(2012/04) Apr 2012

Morning mummies!!

Just felt bb move again. So cute!

Ribcage pain: I don't feel it yet. No backache yet too. But my tailbone hurts perpetually from early 1st trimester.

Summerbliss: are u hurting on the side which you sleep on? If so can try sleeping on the other side first?

tangerinez> how old is ur baby?

i tink i felt my baby move this am as well. it felt like a light kick.. then no more.. then when i tap on the place again.. then got 2 more kicks responded..

but i'm oni 16 wks plus... duno isit jus gas aso.. haha but it felt different.. it doesnt feel like bubble that i use to feel..

coraine

no1 is a monster now. He roam around in the house and touch here and there. Even maid also headache to coax him to sleep

Gingerbreadger: mine is 16 plus weeks too! 17 on Monday.
I think can tell. I used to feel bubbles and gas and tot maybe is baby but wasn't sure. Until 2 days ago I started to feel totally different sensation.

With gas, it feels like it's deep inside the stomach. With baby the movement is sorta just next to the skin. Like they just brushed hard against the womb and you feel like a roll? Haha dunno how to describe.

But I'm so going to try your method of tapping. I always place my whole palm on tummy to feel so I usually shake my palm instead of tapping. Maybe tapping works better.

I also started to play Elmo songs to the tummy lol! Crazy first time mummy!

actually initally i duno isit cause she's responding to my tap.. or jus another bubble chance by.. haha but i tapped twice, and there was responsive kicks. so i tink its kicks. and ya.. it felt different, it wasnt like bubbles that felt hollow.

i heard from my fren can use fingers to tap, cause it will cause 'ripples' in the water bag/sac that the baby is staying in. so the baby can feel it.

dont worry you're not crazy. my hubby has been ready bedtime stories to baby... hahaha

coraine: haha cannot see meh? ok lor means me n tang know how to bao yang... or our hubbies too chao lao hahahaha! i prefer 1st one =P

oh well ya she abit pantang but now ok liao hehe...

ahnah: bb will move when hubby cough? so amazing!

gingerbreadger: your hubby so nice! my hubby doesn't even want to talk to bb. haha. we are both too shy i guess. when i talk to bb, i only do it when hubby not around.

Aisu
EBM (expressed breast milk) can be frozen. Some have way way way too much and donate to hospitals. Or give to friends with lower supply. My daughter's first taste of breast milk was not mine. From a very sweet mummy friend whose daughter was born on same day but she was overflowing with liquid gold. That same day, my own supply kicked in. 5 days after delivery

Tangerinez
You never demonstrate (your crying) for better effect? Hehe. Well at least now he knows la. These hormones really get our emotions messed up and all over the place!

And don't worry. Every pregnany is diff. Ms

Coraine
Oh no sayang sayang. You know those baby centre weekly updates? I signed my hubby up for them too. For us, we experience the baby everyday, it's very special and real to us. But the hubbies don't get the same feeling so it's sometimes hard for them to feel the excitement. After baby is born then action really starts for them. But if at that stage still iphone addict then er... Bo ueh tang gong (hokkien for "nothing to say")

Mummy gina
I also short tempered. More than usual. My poor #1. But I found something works for me - the more rest I get, the better my temper. Perhaps it's exhaustion that adds on to the quick temper. If possible, try to sleep half to one hour earlier and test it out?

Getting hubby's attention
I remember sticking a post-it pad on my huge belly (#1) with the words "papa, mama needs to talk to you". Got his attention and we both had a good laugh

Re hubby playing games: um mine stopped after baby was born. Also cos he matured la haha. So take heart, maybe he'll be so busy helping u with baby that games will collect dust

Summerbliss
I checked on the exact same questions yesterday with gynae! I was also surprised by my little weight gain. But he said a lot of women actually lose weight in 1st and start to put on only in 4th month or so. Nothing to worry about. Also sharp pains and "tightness feeling" is all due to expanding muscles. All ok. All normal

Yup me. Cutting down on workload. #1 is changing to "real" (3-hour) school instead of childcare so I'll be doing all the ferrying. It's closer to home which is good but that means a 20-min walk compared to a 3 bus stop ride. With #2, I also dunno how. Will be madhouse for sure! But will manage la. Somehow

Talking to baby
I even make "baby's voice" and #1 has conversations with baby! She knows it's me but it cracks her up and she plays along.

Re baby movement vs gas
I think... If movement is not followed by poooooot (you know, the smelly thing), then it should be baby and not gas? Haha.

Staying home more
I just thought I'd share this cos some of you seem to be toying with the idea. This is what we did/are doing, and it's working out so far so good. I'd be lying if I said there've been no sacrifices. But we don't have a car, maid, cable. None of the supposed 5Cs la. So our expenses are relatively manageable.

After #1 was born I still went back to work. But only for a couple of weeks cos our babysitter option didn't work out and we tried having a helper but let her go after 5 weeks. Maybe it was post natal blues or what but I really didn't like having a stranger in my house. We live in a small apartment so bumping into each other was inevitable. My parents are working and in-laws don't live in SG. So I had to resign in a hurry cos there was no other option. We really didn't want infant care.

It was my hardest decision, career wise because I loved my job (I mean really L-O-V-E-D it) and I probably have saboed myself into career suicide. But as a mum, it was my best choice ever. I was a SAHM for 17 months (during which I stumbled a freelance work option and worked while baby slept or during whatever scrap of time I had) and then hubby did SAHD for 6 months between jobs while I started a new FT job.

Worst. Decision. Ever.

But only cos I was in a horrid job with a horrid boss and all colleagues rushing to suck up to this horrid boss. Every other director in that co was nice but I had to get assigned to this particular one. So I lasted 8 months. #1 also started going to childcare around that time (at about 22 months).

Then hubby went back to FT work and I managed to start a small biz based on kids my daughter's age. Purely coincidental and I absolutely love it. Still holding on to that freelance work option on top of that.

But now, new plan is next year, will slow down on the biz and concentrate on freelancing (because the money helps and it also helps maintain some level of sanity).

Based on those I know, and my own experience, staying home is definately a doable option. Belt tightening necessary. And there are sacrifices to make. You might need to be creative about the way you earn your extra dough too but it's all possible if you are willing to explore options.

I just hope that by sharing this, you might somehow see that if you want to, you can do it too. Cos honestly, they can drive you crazy but kids are only young once. If I don't want to spend time with my daughter now, next time when she grows up and doesn't want to spend time with me, I cannot complain.

Wow. My longest post ever!

tangerinez

when we went for OSCAR and detail scan for #1. We tried a few time also cannot cause he doesn't wan to lie down for the sonographer to take the thickness of the neck. So walk in .. walk out . and they ask my wife to cough also no use until I Cough ... then this #1 monster move a bit. Very strange but it works.

pinkbunny

I also sign up those Baby growth update for my wife .. but in the end i still have to filter out and fWD to her then she will read.

mmm about the weight gain and weight lost thing, i did ask the doctor and he say, there shouldn't be so much weight gain because the baby itself is not very big... shouldnt have so much weight gain. In fact last mth when i go, i got weight loss due to the constant vomitting...

As for my job, im gald for the 4 mths maternity leave....but i dont think im able to leave my job adding on to the fact that im a regular in the army(yup i wear the camo uniform that your hb wear when he goes back reservist) and im earning abit more than my hubby (im a 1SG he is a CPL) so if i stop working, it will be a v big toil on our expensese...the only thing i hope is my mil or mother(keeping fingers cross) will help to look after... and the most which i can do is ask for working on a half day basis due to my kid is less than 1yr old...for a year...

Ya..cheekieduckie, guess we gonna try hard to bring in the milk

Talking about MIL .. I tink as long she don see us feed the baby.. We wont b hearing her comment we got no enough milk or milk too thin.. These kind of remarks. I tink I will b the kind ..conservative type ..close door feed in the bedroom.

talking about work arrangements, thanks pinkbunny for sharing your experience. i'm starting to worry about it as well but i guess when the actual situation arises your heart will tell you what to do.

for me, i've been considering to quit my job after maternity leave but in-laws and hubby are against it. reason is that i earn more and it's a pity to give up my pay.

hubby works flexible timing and can prob be a 'house husband' for most of the time but i doubt he would want that and i also dun wan my in-laws to pass sarcastic remarks.

we wrote to an ex-helper who was good with kids to ask her to come back and take care of our bb but she's apparently gone to HKG to work. i guess we can hire another helper though there's a chance the helper won't be as good.

no other options left. my mum is no longer around and my dad doesn't know how to take care of kids. my MIL is not that old but she has back pains so can only help to oversee the helper (if we ever manage to get one).

well, i'm not exactly complaining but i guess we'll know what to do when the time comes nearer. i'm secretly wishing for a retrenchment at my company so that i can get 12 mths payout lol.

Leave- I am self employed and self declared I'm not going to work till further notice. I just dump everything to my staffs and arrange for my sis to handle the shop when I'm absence. She understand coz she saw how I suffered for my #1. During my #1, my boss(my mum) just terminate me and I just shake leg at home ( or rather, puke all day n night)

Emo- I am emo esp u can see me ranting all the time. Sometimes I watch tv, got a little bit parting scene I will cry my eyes out. I felt good after a good cry.

Breathless- I am breathless easily. Walk abit or talk longer will be breathless. Nowadays, I upgrade to having a fan blowing at me in air con room.

I just called up Stemcord. I signed up for their 5th yr anniversary promo, paid $50 deposit and locked in price at 5yr ago. When I give birth, I am only charge $500+ instead of the current price of 1.5k. I'm glad my sil make me sign up last time.

Hey mossie! same here self employed! so we can get from govt 2 months right?? or cannot??

Wah tangerinz..can feel your stress..hope u can get a good helper soon! so everything will be solved!

pinkbunny..your replies are always so humorous! wahahaha!!

AhNah, I got my HB to download the babycenter daily updates, he is like reading ahead and what's app me what to expect!!!

My mother staying with my brother nearby but taking care of my 2 nephews. Prior to no.1, she already told me she won't take care for me and I go the domestic helper way. I'm glad that I've made this choice as my upbringing style and my mum is totally different, her style is weaning at 4mths while I did it at 5½mths, stretch it as close to 6mths as possible.

That time with no.1, I "seeked" permission from my then helper if she is ready to take care of no.2 then I tried, subsequently, I've asked her again, she told me cannot then I stopped trying!!!

I'm a workaholic, I'll die if not working!!! I've changed job last year for an easy 9-6 job as I've enough of the rat race and have a miscarriage last year.

I'm glad that my current helper is ok and I've just renewed her to 2 years.

This time, I need to get a separate small freezer for BM as we cook and more things in the fridge.

Thanks Pinky, I'll go ahead to order. High chance that I'm expecting a boy. I got to make sure is easy to teach. My girl is an easy baby, even till now that she is 5 years old.

Ni, no wonder you can do massage on a weekday or breakfast with your son, damn shiok huh.

wah...coraine and mossie are self employed.. oh and i agree on the easy to breathless thing...i sometimes really dont feel like going out at all... and rather sit at a place...but i feel that i sit too long i will get restless....so its such a pain in the neck...

coraine : self employed got 2months paid leave meh? lol..tts new~

Tang : i also wanna find a good helper... but not so sure about it yet thou...

Coraine and mossie - self employed get what 2 months from govt?!! Quick tell me!! I also want!!

Tangerinez
Yes, your heart will tell you what to do

Aisu
Wow you are so cool!! When I was younger I always though wah army ladies always look so "sart sart" in their uniforms

Aishuime..hehe..im self employed..but dont earn much..freelance piano teacher =)

pinkbunny~ not very sure leh!! but i did look up on this last year or so..and found forms to fill up..
let mossie tell us whether it is true.. =)

hi mommies!
TGIF!! Looks like all mommies starting to make plans for post-delivery. I took 2 months ML for No. 1 and it was tough as I was still trying to stabilize milk supply etc...this time I have declared to my boss that I will take 4 months straight but I will step in to work when absolute necessary I.e once or twice a month. I have a flexible working arrangement so i have zero complains. I remember I was still doing some work from home during my confinement period. hahah...

busy preparing for my daughter's birthday, which is next weekend already. can't believe she is turning 3 so soon. kinda miss her goo-goo ga-ga days when she barely had any hair and had her gummy smile.. at the same time, seems surreal that hubby and I are going through the cycle which we thought was never-ending (night feeds, sleepless nights, diaper changes, etc)...the joys and challenges of parents. hahah...

Cheekyduckie, I wanna scout around forums n Craigslist for a secondhand one so it may take time. Plus around cny my parents sure stock up on food to prep for clan gathering so no harm getting by jan next year
I'd rather stock up on bm in case *touch wiod* I can't bf for some time for whatever reason eg. Medical or overseas or what.

Pinkbunny, I love your honest sharing! I just resigned from work end of last year. I was working part-time after #2 came along but I felt it still wasn't a balance.

So I agree with you that some sacrifice needs to be made. While some ftwm envy sahm, I'm a sahm who envies ftwm who can balance work n family so well

But whatever choice we make for our family, so long as it is smthg wh makes us a better parent. No point staying home but grumpy n stressed right? ;)

yesterday i heard from my sis that alot of nursery school for dragon year babies r taken up! anyone read that article?? so scary...

wow, there r a few self-employed mum here... including me!! btw, do we have to contribute CPF in order to entitle for the 2mths maternity??

pinkbunny : haha okie la... but now wear liao look fat and frappy... >.< and every year hv to pass my bmi...lucky i no need take ippt already... =P

anyway, what is this stemcord thing that mossie was saying?

im also thinking should i take 4 months str8 (actually is 2mths + 28days +28days) maternity leave or not... hmmm..

I think in order to claim 2 months u have to contribute to ur cpf through ur company. Then u can claim 2 months from govt. my sis just did that.

The Stemcord is actually a promo I signed up 5yrs ago. I still Wana keep the cord blood for #2 since I already did for #1. Gotta be fair mah. I think now if u sign up, it will be 1.5k. But u can always get referral fee when u introduce ur friend after u sign up

You all can really write. I cannot keep up reading. Dinner for today seems like still no takers. Anyway I cannot make it too. My boy is having fever. Went a&amp;e kkh for children n temp still didn't come down but dr ask us go back monitor.

I really wonder how parent of 3 children managed. Already with one coming n 1st one sick was a lot of work. Sometimes when one sick all also fall sick how do they deal with it? Whole family was triggered to fall sick when boy fallen ill. That time very tough.

Ladies tell me what do u all prefer? Totally no meet up for this grp of mummies or Meet up nxt wk on weekend or weekdays. Pls give your input.

Any mummy know gender of bb? Are we adding into the spreadsheet?

silvery gal> actually i'm one of the kiasu mummies.. haha i jus recently registered for pre-school for my baby too. and realise there are already ppl on the list.

Leo, probably can arrange next week.

What is his temp range? You know how to monitor? Take a piece of paper, record temp hourly, medicine administration, poo poo &amp; pee pee movement. Fever peak around 2-3am. How old is he? More than 1? Can give chilled drink to cool him, wear liang liang. DON'T wrap up. Give more fluid to replenish the fluid lost with the high temp.

Hi all, just back from the Baby products warehouse sales... quite small scale... those looking for Capella/Luckybaby stroller may have a look, coz having 20%.

silvery gal
I read your post and called my gal's childcare. The principal laughed and told me not to worry. She will save my boy a seat! Haha. So funny.

bubuya
I went too. So many people!! I just bought a rocker. Display set @ $20!! So cheap. Can remove to wash somemore. Very happy. Saw this baby chair, so pretty but hubby say takes up alot space

gingerbreadger: hahha... to register for pre-school, how much deposit to put??

Eliz: so good to have the privilege... i never saw that article. so i dunno which papers posted it...

where is the baby products warehouse sale?? i wanna go...

i dint have to pay any deposit. oni fill form on parents particulars. the rest of the babay's one put TBA. they will contact me again when need to pay deposit. 2 wks back i went to the open house of a preschool, actually their ratio of teacher to students is very small 1 teacher to 6 students. and they oni have like 3-4 classes so i guess the intake is quite little aso. so no harm b kiasu a bit?

Silverygal : Oic .. thanks... told my hb.. and he is shocked.. coz we already intend to put our bb thru to our church kindy.. and its quite hot.. many ppl on waiting list kind... so I think he is abit panic when I told him tt...

those schs are prob those branded and more popular ones bah.. like st james, julia gabriel, wisnor someting.. those at dempsey atas area.. those schools have a waitlist one.. i noe my fren registered her baby at a non-dragon yr, right after the baby was born in April, and was on waitlist already.

For dragon year, schools and cc will increase their intake to cater to the increase in birth rate. I supposed the popular schools you need to chop seat early.