(2012/03) Mar 2012

I am in same shoes. Worried milk supply. Now start the fourth week. My problem is worst As due to antibiotics dosage and mastitis. Haven't finishes antibiotics yet.

May you share me how is the volume of the milk pump output per day you can yield now?

Shernice>>you mean you pump for 45mins?Usually I only 15mins each breast.
Evelyn>> my breast also not lumpy,& I dont feel full.My milk supply also low.Now I am try to pump more regularly & also taking fenugreek.

How long does it take to establish the milk supply?
For fenugreek, how long does it take to see the result?

Wanda, when you say low, how low?

Now I pumped 6 times a day only. Each time about 45 min on both breasts. Same as you I don't feel lumpy or full suddenly one day. I thought milk no more but when pumping still has milks... Usually can get 60ml on both combined.

heard milk supply will be stabilize by 6 weeks.

<font color="000080">anewmummy >> I read that after milk supply stabilised will stop feeling so engorged, breasts will make milk only when needed. I can't wait for that to happen man, I keep dripping all over the place and if I miss a spot on the floor then ants come -_-;;;;

sunkissed >> Doesn't make sense to alt each side for 5 min. That way you never get the hind milk, only get a lot of fore milk! 15min each side sounds more right lar. If you use single pump won't the other side leak though?

Wanda >> Yes, agree that bfeeding is tough... bobian lar, we come from a culture where at least a generation of bfeeding knowledge was lost because the dastardly milk formula companies convinced our parents that formula was better than breast milk. If not I think we would have a much easier time!</font>

anewmummy>>15mins less than 20ml

Do you all give your baby pacifier? Is it ok to give? My boy having been crying &amp; crying &amp; keeping sticking his tongue out,we gave him pacifier.

BM volume: probably you all dun be so stressed up about the volume of BM that each of you produce? Cos there are many factors affecting the volume, eg genetic differences, using different pump, no. Of pumps per day, how long each session is, do u throughly empty the breast each time etc etc...
I was like that initially in my first pregnancy and I ended up feeling so focused n stressed that I'm not producing enough. It was only after I stop focusing on the volume and instead focus on the no. Of pump sessions and if I emptied my breast each time that my volume increase tremendously. The more stressed u are the lower ur supply will be.

I believe it's impossible that we mummies are not able to produce enough for our babies, cos if that is so, how did our ancestors feed their babies when there was no other alternatives right?

What I do to ensure that I empty my breast each pump session is ill use a warm (almost hot) towel to massage my breast before pumping, focusing especially on the lumps. And after 10 to 15 mins, I'll stop pumping and massage my breast with hot towel again, and then pump for another 10 to 15 mins. I'll repeat this again and again till I am satisfied that my breast is empty. Some times it might take me more than 1 hour. And i make sure i pump every 3 hourly (i think this is v impt if u want to increase supply) FYI I am using Medela freestyle. With this method i can achieve between 250 to 400ml if i pump regularly and up to 600ml in my early morning pump session if i miss 1 one of the night session.

I hope this helps.

Anewmummy: this is my pump schedule

1st 4 weeks: pump 3 Hrly - 7 to 9 times per day
Week 5: pump 4 Hrly - 6 times per day
Week 6 (now) : pump 5 Hrly - 5 times Per day. I've dropped my mid night pump now, so my last pump will be ard 11.30 to 1, and my next pump will b ard 6 to 8 am in the morning.

Kepsis, 600ml pet session or day? If per session it is liked open a pipe and pour out? That is amazing.

For my first two weeks I pump 2-3 hours. Every hardworking
And insee supply keep increasing slowly. The max I get is 600ml per day - the day before the onset of fever. Happens once only. After that high fever and mastitis. Now it drops and indoor feel lumpy at all. It is soft tender and I believe I empty breasts each time. Still no increase probably due to lack of rest and under antibiotics. Kind f disappointed as I did all the right things but one mistake cause fever. Almost want to give up.

So now I only aim to get back 600ml per day.

Wanda ~ I don't feel engorge anymore and only my first pump more bm. Able to pump 60ml combined but getting lesser now. Subsequent pump only 20ml &amp; 10ml combined. Only pump thrice a day and very tiring. I'm on fenugreek now but don't see any increase in supply yet.

@tethysea: haha ya will drip but i use the collection shell or breast pad lor. blame it on my ignorance. was totally not ready for birth at 25 weeks, thought still had a lot of time to prepare. then hospital pump is single pump so i thought single pump is sufficient. didn't expect pumping time to be so long after i got discharged (i do nearly half hr on each side to fully empty breasts). also, forgot to factor in washing and sterilizing time. and will get the hind milk towards the end of the session, no?

totally agree with you abt the BM thing. my MIL keeps saying FM is good.. i also dunno what to say. even my CL said her nephew who was born premature in the UK was fed FM and grew very fast. but it's a fact FM is more "fattening". my baby is alternating BM and FM and she puts on weight quicker.

@Evelyn Tan: babe thrice daily is insufficient! try 5 times at least. i still try to do 4 hourly (cos i want bb to latch on when she's out) except on days i go out. i rem you said you weren't eating well, how's your appetite now? my appetite became huge after i came home. i thought breastfeeding mums got good appetites?? btw, do you massage your breasts while the pumping is being done?

@kepsis: your supply is fantastic esp the 600ml ones!! i can only reach nearly 500ml max if i miss my pumping session.

Kepsis,

I'm using Medela freestyle too. I'm taking fenugreek now. The most I pumped thrice a day and per session 30 mins. Initially, the flow is fast than slow down. Lately, after my pump, I tried to manual press my breast, there's bm flowing out. How do I determine if I empty my breast.

It's very depressing that subsequent pump, the supply is lesser and lesser.

sunkissed, think the most is up to 4 times. I regret not pumping regularly upon discharge. Was very happy when I managed to pump 50ml from one breast. Than suddenly supply drop. The most depressing is that the more frequent I pump but the supply is lesser and lesser. I do massage and drink hot milo or red dates before I pump now.

Not that no appetite... Juz sick of the confinement food that I ate almost the same dishes everyday. But I don't eat alot, abit I'm full already. I only drink soup at night. I tried drinking more also.

I really envy u gals for such a good supply every pump.

ET I can understand your frustration and I am same as you. Actually I thk milk production depends in gene and individual breasts capacity as well. So, despite all effort some women just yield lower supply.

Kepsis and sunkissed, is it possible to share your diets plan? This is the only variable I can think of which might help us. I admit I don't eat much but just enough.

Kepsis, wow 600ml.... Well done. I can't even reach that. Thanks for sharing ur method.

Anyone facing problem example like me one side produce 100ml n the other only 50ml? How to balance it? I have this problem since I missed 1 pumping session. N tried many ways but can't get back the volume. Tried doing extra pumping session also can't get back.

Wanda, u can look up the bulk purchase sect for fenugreek &amp; sacred tea, cheaper than elsewhere.

Callyn, shd look at the total output per day instead of per session, so if you pump more frequently, the lesser the output ea session but if u total up the day output, it may be more or less the same output as pump lesser but more milk per session. But if u continue to pump more regularly, your ss wld increase over the time as u r stimulating your breasts more.

Mummies, don't compare yourself with other mummies, else u get more stressful &amp; when u r stress, it wld affect your output. Also, don't over stimulate that u become engorged or oversupply. If oversupply may hv prob also if bb not getting the hind milk &amp; hence, not putting on enough wt.

Relax ;)

One thing I can say is always empty your breast for each session else you might get blocked ducts an end up mastitis liked me. So, just keep pumping keep emptying them and over time probably ss will up. I honestly hope so. ;)

In any case, I don't think formulae milk is bad. My elder on formulae milk totally and he is growing fine.

Jia you.

@Evelyn: that time i really forced myself to pump 3 hourly cos lactation consultant said bm is best for premmies whose guts are not very well-developed so i told myself MUST MUST pump for my bb. you got CL to cook for you or what? anyway your confinement ending soon alr.. can ask the person to cook dishes that you like ma. actually i stayed about 5 days in hospital after c-sect then the hospital food also like shit. i ate very little in hospital, come home then appetite became better. anyway don't envy and make yourself stressed! rest more and eat more. think the hot towel/shower method helps. did you try seeing a lactation consultant for advice?? my pumping schedule is exactly like kepsis, just that from the 6th week onwards, i continued with 4-6 hourly pumps.

@anewmummy: my meals mostly cooked by MIL after CL left. sometimes, if she doesn't cook, i will still eat fish soup that kind. somehow my appetite became a lot better than pre-pregnancy days. i eat a lot of rice now man.. =/ haha. how's your mastitis? my ss also dropped after i kena the fever that time. but i just kept on pumping and eventually it came back

@April: i also got unbalanced amount. right side produces like ~50ml more. but sometimes it'll be more equal. and my right side is a lot bigger when full! looks weird under t-shirts
previously in hospital, my left side produced more and was bigger then it changed. not sure if this can be solved also..

<font color="000080"> sunkissed >> If you pump 5 min on right for eg, the foremilk must clear first before the fat stores will be sucked out to become the hind milk. But if you stop and pump the other side first, the fat will start to recede... then when go back to the right again, become foremilk again. I don't know how long it takes for the fat to recede lar, but I think generally first few mins is foremilk.

April >> I have the same problem, and it's worse because the side with less is my baby's "less preferred" breast, so she don't like to latch on that side. I suppose try to stimulate that side more often?

anewmummy >> I don't think more calories = more milk lar... my appetite was very bad in the first few weeks, more interested in drinking water than eating. But milk supply was still high.</font>

@tethysea: hmmm anyway I only do exclusive pumping so I guess all will be mixed. lol. anyway how does your bb show the preference/dislike for one side? curious since I haven't latched on bb yet.. and I got stupid question to ask... how do double pumps work? must use a bra to hold both sides or what?

@Evelyn: after you finish pumping, you press your breast (must try from different angles also) to check if it's still hard or can feel a bit sore. if yes, that means still got milk inside. have to empty if not may lead to blocked ducts.

For blocked ducts problems, mummies can try lecithin capsule. I had that for 2 weeks and things improve much. Lecithin is also good as fat metabolism. keke... I will eat like 2 to 4 capsules per day with meals. With exculsive latch on and massage to clear off the ducts, my breast became soft over the time. Maybe it could due to the breast getting use to the milk volume. My son now gained 1.1kg at one month old. During the first month, I had the frustration at certain period (midnight) of everyday when my baby demanded to be fed continuously for couple of hours. I felt my breasts empty=no more milk. But kept him latch on for those hours despite his fussiness coz the milk can never dried up. Importantly is to drink lots of water, eg hot fenugreek drink and red dates. Now I dun have the recurrance block ducts anymore. Once the block ducts are cleared, keep latching or pumping to increase the volume. These are my experience lol...

I can only achieve 600 if I miss a session, it's not 600 each time.

Anewmummy: hmm I dun think I eat anything special, I drink lots of water especially milo thou, think I'm addicted to milo already. Dun be discouraged. I'm sure if u continue to pump consistently ur supply will be back to normal.

April: my left breast do always produce more cos I always happen to focus more on my left breast cos there was this irritating lump there, after I managed to clear the lump then I jus kept massaging my right to 'stimulate ' the flow, then slowly over time the supply balance out.

ET: It usually still Possible to manually express out ur milk after every pump session no matter now long u pump cos it's impossible to totally empty our breast. But I will first check that my breast is soft n no lumps, n the flow has stopped, then I let it pump for another few mins before stopping completely.
I agree with sunkissed, 3 times a day is not enough if u are still trying to establish supply.

Sunkissed: u can either hold with both hands or like wat I do is with one hand, eg right hand, hold the left one with my hand n 'Giap' the right one between my arm n breast. So my left hand is free to do things. ( I'm embarrassed to say I hv no idea how to use the hands free kit lol!) otherwise u purchase the bra with holes n attach the shield to it. I've also hear that u can do one on your own by cutting two hole in an old sports bra.

Do ur babies make funny noise when drink milk? Mine keep making the 'hee hoo Hee hoo' sound like having breathing difficulty. Is it normal? I'm thinking if it's phlegm?

<font color="000080">sunkissed >> My girl will fuss more if I give her the side she don't like. Maybe the shape wrong, or cos hands got unbalanced strength so one side not as comfortable.
I bought Medela Freestyle, so just hook the pumps to my nursing bra... it comes with the extensions to do so. But got a lot of ppl DIY also lar.

kepsis >> Mine also make very heavy breathing noises... but she had meconium aspiration, so I always thought it was just her respiratory system still recovering.</font>

Kepsis n tethysea, my Bb also makes alot noise when she drinks milk n asleep. But I check with my PD seems its normal n not phlegm.

Btw when is Bb going for first jab? Mine going tomolo which she is only about 6 weeks. Is it too young? But appointment given by doc. N number of jabs according to my PD has increase since last year.

I'm currently pumping about 3 times a day &amp; letting baby latch on 3 to 4 times. Is this sufficient to boost my milk supply? I only manage to pump 20ml each session. Taking fenugreek now but haven't seen any improvement yet.
Lactation consultant told me to let baby latch instead of pumping as latching will produce more milk. But sometimes when my breasts feel a bit full &amp; sore, my baby is sleeping so I'm not sure whether should I pump or wait for baby to wake up &amp; let her latch on. I'm worried that if I pump &amp; baby wakes up, I'll have insufficient milk left in the breasts for her to suckle. If I don't pump &amp; wait for baby to wake up, will the milk in my breasts 'disappear' by the time baby wakes up?

BunnyBluey,I just purchased the tea frm this forum, started taking yday.And I bought the fenugreek seed frm wet market spice store.So far still not much milk

I m trying out the power pump method, see this website, http://www.lowmilksupply.org/powerpumping.shtml.
So far every 45 mins only 20 ml.
Any mummy tried this method?
Shernice, I wld suggest u pump if your breast is full &amp; if bb wakeup half way or after pump,let bb latch on 1st.Thn after bf, bb not enough,bottle feed bb with the 1 you just pump.
Do you supplement your bb with formula?

Wanda,
I supplement my baby with formula. I'm in a dilemma. The lactation consultant told me not to do that as it'll affect my milk supply. But my baby cries after latching on &amp; my CL says she's not full. So I have to supplement with formula

Wanda, I believe it takes time for the supplement to work.

Shernice, what u pumped out does not mean what bb can get thru latching. Also, aft pumping, bb can still get milk when latched on. Bb is the best pump! If u want to TBF, then shouldn't supplement with formula cos if bb full already, bb won't want to latch. Most CLs know nuts abt breastfeeding as most, like our mums or mils age &amp; they mostly on FM, don't breastfeed, also most CLs don't hv alot of education, so I wld not listen to them, why listen to CL, just becos they take care of many bbs but they're not experienced in breastfeeding? You're the mummy, so think &amp; decide what's best for your bb.

BunnyBluey>>I tried to latch bb on for the 1st month but he is not gaining weight &amp; very small size.Thats y I change to pumping inorder to see hw much he is eating.Whenever I latch on,I realized that my bb suckle vigorous for only 2mins thn he will slow down &amp; slowly fall aslp.Even though I burp him thn cont.He will do the same.He can latch on each breast for a long time with slow sucking.Does anyone have the same situation?How much express milk req for a 1 month old baby?Currently I am giving my bb 50ml every 2 hrs.Is this enough?

Wanda, my bb suckles 15-20 mins in initial wk, sometimes can be as long as 30-35mins. I don't change to the other breast unless she has suckled at least 20 mins on one side. Now, my bb suckles only 7-8 mins &amp; seems satisfied, maybe the milk flow is faster now. I find if I just depend on pumping, I'll be very stressful if I don't pump out enough.

Shernice, I agree with latch on exclusive if you can for first month, to increase milk suply gradually. Do not think about your supply is low. Mummies I know who are positive and confidence and determination are the ones who can produce huge amount of milk.

For my first one, my confinement lady encouraged me to give fm as she kept saying baby still hungry after latch on. Think she's worried like if baby cries, we will perceive can't handle baby or she wanted to have easier time. I gave in, feeling despair with bleeding nipples. From then on, partial bm since I gave in to fm...

Try not to let others influence you. Latch as much as the baby want. You will be able to build up the supply. Its the frequency of latch on or express out that increases supply. Paramount to make sure the latch is correct. Aim the roof of the baby mouth to touch the nipple. Baby mouth should open wide. Else suffer sore nipples which affect mood to let baby latch. When I returned home from hospital, I 'lock' myself in the room, practically like round the clock cow. Baby will cry for milk an hour after feed, it is ok especially for first month. eg. feed starts at 12, by the time you finished feeding, its 1245. Baby could cry again at 1:15 or 1:30. Expect to feed 12 times per day for first month. I also supplement myself with oat in milo and fenugreek tea. I had fish soup with partial ripe papaya twice a day during my confinement. Drink plentiful of water.

Baby can be really fussy when they want milk. Make baby feel more comfortable. Give them massage in morning after bath and night so that they are more relax. Look at the stomach see if there is wind. Apply ruyi yu all over the tummy area together with massage. For me, I use telon oil very generously all over the baby like no body business. Hope this helps.

One more thing, the baby can get lazy from drinking from bottle. Because the flow is fast and easy. However, drinking from nipple is hardwork for the baby. They can sweat while latch one because they need to work hard at sucking. THey might refuse latch on... then you have to express out and the pump has to be those really good grade type in order to drain your milk because your supply is not like swish swish.

I also had your worry for my first one. Pump now, the next momment, baby want to drink. For now, try to work on feed on demand. Once the baby grow out of the intense milk demand for the first month, you will have easier time to pump because they sleep longer.

sorry to interupt. I have one brand new huggies size S, 44 pack diaper and a $5 huggies voucher (use in NTUC outlet) to let go for $10.

collection at Tampines. Please PM me if you are interested.

BunnyBluey,u have establish your supply thats y.My bb have been doing this for the whole mth &amp; nt gaining much weight. I was also very persist in nt giving formula.But I guess for Pple like me,we got no choice.Our supply is low.We still have to feed bb that's y gt to supplement with formula.Bt I have not given up,must find ways to increase so that cn stop formula &amp; do TBF.Ya pumping very stress &amp; each time i only get 20 ml
sign...I hope I will get more supply like you ;)

La_paix>>That's what I m also worry about,the lactation told me if bb latch for too long,they burnt calories.Maybe that's y my bb is not gaining weight.

Bunnybluey &amp; la_paix>> thanks for the advice. Same as Wanda, I can only get about 20ml everytime I pump so I keep worrying about bb not getting enough milk when she latches.
I just let her latch on for close to an hour &amp; she still cries after that. I gave in to formula again &amp; she finally stopped crying.
Agree that giving bb the bottle creates another problem. She seems very impatient when she latches on cos' the milk doesn't come as fast. But I get so stressed everytime she cries for milk.
Now I'm only hoping that my milk supply will increase 

hi la paix,

May I know where did you get your lecithin capsules from? Could you recommend me the brand to buy? I developed high fever during last week of confinement due to engorgement and blocked ducts. Hoping to try lecithin to see if it will help as I have the tendency to have blocked ducts. For my last baby, I had 6 bouts of mastitis during 1 year of breastfeeding.

April, u're so much better than me. I can't even reach ur supply level. My left side can yield 40ml n right side 10ml but supply getting lesser after subsequent pump.

sunkissed, it's really very very tiring. Somehow, I'm very bad that I can't force myself to pump more... So far, thrice is the constant I pump. I don't ve CL... My MIL do it for me. My confinement food almost or rather the same everyday until I see already so depressed and feels like crying. My confinement over and my mother is doing the last 10 days for me by brewing tonic for me everyday to nurse back my health. But still, thereafter I must be careful with my diet due to c-sect.

anewmummy, I started on fenugreek now but still no increase in supply. I think partly due to no constant pumping.
feel like buying the sacred tea to drink but hubby stop me saying not sure if it's safe but saw alot of mummies drinking it.

bunnybluey, oh... So u all actually talking about total bm per day and not per session. I'm so silly talking about per session. I never total all session pumps but it varies daily.

Mummies who feel u hv low ss, do u feel engorged or got block ducts? If u hv block ducts, your milk may not come out, hv to massage, hot compress to clear the ducts. Also, like I said, whatever u pumped out does not mean that's the amt bb getting as bb can extract milk much better. If u find there's prob, maybe approach a lactation consultant for help as I believe mummies wld hv enough milk for your bb. Jiayou all mummies!

sunkissed &amp; kepsis, I usually pump 30 mins. Lately, tried to manual squeeze the milk but so painful due to the strength I used. Both breasts very tender, no lump n don't feel engorge at all. I'm telling myself must be hardworking and try to pump more often.

BunnyBluey,I am same as Evelyn.Both breast tender,no lump &amp; no engorge even if I skip my pump for 3-4hrs.I called the lactation lady I few times alrdy.I still latch on but only during night time cz I love that moment. ;) But each time he latch still the same,he suckle for 2mins thn slow down &amp; start falling aslp.Not sure whether he is so comfortable at my breast that he fall aslp or milk flow too slow that he sian.

Evelyn,can go to any poly clinic?Just walkin?Or need to make appt?My boy also juz full mth,called PD &amp; GP to check price,They are very exp.How much does poly clinic charge?