(2012/04) Apr 2012

kimmy, birth buddies! I like the sound of that! Hee... And yes, it is so near yet so far. Cant wait to see my little one. I also need to cheong for the next bb fair! Maybe can see each other there madly grabbing things! Lol...

LittleDd, I am getting a stokke. It will be a gift from my parents to the bb so I kinda have little say in it as my mum really likes the stokke for its height and ease of taking bb out as she and I have back problems. I am not saying I don't like it (I do!) but like the others have pointed out, the portability and usability might be an issue. If you are by yourself and have to handle a bb and close/open the stroller, I think it is virtually impossible to do so. And even after collapsing, the stroller is quite big. You need a big boot space to store it so public transport might be an issue too.

For me, I seldom go out without hubby and we drive so less issue. And even if my parents take the bb out, they also drive. But just in case I need to go out on my own, we have already decided on a few lightweight and easy to collapse strollers but not buying yet until I really need it. So you see, even with a Stokke, we are having back up plans as not sure I can cope with it by myself!

As for 3 wheelers, Cheekyduckie is right that mothercare has many in stock. Can go take a look. We actually like the Quinny buzz or city mini but my parents prefer Stokke so that is the one we are getting since it is a present from them.

Hey ladies, i have a recommendation for bottle and teats. For my number 1 i used tommee tippee and he's still using them now 3 years later.

Why i chose tommee tippee is that the bottle is very wide and hence the nipple is very wide too. Go and check it out - it looks closest to the breast. So i feel this brand is best for feeding both breast (direct latching on) and bottle feeding.

Also remember not to feed your baby any bottles or give them any artificial teats such as pacifiers before 6 weeks if you want to breastfeed them via latch on. This causes nipple confusion.

Thanks for the responses mommies.

Am contemplating between Nepia and Mammy Poko diapers but that's till near EDD. How about napkins? Any mommies plan to have their babies in napkins for the first few months? Diapers may cause rashes easily as compared to napkins logically.

starrie: I read in Motherhood magazine that the new range of Pigeon bottles mimic a mother's breasts very very closely apparently. However, i'm thinking of the Avent (gold packaging) ones and will probably buy a starter set from either brands at the Expo babyfair. Have you bought yours?

RE strollers, now that starrie has mentioned that Stokke's gonna be a gift... side track abit.. you mommies asked for the PUSH PRESENT from your hubbies? Hahahaha!
Oh ya I saw the Quinny buzz too but I still prefer Stokke for its height. Think the best time to buy would be at the babyfair where it's the cheapest right?

LittleDd: Babyfair may or may not be cheapest. Stock might be limited. Some brands won't go on crazy sale. Regardless, should still try out as many as you can.

Rashes: Some babies are just more prone to it than others. Hard to say. I swear by the Avent Baby Bottom Balm. Always put a lot during diaper changes. True enough, my #1 was spared of rashes for the first 6 months or more. The rashes only came in when she started solids. But was quickly fixed with Drapolene or Desitin.

One of my galfriends who delivered recently said that the new range of Medela Calma teats are very good for mixing bottle and breastfeeding. No prob interchanging between bottle and breast with that teat set.

Bottles: I prefer wide neck regular shaped bottles for ease of cleaning. My hb isn't exactly a very thorough person when it comes to cleaning anything. So a wide neck regular shaped bottle is a must!

mummies using california baby products. Is there much diff between calendula cream n calendula everyday lotion? which one is more suitable to use it on diaper area?

miumiu: jia you! be a happy mummy...

littleDd,
i just bot a second hand Stokke. I had a Quinny Buzz for no.1 but its in pink and we are expecting a boy this time so we took the chance to get the Stokke. you are right, e biggest selling point is the height. i tried it with my 3 year old daughter and even she loves it. hubby and i love it coz of the close interaction we can have with baby plus e great height and the convenience when dining out. i went out alone with baby even with my Quinny (and i'm only 1.54m) so i am pretty used to the big strollers already. it does take some practice to handle a big stroller but once you get a hang, its great! much more sturdy and comfy for the child in my opinion.

I am now trying to sell my pink Quinny Buzz'07 (with brand new wheels) so if any mommy is keen on one just PM me. =)

i am a stokke fan and i have the tripp trapp chair at home too which my daughter has been using since 6 months.

fun
i just did the GD at KK 2 days ago.

littleDd
i will be using cloth nappy for the bb. save the rashes problem and $.

desitin cream is good to treat rashes.

Milk Bottle
I used avent bottle for my 1st 2. So, this round, I buy avent, too.

LittleDd, I am intending to use cloth diapers but not at newborn stage as heard might not be suitable as their poo is too watery especially if breastfeeding. As meinme says, might wait till bb is more "stable".
I am in the process of ordering my NUK wide neck glass bottles. Using wide neck for ease of cleaning too. I got some free Avent bottles (those in gold packaging) when I got my steriliser. Still thinking if want to keep as spare or sell away.

silvery_gal, I think calendula cream is for diaper area. But not too sure too.

Those using California baby products, which range is best? Think most mummies chose Calendula but what abt Calming or Super Sensitive? Thinking of Super Sensitive for newborn as no fragrance.

Btw on daily basis, which diaper cream is best to use? Like Cheekyduckie, Mrs Wong says Avent is the best to use. But lots of my other mummy friends use Destin (blue) and only use the stronger version (purple) for treating diaper rash.

Meinme> Thanks for your post. I didn't had my helper for 2 wks and its was hell of time and also I had to clear up the whole house to make room for no.2 and myself. Since I moved in my plc in 2008 and had a mis-carriage then I never re-packed the whole house until recently. I am not a internet person so never see FB and Forum. I prefer SMS or talk which is more real time. Certainly hope that this is still in time for ppl that are keen to cover themselves and their bb.

Little Dd> NUK teats are good for bb. KKH uses them to feed the babies so I use them too. My last forum mummies only started using NUK when their babies refuse to latch on and all mummies are thumb up on it when they were forced to bottle feed their babies.

Stokke strollers are confirm useful but heavy and not much space for barang barang other then bb and perhaps some of bb stuff. U can cosider 1 particular model of Quinny which is also high profile as my friend who are tall themselve prefer the high profile strollers. Myself am using Inglesinia and Preg Perego stroller for no. 1 and no 2. not high profile type though.

Dispers and milk powder order site to share with all mummies and mummies to be:- http://luvbabies.kimsang.com.sg Really good saving from here and many brands and deliver to your house too. Cheaper than NTUC sometimes.

Remember I mentioned abt Avent Phillip that I can get at discount> I posted it's 40% I have to correct myself. All other Phillip product is 40% and Avent product is 30%. Anyone interested to get discounted Phillip items pls text me at 93872777 last day for such offer is 6th Feb 2012

Starrie: I would advise not to use drapolene or desitin as diaper barrier cream. Can use as treatment. Otherwise, if the rash really comes, nothing is going to work.
There are other brands of barrier cream like Mustela. But I never try before.
I have been using Avent Bottom Balm since day 1. Wet Wipes I used Pigeon since day 1 too. All these I am still using with #1. I always buy in bulk during Robinsons Sale.

For California baby, I'm using calendula range..tried aloe Vera range but dun think it's as good..lotion is lighter than cream..thus I'm using lotion everyday after bath all over body.. Using cream only on area requiring intensive hydration or with rashes..
I'm using desitin blue for barrier/maintenance...n desitin purple for treatment..
For face, I use seba med facial cream as protective cream .

But my #1 started to have eczema, so I'm intending to try out Aveeno from drugstore.com...still waiting for my items ordered thru overseas spree..saw good reviews on this brand for eczema prone babies in us, but not available in Singapore..

starrie & littledd >> my cousin has the stokke and the thing that sold her on it was its height. Its also good for when they go to places where there's no high chair or high chairs are dirty so baby is same height as them at the table. Only downside is as mentioned here by other mummies...the weight and collapsing it. I've seen another frd, a german dad whose so good with gadgets and all that but even he struggles with shutting and opening it alone. Apart from that, very good for those with back problems!

LIttle dd - my cousin bought the 2010 model (which is older, in terms of colors) so hence she got it cheaper, also was a present from parents. hehe are you asking for a push present from hubby? Haha for me it was easier as colleagues asked my hub what push present he was gonna get and then also when my sil pop 2 yrs ago, my bil troubled hubby to help him buy the push present and keep it till d day so that it could be a surprise so hmmmm

Eliz / CheekyDuckie - couldn't agree more that poise pads are such life savers! Yes, many times I feel embarrassed thinking I might have a wet spot on my pants/shorts/dress but thankfully now I need not freak out too much. Hehe. I even use it at night! LOL.

So mummies, what brand of newborn diapers are recommended? I was told mamy poko for night because it really prevent leaks.

Mel - for tommee tipee, what sterilizer did you use to contain those bottles? TT as well?

Thanks mummies for your kind words. Ya I'm trying to hang in there but sometime when I felt really down, glad I have this forum to let it out...appreciate ur encouragemt v much...I don't hv much hope that hubby or his family/ friend will change after baby is born though, cos this value run deep in their blood, I witness it for my first girl and this is our last try. Anyway this is fate, got to cope w it...

Is there many mummies buying insurance for your baby before born? I a bit concern also after witness my friend new born has heart defect and she got to fork out like 50-70k for the surgery. But is the insurance premium high? Can we cancel policy after baby is born healthy?

Kimmy: Mamy Poko is good for my #1 at night. She is a super wetter at night. But I only started when she was like 16 months old, when i realised that her nepia was leaking on some nights. But it is bad for poo! I tried this on her before in the day, and when she does her wet poo, it's explosive! BAD! After that 1 or 2 explosive poo incident, it's back to Nepia for day and Mamy Poko for night.
Babies tend to poo a lot, especially fully breastfed ones. So mamy poko might end up very costly. Need some trial and error to get the best value for money combi without rashes on baby bum bum.

Creams and all: I believe in less is more. So unless necessary, i try not to apply anything on baby. Mummies please note that you might want to do spot test for baby skin products before applying a lot. Cos I know some babies have really sensitive skin and the wrong product might just make things worse.
Barrier creams might be good, but, it is still very important to change baby diapers regularly for obvious hygiene reasons and to prevent rashes. This is the same reason why some disposable diaper babies are more prone to rashes, cos diaper expensive, parents try to push the diaper to the limit before changing.

Thanks CheekyDuckie for your input on Mamy Poko
Yeah, will probably do some trial & error to see which one works the best.

What barrier cream brand do you recommend? Avent?

Anyone got the 2011 Stokke model? Is it a 3 wheeler cos' I think the 2010 on is stilla 4 wheeler though the front 2 wheels are slightly smaller.

Kimmy: Yeah, I'm trying to psycho my hubby to get me Stokke as a push present. Hahaha!

Looks like NUK has the best reviews for their teats. Any idea is they'll be available at the upcoming Baby Expo?

Any mommies who are getting full time maids instead of a CL?

Littledd
I will be using NUK. Used NUK and Pigeon for #1 so will be using the same for #2

Push Pressent
I shd be getting a marie france slimming package if i do not managed to lose by breastfeeding. hahaa.

Hubby is hoping i can lose it naturally then we can head to japan/Europe for a trip.

Littledd.. I am using nuk all the way,, my #1 rejected all the rest of the teat.. Even the nuk wide teats...

Leo baby.. I can't see the pricing from the kimsang web except for those promotion. But I still feel that if ntuc having rebate of 10% when using maybank card, it's more worth it lei.

Starrie.. I use California calendula cream for daily use.. Unless got serious case then I use destin. Other then that, my #1, using the calming shower gel..

Silvery gal.. Calendula everyday lotion is for body as far as wat I noe.

just to share re diaper creams: might want to try using warm water and cotton squares instead of wipes, esp for poo. there are ultimately chemicals in wipes (and they are expensive too!) so sometimes that could cause the irritation. we used more of that instead of wipes, and perhaps it's cos of that that we hardly used any diaper cream. just desitin once in a while

I just like to share with you that Cordlife is now offering those who sign up (up till 12 Feb 2012) a $100 shopping voucher when you put my name as a friend who has referred you to Cordlife. (I will also receive a voucher from Cordlife, so its a win-win partnership;-)

You may PM me for my I/C and full name to be included when you fill up your registration.

pinkbunny, yes, i used cotton with boiled water too. I only used wipes when we are outside.

Starrie: Can share the source u be ordering the NUK wide neck glass bottles? From my 'research', they only sell in Europe, UK & hong kong. I manage to get my friend to get them for me in HK. Been using NUK standard glass for no 1.

Diaper cream: I prefer to use calendula cream on newborn. I will try to avoid cream with zinc oxide & only use when the bum appears red.

pinkbunny, meinme
^5. I also use cotton with warm water to clean bb's butt. wipes always give the skin a sticky feeling after use.

I m using Nuk bottles too and milk bottle sterilizer. Bought them at last Robinson sale .

Recently..experience my BB hiccups.. So funny .. Is like rythmic "thud ..thud..thud.." .. Gynae say is common not to worry

Wishing everyone a Happy Lunar New Year.. Hope Dragon year bring us all good luck, good wealth and good health! :D

Hi silvery gal, thx for e link.

Btw, I read thru these threads on diapers. Went to goggle abt e 2 much mentioned brands ie. goon n nepia. Apparently, comments for nepia has dropped mainly becoz they leak.

For those using nepia, izit true ? Goon seems to recieve e best comments so far

Hi miumiu,

I bought the prudential insurance for baobao when I am wk 20 plus. Think better get a insurance for Bb cos medical is so ex now....

Happy CNY to everyone! Wishing you and your family good health, prosperity & happiness in the coming dragon year. May all of us have a smooth journey in the last tri of our pregnancy and most importantly a smooth delivery and a healthy baby!!

Enjoy the long weekend!

Happy new year everyone! May the year of the dragon bring us all good health, abundant wealth, and perfect babies!!!

Ps babycentre says we're supposed to put on about 5kg this last trimester!
(I'm sure CNY makan would help haha)

Happy new year everyone! May the year of the dragon bring us all good health, abundant wealth, and perfect babies!!!

Ps babycentre says we're supposed to put on about 5kg this last trimester!
(I'm sure CNY makan would help haha)

I'm into my 6th month . yesterday I found a lightly pink discharge when I wiped myself after urinating.. I'm quite worried.. Just curious did anyone else experience this before?

Bbliss: I am ok with Nepia since #1 was newborn. Recently I changed her to MAmy Poko at night. Cos she is super wetter at night. And Nepia can't always contain all. Otherwise day time is ok. Good with poo!

Gong Xi Fa Cai! Been a silent reader following this thread for a while. EDD 18 April and starting to get excited about bb arriving soon!! She's tumbling daily like volcanic eruption..

The sharing experience, esp by 2nd & 3rd time mummies here really helped!

Here's to our Dragon babies and a safe few more weeks ahead

Hello mummies, 龙年行好运! me too a silent reader to this thread.. Edd 25 apr...this is my #2. Nw in my 27-28weeks... Counting dwn so excited yet worried that I can't Cope with two kids.. My #1 is turning 3 nx mth. Getting sticky & notti ever since I'm preggie with #2. *Headache* hee anyway, hope we can share our valuable experience here. Diaper: am using many poko still the best, very absorbent. Barrier cream, destini is gd and calendula cream is effective for eczema or diaper rash.

Happy CNY to all mummies here! Dragon year is here and our little ones are not far off!

LittleDd, NUK bottles are normally not available at Baby Fair. You need to get them at retail shops like Robinsons, Isetan, etc... Wait for sale to buy and you can normally get 20% off + member discount. As for Stokke 2011, it is the same design as 2010 (aka 4 wheeler with 2 smaller wheels in front). Only difference (I think) between 2010 and 2011 is the material and seat. Design wise, it is the same.

Eliz, I also want to go Europe for a trip! But dunno when is suitable for bb to travel as I am a bit reluctant to leave bb behind if it is a long trip.

dink, I will either be ordering from UK retailers and deliver via Borderlinx or asking my friends/family to carry back from UK.

happy new year to everyone! Enjoy the CNY goodies before we all stuck with confinement food for 1 month. :D

little dd
bb's kicking is on and off. but for hiccup, it's consistent time gap for few minutes.

Welcome new mummies

SG
My #1 is 3.5, quite similar to yours. I'm also a bit worried cannot cope with 2. A month after #2 comes, #1 will start school hols. Hubby asked today "what are we going to do huh?" I said "bring her out lor". He said "but #2 will be 1 month old only leh". Alamak, I forgot leh!!! Haha

Yup little DD
Hiccups are more consistent and kicks/stretches/butt rubs are more inconsistent

Yay next week is my turn to see gynae again! Yay!!

Mummies of little girls, I found a shop at The Arcade (Raffles Pl), ground floor called Amazing Kids. Got cute kiddy retro cheongsam! I bought for #1 this year. Love it :D

hello mummies! Happy CNY! Soon January is ending, and with a super short month of Feb, we will be seeing our peer mummies pop one by one in mid-late march! Awww. this is gonna be exciting!

At 28 weeks now, baby is very active and kicks can be quite painful even! But i m enjoying it! the tumbles and the karate kicks! I am gonna visit the gynae tmlo morning! I hope i dont burst the weighing scale after all the CNY goodies gorging!

Jia you on the last trimester, mummies!

Hello pinkbunny, how ah? But my sis with two kids also coping well... I guess mummies have our ways. Jiayou!!! Just hope my monster won't give me trouble with #2 is out. He just started sch 3 weeks ago..trying to train him be more independent, too sticky to me Liao. Go toilet also WANs to break the door
can only do "big business" when he's asleep. Hee... U also Sahm yah?

Oh yah any mummies suffering frm backache? Mine getting bad to worse
have been using heat pads to ease the pain hopefully won't b too warm for bb. Really need a good massage but wondering if it's safe for preggie.

ni
yes! sometimes the kicks/jabs can get quite painful! i think i have a karate kid in there. good luck with your appt tomorrow1

SG
how to cope? we'll just manage somehow la! sure can one. mums anything also can one, right? :D devote all the time when #1 is in sch to #2 lor. no choice.

nope, i'm a WAHM mum. i left my FT job when daughter was born and now do alot of freelance stuff and have my own little biz so i get to spend alot of time with her.

you can search for pre-natal massage
i use head pads (those kind that stick on your clothes kind) for my back pains. checked with pharmacist and it's safe cos it's not applied on, but stuck on externally. you try?

ni
yes! sometimes the kicks/jabs can get quite painful! i think i have a karate kid in there. good luck with your appt tomorrow1

SG
how to cope? we'll just manage somehow la! sure can one. mums anything also can one, right? :D devote all the time when #1 is in sch to #2 lor. no choice.

nope, i'm a WAHM mum. i left my FT job when daughter was born and now do alot of freelance stuff and have my own little biz so i get to spend alot of time with her.

you can search for pre-natal massage
i use head pads (those kind that stick on your clothes kind) for my back pains. checked with pharmacist and it's safe cos it's not applied on, but stuck on externally. you try?

Happy CNY to all mummies & welcome new mummies!

My lil boy has become more "sticky" recently and my mum says he's trying to gain attention before #2 is out.

With tummy getting bigger, I'm getting backpain n walking has been quite slow paced.. Will be trying out the pre natal massage nxt sat when hubby is free..