(2012/04) Apr 2012

Leo_baby: this friday i cant, coz its my co's D&D.

Yes, the lunch is super sinful but feeling good hahaha...

Yea, we should meet up more often to share tips..

Smoke> Pardon my fish brain so forgetful. Hope the outfit can fit you. Else let me know I will see what other outfit I may have. That was my favourite so I remember that outfit.

Mummies who wish to meet can always propose an alternative date as noboby suggested anything I was just plucking the dates in.

Leo_baby, this fri I can't, need to do house to house visit. I tried to join other days. I'm at Suntec, you locations are ok for me.

6231926.jpg

Just to share what forum mummies can do when all get together.

We gathered all our babies for their first xmas party all wearing the same rompers.

the picture is so cute!! can't believe the govt still thinks we have a declining birth rate. hahaha....

just did my triple test today. went to gynae clinic to pick up some cold meds too. been having a persistent cold since saturday.

For those 2nd time mum, do you have similar symptoms like your 1st? For my no.1, I got nothing, for this one, cannot eat fish, feel a little of MS here and there.

We can do father's day together since mother's day half of the mummies will still be confinement.

meinme
I'm having the same MS but this one is tough.. #1 just eat and puke, like merlion, no sweat. This one, sigh.. eat, feels uncomfortable for an hr or so then will go toilet to puke.

so early bring babies out? I think i will keep my #2 indoors till 3 months old? hahaha.. Build up immunity 1st.

I ever did name embroidery rompers with the baby names for a group of SGMOtherhood mummies last time cos one of the mummies is hub's colleague. Cannot remember she from which year/month thread. They use the rompers for gathering to take pics of the babies together.

I just woke up from afternoon nap since im on mc today. gng to doc in a while, hoping to get mc tmr also cos hub birthday hehehe...

MsTan - I only heard some pantangs from my mum and my best friend. Which is don't cut things while on bed and always bring a sharp object with u whenever u get out of your house. So I have with me penknife in my bag cos my mum ask me to bring. Otherwise all not so bad lah the pantang.

After giving birth, our pantang is to stay home for 40 or 44 days after giving birth to tio our body first before we step out back to the world. But sometimes unavoidable like have to bring baby for checkup or even to go for your own checkup. In such cases can go out for a while but come back asap.

leo_baby >> wow! what a beautiful happy photo! What's on the bb's romper? their names? And hw u all managed to find a spot for all the bbs man!!! hehehehe Looks v fun

Kimmy - for us Malays lah. So the evil will not come near us. Also we must stay indoors whenever it's nearing and during the dawn prayers (645-730pm) cos that's when Satan and the evil will come out 'to play'. Once we give birth, we must carry our babies in our arms during this time too so that the evil won't come near them cos babies are very pure.

I forgot who ask me for my FB hahaha it's Brina 莹莹 anyway my edd is 30/04/12..but gynae say will early de so ya...I don't think I wanna buffet yet... Coz still cnt eat alot yet... Bo hua hahahaha...these few days no MS but I'm keeping my fingers cross...I think I'm into my 14wks... Nxt check up will be just nice 4th mth Liao... Lol... About the intercourse think, hahaha I think I'm still quite active in the aspect...but sometimes I vomit till I sianz then I reject my hubby... :p no bleeding thou...lucky sia..

MeiNme
Ur home facial is at your therapist's home or ur home! Just curious

Facials are now more painful for me! Never liked the extractions but now so unbearable that I always ask them to stop before they're done :S

Yes I remember showering with the super burning hot water too!!!

Amiang
Super mum? Haha thanks for the kind words but no, it's more like "got no other choice" mum

Showing
Haha I am super duper showing, esp after lunch! But the great thing is that now when take photos, instead of sucking in, we can proudly stick it out!

Andreanie
Don't say you, I second time mummy also sometimes confuse gas with baby movements hehe.

Ms tan
Yes! So many superstitions! That's why I try not to listen when people tell me. Cos after listen then you wonder oh no, should I heed this "advice" or not? Act blur, live long right?

Like preggie women cannot sew, but I so wanted to make a cloth book for my #1. So went ahead and did it. (So glad I did cos she loved it). And cannot use scissors but I need it everyday due to my job! Cannot don't work right?

But things that can avoid, I just avoid lor. Like if got reno or drilling at home, I just stay out.

Leo baby
Cool pic! I have one with 11 babies on my sofa with my other thread mummies. We so should meet with the babies next time! So cute with the same rompers hehe.

Don't forget, pic of all preggie mamas also super cool! Did I mention before, I took one with other preggie friends, all 30+ weeks preg, standing in a row, side facing. Even tourists stopped to take our pics haha.

Ohhhh makan outing yesssss! My hubby doesn't take meat so I feel like super greedy if I go for yeow kwee night with him and it's only me who's eating. But dinners a bit hard for me :S

Seeing gynae on Thurs!!!! So excited!!!! Then I'll know I'll need to go on new shopping spree or dig out all #1's old dresses to wash

adreanie, but my Malay colleague said Malay dont pang tang this ley.. kekek so you also selectively choose to ' pang tang' lah .. like wat Pinkbunny mentioned..some of the task we have to do due to our work... no choice yah..
I am very into craft work, i used to sew baby booties for my nephew but i am not sure if i can start sewing now? I also feel like sewing bolster case too.. just bought the fabric from chinatown.
6233571.jpg

Kimmy> The gathering was their first Xmas party and we collected funds and bought their first xmas romper. They all gathered at my condo function room but the most difficult part was to get the play mat from different mummies which I don't think I will do it again as every mummies then expected me to pick up and return to them even though some of them drive. Tough job.

Leo_Baby: The xmas baby party i did with my other grp, we had spreadsheet to record who bring what lar. So mummies volunteer their services and help lor. We had recept, food i/c, games i/c, prizes i/c, etc. So everyone play a part. But of cos, we had a mini main committee who would oversee the entire event.

Pantang: Hmmmm... What i heard was cannot sit on bed to sew, use scissors. Try not to nail or hammer stuff also. So when i need to sew a button, tack my pants, cut stuff, i sit on floor or sofa or anywhere else other than my bed lar. Cannot be don't use scissors mah! I used scissors to cut open the crab i ate over the weekend leh! hahahahaha

All in all, i just avoid whatever i can. Nailing and hammering are out cos i very clumsy. In the first place, I never did those at home ever.
Reno can avoid then avoid lor. I can't help it that my office is forever having some "upgrading" at different places right.
As long as baby is healthy, old folks reduce nagging at me, i will be happy lar.

Pinky, she does freelance at her place, she converted 1 of the bedroom to facial room.

Ms Tan , that is a nice fabric.

Aiyo, before I delivered no.1, I still went to Spotlight to buy cross-stitch material, planned to do my wedding shots, till now, still in the bag cause my mum says after delivery cannot sew! Anyway, I also no time, busy milking!

Adreanie, you bring penknife out? You cannot go highly sensitive places then. How about nail clipper? I've that in my bag.

Yes, Malay confinement is 40days. At least, you don't have to worry about the massage, sure can slim down. Anyone that you can recommend? I won't go back to my old one which charged me $475 for 5 sessions and I only wrapped for 2hr due to allergy.

Any scrapbooker here? I intend to do a pregnancy journal

cheekyduckie
use scissors to open crab? hahahha!!!

ms tan
cute fabric! i love fabrics at chinatown too! so much cheaper than spotlight, i feel

andreanie
lucky you don't work at airport or supreme court kind of place. else how you explain through the scanning machines about your penknife? keke.

leo baby
aiyoh that's not nice, to expect you to pick up and delivery back! tsk tsk! ours was everyone contributed $x then catered food! i think it was only 2nd/3rd party onward that we had 'games'. like fastest crawler haha

My in laws hse wan Reno-ing when u was preggy, thou the major Reno I went to my frd's hse and stay but I was in the hse when there was painting done...oh well...it can't be avoid so just let it be lor...just had laksa.. :p woke up hungry and saw that my MIL bought laksa so I ate.... MtB can eat anything that is left on the table lol!

Sigh, my in laws are against me having a CL... Say it will be a toll on our financials... Our car insurance is also almost the same time as my EDD... Say ask my hubby's grandma to come and cook for me and look after the baby can already. Don't need to so troublesome...but from what I know, the grandma likes to play mahjong. I wonder will she stay the whole day and goes home only in the evening or not...

Mossie : the SIL and me are not on talking terms due to some stuff happen... She is 18 only and in poly... She can be very unreasonable at times... I tried talking to her and all I felt was talking to a wall and she take me as invisible. She should know that I'm preggy but apparantly don't give a damn. I purposely posted on FB to let people comment on what kind of people is that to let the kittens roam around at nite with no lights on and a preggy woman at home...

Aisuhime: dun b angry over it to spoil ur brand new day. U just be careful when in dark.. Nowadays, is difficult to communicate w younger ppl as they cannot tahan what others say...

Finally getting to c my baby today after 1mth. As at least ease my paranoid, keep asking hubby if baby is still breathing...

Thank u leo baby for sharing ur bf experience. It was really useful.

Cheeky duckie , I think I will get free style. Hopefully the pumping is as good as PIS cos I really love it.... Btw I bot a handsfree to connect to PIS n it works. Just tat it won't be as portable. Heavy to lug around everywhere I go.. Thanks lots for sharing.

Mummies , any one got usa website contact to buy medela b pump?

Btw my first gal keep saying she want meimei n confirm 2nd one is meimei. Was disappointed at first when Gynea told me... But afterwards, I reminded myself tat I shd be thankful considering tat 1st trimester was horrible n I survived it n more importantly bb is healthy. Btw gynea determined gender when I am 17 weeks now...

Silvery : ty for your advice
I will be careful thou because I know how she is.

Summer : what is PIS? What isit use for and what is free style? Anyway, I think ur #1 alrdy got feel what is ur #2 going to be. They say kids can feel and 'see' these kind of thing de...

Morning mummies! Thanks..yup I really like the fabric.. I m not sure if I start to use sewing machine after detail scan will tat b ok? I ve knw my fren who is 8mths pregnant already sew alot.. How u all tink?

Good morning mummies and happy November!! Do you already hear Christmas carols being played?

Summerbliss
Congrats on a princess!!

MeiNme
Wow ur therapist, so ingenious!

Aisu
Any chance you can move back to your parents' place for confinement? Granny may be very old and no energy to help you take care of baby. In the end, you may be even more tired cos you might be frustrated with granny. Talk it out with ur hubby. I've learnt that such things, it's better to both be on the same page. Good luck!

Sometimes the younger ones are really blur and only think of themselves. Thinking back, maybe I was like that too.

On the bright side, you had laksa

Ms Tan
I have a sewing machine but it's still nicely in the box cos I don't know how to thread/work it! I'm very bad with instruction manuals hehe. I usually hand sew. Whcih means it takes a long time and is really bad quality. Like my daughter's halloween costume, one side long one side short and everything fraying haha.

But for #2 I'm thinking of making pillow
initially wanted to make patchwork quilt but that's too ambitious for me!!! Maybe by the time I am a grandmother la

Hair during confinement
So just to share: when preg with #1 I suddenly thought, in my 3rd tri, what an excellent idea it was to chop off my long hair. But I forgot that preggie hair is diff from non preggie times. So maintenance was diff too. And during confinement it was just horribly hot. I learnt my lesson and I'm keeping my hair this time. At least long hair can tie up!

Reminder
Hey ladies don't forget to do kegal exercises! It's the squeezing of the muscles that control pee flow. Cos when baby gets bigger and presses down, it is possible to leak when you cough/sneeze/laugh too much! Good to startpracticing now. Can do it everywhere, on train also can. But practice at home first to make sure you're not making a funny face when you do it hehe.

Summerbliss
My boy also kept saying he wants a didi coz he only want one mei mei. In the end, in my last scan at 15 wks the gynae says most likely it's a boy. I had wanted ano gal. Also disappointed initially. But so long bb is healthy doesn't matter.

Pink bunny
my muscles already weaken after 2 pregnancies n sometimes when I cough, I also experienced leakage which can be irritating. Ended up gotta wear panty liner all the time. So it's true that got to practise the kegel exercise whenever we can!

actually this is only my first pregnancy. and i'm only in my 4th month, i already experienced leakage whenever i sneeze. so now i carry extra panty and panty liner around

Pink bunny & MeinMe - my penknife is foldable one lah, no one will know its a pen knife lol!!!! So far no problem at all. Hehehe... Use safety pin also can, still a sharp object

scissor & sewing
My mom just tell me not to do it on my bed. Other places ok.

Leakage
I'm leaking bad!! When i vomit/sneeze/cough, esp when bladder is full. Gona check with my gynae tmr when i see him.

Sewing: my no1 x-stitch name plaque is still sitting in cold storage ever since his birth

Vitamins from gynae:
Any idea if we can get cheaper calcium supplements Obical from pharmacy?

pinkbunny: Yes... Confinement in April and May can KILL! i am 2nd time confinement in this period! wahahahaha. but i still gonna chop my hair. cos i got license to wash! so cut short, easier and faster to wash and dry for me. Othertimes, i just secure all my hair up with headband. So no hair touching neck and face. Good!

Gingerbreadger, Odiey: yeaps. i already have leakage too. i am using Poise liners/pads. Think it's for urinary leakages. not the same as sanitary pads. So far so good. Can buy from watsons.
I am trying very hard to do the kegel... though i really have no idea if it's done correctly lar. so difficult lor.

Ladies! I love that we are all so honest about things here. E.g. leakage! :p Yeah, me too lah. Yesterday before gg out, I sneezed and had to go change. Hubby asked why my face so black. I said I feel like old woman.

So regret not doing kegels faithfully. Do it now ladies!

My first pregnancy I had urinary tract infection (UTI). Gynae advised me not to wear panty liners too often cos may increase risk of UTI. So maybe when home and at night try not to wear liners.

Aisuhime, you stay with you SIL? When preggy with no.1, 1st thing I've asked gynae is is it ok for me to have my dogs? Cleared, as long the dogs been with you more than 6 months, your body already used to their existance. Cat and cat litter is a big NO NO, do not take the risk. Car insurance, confinement is different thing, how can put them together? There are a lot more things that comes with the baby, finance needs to be planned ahead. Pinkbunny has a good suggestion to move back to your mum's place, nothng is closer to mum. My mum doing my confinement cooking this time like my last.

Summerbliss, as long the baby is healthy, girl or boy is secondary. You girl got her wish fufilled.

Pinkbunny, initially, she wanted to go full time but there is a full time work opportunity so doing this as part time and supplementary income. She charged $38 per session then, she is adjusting to $48.

I've 2 sets of stories for my girl, she wants a didi, if really didi, her plan is her didi will marry her BF's meimei!!! If is a meimei, I'll tell her mummy will buy more pretty things for her to share with meimei, didi cannot share hair clips, clothings. My HB was a little disappointed cause he has wanted a 2nd girl. Well, we shall know in 4 weeks time.

Cheekyduckie: great! Will buy from pharmacy than paying a premium to my gynae & sponsoring petrol for his Porsche.

Urine leakage: I experienced that too
it's embarrassing & gotta carry a constant supply of panty liners with me.

gingerbreadger
I will but i gather would be as what Odiey mentioned, our muscle weaken, esp after having #1

Cheekyduckie
Thanks for sharing. I so gona get myself some.

Kegel
I tried but not sure if i'm doing it right. Arwgh!

Leakage
So glad i'm normal. Thanks for sharing!!