(2012/04) Apr 2012

Lovexuan
Omg hives!? Poor boy! Better now?

good on you for bringing the kids out so much! it does help with sanity eh?

Sleeping through
Sigh,. My #1 slept thru at 6 weeks. I remember it very clearly cos it was Beijing Olympics time. She slept from 1030pm till 6am . now #2 wakes 2-3 times at night. Slept through ONCE only, just to sia me. Budden #1 was half FM, half BM. #2 is breastfed with 1 FM feed a day. Maybe that’s the diff.

I think I am saboing myself by offering the boob buffet through the night. But it’s the only thing I can do to get some sleep! If not in day time I will be super zombie!!!

Anxious, now i realise that it's easier to use an ergo carrier for newborns. Pupsik pouch will be much more useful when baby's head is steady like 4 months old above. It's tight but your hand should still be able to slip into the pouch. Practise at home first. :p

I train my boy to sleep on his own. He is always drowsy when i lay him in the cot. Then i will tuck him under the blanket so he has a sense of security. Pat his bum a few times and i will leave the room while he dozes off. No sleep associations unless he's feeling upset or cranky after jabs etc. But i don't understand why he would not sleep on his own during the day! Must be carried or sleep on top of me. Babies are really complicated little human beings. Lol

haru, the maximum time babies at this stage can stay awake is 1.5 to 2 hours. So try to play with him a little after feed or go for a stroll then settle him back to sleep again to alow more waking hours? My boy can spend 30 minutes blabbling and laughing with his cot mobile. Then he will yawn when tired and i will quickly put him into the carrier to sleep. Haha.. Don't wake a sleeping baby. Extend his waking hours after his feed. But all babies are different. Some just take longer. ;)

Lovetian:thanks for advice! Will try again.

Looks like I m not alone! My no 1 slept through the nightin her 2nd month with no training but no 2 keeps waking up for milk every 2-3 hourly. First month was worse- hourly to 2 hourly feeds. Both r total BF and I can't understand why the difference.

lotusmum
so is better and value if i sign up for member or just pay by per visit?
Is it like sign up pay 140 + 4 so total 144?
and every next visit i pay 4 again?

My no 1 also slept through the night. No 2 sleeps like clockwork at 7.30 and wakes up for one feed at 2.30. I've tried waking her up at 11 for a feed ( so I can sleep through) but she wont have it. I don't know if it helps but I give her her 7.30 feed in the dark and put her down in her cot after. It seems to help her put herself to sleep. Getting her down in the day is a problem though. She wants to be carried and wakes up when she's put down.

pinkbunny,
Much much better now! Thanks! Going to bring him to a PD later to double confirm he's fine. After that previous incident, i get a phobia whenever i see these things on him. Motherhood is super challenging for me this time round. My poor boy!

Oh yes. I cannot stand being home cos i feel those walls are going to cave in on me or something!

Sleeping,
Actually i am not too sure if fm really helps baby to sleep longer. Cos my boy was on fm, no bm when he was warded but never once slept through. I continued to give every night after that but it makes him angry instead. He wants the boobies! Then i made a wrong decision to stop bottle and now he hates bottle and my boobies don't get any rest. He's still taking about 8 feeds a day!! Not bad. Down from 20 to 15 to 10, now 8...

Chalis,
My boy too! He's ok with his cot at night. But during the day, he's in the carrier the whole time except when i need to cook or go toilet!! Put him down and he wakes or cries. Once i put my hanky which was soaked with fresh bm next to his nose and he actually slept. But like quite disgusting so i stopped! He just wants to smell me, smell the milk.. Thinking of getting a play gym to keep him entertained but not a very good investment? Will outgrow soon..

B@by, his PD at NUH recommended to take the shots at 6wks. We are first time parents and didnt know any better so we just said go ahead. Had no idea that the fever will be so persistent and didn't know that the rota shot can bring on diarrhea.
Haru, thanks for the well wishes. Baby's temperature just went up again after staying calm since last night. it just keeps coming back after going down
... he is cranky again. i think he is havin stomach discomfort.

Hi jellio, my PD also recommended 6 in 1, pneumococol, and rota for my gal to be taken at 8 weeks. From what u encounter, I guess I should really consider whether to let her have the rota next week. But my son took the 3 shots 2 years back and he was ok with it. Btw, I was wondering since bb is still small, what kind of medicine did they prescribe to lower the temperature? You can apply Ru Yi oil on his stomach.

They only gave paracetamol. He is too small to take anything else
. The fever come and go for one week already. He had the jabs last wed. They gave some powder medicine that have to mix with water and give him for the diarrhea.

Reborn
If you have 2 adults and 3 children, then don't have to pay extra $4 co's 1 adult to 1 child. Yes, the additional $4 is for every visit with additional adult, but sometimes, the staff couldn't be bothered or can take turns going in..I bought the package cos more worthwhile, and went there very often.. Can share with friends somemore..

Lovexuan,
You can be my "sleep guru". Thanks for the tip. By the way, what time does your baby sleep at night?

Haru, SSP, Pinkbunny,
so glad am not going through this alone!!

Chalis,
You are lucky both your kids are sooooo well-trained!

Jellio,
Wow, that is pretty early for 6 in 1 hor? My #1 took all her shots at polyclinic so am going to do the same for #2....polyclinic does 6in1 at 3 months!
Hope your baby will get well soon, if you are worried of the prolonged fever, maybe best to see the doc?

Jellio, yr pd gave med for fever for yr bb ? Hw old is he ?

I brought my gal to take her 1st 6 in 1 jab yesterday. Asked for med, e dr said cannot take med as she oni 2 mths old, too young. My gal started to have fever since last nite n today e temp still flucuntating, yet to go bk normal. Called clinic, they said sponge her to bring temp dwn but no med coz not advisable.

Izit really too young cannot take fever med ? Temp muz go up to wat degree den is consider red alert ?? Her temp ranges bet 37.7-38.2....

For mummies advice! Thx.

2nd night that i struggled with a crying baby at night during bed time. i think what i am doing wrong is that i shower him, he drifts off to sleep and then i pick him up to bring him to my mom's place for dinner. he then wakes up and stays awake till we come home. hence over tired and stimulated. hence i am gonna try showering him a little later so that he can go to bed after his shower w/o getting his sleep disrupted. gonna have to try to work out a plan and routine for both kids since we normally have dinner at grandma's on weekdays. will be one tough puzzling work!

had a nice long afternoon nap today when both kids napped. one of the rare times that both kids napping at the same time and #1 actually napped longer than an hour, allowing mama to have a much needed break.

Aprilbaby, I bought my son to the hospital twice liao. Once to A&E. Luckily his diarrhea finally stopped. I never knew I'll be so happy to see baby shit that looks like pasty mustard...LOL. The diarrhea make his stomach pain so he was so cranky the last two days. Cry and cry and hubby and me had to take turns to carry him the whole night.

Bbliss, my PD gave paracetamol even though my baby is 6wks. We just decided to do the vaccinations at NUH cos they offered us the 6in1 package at $230 so we just go ahead. I think they say poly clinic is more expensive. We are first time parents so we just take whatever the PD recommend. I didn't even know that 6wks is early for 6in1. I thought it's standard

If I knew, I would have waited till baby is older. He is so poor thing. Fever since last thurs till now. But he is much better today, never hit 38degrees. The A&E PD say 38 degrees is the danger point. If more than that for baby under 3 mths must quickly go hospital.

There was once my nipple bled when I was feeding my boy but I only realized when I saw blood on his mouth. The was when he was very young when he was 1 wk old. The lactation consultant say its ok to continue to breast feed. Baby drink a bit of blood in the milk is ok but I thought it was disgusting so I gave the other breast that was ok.

I pour away the PINK milk as I also think it is not ok for my baby to drink, just happen the pink milk is produced by my more supply breast, so heartpain to pour away those. My left side the most can pump 50ml, sian, think got to give fm liao, haiz... not sure if I need to go n see GP today?

Hi devil mom, my nipple bleed while I was expressing milk before and I called tmc breast feeding hotline.. Was advised to rest tt side for 1 cycle and if it continues, I was told to call parent craft centre. Guess if u r a tmc mummy, u can call them up to c if the problem continue? The other hospitals probably have a similar department? Was told to pour away the milk too (T_T) .. My milk supply isn't strong , tt was a heartache .

Lovetian, just saw ur post on mosquito patch. Just a suggestion - Why don't u use those electrical type Mosquito repellant at home? Then dont have to rem to change daily.. just bought another type from guardian which we can put out like gel air refresher too; have not try yet..

Regarding the outing
Don't dare to bring out bb alone yet cos I don't know how to keep the pram plus hold the bb plus the diaper bag plus get into the cab yet! Will practise and join the next outing !
but I see tt most mummies here are bring 1 child n 1 bb!!! How on earth do u ladies do tt???

My boy always do stretching a lot when I lay him down in bed..the expression is like he wants to poo..draw his both leg up and clenching his hands..but he doesn't cry. Even in his sleep, he does that.
But if we carry him, he will not do that..
Bowel movement is normal..4-5 times a day, only windy stomach..
Is the above normal? I'm really at lost now..he has been like that since 3rd week n now he is in 5th week.
Day time, he only can sleep if I carry him huhu
Yesterday, i tried to let him sleptr on his tummy and he can sleep without any movements

Hello fellow mummies, nice meeting u all here. Got to know this forum from a frend who's also a mummy but from last yr's group.
Btw my Bb boy just turned 6 wks n got the 6in1 shot Ytd. Dctr gave infant panadol drops n was wondering if I can add it in his milk to feed him? Cuz dctr gave a sringe for the drops. Didn't manage to ask the dctr as my hubby was the one paying while I was nursing him. Aftr that I totally forgot abt it!

Erm so meaning 6 in 1 vaccination no need to b given at 2 mth old? Even 3 mth old is fine?
My pd fr mt a gave me a scheduled list of jabs required till 2yrs. His 6 in 1 can b given at 1.5 mths. But i m not going back there.

Lovexuan: Gina ford recommends baby be in a blackout room during the day. Wonder whether to get blackout curtains. I'd have to get new curtain rods though.. Hmm..

Haru: please include me for meet up on 4 June. I'm using my phone so a little hard to update list at the moment.

Hania

My boy also do this even he is now 7 weeks. He will pull his legs when he is passing motion/urine/fart. Not to worry. For windy stomach, try to burp by placing him upright, head resting at your shoulder. I tried burping my boy by sitting upright on my lap but failed. Now i can hear his burp almost after every breastfeeding or EBM.

Silverygal
6 in 1 include hep B 2nd jab? I m taking 5 in 1 so polyclinic schedule at 3mths. On the health booklet , it is also stated 6 in 1 jab to do at 3mth, 4mth & 5mth.

Hi suki, do you stroke his back downwards or upwards while burping him? Was doing it downwards but yesterday a stranger told us that it should b upwards while we were dining at a cafe..Hmmm

I stroke my baby upwards when burping. I think the antennal class thought us to do that. I also hold up against my shoulder to burp. I find that it's easier for him to burp like that.

Sometimes if he doesnt burp, I'll let him sleep slanted slightly upright first using a big pillow then lay him flat 10 mins later. If I lay him flat straight, he will regurgitate milk.

I cup my hand and pat at the back. I saw tmc nurses and pd doing circling motion at back and i follow. Yes , it is easier to burp over the shoulder.

Do mummies come across baby getting fussy at evening time before bedtime? My boy has been doing the same routine since he is 4 weeks from 6 to 9 pm , crying , refusing to sleep. I read about cluster feeding, not sure when will this be over? Thanks

hi mommies!
my baby was so awake this morning at 4am! was cooing away in his cot until 5am started to whine and i fed him again to help him drift to sleep. but then he started whining again at 6am and then at 7am..in e end i let him feed and then sleep in my arms...

baby has been enjoying sleeping in his rocker during e day but i think i better try to let him sleep in his cot in the day too. let him get used to both. else next time no rocker he can't fall asleep!hahah..

kathy,
i guess its out of necessity that we learn. today i brot my baby and #1 to my office to visit my colleagues. carried baby in carseat coz my office has stairs so stroller is not possible.

suki,
me!!! but i only experienced it coz he got woken up when we brot him to my parents place for dinner after he dozed off after his bath. so i guess his sleep kinda got disrupted so today am gonna try to not break up his sleep and see if he fusses. coz before this he was actually ok..do bear in mind that sometimes the baby may have been so stimulated in the day so they may be tired by evening time. i have not tried cluster feeding too.=P

chalis,
great!!! no worries! just join us...

re:mommies gathering
should we all exchange contact or better yet if we all have WhatsApp shall we form a chat group so we can keep in touch on that day?

hania: my baby does that too very very often..he will stretch, beat his hands and legs and his whole face goes red..when he sleeps on his back in the afternoons, he get startled easily so I put him on his tummy to sleep and he sleeps really well..

He even does the stretching when he is drinking milk, and his hands n legs can keep kicking once he is awake..like never get tired..

Thanks mummies..
Thank God, today my boy fart a lot..his burping n farting is like music to my ears =p motherhood is so challenging..i am still trying to enjoy it now..
I've just went to motherhood baby fair..a lot of diapers promotion..today went alone, only by 3 packs..so heavy already..will go again to buy pampers..the price for 2 S size is $30..good buy..just now i bought huggies S size for 2 is $25 and the free gift is medela bottle..goon S size is $15.
Anyone try nepia before?how is it?

Chalis,
I find that it's odd to sleep in a dark room during the day! So i just dim the blinds. Anyway i don't follow her method 100%. Haha.. I improvised it to suit my kids.

haru,
PMed you about the meet up.

I brought my boy to polyclinic but the doctors told me they cannot diagnose! So i brought him to PD and was told it's not hives. Hives are itchy but his red patches are neither itchy nor painful. Just have to let his system flush out by itself. No medication. Been almost a week but red patches still there... What else can i do? He looks so poor thing!

Hania
Nepia cutting is bigger and thinner. overall is comfy but that was like 5-6yrs ago i bought for my #2... They do have home delivery but i dunno now still have or not

Vaccination
I also taking the 5 in 1 + another 2 more jab. will done at polyclinic too.

Outing
Yesterday bring all 4 with my hb to united sq toy rus buy toys for my 3 girls. No bad, the 1st time bring bb shopping and our car plate appear on yesterday 4D 1st prize but never buy.... Haha... Spend on toys for $300+ and change car brake $2800 ... Haiz

Sleeping
My boy after feeding and rest for an hour will put him on his tummy and can sleep longer...

Bath
Now whenever i told my boy count to 3 and we are done then he will start to scream and cry super loud.

Kathy - try this, before waving at the handsome cabby driver, bring your baby up and put into the carrier, then carry your diaper bag, last step fold up the pram. Its time to wave
I took bus using the same method.

Regarding pink milk - I got it too occasionally, its internal bleeding. Other than skip 1 cycle, what other method?

Any more joining us?

April mummies lunch:
Venue: 313 somerset, marche (ground floor)
Date; 4 june Monday
Time: 1145am till whenever we need to leave

1. Pinkbunny + poppy (age 4) + calla (7 weeks)
2. lovexuan + ashlyn(4.5 years) + ambrose(7 weeks)
3. haru + heidi (3.5 years) + reyes (5 weeks)
4. Baby dragon + vera (7 weeks)

Think I will give Monday's outing a miss. Look forward to the next one when I'm more ready to go out with baby on my own. Baby taking his 6 in 1 vaccination on Monday. Hope he take it well.

Lovexuan, hope the red patches clear soon.

B@by Dragon, wow. Sounds very challenging. And take bus somemore. Steady!

Must go out, I can't tahan trapping myself at home. Furthermore now got GSS, best is shop during weekdays, no crowd, don't have to fight for sale like aunty.

Gifffy - welcome

There's a baby fair at expo these few days. Got some very good deals to grab, remember to go. Planning to go today, lesser ppl, sat n sun must bring weapon to fight for deal. Keke

Hi baby dragon, I have called KK hotline regarding pink milk, I was advised to lower the pumper power, massage nipple and breast everytime before and during pumping. And was told the pink milk is perfectly fine to let our baby to drink, but I still think it is a bit yucks, so I pour away although it is wasteful.

Hmm... Times reali flies. I b gg bk to work in 1 mth time liao. Nw starting to feel sian Liao coz can't bear to leave my gal upon starting wk. Another thing tat make mi even more sian to go work is my Tummy !! Been 2 mths since giving birth, e tummy still ard. All my clothes cannot fit. Look so unsightly wif e presence of tat tummy.... Even tot I have shredded over 10kg of wt (but still have more to go), e tummy juz refused to be flatten. Argh.... Nw dunnoe go where buy clothes tat can fit n hide my tummy....

M upgraded fr M size to L/XL nw.
wonder if there any big size mama here that share e same agony *sobz*

Hi b@by, sounds like a better plan than wat I'm doing now: push stroller , cab stop, grab bb n throw to mum or sis, they go into cab, grab n throw diaper bag, grab n fold stroller.. Each trip made me breathless. Problem is: I haven't bought a carrier for NB! Realised that the one I have is for 6 mths n up ; i haven't figured out how to use my sling yet. Haiz. Will try to go expo bb fair to get one! Join you ladies for gathering the next round

Hi bbliss, me too; size m to now l.. I wear dresses to hid the tummy. Not the fitting type but looser ones or baby doll. Don't know wat products to use or can we exercise already? I used a Malay massage lady previously; it helped but I HATE to b wrapped up like a dumpling everyday..