(2012/04) Apr 2012

Hi mummies, haven't posted or followed thread in a while. School holidays started so busy keeping my boys occupied

Glad to see all is well with you ladies n most in midst of or hv found out gender. I'm trying to resist getting girl's clothes n shoes...friends say they will pass to us n i would like to sew some for baby girl too. Plus must save $ la, this one #3 already :p

Breast pads: the Medela cloth ones more economical but not as absorbent as the Pigeon disposable ones I used. So for comfort n convenience I used the disposable ones.

Tummy showing quite a bit and I've put on 4kg in just 6 wks! Still nauseous when hungry, tired or in car...so unlike first two pregnancies with the boys: by end of first tri I was back to "normal".

Detailed scan next Thu. Happy to see baby again. Hubby thinks from the scans so far, this girl will look like her brothers, ie look like me

Ni:, I hope mine is a girl too... i m so paranoid..in the beginning i thought, boy or girl is ok.. now seems the desire is stronger to hope for a girl girl heheh! Sonographer also guess is a girl ley just that she say ' should be' .. and not confirm.. haiyo...
Smoke: You wont look like a Whale lah.. i almost burst out laughing when i see your description kekek! You are so cute!

Morning ladies!!
My ms was really bad yesterday. I puke until I got no strength to do anything. I'm already in my 17 weeks but still... Sigh.

My boy #1 is no help either. He makes a fuss abt going to sch today and make hubby angry. All the scolding woke me up. He says he is scare of teachers scolding him in sch. I was like " "???!!! " he little bit of scolding also cannot take one. He is already 5yo and whenever kena scolding, he gets all clingy and refuse to talk. Have to spend lots of time to comfort him. I wonder how he going to survive primary school!

just confirmed yesterday that we are having a boy. =) Altho we were hoping for another girl, we are still very happy and excited about having a boy. only sad that we won't be able to pass on our #1 stuff to #2. Girls just have so much more clothes and shoes!!

Hi haru, congrats in your prince! One boy one gal is great! Different experiences in parenthood bringing up different gender!

Mossie, boys are more "sai nai" I find. My son also cannot even take little bit of scoldings. Little bit also wanna cry. Nowadays gals seem to be the tough cookie instead. I wanna pull my hair out toilet training him already!!!

Eliz, ok I will order on my own. But the BP seems close already wor. Anyway have already emailed the seller to see if she is taking in anymore orders!

Mossie : I think ur boy kena pamper too much le tts why cannot take scolding ba... Usually guys r e one getting all the pampering especially from grandparents...

Grats Haru for a boy... A 好 zhi lol...

Congrats to all mummies on finding out the genders.

Haru - I agree. There are so many nice things to buy for girls. For boys, only clothes with animals or vehicles, no pretty things! I bought so many nice dresses for my girl to wear but she's so small that still cannot wear yet!

Pebblestone: I am seeing Dr John Tee from KKh now, but i not really very comfortable with him coz i find him very fierce, i dun dare to ask him too many qns. I am still seeing my gynae at TMC becoz i already paid for the 20th week detailed scan scheduled on 28th Nov.

Hey mummies, how come when i open the link to the spreadsheet, the spreadsheet like cannot load properly? issit my ms office too low version?

I cant wait for my detailed scan on 28th..So envious the mummies who know the gender.

LittleDd & Aisuhime - Dont worry about your B shape, it will go to a D shape soon! Wait for your 19th, 20th week it will grow grow groowwww...
Actually u can notice its slowly beginning to look like a D shape when u take a look at your belly button. My belly button now looks so squashed lol!

Hi Nii and Gina, cross finger and so happy that we are having a princess (#1 was a boy).
Gina, the pic from the detail scan, can tell my girl looks like her brother and look like me too
. My hubby a bit jealous as both of them look more like me... Anyway, he is still happy as our baby healthy....

Smoke - I agree that Dr Tee looks very fierce and is a man of few words, but I find him ok cos this is #3 and I don't have many questions for him. I like that his waiting time is generally short and he's professional.

I know that he answers all of Mossie's questions but she makes it a point to write them all down before she goes.

andreanie: That's true man.. my belly button now looks like a small line squashed between upper deck fats and lower deck fats like that. I can't find my belly button clearly anymore. Hahahaha!!!

Heeehee... dr Tee answered all my questions even before I started firing at him.I have to refer back to my list to make sure all my queries are really done. Visits to him is always short- very chop chop and waiting time also very short. Their consultation recently went up by $10 but still cheaper than my old gynae at tmc whom waiting time is very long but visit is very short too. He is not fierce to me, but not much smile but very professional. I duno about delivery as this is the first time I'm following him.

Tangerinez, thanks for the update on the spreadsheet. I just saw cheekyduckie post the link on fb

Ms tan, have you updated in the spreadsheet before?

If yes then perhaps someone accidentally deleted it. The spreadsheet is not locked, so there is no administrator. If no, then you can add your info in...

Ms Tan: my little one was not cooperative at first, awhile later we managed to scan her from ass up. Saw her 2 tighs and nothing in the middle,absolutely clear, gynae confirmed 99% girl!

Thanks mommies! yeah, now that the gender has been confirmed we are actually looking forward to an experience with a different gender child despite our inital hopes of another girl.

El, i know what you mean. I even started to think of possible party themes for a boy that are not tacky. and actually i think my girl would love those themes too (dinosaurs, etc...strangely enough she loves dinosaurs.hahah..)

Seems like majority are having gals so far? We are going to have many princesses! My colleagues have been commenting that my stomach is huge at 21 weeks. I also think so, already started to walk like a penguin and calves are aching =( Weight gain so far 8 kg! But gynae says it's ok still for my size. Just hope my bb is gaining weight this time round and not all on me!

tangerinez: u mean I can update it with this spreadsheets myself? I hav never update any spreadsheet here b4 .
LittleDe: so good, to knw the gender already. The sonographer try many angle already but still wont confirm..is ok ya. Hubby n me is fine w either gender

guess i must talk to my baby on 1st dec to tell him/her to cooperate and open your legs big big for mummy and daddy to see!

haru - my hub's colleague's 4 year old daughter also loves dinosaur! She can even memorize their names and show u which is which.

Mossie: Ya my hubby say maybe is becoz Dr Tee just finish delivering before he see me so already quite tired, tts y face abit black ah..I going to see him on 7 dec again then will make a decision then.

hahah whales and penguin..i really feel like a cow now..

Haha smoke. Wait till we start breastfeeding. Then we'll moo for real!

Hey is there a courtesy campaign or some Gotcha team going around on trains or what? Everyone seemed to be playing "no, let ME give the pregnant woman my seat" game with me today! After I accepted one lady's offer, the one next to me said "I'm sorry, I didn't realise you were pregnant". And then when I gave an ah pek my seat, after standing for a while, the guy next to me said "would you like me to ask that young man seated over there to give you his seat?" wow did I somehow get teleported to sweden or something?

Oh I just checked and no my bra and its contents are not showing so that's not the reason haha

I bought some Desitin Rapid Relief Diaper Cream from US last week but just found out that I am unable to use them for my newborn as it will spoil the cloth diaper.

Singapore is selling at about S$12 for a 2 oz tube. I have 2 oz and 4 oz available. 2 oz is at S$8.20/tube and 4 oz at S$12.70/tube. Expiry date is February 2013. All in original packaging and unopened. I am selling the items at the price that I bought them at and have proof of receipt should you need them.

Do contact me if you are keen ya.. Can SMS me at 9138 4929 or drop me an email at [email protected]

updated the spreadsheet!

waaa! my stomach feels so itchy today! guess its really expanding. and its so difficult to control not to scratch!!!

Happi for those who have alr known the sex of their baby. I once heard from my friend that when doctor say 99% is girl because there is stil 1% chance to be boy. It happens to one of the mummy who went happily buying baby girl clothes, then the baby turn out to be a boy. Jus to share only and not demoralizing anyone...

Mummies, need your advice on my maid again.

She can work without supervision but my mum and hubby don't like her attitude and the fact that she talks on the phone too much. After scolding her she gives "black face" and last Sat was super angry with her for coming back late when she had told me that she would prepare dinner. She didn't apologise and even asked whether she can go out again the next day! Normally I do let her go out on weekends but it seems like she takes for granted that we will definitely say yes if she requests. But she hasn't gotten into any trouble or, as far as I know, isn't involved in any vice activities. Just meets friends/relatives to go shopping, eat or go computer class.

If I get a new maid I don't know whether will get one who can work or not, esp since I have two small kids and one on the way. If I get new one the load will land on me to orientate and train! Although my mum has promised me that she will help train but my mum is not full time at my place during the day. My hubby as well does not manage the maid and leaves it to me to instruct and to discipline.

To complicate matters, she wants to go back in Feb to get married (but come back again to work after that). Don't know if she will really focus on work after marriage.

So should I change my maid? And when should I do it? December when I can take leave and not so big yet? Or Feb when she goes back?

Dear mummies, updates for u. Medela freestyle will be selling at kiddypalace at $699 & same price also nxt wk at Takashimaya. My insider information told me that this is the best deal. Baby baby fair nxt wk may be slightly higher price as got a free thermometer.

Actually go lobang for buying a lot of things at discount but I didn't realize until someone ask me. Hee Hee. Pls note Hor I don't benefit one. That y only when asked then I recall.

El: i think you should change your maid in Decemebr especially when you are not so big yet. Because i think when her attitude is like that now, after she get married, will be worse.

Like my maid, also like tt, will just sit down and watch tv with us for like the whole day and do nothing at all and sometimes will just black face.

el, if i am you, i will change, and i will change it now. cos if u need to train the new maid, at least u have a few more months to do so. and if suay suay the new maid doesnt work out well, still in time to train. the last thing on your mind is to have to train a maid during confinement.

my previous maid was also giving me attitude and not showing respect, ended up i changed one month back. the new maid is of course blur blur needs to be instructed.. but at least takes instruction well. no talking back at me.

Smoke - did you get rid of yr maid?

Thing is, after I scolded my maid recently, she has become more "guai" but my hubby thinks it is just an act.

El: I never change because the maid not under me. Under my sister, but my mum already decided not to extend her when her contract expire.
Overall she is still ok but just very young, like to listen to us talk and watch tv.

Thanks Eliz n Haru for explaination.
Looks like most of u all hiring maids. Is it really alot of problems w maid issue? I heard partly depends on luck.

My in laws not the type who can look after baby , both of them work. so hubby n me also tinking either employ maid or source for neighbourhood nanny.

I think it is luck too. My maid used to be guai but my mum said had become yaya after working for us for 3 plus years. I am in dilemma cos she still does housework pretty well. No problems with cleaning, ironing, cooking, but was getting too big for her shoes until I gave impression might not renew her. E.g talk on HP in front of us, never ask for permission to go out for short trips to chat with other maids in our block. But we give her key and she can go out as she helps to pick up kids after childcare and does help buy groceries when we run out.

Like one of my colleagues said, it is easy for my mum and hubby to criticise her because they will not be picking up the slack if we get new maid who is lousy. Sigh.

Or maybe I don't like confrontation. We cannot rely on agent to send her home, have to do ourselves.

Yup, luck plays a huge part. My current helper has been with me for more than 3 years. She's my 2nd. 1st one couldn't make it and didn't last more than a year before we decided to let her go.

No helper is perfect. As long as she does her work well, looks after my gal, i just open/close one eye

Ms_Tan: I got a nanny at the block next to mine. Very good I must say. But of course, nanny is also dependent on luck lar. I am quite a chin chai person, and don't really give instructions on how the baby sitter should take care of the baby. My bbsitter brings my ger out shopping, visiting, etc. I am fine with that. Cos i think it's impt for children to mix with people and other children to obtain social skills. #1 had been with the bbsitter since she was 4 months old. Sociable, friendly, interacts well with other children, adults as well. She can feed herself when she was 16/17months old. All other life skills she is picking up well too.
Everything is good. Just that, I feel that she isn't picking up enuff literacy/book knowledge.

She is now 18months old. I will be sending her to 2 hr playgroup in jan, before transferring her to childcare in Jun/Jul. My babysitter will then take over #2.

For housework, i get PT maid over weekends to settle. Other times, just close 1 or both eyes to the mess in the house.

Dinner, was tingkat delivery, before that we just da bao every night.

*Disclaimer: I am really quite bo chup about mess and cleanliness in the house lar. Clean clothes from the dryer can sit on the guest bed forever, baby milk bottles only wash when required (about once a day cos i have like 6 to use), floor and toilets mopped and cleaned once every 2 weeks if i get the PT maid to come, else just ignore.
Think my mother and in-laws totally cannot take it, but, no choice, i think they gave up already. If they really buay tahan, they will clean the house for me! hahahahaha

Actually if we can find a nanny for
#3 I wouldn't mind. We also like privacy with no maid aroun d.
Cheekyduckie: how did you find your nanny? I tried looking mcys website but none in my area.