lor

But if u use taka card got additional rebates of 6% so it's Like a discount..because of this I went to apply leh lol..6% is in the form of taka vouchers n taka vouchers got no expiry date 1...

I am using Ameda and i bought it during Robinson sales. Its not very noisy and it serves me well for a mth before i stopped bf due to my gal's lactose intolerance. Medela freestyle is good but really expensive. Its handsfree so can pump n do thngs at same time.

Linda maybe u can really wait till spoil then get extra valves? Maybe different for u..if it's not during sale time, u can get cheaper valves from baby kingdom in kaki bukit..

Btw any mummies still wearing wired bras? I'm wondering if it's affecting my boobs milk growth cos I don't really see an increase in cup size leh..only the length which I use extenders..I still can fit in normal cup size without any tightness or lines on the boobs..should I stop wearing?

Hi BabyL and Candymix for your advice!

CandyMix: Most of the time i am still wearing wired bras, but also still increase in cup size. Need to get new ones again coz seem to increase again. I tried to buy no wired ones, but the support like not so gd,boobs feels very heavy (though no wired v soft and more comfy).., so i no choice switched back to get wired ones..
my colleague did not increase in cup size but still got lots of milk supply

Ladies, when is the Taka baby fair? Was there on Thurs but didn't see anything. Do you know if Taka vouchers can be used during this fair? TIA!

Hi mummies, for the post natal masaage, any idea how long or how many sessions we need to do before we are back in shape? Does it also include other body parts like boobs and
Thighs? Any idea what is the frequency like?

Re: Buying pumps now or later
Basically, if you are determined to BF, you will need a pump eventually.

If you are a FTWM, then its good to invest in a good electric dual pump. This is because you have limited time to pump at work. If you use a single pump, you need lets say 15min per side plus massage time plus wash up time = 45-60 mins each time for pumping. You need to pump 2-3 times a day while at work so that works out to be 1.5-2h for 2 times and 2.25-3hours for 3 times. Take this out of a normal working day of lets say 9hrs. I think you get my point. If you have a dual pump, you express both at the same time, so prob less can settle in less than half and hour for each pumping session.

If you are a SAHM, then it depends on whether you latch on or you express. If you latch on fully, then a manual pump or single pump may suffice for those times when you need to express after latching or when you are out away from baby or those night feeds that your kid has dropped. If you express fully, then get a good dual pump as even though you are at home, spending the time pumping means not being able to do other things.

The best pumps (excluding those big hospital ones) around are generally Avent Isis (is it Isis or Iris?), Medela Freestyle, Medela PISA and Ameda. These are the "hospital grade" pumps that are suitable for consumer's own use. The rest of the pumps generally do not have the technology that helps to stimulate milk production. Which one you choose is up to personal suitability.

Before you buy a pump, do consider the situation where you are pumping. Important to consider where you are going to be pumping at work - is there a power supply? If there isn't, then no need to think, go for the freestyle coz the others need power supply. Freestyle is based on rechargable battery (not ordinary kind ok.. its their special kind). Also consider the weight of the pump and how you travel as if you are taking MRT/bus to work, you may not want to carry a pump that is too heavy and bulky (please remember that you need the pump + cooler bag).

Whether to buy now or later depends on what you are buying & whether it is easy to get. One pitfall to breastfeeding is the unavailability of a good pump to aid you in clearing your milk effectively during the inital days when milk comes in, hence leading to engorgement & pain which makes people give up.

Don't worry about milk supply. Like I've said many times. If you are willing to put in the effort and are determined enough, there are ways to increase milk supply. No milk seldom exist - its actually just lazy mum.

For myself, I bought a Medela PISA before the birth of my #1. Its a great pump but I could not tarhan the weight and bulkiness. I only brought it out once after confinement & I realised that since I take MRT to/from work then, I would be too tired from the weight of the pump. So I sold it off and bought a Freestyle which I have been using ever since. No regrets as even when I am out of office, I can simply find any clean toilet/ nursing room (even without power source) / empty room to express. The handsfree is great too as I can continue to do work while pumping. Just wash hands, set up, let the pump do the pumping while I work (I brought readings/laptop to the nursing room), stop and wash up.

Re: Cup Size & Milk
No relation between cup size and milk. A cup also can have a lot of milk. But underwire can cause blocked ducts... so get bras without wire.

Fifi: the medela freestyle battery is their special kind, so if it is spoilt how? i am intending to get the US import set.. do u think it's ok? it's almost half the price in Singapore. Or do you know of any retailer that is cheaper in Singapore?

Re Cup Size & milk: i'm still wearing wired to work too.. but i bought the extenders to loosen it so that it's more comfy.. i also bought nursing bras with no wires... which i wear on weekends when i'm at my parent's place.. more comfy..

peaberry: there will be 2 baby fairs at expo (17-19 Feb and 24-26 feb) and taka fairs is usually in March (according to my fren).. yes, u can use taka vouchers at all their fairs, but cannot accumulate points in the taka card..

re post natal massage: my fren did it for 10days consecutively (except for Sundays) and she said it's better than spreading it out.. usually starts abt 5-7 days after normal vaginal delivery. if caesarian, must wait at least 12-15 days before massage.. or chk with gynae..

Since we are on the topic of breastpumps, would like to ask, how do we maintain/clean the pumps after each use? Would just rinsing with water suffice?

And between Ameda and Medela's freestyle, which is the more portable one? I was planning on getting the freestyle, but I might consider Ameda as well since it's so much cheaper.

Zara: Taka was having sale last weekend for Medale Freestyle - $699(includes free delivery). With Taka Card, another 10% discount - abt $629.

I guess that is the cheapest in Sg.

candymix: I still wear wired bras.. now i see my breasts not that big but cos of the growing tummy. haha.. i started with the bra extenders then went to get new bras. Lucky i did cos i didnt know i was suffocating my breasts.. I was a 70B then now a 85C... so better to walk into a bra shop and ask them to measure. If alot of difference, better to "upgrade" else quite xin ku

yumii: u can wash the parts with your bottle sterilizer.. =)

kulogy: i was there, but no more Freestyle.. and my fren ask me to hold on cos she can get US set at $430!! save $200!!

re bras: yah.. can go john little expo.. got a lot of bras on sale also!! but i was too lazy to try..

zara:
Its rechargable battery by Medela. If spoil, can buy replacement from Medela Singapore.The retailers that sell cheaper are usually selling US set. I am using a US import set. Basically, no warranty but servicing during first year is rare unless you super suay. After that, servicing is more ex compared to those bought from them but the difference is still less than the price difference in the set. So... unless you are that suay to need to service lets say 3 times or more, then US set will be cheaper (I am using full retail price for comparison as sales are not fixed). I only serviced once and that is after 3 years. :p

yumii:
I wash with baby dishwashing liquid after use. Sterilise once a day. Medela freestyle is of coz more portable. The pump is only palm size. :p

I didnt know only Freestyle doesnt require electricity. This is something i didnt consider. I intended to buy Ameda and maybe now hv to change plan. I heard lots of good reviews on Freestyle but its a lot exp than Ameda.

If the US set for Freestyle is good, maybe we can consider to buy in spree. Think in Nov there was one in this forum. I almost wanted to purchase but hold back since i still got 6mths to delivery, want to research more. The price was SGD450.

I intend to get all my BB items at taka fair once. Foir taka card, its the one linked to DBS right? Think its 5% rebate only according to BDS website, not 6 or 10% leh.

I am wearing non-wired n wired bras now. Non-wired is so much comfortable but i hate the band at the bottom which makes me sweaty n hot. Support also not that good. I wear wired bras only if i need to be strapless coz non-wired usually comes with straps. Wired can make me feel tight n breathless sometimes. Maybe my fit is wrong ba.... I still havent invest in a good nursing bra...

Fifi: thanks! very helpful info!! =) i will prob get the US set then..

rabbitz: taka card is the DBS one.. the usual rebate is 5% but last week, there was a additional 10% discount for card members during the Taka Sale..

Ameda pump> actual Ameda pump can work both on power supply or 4AA battery. My workplace have power supply so I usually use power and only use batteries when I go out to site with no power supply. Good thing is Ameda use AA battery. So it's easily available

Re: Pump,

Agree with Fifi - if you are a FTWM, do invest in a good dual pump... will help a lot in cutting timefor pumping.

For #1, I used Medela PISA (Freestyle was not available then). One of the reason I chose PISA was because you can use it with battery (I think if I remember correctly) whereas Avent need to use power fully. No option for battery. Ameda - one of my friend commented that if you have a large nipple, then it can be painful. She tried it once and quite painful whereas Medela is more comfortable. Plus got the PISA on sale at that time for around 500+ (close to 600) so I just bought it.

Weight wise, PISA is heavy but on the positive side, helps you to work out lugging it around

Re: Cleaning Pump,

During Mat Leave, I would wash pump and sterilise every usage. When I went back to work, initially I used the microwave bag to sterilise - after a while, I just put the pump in a plastic bag and put it directly in the fridge. But once home, would wash + sterilise.

Re: bra,

I'm still wearing a mix of both - but mostly without wire (non nursing ones) and I chose cotton material because it is more comfortable. Bought mine from Sorella.