(2012/04) Apr 2012

Bb full mths
from my past 3 full mths experience i do at home but the cleaning job like hell. mine all start from 1pm to 8pm on weekend. because most of my in law side relative only can come in the evening only. so by the time they all went off at least 11pm and still needs to drive my in laws back home. after all gone i need to clear and mop.... so by the time i finish Will be 1 or 2am liao.
So this time round i talk to my hb i dunno to do all this stupid job again, i need rest. if really need, we shall do it in the community center or ballroom at my hb condo. chomp chomp from 1pm to 5pm den we go home rest.

Reborn: u can really tahan from 1-8pm. For me, i planning to make it a 3hrs event. Lunch buffet on sun. Most ppl dun work on sun so much easier. Anyway i only doing for my hubby's side cos my mum dun really want. Heehee... Can save a bit!

Silvery gal
sometimes is things i can't control. those in laws very hard to understand how tired we are. my mil very dirty and nv look after children b4. only know how to use mouth.
I guess my mil is the worst..... Nobody black heart than her.

Haru - neo garden giving 15% discount but need the promo code. They give for baby shower or 1st year birthday. Do let me know if you need the code. Must uise their discount since you are their fan

Mummies, is it normal to hav brownish discharge aft VE? I'm 38 weeks n dilated 2cm n baby head is quite low, does tt means baby wil pop anitime soon..? My 1st was induced at 37 week due to water level low so nw I feel like a first time mum again... Lol

Silvery_gal
when i was asked to go get induced for my #1 at Thomson at midnight( i went around 11pm) they did not charge me for that night.

Reborn,
hang in there. i had really bad post natal depression for #1 so hubby more understanding this time, but still men are men we constantly must remind them!!!

Trx: I think is normal, my gynae did the VE last week and my cervix jus open 0.5 cm ..sad..
after that i also got pinkish discharge follow by brown discharge.. it should go away in 1 to 2 days time. I am going to 40 weeks .. pray hard i dont need to go for induce. Got to do alot of walking n squatting already..

anyone popping today? =D gosh, i hardly slept last night coz i was feeling crampy all night and even turning, getting up from bed etc was painful and a challenge..

pinkbunny,
ya boy, and i was home alone coz hubby was on shift the night that she had high grade fever. she normally hates the cold patch. but i managed to negotiate with her to use it (by letting her sleep on my bed, etc).hhaha...she still has a slight fever today but defintely much better! may let her rest from school for one more day tomorrow..

hang in there!! it is such hard work to make sure baby is fed enough eh? ganbatte!!!

babydragon,
thanks for the offer! i will be hosting 1st month party outside to save ourselves the hassle of cleaning, etc. plus that way we can keep it short and sweet since we are only allowed use of the place for limited time. hubby wanna do outside too coz we did the same for #1.

Re: hubby
i think for guys, u just gotta tell them straight. dont beat around e bush to get to the point. They would appreciate directness more. they just dont have the instinct to guess what we are thinking or trying to imply from our actions and comments.

Ms tan : haha instead nw i'm prayin hard baby stays for at least another week so tt my baby's cot can b done Tis week n I can watch another movie on weekends wen my #1 is at my mum's place.. So mayb I shall slp more n walk less..

Cl
i have decided to fired this cl and just get confinement catering for dinner and lunch.....
So piss off.... i really cannot tahan anymore.....
The more i see and talk to her the more i Will die faster!

Wow, the thread's been moving really fast. Congrats to all the mums who have popped!

For mummies who express, do you bottle feed your baby? I was told to syringe feed to top up but baby refuses. So tempted to put her on the bottle for some of her feeds. She also tends to sleep for long periods it's near impossible to wake her up. She's definitely not getting her 8-12 feeds a day! Anyone who's faced this?

Chalis: when i was at the hosp, the nurses told me must wake bb up for feeds every 3 hourly.. Rub his ears, cheeks.. Rub his feet.. If still sleepy to take his clothes off..

Reborn: yay ur bb is at home! Enjoy ur time with baby, hope he is ok now le.. And no CL also ok.. Most impt u must take the confinement food..

Am gonna go for another 3 days of massage starting tml! Mon, wed and fri.. Then Sunday my bb full month! Yay!

Hi just give birth on 12 April. Didn't manage to sleep for past 3 nights.. So stress up. I was suppose to be induce on 13 April but 12 April mild contraction start at 6 plus. N intense contraction begin at 1pm dilate by 4 pm n give birth at 5pm , consider quite smooth. Natural with epi. I dilated very fast so only got the epi at 6cm dilated ..

Yesterday back at home can't manage.
My bb is on breast feeding n keep sleeping n never get up for feed from 7pm to 4 am n I panick wake him up for feed n he do not what . Until cl today arrive n say bb too hungry n feed him 60ml of formula n he finish all. Lucky got cl n everything to be in place ..
I manage to pump milk at 30 ml..
Breast very engorge worst got a lump at my armpit n engorge as well .. Cl say it's the lymph node got blocked.. I think maybe I go see doctor. Any one got this problem?

He has jaundice at 174 .. Cl say have to feed 3 hourly if not jaundice wouldn't drop

Wah thread moved really fast.

Reborn, glad baby finally home. Yay!! And you did the rite thing, no CL is better than being annoyed by her yet no help.

Aprilmum, can i ask when you induce at TMC is recently? I went for my check up and also low water level, may have to induce this week. Gynea said will insert pill and hv to sleep 1 nite then see if got contraction in the morning. So will have to sleep in the ward, not delivery room rite? So they should charge for 1 nite already? You mean you admitted at 11pm and they didn't charge you for the night you sleep there? Sorry a bit blur? Can explain to me?

Haru, hi 5. I slept very little recently. Tummy itchy, back pain and keep having to pee. Might as well deliver and start the sleepless nites

Pinkbunny, kudos to you ! I can't imagine myself handling a baby and a sick toddler. Jia you!!

Re hubby
Agree w other mummies. Most men are not thoughtful. I quarrel and cried a lot during confinement of my no 1 cos hubby attitude. This time round gonna be worse, as I having another girl and he only wants boy. So I doubt if he would care at all. He still help me do hsework and take care of no 1, but almost never mention abt the coming baby, do any preparation and ask me how I feel...So reborn, dun be sad or think too much, I got it worse
and dont even let me start on in-laws haha...

Sigh, another sleepless nite ahead...

Sotong: muz wake bb up using above methods I mention every 3 hour.. As just born they really very sleepy. I know jaundice must make them poo out so the bilirubin is cleared out from the body. Also if it's breastfeeding jaundice don't eat confinement food n feed to him.. Freeze the batch and only feed the subsequent one.. Sun him every morning.. He's about 3 weeks and level drop to 124 le..

Desperatemum: hugs! Muz talk to ur hubby.. Daughter is also his child.. U and the baby do not deserve such treatment just becos of gender.. N giving birth is really so traumatizing already still add on to our worries! Grrr!!

Hi sotong
Congrats on your bundle of joy.
Your cl is right that baby needs adequate milk intake or jaundice can worsen. Apart from feeding frequency, another indicator is no of wet diapers per day - should be at least 6. Find this useful if latch cos don't know how much they drinking.

Regarding lumps in your armpits, can either be lymph nodes or due to blocked ducts. Cos can have some glands near armpit. By the way, should not have any lumps in the breasts Esp after latching or pumping. If there is, very likely blocked ducts and must clear them to prevent infection. And milk output will not improve if ducts r blocked. I had lymph nodes iin both armpits as well as blocked ducts when my milk came in. The nodes r now much smaller after a few days of clearing the ducts.

realised dat i always MIA during weekends... Lol.. i'm getting so excited. last week of work & i'm starting my ML next week. another 2 more weeks to go for this wonderful jpurney.

sotong: congrats & rest well k

I think my stress level gone much better. Last night my cl gone and my bb sleep beside me... i got a more peaceful sleep.

feeding
my boy been using tube feeding so he dun really know what is latch on and bottle feed. my milk now beginning to come in. so far from yesterday discharge till now i have not let him drink any fm... all ebm. kind of happy....
Haiz.... got to train my boy how to bottle feed and latch on.....

Hubby attitude
all my previous 3 are girls and this is the only boy. really can see the diff.... for girls my hb hardly or nv feed and and diaper change or bath. but for this boy, he keep on wanna to do everything himself and put him slept beside him during afternoon nap. really a gems for him...
Oh ya.... my boy hospital bill for 5 days staying in NICU cost ard 6k.... So ex.... but he also didn't say much thing.
But for my bill for ard 4k+ he keep on nagging say should go kkh, there cheaper! mens are so #&*₩₩¢¥

reborn : glad to know bb is fine now
reg feeding, babies adapt fast so not to worry..

u did ligation?? isit painful?? mind to ask ur age? i'm having my #3, 1 boy 2 girls, wanted to do ligation bt gynae suggest IUD instead :'(

Desperate mum
My 11pm induction was for my #1 in 2009. I checked in at TMC at 11pm, nurse insert first pill and I was kept at the observation ward until we got a room around 4ish
!! Then I was happily enjoying breakfast and tv in te room, no sign of cervix open at all, so doc came and insert 2nd pill then after that cervix open 0.5cm. My first baby took me 32hours before she arrived!!!

This time round, my water level was also low, but guy ae say #2 will be fast just walk in at 8am, I didn't even got the pill, straughtaway clear bowel, insert epidural, insert oxytocin drip and wait.
This time round only waited 6 hours. Even managed to enjoy the brand new delivery suite for 4hrs, quick shook!

Oh, for the11pm induction in 2009, they didn't charge me for the night I checked in, not sure whether it's because we only gotour room around 4am, but I remembered the nurse during registration told us that that our 3day 2night package will start from the next night.

So tong
I also had lumps on day 3 after delivery, baby wanted to latch every hour, and he latches on for 1hr every time until my nipple was so sore, but I grit my teeth and persevere, day 4 my breast was super engorged, but I guess I have a very good sucker, so he managed to clear my lumps and hard breast when the milk came in.
Swollen lymph nodes are just indicTion of infection, docs can't do much, just need to make sure you emptynyour breast, let your baby suckle more often?

Mummy baby 2008
i'm 30.... i wanna to ligation after my #3 which was 4yrs ago but Dr say too young so cannot.
After ligation next morning wake up to walk was pain.... but after day 5 the pain Will be much lesser. but i think depend on u lo. all my normal deliver after 4hr i can walk normal, no problem.

How to clear block duct ? By massaging ?
I just let bb latch on for like twice a day to stimulate n just pump out every 3 hr interval , I find it's more effective this way.
Once milk flow start to come in is it still necessary for bb to latch on to stimulate flow?
The nodes seem to soften but still swollen like a fat armpit so gross.

Bb got heat rashes with pus , what should I do ?

At which level jaundice is consider moderate ?
Today just sun him under morning

aprilbaby: wow 32hrs! So scary... cos mine still not open so scare by fri still not opened, i also have to wait that long! Inducing this sat 41+2

Sotong: congrats!

Sotong: for blocked duct what I do is press hard on it plus massage it during pumping.. What I heard is latch le den pump can stimulate supply.. But pump le should be no need latch.. Not sure about the heat rash.. Jaundice level must be below 100 then considered safe level..

nappy cream
what nappy cream u all using??
I use
1. Desitin Blue ( but my #3 cannot use, allergy)
2. smith
3. Pureen ( given by TMC when discharge )

Sotong: apply warm compress over lumps for a few min, then massage the lumps towards nipple +/- pumping. It will hurt but bear with it. U will either feel lump soften or see milk leaking out. Baby latching is more effective than breast pumps to extract milk so I suggest latch on as often as u can. Apply warm compress over lumps before feeding.
If u doing post natal massage, ask the massage lady to clear ducts for u. They r good at that too.

Mummies, Today while walking lower adominal and pelvis area felt those aching pain and backache also. Therefore decided to take AL on Wes and when Thursday go for gynae check up will get MC from gynae to start ML on Thursday le. Suddenly felt so tired ..

reborn : i'm using blue desitin. heard from my fren mustela not bad.

mummies, have u decided on buffet caterer alredy?? any nice caterer to recommend & full month cake order?

re diaper cream, i have drapolene and pureen for everyday use. and desitin creamy (blue) for rash.

re caterer, i used orange clove for #1. its very very gd. full month cake, i intend to order only cupcakes for my office colleagues. cos not intending to do full month celebration. will only be going for a buffet with immediate family. cos so lazy to organise this time! hehe

any mummies have any good recommendation for a nice and cozy yet affordable buffet lunch venue?

Ladies.. Desitin is too strong for daily use.. It contains 10% zinc oxide! I use California baby calendula lotion for daily prevention and 1 tube of desitin creamy when for rash.. So far haven start using yet.. Hehe.

Sotong
I also use SSP's warm compress method plus massaging and it works. Give it a try, before you feed baby, just soak a towel in warm water, put over breast, then do the massage.

silvery_gal
Actually, one of my colleague told me that her gynae told her to do squats when she was overdue.
Maybe give it a try? Might speed up the process?
I also have a stubborn cervix...sigh...but #2 was much much better

Mummies, I am not gg to work tml onward already.. Tummy today whole day feel tight and have very bad backache. Hubby and mum both stop me from gg work le. So I will be home and start the waiting game

Silvery_gal, thank you! I hope my girl can tahan until weekend then be out.. I told her daddy at home is better if not mummy Muz take cab down with ah ma.. :p

Mrs kang
i think will be real soon. tummy become more hard with backache is some sign liao according to my gynae....

Reborn, ah!! It is getting more exciting after seeing your post! ! But funny is when I visit my gynae last Friday he say baby head not engaged yet. Then Today All these sign suddenly appear today!

congrats sotong!!

i have been having a rough time since last night. #1's fever and cough suddenly became worse and then i was feeling so sore everywhere i thought i was gg into labour. then i realized i was coming down w fever. brot her to e PD this morn and waited all day and turns out she has case of bronchitis. =( my fever subsided a fair bit but dunno why my body still aching like mad. my boobs also feeling a lil sore...

mrs kang,
my tummy becomes hard every day..turn hard for a while then soft again...is that normal?

Haru-I also don't know izzit normal le. Coz I only start to feel the tummy become hard and tight and backaches today. Might bring forward my Thursday appt to tml if tml morning i still feel the tightness.. Coz first time mummy very anxious le

Haru and silvery_gal, look like 3 of us having this harden of tummy sign.. Wonder is it really a sign of we popping soon
let us wait and see.. Coz my friend told me nearer to EDD will have fake contraction

Mrs kang
During my 36week i have those sign u say and my gynae told me im in early labour so give me those stop contraction pill... so good luck!