(2012/03) Mar 2012

Jac: I wonder I just take the calcium pill good enough if I dun drink milk . I used to love milk but since I preggie , I'm quite sick of it. Some food I used to like becoming yucky to me... Keke duno how..

Sarah, mayb is certain food that you take make you feel unwell. like for me i cannot take chicken, anything with chicken will make me unwell and eventually puke. so you keep a look out of food your body is rejecting. also try as much to take small meals cos eating too much will make you feel even worst and bloated. at 1st i also can eat alot even more den my usualy portion, but after that i will sure puke or otherwise very uncomfortable. so try as much take small meals, take ard 5 meals a day, it is a chore i understand but now our body is changing due to the new life inside us so we also got to adjust ourself.

Sarah: actually it will be gd if still take milk as the nurse told mi if taking milk will hv to wait for 1 - 2hr den can take calcuim pill. may i noe wat milk u drinking nw?

Wenwen: I will try to control my meals. I taking 2 meals each day and sometimes small snack during supper. Trying my best to discipline my meals. Hopefully my next 15th wks I b better. Good news is I can tahan not to throw out for 2 days liao.. Mayb becoz the hormones pills given 3 times a day makes me feel I can't throw out coz I knw I need Tat to stable my Bb. Keke

Jac : ya my nurse told me too , whichever come 1st then gotta wait 2 hrs later to take another . I currently drinking the magnolia fresh milk. The rest I nv try b4. Wonder strawberry milk can or not?

Sarah: guess u just have to monitor on what you did & what makes u feel well. for me nothing is fixed one day can feel super well, can't even rem i'm preg! next sick like dog. if u can't take the med or milk don't force yourself. it's better u could keep food in stomach.

Sarah: strawberry milk shouldn't be a prob, just watch the sugar intake. for me doon't like milk, in love with Yakult! hahaa, guess it helps with my bowel movements too

Jo: I take yakult too! I guess it's help . So far my constipation not that bad, the most 2 days. Then I will start to drink yakult or force myslf for kiwi. I duh Tink I will go for strawberry milk coz u r right abt the sugar level. I try to cut dwn sugar level. Recently I started to drink peppermint tea, it's make me feel better.

Sarah: Strawberry milk shld be ok like wat Jo say. If u will puke out mean u are not suitable for tat. it happen for mi. I drink HL milk only coz i cant drink those powder milk as both my parent had high blood.

I'm a first time mummy and has gone for my oscar test last week. My gynae clinic called yesterday and have me and my husband down to discuss about my blood test result. It has been mentioned that my MCV is slightly below the preferred range.If my husband's MCV level in his blood test also falls below the preferred range. It can be detrimental for the baby as it may be an indication of Thalassemia. Have you ladies heard about this from your gynae. Feeling so worried now. =(

I just check out the IFC center near my place, they can only take 10 babies and currently have a waiting list of 20 and teacher ratio is 1:5 that bad.
Previously my son in My First Skool the ratio is 1:3. How the teacher going to handle 5 babies huh with all the activities feeding, bath, change diaper & nap.
As the range is from 2mth - 18mth some are toddlers already which is quite active & demanding.

Headache.

leenleen: Thalassemia is not a life threatening condition, don't be so worried. Hubby's granny has it and she's now 90+ yrs. We din go for test though.
U have family history for this? if no, unlikely bb get it leh. it's suppose to be genetic.

Hey Jo: I'm not so sure if my family has a history for it. My husband also went to look through his blood test result at home last night and also found out that his MCV range is not within the preferred range. High likely, we would need to go for DNA test to identify if we both have Thalessemia. According to the gynae if we both have it, the baby will have it. Looking at the gynae's slides during his explanation yesterday, gave me the chills as the child would have to go through monthly blood transfusion and life expectancy may not reach adulthood due to many possible complications. Yikes..

Thanks Sarah: Waiting for gynae's instruction on what next. So now.. i'm trying to be positive. =)

Seems like u all have been dutifully drinking milk..i have not really been drinking milk..always feeling full. Think lacking calcium tsk tsk..must start drinking liao!

My mum kept telling me not to drink cold drinks, even cold fresh milk also cannot, say not good. According to her, must drink the powdered milk. So thats why I havent been drinking much milk..

starr_nn,
I'm not drinking milk for the calcium. A few doctors I've seen don't really advocate that anyway.
It's more like a craving for choco drinks but milo/hot choco are too heaty so I go for choco milk instead.

leenleen: don't worry too much, Dr tend to show the worst case scenarios. there is minor & major only majors require transfusion. if need go for fetal blood test, that can give u results to make the decision so that there's no regrets

I love to drink cold water ... I just can't help it. I miss my ice teh o but they said no good. I love bubble tea too but I try not to drink everyday .

You can mail to ask for milk powder samples from SimilacMum, Enfamum, or other brands to try.

I'm drinking SimilacMum now. Only 1 flavour available. The promoter recommend milo to add into the drink to make it chocolatey. = )

Sarah.K, try not to drink too much cold drinks, especially teh, becos it's very cooling to our body. I also miss drinking them haha.

Leenleen

Don worry so much see what your Gynae say first. My Gynae that time explained to me that if bb is minor it is ok de.

twins : my friend pass me the similac ... dont really like but idea to put milo ... cause i like coco stuff .... now waiting for dumex to send to my house ...

<font color="000080">GG Lee >> Good luck for yours too! When do you get your results?

Sarah >> Yar I miss my teh peng... I've been naughty and drank a few cups recently :p</font>

Hi Leenleen,

I am also a Thalessemic carrier. I only knew that i was a carrier after i was pregnant with #1. So long as hubby is not a carrier, baby will only be a minor and they will grow up normally. If i m not mistaken, my #2 is also a carrier based on her blood test results.

For thalasemic carriers who are pregnant, you may be slightly anaemic. So just build on the iron. Also, monitor ur blood pressure. If it is on the lower side, you may experience some dizziness.

Hi Michelle,
I have FINALLY weaned my gal. No more bfging... Hopefully, her craving will not come back. it has been 4 days liaoz.. She still ask for it once in a while..n i simply substituted her with her favourite food like cheese, yacult, biscults, etc.

Jo: thanks for your advise. We will do the test and take it one step at a time.

Hi qin: thanks! we will see what the gyane say after he has reviewed my hubby's blood test.

leenleen, dun worry. as my hubby is also suspected of Thalessemic under (Alpha) Group. So gynae suggest for us to go KKH to do the Genetic Blood Test to cfm. Also cos KKH only charge like $15 per pax for the Genetic blood test, whereas TMC will charge like $500 to $600 for the same test.

if you are very concerned, ask your gynae to refer u to KKH to do the test, not to worry as the bb will be alright. the chances or major is also very small percentage only.

Ya I try not to more than 3 cup of ice tea but sometimes really miss the taste of polka green tea. I Nw drink coke zero or rootbeer non caffine or 7-up but of coz not everyday, Mayb alternate day... Keke . I really miss those kopitiam teh o ice. Keke

Mrs Carice: Hope you get the milk powder you like. = ) I'm not a milk person as I prefer milo for breakfast. But my hubby keep nagging me to drink when I'm around 12 weeks. No choice, so I start drinking for the sake of my twins.

Mummies: Something to share from the book "Lessons from Stanley the cat".

Do not let any bad comments or derision bother you. Consider negativity as passing gas.

Nothing is really as personal as it seems. Everyone's opinion vanishes eventually, so there is no point in recording it in your memory unless it truly inspires you. When someone says something unpleasant about you, imagine it wafting by like a foul odor, or a plume of smoke from a soot-filled fireplace.

It is much more important to build on your strengths and work hard to improve on your weaknesses than it is to entertain a destructive comment. People who spread negative words usually live in a fearful and unhappy world inside their own minds.

I know all the mummies here have difficulties at certain point of their pregnancies. Let's encourage each other and cheer up. Our babies need us to stay happy, so that they will grow healthily in our tummies everyday. = ) Jia You ba...

Teh peng &amp; bubble tea, miss them so much, once in a while still take... make myself feel better leave behind 10-20% hahaaa
another fav bundung chin chow, only can take bundung no chin chow no kick leh
took orange carrot juice as substitute just now... no satisfication!

twins happiness>> thanks for sharing....indeed encourging...

just pop in by today to leave a post today... been reading siliently... hee...

been drinking milk daily in the morning too.... but this morning probably drank too fast, half way went to puke out the milk... #$%@+X&amp;
after a small slice of tuna bread in office also puke out... &amp;^%$#@*(
isnt into 2nd trimester, all these will GONE???!!
hmm... appeitie is still small but my tummy kind of obvious especially when i sat down like nw... a round ball popping out...
when i looked at myself naked in front of mirror, feel a little sad cos i am like losing my figure!!
my mum saw me the other day also commented that i am like one who cant hide the tummy type... cos last time, she 5 months then can see... nw around 16weeks (4 months) nw, and can see a tummy le...

there are times i dont know to like the growing tummy or dislike it... i scared i will be a fat women for the rest of my life after give birth yet i want my junior to grow too... sob...

then my Hb is guessing i am having a girl inside me. cos he thinks that girl is more "sensitive" cos i nausea still... then cos a friend of his has a boy toddler, and he keeps smiling at me, then they said cos inside is a girl, so the boy toddler like me...

last visit on sat cant tell the gender yet... gynae said the position is not right cant tell... and HB assume cant see mean a girl lor...

but, my mum said might be a boy instead... these few days kind of quite moody lor...
sorry ladies... ranting here....

I miss teh-c too..avoided it for a long time, and drank it last week. was feeling so uncomfortable after, maybe too acidic or whatever..tummy turning upside down. guess that helps me to stay away from it in a good way

starr_nn>> last sat drawn 3 tubes of blood for the triple tests for me... the nurse hasnt call me yet... probably i gave them a call later... hmm... test for several items, and one of the is testing for HIV which require my acknowledgement. does OSCAR test for this as well??
have u done yours?

Sarah, polka green tea i drink it too but really must control. i was deprived of teh and green tea since preggy, until my MIL gave me the green light to drink but i still control.

juniorme, i think oscar test is for DS..blood test and measuring NT.
the triple test is first trimester testing...

i did the first trimester testing together with the oscar test, so they drew 4 tubes of blood from me, but i havent gone to doctor since that time, so will only know the results of the first trimester results next week

how big (length) is yr bb when you scanned?

starr_nn> i just ring them... the lady said my blood test is normal so she didnt ring me, the triple test not yet out,and if its normal she will not call also unless urgent... details the gynae will explain to me in my next visit...

Junior, i tot the 3 tubes blood test is done on 1st appt de? i had it done on my very 1st appt with gynae that includes HIV and etc.

Hope everyone is well
Anyone know the gender of their babies already? My gynae was amazing, she was able to tell the gender of my no. 3 at 14 weeks...she has proven that my son and daughter's prediction right. Trust your kids prediction, its quite accurate

wenwen>> hmm... think my gynae's prcatise is different from urs... i only took mine last sat only... but the other two gynaes i visited for the first time didnt take bloods also... hee..

krissie>> hmm... how about the first one, no other silbing to predict for me...?? hee... and i bring forward my next appointment with my gynae to 5th Oct instead of 15th... cos i wanna see my junior soon and hope can know the gender... haha... the nurse asured me that my blood test normal no need to bring forward the appointment date... but inside my heart, i am thinking i wanna see my junior la...

<font color="0000080"> Sarah >> Ahhh no Coke Zero! That has aspartame, which can affect bb's neural development. So it's either the real Coke or nothing :p

Twins Happiness >> Thanks for sharing

guess most of us are in 2nd tri, we shld enjoy it. We are half way through, hang on there... jia you!

FYI: the milk powder price is increasing.. sob...