(2012/04) Apr 2012

pinkbunny
i had the booke that you recommended for bf guide as well. bought it when i had my #1. Very useful guide. it's like my bf bible.

this is my 2nd pregnancy and i went for OGTT last Sat and today clinic called to say i did not pass. Did not have this condition when preggy with #1.

Asked me to go Guardian get the blood test machine (Optium) first then they want to show me how to get my neasurements so that i can show my gynae on my next appt.
So sianz... i have to control my diet now.
But according to my gynae my baby was small.. So im a bit preplexed.
Guess i have to control lor, for the sake of my baby's health. =(
And to hafta prick myself everyday. Hates!

So other mummies with GD experience, what food did you all avoid?
The nurse told me: i would have to avoid white bread, all kinds of noodles (except mee suah), no softdrinks, no desserts, no durian, mango (sweet fruits).

Pls share as i am new to this condition.

Jesline

Hi jesline,
I had GD for #1, going for glucose test tml morning for #2.

Foods to avoid : pretty much like what u mentioned.like hi carbo food..white rice , oily, fried food, food high in coconut milk, desserts, fruits high in sugar content..
Have to take more of wholemeal, high fibre food..
My personal experience : I felt hungry most of the time with lower rice intake..got to eat other fibre stuff to feel full
The finger pricks : to be done before n after each meal to record the blood sugar level ...record n show gynae to show that blood sugar is under control
Towards the end, I sort of relaxed n did not control diet n do finger pricks that diligently..*guilty*
baby was induced at 39 weeks cos doc say GD case got risk to baby...baby born at 2.97kg...which I thought was a bit small too...

Oh yah, the GD went away as soon as the baby was born..cos I gave birth at 1:30am, by 10am after breakfast, my finger prick test passed with flying colors..
Thus, dun worry too much on the condition..just need to take note of diet n be prepared for earlier birth date

Hi Ethan_Ethel,
Thanks for sharing the above.
I am reading up on the effects that GD would have on baby.
Cos i wanna use the info to motivate myself to be "obedient".
How was your #1?
And did your GD went away after delivery?

Jesline

Hi jesline,
No impact seen on my #1 though..his Apgar score was good at 9 or 10 I think..slight jaundiced but no phototherapy required just occasional sun at home... Passed metabolism test n hearing test at tmc after birth..
Now still normal as toddler... Weighs ard 12-13kg at 23 mths now..

Yup, GD went away immediately after birth..

SG : actually was thinkin of breastfeedin in the day n FM in the nite.. so tt baby can slp throught the nite at 3-4mths old.. but stil considering..

GD is gestational diabetes , a condition that affects some mummies during pregnancy resulting in reduced ability to break down blood sugar
OGTT is oral glucose tolerance test, instructed by gynae to test for GD should gynae feels u r at risk of getting it

Hi mommies!
Anyone already been to the baby fair today?
As there is one more next week, so don't know which one is of a bigger scale..

Hello All!

Have been a silence reader all these while.

Jus came back from Baby Expo, personally I find it kinda disappointing. Was hoping to buy kodomo detergent, breast pads, bumper set, powder, warmer etc but there isnt a wide variety. It's not big definitely and majority of them are selling baby clothes and bibs.
Have decided to go for next week's fair, heard it's much better than this.

Btw, my EDD is 23rd April, will be having her at Mount Alvernia. :D

wonder if anyone knows we can use baby liquid detergent (kodomo) with front load washing machine? Need to wash baby's clothes and cloth nappies soon! =P

think i better go get some bf bras soon, my boobs seem to have expanded a lil more than 1st pregnancy. don't think i'll fit into my old nursing bras..

Haru
I used kodomo liquid detergent in my front load washer once and it created too much bubbles, guess it's not low sud, have stopped using it..

Haha, I m now washing my bb's clothing w kodomo liquid detergent w front loading machine. Should have log on earlier, now facing a lot of bubbles!!!

oh dear, silvery gal! hope ur bubbles are not overloading ur machine.

hmm, any recommendation from mommies here for front load machine?

oh ya, am looking for good and affordable nursing bras. had a challenge looking for good nursing bra coz i am really petite. hard to find size 32B/C. Normally it starts from size 34C...

i use powder form hehe. cheaper!

haru
i just bought from john little marina square. less than $15 but quality won't be the best lor.

did i share with you girl about my goondu moment? brought my #1 to JL and i tried on MANY bras. in the end found one that i really liked (nursing bra) so i thought i would get a few since they are so cheap. i dug till i found 5 of my size and after i got home i realised that only ONE was a nursing bra. the rest were same design but not nursing bras. doh! aiyah anyway they are non wired ones so at least not wasted la.

Haru
Try Mark and spencer.. they have weird sizes..but I must say their nursing bra is quite thick.. I bought while expecting my no.1 but ended up I prefer their non wired..

Hi jesline,
I also failed my glucose test and have to watch diet now. I just avoid the sweet stuffs which I dun crave much for... And if I did, I just sneak small bites and sips from my dh. Oh, and ice cream!!! I switch my ice cream to yami yogurt (advise from friend who had GD before) and so far I tested myself after meal and yami, the results are still alright but I dun eat everyday and always half the normal portion or less just to satisfy my cravings.

I also change my bread to whole meal, white rice to brown rice, noodles to bee hoon. In short, just eat healthier choice. And sweet drinks are a no no now, can u can add artificial sweetener to ur drinks if u want.

Silvery gal
Ooooh dear, that is why my mil had to hand wash the baby clothes after using the kodomo..
At the end of the day, lazy me just stick to the top low sud powder.

Hi mummies, could it b u all put too much powder/ detergent? I use pigeon concentrated bb washing detergent..so far never encounter this prob ley. Maybe I did not wash alot..not full , so I use about 1 cup to pour in for washing. My washing machine is top load.

ya, the baby expo this week is disappointing. look forward to the next week one which I think should be much more better and have more varieties of bb stuff.

Ms Tan: dun think I have used too much detergent. i think front loading washing machine more sensitive n maybe limited type of washing powder/detergent it can accept!

starrie: thanxs, will try it out!

Silvery_gal: Oh i see, so you need to re wash the clothes again ah?

Me having serious pelvic bone & tail bone pain..me now only going to 32 weeks and the pain getting unbearable.. later I still need to go Mt A to attend childbirth education class.

starrie: I am using pigeon too..the after wash smell is so good hor ? :p

How long do we need to use this detergent? Till they are erm.. 1 year old? I am curious :p

Ms tan
You try doing the pelvic exercise I shared a few days ago?

Another one: when lying on one side, bend lower leg, straighten upper leg. Support head with pillow and kiap a bolster/pillow between knees. Slowly push heel downward to "lengthen" your body. Then relax and repeat. Should feel better after you do a few times both sides!

Also found out fr my physiotherapist: those who are looking for muscle relaxant creams, please get non medicated ones. Things like Fastum and Counterpain cannot cos they contain medication. You won't find any at watsons/guardian. Try your luck at natural remedies shops

Laundry for babies
I put very little, like half scoop to 3/4 scoop only for full load. Mine is top loading washing machine. Nappies was separately with napisan.

Great news
My parents offered to let their helper come over to help us as often as we need during late pregnancy/early days of birth! Yay!!! She and my #1 get along very well together. And it sure would be nice to have someone help with laundry and floors for the first month. Ooooooh the thought of being able to nap with baby is VERY VERY nice!!!

Hi Shuhui,

we have the same EDD date - 23 April & we will be delivering in the same hospital too! hahah... What a coincident.
your gynae dont happen to be Dr Kenneth too ya?

Hi mummies, any remedies for backache? mine is getting from bad to worse, especially more so when i first got out of bed in the morning! It used to be just the lower back and tailbone but now it seems to spread to the the middle and upper back... ouch!

Wishing all mummies here a great weekend!

hey mummies
before i forget, do pack your nipple cream in your hospital bag too! medela purelan is a good one to consider
20% off at JL sale!!!

larson
my physiotherapist recommends heat. i use those kind of heat packs that go into microwave. can put a layer of towel over so you don't overheat/burn your back.

also, when you get out of bed, turn on your left (so try to sleep on the left side of the bed, and on your left side of the body, which is supposed to be better for baby anyway), use left elbow and right hand to push your body up into sitting position. good luck ya?

also, no harm trying the exercises i shared as well

Hi Larson!

My doc is Phua Soo Mear frm Kovan..
Haha.. But still, high five!

Was hoping that my little miss will pop on the 38th week, starting to get inpatient with all the aching and inconveniences.. But well, jus have to wait and wait, 9 weeks to go!

hi mummies hav u all bought milk btls yet..?? i intend to BF as well.. MAM n tommee tippee which is better..?

Tks pinkbunny for the reminder on nipple cream. Hv slot it into my hospital bag... As for the heat pack can it b bought in watson or guaRdian? Is there a name for the heatpack?

Hi EI, its only after my recent epsiode of backache that i started exercising. Putting wa i learnt in wong boh boi class to daily use. Heehee , hope its not too late ... ( was too lazy to exercise before that). Went for swimming tis afternoon too... Hope it helps... Nw the left side of my ribs is pain too...

Btw, any mummies bought flash cards to stimulate baby?

Wishing all mummies a great sun evening!

larson
i've got one that uses wheat grains so it can be heated up in microwave. i got mine from my physiotherapist for $50 and it's reusable. but i see that there are other retailers that sell it (http://www.allinone.com.sg/retail.htm) you can read more about it here: www.thingstelligent.com

watsons and guardian sells the stick on clothes kind which is about $1 per pack but i'm not sure if it's drug free though the pharmacist on duty has told me that it's suitable for use for pregnant women

re exercise
we're advised to take it slow, esp if have not been much of an exercise fan prior to pregnancy. don't overwork yourself ok?

Tex: I bought Mam for no 2 as she liked the col our and shape. depends on baby.

I only take out the bag n leave it on the floor, throw in some of the stuff I need to bring to hospital. I do things 一半一半。

Walked shopping today for abt 7-8hrs, damn tired. Half dead.

thanks Ethan for highlighting!

Hi Shuhui & Larson,
My edd is just 1 day earlier from you and i'm delivering in mount A too.
Wat room type are you opting for?

Hi all mummies looking for nursing bra, sth to share. i came across this brand - Autumnz at the bb expo fair. their nursing bra is quite ok with their price. between $16-$25. bought 3 for myself during the fair.
u can surf their webby and order online if interested.
www.youhaveababy.sg

i'm experiencing tailbone pain, heel/foot pain anyone have the same experience?

Tex: I bought Tommee Tippee's bottles and food warmer. Have yet to try them but I like the anti colic and BPA free properties My friend recommended this cos her daughter takes it well. OG is having a 20% discount now for TT items.

Trx, eh my #1 also on ebm in daytime and fm at nite. True tat fm can last longer, at least 3hrs interval. No harm trying if u wan
I'll try to tbf this time if possible hee.. But gt to see my supply how.