(2012/04) Apr 2012

Blue_turtle: thanks for the info! My friend told me its on 20% sale at isetan now.. Maybe will get it at isetan or Taka fair if it's available.

Thanks lilcactus!
is drapolene good?

Fantasy: wahaha jk la.. Later I go home pM u.. Hehe! I wanted to go for babies bellies massage but after adding transport fees, it's more ex than those freelancers. And most impt is got friends use before, so u can Judge the effect. Calendula cream is very ex right! Haha..

pinkbunny, hahaha save aircon or wat? your kid also sleep in aircon ya. mine too else too warm he will toss and flip ard noisy noisy. =)

blue_turtle: yup yup i accepted thks ya!! =)

Ms Tan, me nw 32weeks, tmr visiting gynae..hopefully my little one got gain weight haha, aiyo last time had a dream. My water bag burst and i'm delivering at 32weeks!!! choy!! touch wood...so scary...wahahahha

Ms Tan, yah mine BH also...not the real contraction but really uncomfy..maybe i'm nt tall, body too short to cater for my bb's size. =( he moves only, my tummy starts to harden liao.

blue_turtle: so drapolene contains zinc oxide anot?

cayden's mummy: i find drapolene good leh. my girl seldom nappy rash. only when much older then started to need a stronger diaper cream.

aiyo...suddenly all talking abt labour. how ah how ah? me second time, nw also feel abit nervous liao. i only hope i won't give birth in my 37-38 weeks..gynae n hubby nt in Spore. hope my bb will be gd boi stay inside till 39 weeks. i also haven pack my hospital bag...haiyo..getting lazy this time round, i rmb my #1, i very early prepare all the stuffs liao. hahahha

Re: play mat...i also bought the mat from small small world, quite a good buy. after my #1, i passed to my sis...haha and later she's going to pass me back liao.

re: pump
i will put the pump in my hb's car. if need be, he will bring to me. 'cos i will be staying at 5 bedded ward. if the bb is not latching well, and feel engorge, i can still use the pump.

re: rush to hospital
my 1st one, labour hr is 10 hrs. i took my own sweet time to shower. 2nd one, labour hr was about 3 hrs. shower quickly and then go to hospital already. i think this time round, i got to do it chop chop. 'cos after delivery, no chance to really shower until 12th/13th days... if follow my mil's confinement rules. :p

re: epidural/pethidine
anyone decided to take? i took pethidine when i had #1, and didn't take any when i delivered #2. i noticed big diff... #2 was very alert when birth and can latch very well. whereas, for my #1... not keen to latch and always in the sleep mode.

re: lotion
i didn't apply any lotion for my bb. for showering, just plain water or a bit of latacyd (can't remember if it's spelt like that).

lilcactus
did doc/lactation consultant mentioned that hep B carrier can't bf till bb take the jab?
i always have the impression that BM is the bess antibodies for the bb.

sunny, i did ask the nurses that time, no one can confirm if it will pass on to bb if i bf him/her. so for #1, i was kiasu and i only bf her when she done the blood test and confirm ok to proceed. this round i think i will do the same. better to be safe than sorry. i rather he take some FM first if hungry, then to be a carrier for life.

Lilcactus: I thought u using drapolene also, can check the ingredient list mah.. Haha!!

Btw, does anyone have a good air purifier to reccomend? My room really has alot of dust, But no animals in the house. Air purifier sucks in dust right?

sunny, my #1 also 10 hrs leh...hahaha i also take shower and had breakfast =)
wow #2 so fast yah? hope i can make it to the hospital on time. wahahahha

Lilcactus:
Drapolene Cream Contains:
Benzalkonium Chloride Solution BP 0.02% w/w (equivalent to Benzalkonium Chloride 0.01%), w/w Cetrimide BP 0.2% w/w in a water miscible base.

nappy rash cream: can try drapolene, if still red, go for destini or calendula cream they are gd for rashes and calendula is very effective for bb's eczema but ex lah. one tub $18.50 from BP.

Cayden's mummy: Oh I changed to desitin after I finished my last tube of drapolene. In fact, now that my girl is coming 2.5 yo, I seldom apply diaper cream for her aledy. unless occassionally she has a bit of redness then i whip out the desitin to apply. And I'm supposed to buy a new tube of drapolene for #2, but so lazy to go buy!

blue_turtle: can you translate the chemical name? haha.. does that means it contains zinc oxide? So its not good to use those with zinc oxide is it?

Cayden's mummy, I have Rainbow vacuum at home, I'll on it during the hazy session. I have 2 toy breed dogs at home too.

Diaper cream - I've stocked up on California Baby Calendula cream from BP and standby Desitin for bad rashes.

Toiletries - I've stocked up GAIA during last weekend fair: wash, lotion, oil and tale-free powder.

Wet wipes - Komodo when Watson has sale in early Feb and Tolly-Joy travel pack when NTUC sales 2 weeks ago.

Disposable diapers - 4 x NB Pampers during NTUC sale and 1 pkt jumbo Goon (92pc)

Nappy - Bumwears x 8 sets for day time use after pee/poo has stablised after 3 weeks.

Milk bags - joined oversea Drugstore BP, haven't collect.

Pump & accessoris - all ready

Da Feng Chao - herbs for shower from medical hall.

Confinement soup recipe herbs - to get 1 week before admission or when I'm admitted, cannot keep too long in advance.

Buttons pajamas - washed and wearing now to "seasoned" it.

Lilcactus: I think means no zinc oxide lar. But I dunno what those chemicals are. Haha. Zinc oxide is for treatment of nappy rash. So unless got rash, better don't use zinc oxide. Cos if you already use a strong medicine for prevention, you will need something even stronger for cure. And if it will just get stronger and stronger until the point that steroids are required.

It may sound scary, but that's the truth. I have some existing skin prob, and the specialist always emphasize to start off with the mildest possible and only move to the stronger ones when the mild ones don't work. And the day i started my steroids cream, i cannot go back to without it. If i go any further, will have to start eating medicine.

blue_turtle: totally agree with you. i also same stand to use the mildest. if not when prob gets worse, its hard to treat. haha ok, then i will still get drapolene then.

MEinME: you bot so many NB diapers? this is your #1 baby? I only bot 1 pack of NB, and 4 packs of Pet Pet S size, cos pet pet brand cutting is smaller. If i remember correctly, my #1 outgrow her NB diapers fast. and can fit S size. So I bot more of that. #1 birth weight was 3.2kg.

Cheeky, I cannot seem to see the Avent Bottom Balm anywhere, Metro, OG, John Little, Isetan or Robinson, however, I always see the Avent Magic Cream, did they change name?

btw, sunny, dont think i will be taking any painkillers. didn't use epi for my #1, only laughing gas. but end up i find that it makes me weaker after i inhale, and it doesnt help with easing the pain at all leh. Weaker as in lesser strength to push.

so this round, i think will try not to use any.

oh gosh, reading all your posts is making me feel like i am totally unprepared. My baby clothes/ diapers all not washed, cot not set up, breast pump not opened yet, sterilizer not tested yet, confinement meals not ordered, hospital bag not packed, work not handed over yet. Yikes!!!!!

My labour for #1 was pretty short. Waterbag leaked at 530pm, baby was out by 1030pm. Gynae said that my #2 will prob be way faster. =P

Oh ya, I have been trying to look for the ABD and Pigeon powder detergent. Can't seem to find it! Anywhere in particular i can find them?

by the way, any mommies using forehead thermometer? Am looking for a reliable one...

MeinMe: I bought the Avent bottom balm from OG near Si Ma Lu. I think they were selling both versions (bottom balm and magic cream)

Haru: i bought pigeon powder detergent from Swanston at Chinatown (the place that sells cheap toiletries)

mommies using cloth diapers/Bumwear:
Can the pigeon baby laundry powder be used to wash the cloth diapers? I need to wash my bum wear soon. =P

Haru: When i bought my bumwear, the lady say dun use baby detergent. To either use their housebrand which i thought was very good. I bought a box to try.
Otherwise, use POWDER form of Top, Spin, and another 2 brands which I forgot.

Aiyo, me been going to the wrong Robinson (Raffles City) and OG (Outram)!!!

I've just started to get my helper to do first round of washing, getting her to do 2nd round later then 3rd round when I'm admitted.

Haru, you can try NTUC, I got the ABD and Pigeon powder from NTUC. Napisan to be used for nappies.

Is bottom balm and magic cream the same thing?

Haru: think in ear thermometer is better.. Infrared seems to be not as accurate. ABD laundry powder can be found in most neighborhood shop selling daily toiletries! I also have not done anything except buying some stuff. My bb clothes all not washed!

Lilcactus: normally the ingredient will write "10% zinc oxide" if it contains zinc oxide. 10% is very strong thus my friend reccomend me to use a cream without any zinc oxide for daily use..

MEinME: oh so u on the vacumn cleaner and leave it running as a air purifier? Those rainbow and delphin vacumn like damn ex, $2k or $3k.. Don't think I will use often and afford it too..

Wow thread is busy today!!!

Nyny
Lol at your kids playing with your feet!!!

Fantasy
Places like bengawan solo also offer full month cake packages. Can check. For my #1 we made our own packages with cupcakes, red eggs and I can't remember what else. Was fun to rope in the family to help pack.

LOL your gynae is super funny!!!

Tangerinez
Walau how come your mat is 10kg!! Mine is heavy but I don't think it's 10kg heavy!

Silvery gal
Bottles must sterilise before each feed. What I used to do was remove all bottles and teats etc fr steriliser in the morning and fix them up, ready for use. Then wash after every use then put in the clean parts into steriliser set by set. When it's full (usually at night) then turn on steriliser. Mine was the pigeon one, can take 6 bottles. I could also sterilise my medela and avent pump parts, as well as avent bottles. Didn't use pigeon bottles at all!

Trx
My gynae told me that since this is 2nd birth, go straight to hosp without showering or eating once I am certain!!

Chalis
Aiyoh I have been waddling for weeks now! Hehe. Can’t help it :S

Lilcactus
Wow 4 hours for first birth is super fast!!!!

Pumping at hospital
Agree with blue turtle: just latch baby on to stimulate supply! Don’t forget that you are unlikely to have a milk supply at the hospital (I wish wish wish someone had told me that when I gave birth – I thought I was a freak cos I had ‘no milk’ and was ‘just pumping air’), just colustrum. And even if you are able to pump out colustrum, it will be so little that it will likely only coat the funnel of your pump. Might as well take the opportunity to bond with baby and practice latching while you are at the hospital and there are LCs to help you correct your latch if needed

SG
Haha ya save on aircon. She used to be ok to nap on her own but dunno why ever since our trip she has been asking me to nap with her so I gave up and just go and lie down with her cos I’m soooooooo tired too haha. No choice, need aircon cos we live right next to a busy main road and it’s very noisy if we leave the windows open. And also we’re on top floor so very hot!

Re creams
To be honest, we used very little cream for my #1. desitin for a while. I remember trying out calendula for her but didn’t even finish one tub. She was on nappies a lot so that helped I suppose. Diapers stay on for longer so that’s one reason for diaper rash. Also, we used cotton wool + water for cleaning poo instead of wipes so maybe that was another reason.

Haru
I also got my ABD laundry powder JL but saw it much cheaper at Chinatown (ocean shop on level 3)

hospital bag
hmm i think i have everything i need, just have to throw them all into the bag! actually, thinking of using a small cabin sized suitcase this time round! muahahahha. kua zhang or not!

Cayden’s mummy
I know delphin can be used as purifier, not sure about rainbow. We have a karcher and it’s decent enough (and MUCH cheaper, like $600+). Can use for floors and mattresses. It’s my hubby’s toy, since he bought it, so it’s his job to clean the mattresses and sofa hahahaha.

i remember delphin used to have a sort of package where you could invite someone over from delphin and they will clean for you once a month or so. but we calculated it was really very pricey so decided to get our own karcher instead. not the best, but still does the job.

Aiyoh. Last nite I asked my hubby "do u think u could go thru being preggie?" He said "I think I wouldn't like sausage toes". Alamak! Of all things!

hi blueturtle,
oh i dunno there so much abt the diaper cream. my friend just recommend me wat she used and offered to help me order online so i just go ahead. =p
noted on your point, agree we shld start off with the mildest! will go and get drapolene.keep destin as backup.

hi Cayden's Mummy,
my friend order the Calendula cream online for $16 for 20z. i dunno the normal price thou

hi sunny,
i'm opting for epidural straight cos my pain tolerance level is super low =(

hi MEinME
wah can use your preparation as a checklist leh!very good!
now i tink i kinda stock up too much on diapers liao.
for day time: i bought 4 pack of pamper NB/first choice NB
nighttime: i got 1 pack of mummy poko/1 pack of NB, 2 pack of S and 2 pack of M from goo.n
not forgetting my mum oso bought 16 pcs of cloth nappy...ohoh...

hi pinknunny,
as my mum will be be CL + my bb's bb sitter, dun tink she still have time to chap the baby full month package. haha
after doing a rough estimate of the cost. i tink most likely i will order a big cake for office colleague to share. and maybe buy bangawan cake voucher for those attendng bb full month party =p

re: the pump
ya after reading all the feedback, i tink maybe just leave on hubby's car and take if necessary.
will focus on latching on to get the technique right.

re: baby lotion
i only bought the kodomon lotion powder and standby one baby johnson oil for bb after bath? is that enough or wat else do we need to apply for bb after bath?

oya pardon me for doing a small advertising here.

as i already bought the medela freestyle after much consderation, i have to give up my avent manual pump(bought @ $99) & single electric pump (bought @ $189)=(

both are brand new and come with local warrenty.
if anyone interested or know anyone who r interested can pm me? wiling to let go below purchase price =(

hey mummies, take a look. maybe we can join up and form a class next time
i attended one of the pre natal aqua classes and really enjoyed it (and that is coming from a non swimmer with a fear of water!).

the instructor also conducts mum and baby aqua classes. she advises that babies should only be let into pools from 4 months due to the chlorine in the water, but that is of course subject to our own discretion as some would feel more comfortable than others

they hold classes at the YMCA, and can also conduct private classes if anyone has a condo with a baby friendly pool (i think that means adult pool that has a section that's not too deep, and not 'baby pool')

http://www.inspiremumbaby.com/inspirebabydetails.asp?no=105

*argh, i'm hit by 3rd tri insomnia!!!!*

morning mummies, any one has any idea when is the next Isetan private sale?

pinkbunny: prenatal aqua classes sound fun! but is it ex?

i think i had 3rd trim insomnia 1-2 weeks ago, but lately been too tired! just want to keep sleeping!

Today I am mad angry and pissed! Hormones are driving me crazy!

Lilcactus: I only know isetan now has 20% baby products.. Hee.

Pinkbunny: delphin was at the babycare fair last weekend also, but the price like $2k plus.. Although there is promo but still so ex! Does anyone know other products which are purely air purifier that works great? My room really loads of dust..

cayden's mummy
how about getting ioniser? i think it helps to purify the air, too.
I have delphin vacuum machine. we were pondering over it for very long time until my kids had cough consecutively for 3 months. then, we decided to get one. so far, i am satisfied with the machine. when i vacuum the floor, i don't get awful smell from the machine like what i had previously when i used normal vacuum cleaner.
also, when i vacuum, i can put some essential oil in, so that i can get nice smell while vacuuming. heart pain for the $, but i think it's good loh.

Anyone sweat alot more these days? I tink my sweat is dripping.. Argg !! the weather is very very hot!! Wonder how I gng to tahan during confinement in April? :/

Sunny; ooh I see! Do u use the delphin machine as air purifier? How do you do that? Just leave it on? And tempted to get e sales person to come and do a demo, but scared later they bug u to buy.. Lolz.

Anyone using a ionizer currently?

mummies, getting very tired and breathless lately =(
everyday yawn non stop...just came bk from gynae chk up. guess wat? i put on another 1.5kg in 4 weeks and bb gains additional 500g nia. Now close to 2kg at 32 weeks. Nx appointment will be 3 weeks later.

Cayden's mummy
Why not just call them then you can see for yourself if it's really good? I think they'll clean one mattress FOC and while explaining about the machine, will leave the purifier on with essential oil so room will smell nice nice

Dedicated my 3 hours today while #1 is in school to do housework and whoaaaaaaa so tired! just swept and mopped house and picked up those little sua sua things and tidied up. Back so pain!!! Finally can take a rest and prop my feet while floor dries. Phew.

Cayden's mummy
when the air is polluted or when my kids show sign of unwell, then i will use it. N when use it, i juz turn on for abt 2 hrs. if u want the sales person contact, let me know. When we saw the demo n compared it w rainbow, we were convinced that Delphin is better. but,hv to take into account of the cost loh. When we decided to buy, we would make sure that it will not become white elephant in my storeroom. Hehe...

Haru, once i finish the box of country save, i will use the TOP powder. If can wash nappies, should be ok for baby's clothes. Since they are all in contact with baby's skin anyway. Also use the same for all my other clothes. No need to buy separate powder. In fact, other than the 1st wash which i will wash all baby's things at 1 shot, subsequently, i will just wash everyone's clothes together.

Hi mummies, been a slient reader all this while. I m
Due in end apr too...

Just to ask, anyone feeling giddy at this stage n bursting out cold sweat making u wana faint??
I feeling it this morg n was wondering what was happening...

Pinkbunny: haha ok thanks, will consider!

Haru: my parents have a osim vacumn, looks like those steam vacumn machine.. Nw also sitting like an antique on the shelf.. That's what I'm scared of! Haha. Think I will research on air purifier or ionizer..

SG: I also gain 2kg every gynae appt. now I'm at 34 weeks seeing gynae every 2 weeks le..

Ms tan: yes I already sweat like mad.. Sometimes breast and armpit area alot of sweat.. Makes me feel like a really fat woman!! Lolzzz..

me too, will perspire easily... even though whole day in air-con environment, still feel hot. only cool down when in hubby's car, air-con blowing directly at me!! haha

Cayden's mummy, I've used Rainbow for over 7 years, got it during the SARS period, price didn't change much from then till now, around $3k.

What I heard is people from Rainbow went out to "create" Delphin, therefore, they know how Rainbow works.

I need to say after I got it, I didn't really use it myself because I preggy for no.1 then thereafter we have helper then she been using it. HB will do the mattress and pillows and stuff.

Yes, been feeling super HOT when everyone around me is complaining that aircon is cold.

The rainbow person also came to our place for demo a couple of years back. Everything was ok, he did the demo for the floor cleaning, mattress cleaning, air purifying etc. Until he came to the selling part. My hubby insists that's it too costly and not worth the investment. And the salesperson started getting very pushy and when he saw that my hubby is not going to give in, he asked us to give him... contact numbers of our friends! OMG... So that he can call them up and try to do demo for them and sell the things to them! My hubby told him don't want and even if he were to give, he wants to personally ask his friends first. End up the sales person face very very black.
I got to handle the machine during the demo. Found it too heavy for regular usage. And noisy. I would probably be more tempted to get it if i have a lot of carpetted areas at home. Otherwise, a regular vacuum machine will suffice.

Anyway, hubby and I believe that a generally clean environment is good enuff for the baby to start off with. Babies must learn to grow strong and build immunity themselves. Else will fall sick very easily in future.

I perspire super super super duper a lot now that I am preggy. Machiam some water fall. Previously I was anti-sweat, it was tough to get even one drop of sweat.

Now I perspire just sitting down, even in an air condition room, and horribly my undergarments get sweaty too

It's really uncomfortable and embarassing.

^5 LittleDd. I also dun perspire easily normally. But now, I am just hot all the time. My room aircon is like going lower and lower each night. I have already ditched my blanket. And wearing lighter and lighter and lesser and lesser clothes to sleep! haha...

This is normal. Cos our body is furiously working hard to produce more blood and all for the baby.
Take it as training for confinement! haha... It will be much much much much worse in April/May. Cos the sun will be scorching hot then.

ya some more dunno why the sweat during confinement is non stop one. i can just step out of the bathroom after a quick shower and i'm starting to sweat liao...