(2012/04) Apr 2012

Cayden's mummy, true also if WANs to disturb bb, place ware also the same. Sigh... But if mattress will Kenna step by my #1 unknowingly ornot. Lol.. Haha

B@by/pinkbunny, act. I have both bed n cot for my #1. The cot aldy converted to toddler bed for my #1 so will ng touch tat. As for the playpen, it doesn't comes with the bassinet for bb. tink will most prob get a playpen with gd height if possible for time being... Else gt problem dismantling n fix the cot back when shifting bk to my place after confinement.
thks mummies for advice.

wow chalis: 1 april! good luck!!

cayden's mum
thanks, i'll go check it out tomorrow!

mom2012
me too. got the achy pains if i sit for too long.

SG
what do you mean your playpen doesn't have bassinet for baby? you mean cannot sleep in it? oh i thought all playpens come with sleeping option one!

SG: haha but at least u dun need to dismantle to bring back to ur place.. not bulky.. gotta teach ur older kid not to go inside e room lor and watch over him..

I also dunno how im gonna bend sooo low to put bb inside the playpen leh! cant imagine put bb down, take bb out repeat how many times per day.. back will be super sore..

chalis: ahhh!!! im freaking out too.. its like a time bomb leh.. lol!!

mum2012 - i also feel the same... especially when i turn from one side to another side when sleeping..

Chalis : Jiayou! feeling excited?

by the way mummies, can i ask if it is ok for newborn to sleep in aircon room after they are discharge from hospital? Is it a common practice for the confinment lady to sleep with newborn in aircon room?

Tks for your advise as i am a first time mum.....

can i ask for mummy that are tested GBS postive is there any additional tests needed to do for baby when they are born.after our labour will we still be on drip? i am due soon just tested GBS POSTIVE so quite worrying thus asking for advices.thx

fantasy_island Hi cayden's mummy,

Bought the tiger food jar @ $49:)
You bought flip flop? My legs so swollen tt no size is suitable for me. End up i bought Ecco sandle to support my aching legs.
Agree impression cotton pj comfortable, bought 2.

Re: silk pj, I bought one @ 16.90 @ booth in hougang mall.

Thanks for the pricing fantasy!!

Too bad my hubby did not allow me to buy their cotton PJ, he say after my confinement I won't wear it le. Boohoo. But their designs so nice n sweet..

Yup fitflop! Super love. It's the lunetta in black.

Kirsten: hi! I'm tested GBS positive too (think I'm the only one here!). Which hosp will u be delivering at? Mine is KKH. I checked with my gynae, we will be given antibiotic frm iV drip during labour which is compulsory anyway as we won't be able to take food. After birth I think they will still test your baby to check just in case. Dont worry about it. Apparently it is very common, but so far seems like only KKH makes it compulsory to test for GBS..

Pinkbunny, some playpens only for bb to play inside leh.. Bur some do have another top layer where we can place a mattress for bb to sleep like cot. My #1 only can throw bigger bb inside to play de. Haha

Cayden's mummy, haha dun tink we can bend up n down esp. During confinement my back will break unto half lor. Lol ! Train my #1 dun go in n disturb ah? I tink very difficult leh. He's mischievous boy last weekend just pour a cup of water in sofa purposely to make me angry. Sigh I also hope he xan be trained.

cayden mummy

i am super sian when i knw i am tested postive for GBS. why do we need to be put on drip when we have already finish our course of antibiotic before labour. I am afraid that the drip would affect the baby and make us has any side effect (drowsy, vomiting) i deliver at tmc. when r u due?how many week are u now?So far what does KKH give u for your GBS just antibiotic any tablet given to be inserted to your vagina?

kirsten: i'm also tested GBS positive. After taken antibiotic for a week, last week my gynae did the test for me again. Now waiting for the results. Next Mon see gynae should be able to know the results and whether i still need medication or not. Sienz.
I'm now 38 weeks already. Hopefully everything's alright.

Morning mommies.. was wondering if we're allowed to use conditione for when showering during confinement? Heard that the Spring Botanicals shampoo may be a lil drying.

I'm at week 35, noticed that my bump suddenly "sank" and drooped very low! Anyone got this too? Next visit to the gynae is not till next Tues!

Littledd, I am in week 34+.. My mil also commented my tummy getting lower .. They say It is becoz baby head is down. I am so looking forward to my gynae appt this sat ..

bubuya

i think after one week of med the bacteria shld cleared.hope you dun deliver before bb is out.anyway we will haVE drip during labour ithink

Littledd, mm if you feel uneasy u may want to push forward your gynae appointment? Today while walking i start to feel the pressure below and have to walk slow..

I preponed my doc's appointment to today from friday as I started feeling too much pressure and pain in pelvic while walking yesterday. Lets see what the doc says. I am 35 weeks today

Now that we are at final leg of our pregnancy, most of our babies should have turned and probably engaged liao. That's why tummy may appear to have "dropped". For me, the top part of my tummy is totally empty liao (can literally press my fingers down all the way in!) with the occasional elbow or heel jab

Also feeling more pressure in pelvic area, esp after sitting for too long. Not long more! Jia you everyone!

Those with older kids: are they more clingy now? Mine has suddenly decided to wake in the night and come from her room to climb into bed with us! She's not done that for months and months!

M in 37 weeks already, yesterday suddenly feel that my stomach is low. GBS is it bacteria in vagina? The doc is so ridiculous gave me only 3 days of antibotics, end up also not clear, waste my money and time. Thought must continue for a week then it will be totally clear. Now it is still present. I am irritated by this inexperience doc.

Stomach will droop / become lower during last few weeks, as baby head has turned downwards. Dun worry

SG: LOL! U must be so angry at your boy! Maybe u can close the door till leaving a small gap, and leave a bell so if ur boy go and open the door, u will know?

kirsten: Ya I feel so sian also.. was quite worried initially. But after research that it is actually very common and complications are quite rare, then I relaxed and dont stress about it le.

KKH gave me 5 days worth of antibiotics but did not retest. Gynae just say need to be put IV drip during labour. This is to prevent baby from being infected. As the bacteria can come and go. In fact, some women will get false (false negative) results during swab test as the bacteria moves from place to place in the vaginal area.

"As the bacteria can come and go, testing for GBS is recommended by US public health protocols at the 36 week antenatal appointment of every pregnancy. The vagina and rectum are swabbed and cultures grown in enriched culture media."

b@by: there are no symptoms. According to wikipedia: "Group B Streptococcus (GBS) is a part of normal flora of the gut and genital tract and is found in 20–40% women."

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Strep_B

so mummies

how freq are u visiting yr gyn. i m 35 week now n still seeing her biweekly.i tot shld be seeing them every week.i guess most of us now cant wait to pop.is a waiting game

im now week 35.5, next visit is 2 weeks later. but shld be starting my weekly visit then.

congrats, sunsweet! care to share your experience? =)

Sunsweet! Congrats!!! Mummies when r you all planning to take your ML? My EDD is 30th April, but I most likely will start my ML in my 37th or 38th week, cause heard some say first child will arrive early?

Mrs Kang: I have heard many saying 1st will be out early. However, I have also heard many saying 1st child usually late!! Who to believe?! So no need listen too much... Just watch out for SIGNS!!
Me working till delivery... cos self-employed

Congrats sunsweet!

Mrs Kang: i'll start my maternity in next week, which is abt 39 weeks. So this few days start counting down for my maternity leave, lol!

Ya lor.. A lot of different saying hee
but I have decided to start ML either on 37th or 38th week le.. Coz I am feeling more and more tired

bubuya: wow, u r going to deliver soon.
yes me too feeling very tired, having terrible insomnia esp last sat n sun. Only managed to sleep from 2am to 530am. then fall sick!

Yay sunsweet!
Congrats on the birth of your princess! Rest well!!

Kirsten
I'm in my 37th week. After this then I will be seeing gyn once a week.

The bacteria thing
Oh ya I remember having that too with #1 and being on the drip but can't remember if that drip was for labour inducing or for that bacteria thing. Did get antibiotics for it tho

Mrs kang
Depends on you. Some mums prefer to work till they pop so can spend more time with baby during ML. For #1, I took ML from week 38 to have 2 weeks to myself for things I knew I wouldn't be able to do in early baby days (like go shopping alone, hi-tea with friends, facial...) And I didn't want to feel "cheated" of all that! But baby ended up coming in week 39 so I only had one week. Better than nothing!

Better faster do all the things you won't be able to when baby is here! I'm trying to squeeze in one more facial and one shiok shiok hair wash! :D

Pinkbunny, at first I wanted to work till I pop.. But recently feeling so tired and can't imagine if I am going to pop but still working in the office..
.. So now I decided to take either on 37th or 38th weeks. Hope can tahan till 38th weeks then take

Hi mummies! My EDD is on 5th April.

Just wondering... Cos my gynae kept telling me this baby(#2) could be bigger than average. So I am wondering if I am going to have difficulty during labour cos I am quite petite in size.. My gynae is very supportive of natural labour so he sort of brushed it off when I asked if I would end up with a c-section. During my last scan at 36 weeks, baby was 3374 grams. Is the weight a norm? Any mummies with similar situation? TIA!

Congrats to Sunsweet!

Hi mummies. ya ya.. my upper tummy seems to be more 'roomy' now.. but from side view my belly still not very droopy yet ,But as i walk i can feel difficulty
In office, many ppl keep asking when i going to pop..they comment that my belly so big already.. :p Got to wait for this Thursday Gynae visit then i know if BB head has engaged. I am in my 36 weeks now!

How are you all feeling mummies? I kind of having nestling instinct these few days.. keep on tidy the house..checking BB stuffs..checking hospital bag ..see anything miss out kekeek!!

ms tan
hehe i have also been super nesting! cleaning the girls' room, washing clothes, sorting the bigger ones by size and in big vacuum bags, TRYING to keep house clean and tidy.... yesterday #1 and i even colour coded all her books to keep them neatly in bookshelves!

lovexuan
wow! my #1 wasn't even that weight at birth (39 weeks)! if your gynae isn't concerned with your worry, then i suppose you shouldn't need to worry

haru
i also want pedi! but gonna check with gynae first if will need to remove colour when delivering. or else waste money hehe.

Pinkbunny- think we have to remove the nail
Polish when we going in for delivery. Anyway I went foot massage n the lady told me that is not good to apply nail
Polish when we are pregnant coz there are substance in the nail polish that can 'eat up' the calcium in our nail n not good for baby. From then on, I quickly remove it. Don't know how true but better be safe then sorry. I also do pedi all the way till abt feb then I found out abt it.

Cayden's mummy, yah was super angry with my #1 always create extra work for me hee... I left him with my hb n showed him my angry face n I went to take a nap for 30mins before I went bk to him haha
Good idea leh, place a bell at the door knob

Congrats sunsweet! Was surprised that people on the forum hadn't started popping.

I really can't wait to pop cos I'm so uncomfortable.

I've been nesting like crazy. Pink bunny, I also rearranged no. 1's books and went to ikea and got a whole load of storage f for mo.1!s toys. I'm now putting final touches on baby's
nursery.

Thanks for reminder about nail polish. Must remember to remove before going in!

Sunsweet - congrats being the 1st mum here giving birth.

YQ - Nuh

Silvery gal - i heard alot of people took very long to give birth to 1st one, over 20h of labour time. So dont kan chiong, relax unless got bleeding or burst of water bag. If got mild contraction still can slowly take your time. I had contractions at 8pm night, i only went in to the hospital in the afternoon 4pm the next day as the contractions are still mild. The nurse can tell me if they find that i am not ready to give birth, they will send me home. Luckily i have opened 3cm already. But for the 2nd one, i dont dare to dilly dally. Gynae say mild contractions might also be false labour, so wait till it gets stronger.

pinkbunny, my #1 wasn't that weight at birth(39 weeks) too! She hit 3300 grams exactly. That's why it worries me. I guess I will just have to go with the gynae's advice. Thanks!

I am approaching 38 weeks and feeling super duper sleepy and lazy all the time. Nesting instinct is somehow gone too. Normal?? The only thing I do is clean the baby cot every morning when my girl goes to school. My pelvic bone hurts like mad with each step I take. Cannot sleep well due to the pain and cannot eat well due to heartburn. Seriously cannot wait to pop! :p

Hi blackangel,

I also came across article that says that it's not good to put on nail polish when we are pregnant. but can't really remember where i read it.

Lovexuan - agree with you, my inner thigh is painful too, everytime i turn from one side to the other while sleeping, i have to use both of my hands to carry the leg. After seated for a while, the moment i stood up the leg,pelvic area and back hurts. Sometimes cant sleep at night, but these few days slept better with aircon. I think too much worries, sometimes cant get into sleep. Being zombie already, after delivery more worse, stil got to breastfeed. Mums try to get as much sleep as possible coz after delivery will be worse!

Also cant rebond / perm / colour your hair. During pregnancy and breastfeeding period. So much rules to abide, sianx.

pinkbunny,
i think you can have pedi done, but best to check w gynae. I remember i had my toenails done just before my delivery for #1. I have ugly toes, dun wanna stare at them when pushing! hahaha...

babydragon,
i am so looking forward to perm my hair when #2 is much bigger and stops bf-ing. I bf #1 till she was 2.5yr old so can you imagine how long i had to abstain from my fav sashimi, etc...

baby drag0n, same here! The pain is excruciating. For me I need to lift my baby bump up slightly while tossing and turning. It feels so heavy and protruding. So sad that I cannot hug my bolster to sleep anymore. But yup, sleep is so precious now. Better get more of it as much as we can!

Hahaha... Tell me about it. I feel like I have bad hair day everyday. Luckily I am a SAHM...no need to purposely dress up for work. :p But for the benefit of our kids, JIAYOU!