(2012/04) Apr 2012

Currently my ligation wound is making me crazy. i only can sleep on my back, worst than pregnancy. i cannot toss, the pain is horrible. Gynae say it Will take ard 2 week to heal. but the things is i hardly can get out of my bed once i rest on my bed. just imagine i still needs to get out of my bed to pump every 2 hrly? And i have not even carry my newborn bb yet since i deliver him.
feeling soooooo stress and helpless.....

Desperatemum- ya indeed 42wks is very long... Never expect to carry the bb inside me for additional 2 wks! Never try natural induce. Haha sex is sth my hubby would not want... Did not know spicy food can also induce... Hubby will b very vrry bz next wk, so other than bb wanting to come out wont try to induce already. Only walk n walk, squat n squat.

Reborn
It took so long to recover from ligation..
Milk will come in gradually. me also got lots of milk and came in on the 3rd day for no.1 so I thought will be the same for no.2, but no milk and engorgement.. Kept pumping to stimulate till got blister..very painful..

Mummies, there is baby fair at all og outlet from today till 25th April.. Those haven pop maybe can go for last miniutes shopping
btw mummies should we standby a tin of formula milk at home once we get home? Just incase our supply is low.. I am still thinking should I standby a tin, cause afraid mil will keep nagging me to give formula milk.

reborn: my gynae when for my #1 was Lawrence Ang too.. same like you, after a VE check, i felt so pain i couldn't stand in the lift. strange hor.. y so simliar one...

re ligation: i heard some say its very painful after op. is yours laproscopy? hugz ya.. must be a miserable time for you now...

MEinME: 4.22kg!! how u managed to carry? was it very xin ku when preg?? so pei fu you.. but congrats ya!

silvery_gal: yes, sex is quite effective, at least for me, hee..

Mrs Kang: you can buy from the pharmacy on the day of discharge. which hosp are you going to? for me, i bot Nan HA at TMC's pharmacy on my way home after discharge.

anyway, mummies, just want to rant about bf. really not easy leh.. every time i pump i try to squeeze out 5ml more than the previous time. but most times really no more droplets liao. starting to feel abit discouraged. dunno can continue anot...

Lilcatcus, I will be delivering at TMC too
I still thinking should I get a tin to standby. You know elderly not very into breastfeeding de.. Then if choy I don't have enough milk my mil sure insist on feeding formula milk if she know there is a tin at home :p

Btw for mummies who standby formula milk, may i know among these fews which one is good:

-similac
-nan ha pro
-enfa

MeinMe, congrats !!! 4.2kg is really big !!!

reborn,
sorry to hear about the pain, can the doctor give you pain killer to help ? i remember taking pain killer after delivery le, though i nv did ligation. my gynea gave me those safe for breast feeding one. really helped.

silverygal, lilcactus,
sex, spicy food, all didn't work for me. here i am.. still waiting... yesterday even dreamt i delivered...

mrs kang,
i heard many using enfa/nan. similac is a bit more heaty i think

btw lilcactus, reborn

about inrease the supply, besides pumping, i think it's good to drink at least 2l of water/ red dates tea a day. Plus eat porridge cooked with green papaya, fish or pork leg. Worked for me last time.

more impttly, must try to relax and sleep more. i know it's not easy but they always say when baby sleep you need to sleep. when you stress, it will surely affect the supply.

Breastfeeding is not a easy task! Mummies let all Jiayou on this breastfeeding path, as no milk can be as good as Breastmilk.. I also praying hard I can breastfeed my girl with not much problem

Piggy mum- thanks for your recommendation

i'm abit lost track after taking 2 days of leave to rest at home.. haha..

btw i just went for check up yest. 37 weeks 2 days baby weighs 3kg.. isit big?

recently not much movements from baby i think she's running out of space in my stomach

for those mummies who standby milk : i standby 400g of similac already, not planning to standby more as i dunno if baby is suitable anot. my #2 drank similac had heat rash on her face so i changed to enfa.

desperatemum, that's what i heard! That's also why i am so hesitant about seeing a lactation consultant. Now i bear with the pain and massage myself with hot towel to clear all the clogged ducts. As for helping baby to latch on correctly, I am relying on this website: http://kellymom.com/ So far very helpful! Hope your baby comes out soon!

Thought i want to share a bit about jaundice from my experience. My #1 has breastfeeding jaundice which lasted all the way till she was 6 weeks old. Though the levels were not dangerously high, we still had to bring her to polyclinic every alternate day for 6 weeks!! It was until the doctor told me to stop breastfeeding for 3 days that the jaundice finally cleared up. So for #2, the jaundice level was on the high side when he went back for review with PD at 4 days old. We chose to admit him in the hospital for phototherapy hoping to clear it up. In the mean time he would be fed formula milk as my #1 had breastfeeding jaundice. Thankfully when he was discharged, the jaundice level dropped tremendously and now at 10 days old, still dropping further..right now about 150 only. The PD told me our diet is very important if baby is on breast milk. For the first two weeks, we should avoid ginger, sesame oil, chinese wine, herbs and DOM etc. For breastfeeding jaundice, sometimes it can't be helped as baby is reacting to a particular hormone in the milk. But it's safe compared to newborn jaundice. Jmho! ;)

I did not stand by any formula milk at home. But i did buy a tin of 900g similac and thought of giving baby for a few days after he was discharged as he was not latching on well and could have breastfeeding jaundice. BUT!! Who knows... He hates formula and now the tin of super expensive formula is sitting there collecting dust... He can drink 100ml of ebm at a go but fm..30ml at most and he will give me the yuck look. Lol!

Mummies, when your gynae do cervix check for dilation? Am gg for my weekly appt tml and is 37wk plus, thinking if gynae will do cervix check.. Haha

mrs kang :

if i'm not wrong we share the same EDD 30 apr right??

i went for checkup yest, gynae didnt do the cervix check for me... btw is ur baby still very active now? mine seems to slow down on her movements le, dunno y

Mummy_baby2008, yeah we share the same EDD
.. I hope my gynae don't check yet.. Hee coz I heard some will bleed after checking.. My girl movement still okay.. Morning when she wake up will stretch, move.. Then I eat she also move then night time after dinner also will move
but I do heard that nearer to EDD the movement will slow down coz as they grow the space will get smaller so they will not move so much
but still must monitor the movement wor. I think is at least 10 movement a day and if there is no movement or lesser movement must go to hospital straight that is what my gynae told me.

What is your baby weight from yesterday check?

my baby's weight is ard 3kg when i checked yesterday. for my #2, after cervix check i went home for a nap it starts to bleed, like light menses.

I feed my bb enfalac, heard its good as more DHA compared to other brands, and it's not heaty. So far drink still ok.

Lilcactus: agree that don't stress! Take lots of water n soups! It also helps alot to relax while latching or pumping. For me I play iPhone while pumping and when I look down, wah got alot milk.. Don't stress about the amount! And keep massaging/ press on ur boobs it helps too..

desperatemum: ya, i'm trying to drink more water. but this time round, dunno why green papaya seems to give me the runs! both times that my cl cooked the soup, i had diarrhoea. so now dunno want to try that again anot.

i started to have brownish discharge since 4am this morning, accompanied by contractions which i thought was quite regular. Used Iphone contraction apps to track, around 5-8 mins per interval..
call up clinic and was told to go for a check, did my first dilation check but nothin has happened, not even 1cm.. Gynae only commented her head is pretty low.

Then was on that CTG machine for 1/2 hr- everything is good, told me to go home and monitor.
Right now im still having that brownish discharge and some on off contractions.
i finally understand how tiring the waiting game is.

so, Jia you april mummies!

mrs kang : is this ur #1?? as this is my #3, i keep looking out signs for labour as alot of pple says dat #3 may pop out fast. i'm still working right now & planned to start my maternity leave on the 23rd. however, juz came out from a meeting & my boss actually says dat vesak day holiday will be brought forward to 30april, which means if i tahan last week of april, i can start my ML on the 2nd onwards

wondering if i should do dat or just go as planned rest on the very last week

Mummy_2008, yup this is my #1
hoping she can pop out next weekend when she is 38week plus .. But also abit scare .. Cause don't know what will happen in real labour :p

Lilcactus
No CL this time round. Decided not to for sake of privacy. No space for CL to sleep! Have engaged services of neighbour to cook confinement food for me and our PT cleaner to come more often. Hubby has stepped up to the challenge and has taken on all the dishwashing responsibilities

I'm sure your mum would be happy to help. It's her time to spend with her grandchild too
can just ask her to cook and not clean, then not so taxing for her.
I also shower my girl (or supervise cos now she just wants to do it by herself!) And brush teeth with her etc. Like what Haru says, life still goes on!

Fantasy
According to PD all the wines and herbs also attribute to jaundice. I just put baby near window at 8am and 5pm as per his instrutions. Sun front and back for 10 min each

Come come, I make you feel better and more guai - I showered and wash hair with normal shampoo liao in hospital

Reborn
Hope your milk comes in soon. Try to latch on more?

Meinme
Whoa power! Lucky you opt for c-sec!!!

Silvery gal
42 weeks! Baby very comfortable
stimulating nipples seems to be one way to trigger labour too

Mrs kang
No standby formula for me. I want to show my boobies that I have faith in them!! Jia you to my boobies!!

Shuhui
Your turn to be ticking time bomb!

pinkbunny: my mom is ok to help, but if she comes to help me, her usual daily cooking of dinner for my sis family of 6 and my hub and my girl will be disrupted. so dont want to do so just for my sake.

Bbliss: heard it strengthens the body, and prevents chills and sickness later on.

Wondering if any mummy is interested in buying the 1st Month voucher from Bangawan Solo. 10% off for purchases above $200. I'm looking for mummy to share so we can enjoy the 10% off.

Please PM me if you are keen.

Mrs Kang - enfa n similac are very popular maybe due to commercial advertisement. i suggest you to compare the contents of these 3 brands that you are interested. see which vitamin/minerals u prefer to have more and get that brand. once they start on that brand, it will be difficult to change brand.

lovexuan - maybe you would like to try other brand at 400g so you won't waste the powder. Once its opened, can only keep for a month and new born usually don't drink so much. Mine only drink 70-80ml per feed.

babydrag0n, i asked hubby to buy and i didn't know he would buy the big tin. Haha.. Now wasted.. Probably not trying other fm. Now that his jaundice level has dropped to a safe level, i intend to fully breastfeed.

busy day for me today. went for check up today (38 weeks 5 days) and baby is 3.2kg which is already heavier than my #1 when she was born. Gynae said he may still see me for check up next week so i wonder if I will deliver anytime soon!

went to get a costume for my girl's event in school only to find out that she was not well when i came home hence she will have to stay home tomorrow. =( feel so sad for her as she was looking forward to dress up in her costume. hope she will recover soon, makes me nervous as i know i may pop anytime!

re: bf-ing
i remember my first pump i only yielded like 40ml, was so discouraged. supply took a while to kick in too. But i remember when baby was still quite young, i was happily watching tv and my mind was not on pumping and next thing i knew my bottle was filled to the brim with milk. hahah..i hope this time supply will kick in easier and faster since i don't feel so stressed out by bf-ing second time round.

Wow lilcactus
Your mum already takes care of so many! Could she perhaps cook 1 extra dish and 1 extra soup for you? Then get your helper to do the cleaning? Or PT helper.

Pinkbunny
i cannot latch on..... My bb still at NICU. Earliest maybe discharge on this Sunday.
today his condition getting better but still on antibiotic and need oxygen box....
Hopefully my milk can come in tomorrow.
I deliver on Monday and discharge on Wed. but my cl yet to come. only tomorrow Will be coming. hope this cl can cook wonderful soup or food to boost my milk come lots lots.....
My bb in NICU need my milk.

Congrat mom2012! Glad ur waiting is over

Mummies, i think you discussed this b4 but i cant find. Where can i buy cheap wired nursing bra? Thanks

Lilcactus - she's 9 days.

Lovexuan - ya wasted and its so expensive. My friend is feeding her boy similac but she can't find 900g, only 400g, where did your hb buy from? She told me ntuc don't have 900g and is always out of stock for the 400g.

Congrats Meinmei & mum2012! must rest well ah...

tks for the encouragement silvery gal!

1 of the "medical staff" at eu ren sheng told me that for mummies undergoing C-sect, its best to avoid chicken and consume less ginger until after 10days (estimate) when the wound has heal a bit... reason for chicken is because of its "poision" nature and as for ginger its due to its "heatness" which may or may not caused an internal infection depending if the body if more "yin" or "yang". is that your understanding as well mummies?

By the way, where can we buy the binder to support our tummy after C-sect?

To the rest of the april mummies who have not pop, jia you!!!

Hi Larson

For C-section, I avoided chicken at least for 1 wk as advised by the CL for my #1. She said wound will heal nicer.

As for binder, can buy from Guardian. Got different sizes.

Hi Haru,
I went for my checkup ytd too, i m in my 39 weeks but gynae say cervix open half cm only . haiz.. and he mentioned if still see me next week (which will b in my 40 weeks!) he will see if want me to induce :/ Gynae hope bb will come out by herself rather than induce too.
Heard some cases if after induce if dilate very slow will end up c-sect :/ I am so worried now.

worst thing now is i having running nose since ytd..seems like immune system not so good liao..how sad..

Congrats to mom2012! Enjoy motherhood now