(2012/03) Mar 2012

<font color="000080">Wanda >> Not true that latch long not full = low milk supply. I have same problem even though I have oversupply of bm! I have a whole other set of problems to deal with!
Maybe your bb just not keen on eating much? My girl is drinking about 80-90ml bm every 2 hours at 3weeks old, but at 4weeks actually the range is 600-800ml a day, so your bb is doing fine. Maybe your milk higher calorie so bb don't drink much full liao ;) Don't be discouraged!

Let me share this quote I read in a La Leche League book: "The important thing is to get the best nutrition into the baby and you can sort out the utensils later." So don't be too concerned about pumping versus latching. As long as bb is gaining weight and pooping, it's ok!</font>

Tethysea,thks for your quote &amp; yes, now I juz wan baby to gain weight,sleep well &amp; poop.

Hi Evelyn, I went for jab this morning n my Bb is brave no fuss after the jab so far. I went to PD instead of polyclinic. Had check on the pricing n not much diff. Paid abt sgd497 as a package.

Wanda, it's abt the same.

My package as follows:-
1) 6 in 1 package Sgd465+gst
Includes 2 jabs of 6 in 1 n 1 jab of 5 in 1

Pneumococcal Jabs at Sgd 165+ gst x 2 jabs

2) 1 year old package ( with chicken pox jab) Sgd510+Gst
Includes 2 jabs of MMRV n 1 jab of 5 in 1.

Wanda, yes! Juz go to polyclinic near u. I called polyclinic to make appt but they don't allow as baby never visit before. Was quite annoyed when the lady told me can make appt even though never been there before. Hais... My girl never take the injection today as household got HFMD case so can only go for the infection next week.

The nurse explained the injections that my girl need to take. Was told Diphtheria, Tetanus &amp; Pertussis is FOC. There is 5 in 1 or 6 in 1 that I must decide. 5 in 1 includes the 3 FOC + Poliomyelitis &amp; Haemophilus Influenzae type b5 &amp; it costs $87.40 per injection. 6 in 1 is all mentioned above + Hepatitis B (3rd dose) &amp; cost $102 per injection.

April, so u took all the packages as mentioned. It can be paid using baby bonus. Pneumococcal jab also $165 at polyclinic &amp; it's for 3 mths, 5 mths &amp; 1 yr old. That time, I heard from
GP that certain jab polyclinic is cheaper &amp; certain jab GP is cheaper.

When is ur baby born? Mine on 9 Mar. She's weighing 4.9kg today &amp; nurse said above average. Haha

Evelyn, my Bb is born 01 Mar. Yes, all jabs can be paid by CDA card. Her weight is 4.46kg and Height 54cm which doc says she is growing well cos she is putting on 300g per week..

April, i find the pricing at polyclinic cheaper leh, also if done at polyclinic, pneumococcal can claim from parent's medisave &amp; MMR is free.

Evelyn, the pricing u mentioned is for singhealth grp of polyclinics, right?

The pricing for NHG polyclinics is $320 for 5in1 pkg, 4 doses, incl the 3 doses at mth 3, 4 &amp; 5, &amp; booster. $360 for 6in1 pkg, also 4 doses &amp; incl 3rd dose of hep b.

hep b per jab is $22.10.

Pneumococcal is $150 per jab, can claim parent's medisave but not all PDs &amp; GPs offer to do this but polyclinics can, so help to save on our cash.

Rotavirus is $90 per dose.

April, I didn't check on that as my hubby had not even opened the CDA acct, wahaha...

Now thinking if I shd go hougang or AMK polyclinic...

Bunneybluey, it's under singhealth. Let me call and check the prices and share. Hep B (2nd) jab costs $16.80. Consultation $5.60.

April, all jabs at polyclinic can used CDA.

Now online, we're able to see the queue on the day if it's crowded anot.

Wondering if any mummy is interested in buying the 1st Month voucher from Bangawan Solo. 10% off for purchases above $200. I'm looking for mummy to share so we can enjoy the 10% off.

Please PM me if you are keen.

Think there is one downside of going to polyclinic is that we have to queue with the other sick people to get registered. Its not like we have priority for baby although vaccination is not the same as seeing doctor... I brought my baby for second dose of hep b vac. Those special number is meant for baby less than a month or elderly... meaning subsequent visit we have to wait for longer time, expose baby to diseases...

@Evelyn
Ai yo you haven't open CDA account. So u will have to pay cash...

@la_paix
I had the same idea that not to let bb exposé to other sick people that's why I chose to go PD for jabs.

la_paix, we can make appt with polyclinic at specific timing than bring baby for the jab.

April, not yet open the acct. So, will ve to pay $16.30 for Hep B jab. Subsequent jab, will use CDA acct &amp; medisave.

I'm a June mum-to be, here to ask for fdback abt breast pumps. I'm considering Avent electric single pump and Mendela Swing. Anyone using either and can give some reviews? Thanks a lot!

@Sunnie_Gal: I'm using Swing.. I think it's not bad except for the fact that I'm pumping exclusively so I regret not buying a double electric instead =/

I like that it's silent and portable

Catherine, it will be stated in the health booklet, u may refer there. If u go polyclinic, the nurse will advise u too.

Twinkystar, congra on your newborn! Don't you look forward to the end of 28 days now that the weather is getting hot? ha!

My confinement was over. I'm now trying to slim down by controlling my diet. My hip is still big! I'm going to start the herbalife meal mix for breakfast. Balanced nutrients.

Yesterday my hubby helped me to redemn the hugtown station 2 (6 green 2 pink). Not only its a leapfrog lettersaurus, they also give away a big pack of M pullup pants, 2 pcs of L pullup and a wet wipe. Whao! I should have collected more of those stamps!

Evon, I got the herbalife from a colleague as its not avaliable in retail shops. Only through MLN-multilevel networking. She no longer sell herbalife... no lobang liao...

Its like a meal replacement as I always skip breakfast not too good for bf...

Hey Marvels, thanks for the lobang! I only have two nursing bras to rotate... am looking for non-wired. Where can i find affordable ones.

Here's a sharing. Last time Mdm Rokiah came to massaged my breast for me, she advised me not to wear wired bra as this can cause block ducts... maybe this was why i had lots of blocks. Now I'm wearing non-wired. IF the boobs shag... let it be... I'm crossing my fingers

@la_paix: you can try the bulk purchase section. a lot of ppl selling. i have 2 from mothercare which i find very expensive but that time no choice had to buy alr.. i just got my new one the day before. ordered from the BP section and it's very comfortable

Sunkissed: u buy fr which bp? I bought two from one of the bp selling fabulous mum brand. I find that the bra seem to loose elasticity quite fast. I need to use the last hook initially, after 2 weeks I needed to hook the first one already cos it loosen already.

Hi Evon ,

I think I got lobang for herbalife.One of my friends is still there ..

Hi Anewmummy,

I am a mummy of 2 plus Prudential adviser.Checking if anyone wanna upgrade.. I can help.

Cause many parents have no idea what it is about ..

I'm going to bring my girl to AMK polyclinic for jab later in the afternoon. I think the difference between NHG &amp; Singhealth polyclinics is that for NHG, I can call up to make an appt even for 1st visit whereas I remembered when I brought my #1 few yrs back to Singhealth one for MMR, I can't book appt for his 1st visit. I would see how long I need to wait. Actually whether it's PD or GP, also hv to wait. Like now I'm waiting for PD's clinic to call me for the follow-up review altho already hv appt at 9.15am &amp; when reach there, still hv to wait &amp; while waiting, there's also a lot of sick children in the clinic. The best is to stand outside the clinic to wait, just worry that it'll be a little too hot for bb.

brought my girl to AMK polyclinic for her hep b 2nd jab, surprisingly overall it was rather fast, when i entered the clinic, i straight directed to counter to register since 1st time there, then went to 2nd lvl to wait, our # flashed like within 5mins, was expecting a longer wait, they called the # when we haven't even warmed up the waiting area seat. payment counter also very fast. nurse very friendly &amp; explained to us all the different jabs schedule, cost, etc, &amp; also possible reactions to vacc. even faster than waiting at PD/GP clinic, maybe my PD/GP clinics popular, so often hv to wait a while to see dr. haha...

@kepsis: which bra did you buy ah? yes i bought from the seller that carries fabulous moms brand also but the brand of my bra is autumnz. oh no don't tell me it will spoil quickly too
the seller's name is springleaf. bought the pure foam memory bra (nude) - looks very "auntie" in the photo but the actual bra looks much better.
https://picasaweb.google.com/yongtracey/NewlyAddedNursingIntimates#5677760656903838962

@la_paix, better not buy first then! but i like their nursing sleep bras.. cos easy to use and no hooks all that.

la_paix,

Yeap....my confinement ending soon...counting down the days....

Just to check...for the huggies redemption, we must go down to redeem personally?
Where is the place?

Nursing Bras:
There is a brand - Emma Jane, if i am not wrong, recommended by Wong BB from TMC.

First Jab for Baby,
Would like to know when/ what is the first jab needed for baby.

twinkystar, regarding bb jab, depends whether u taking 5in1 or 6in1 &amp; where u r going for the jab, polyclinic or PD. for me, i'm going to NHG polyclinic &amp; i choose the AMK branch. they follow closely to the immunisation schedule by HPB, so 1st jab is hep b 2nd dose at 1st mth. if u go to PD or GP, they wld recommend u to take 6in1 pkg starting in 2nd mth that incl hep b 2nd dose.

Hi, I also went for NHG polyclinic @hougang.I would say their service is good &amp; no waiting time.I made appt @240pm. I reached @230pm &amp; receive my queue no.We went upstairs,our no. start flashing already.My boy had his 2nd jab &amp; we gg to take up the 6 in 1.The nurse told us the package also include the 3rd month checkup.I think if you go GP/PD the 3rd mth checkup is additional charges.

wanda, i was deciding betwn AMK &amp; HG since i stay in SK. in the end, i went to AMK as i heard that it's difficult to get parking for HG. i didn't go SK branch as it's under singhealth, which is more exp.