(2012/02) Feb 2012

baby_mummy,
Thanks for the advice. Now carrying and patting her to sleep until she drowsy, then place her in cot. Sometimes she can fall asleep on her own after tt, if not gonna pat her further till she sleep. work well thus far.

regarding lochia, i'm still experiencing it also. 2nd wk the lochia reduce significantly but come back on the 3rd wk. now still have. chked with gynae, she said it's normal. so dun worry.

Lynn,
I freeze my milk in the same freezer. As my freezer has 2 levels, the EBM is stored in the upper level and i stored them in a box.
Re: BB's monthly review
visited PD yesterday. My girl gain 1kg from the day she discharge. Her jaundice level also seems to be better as PD say no need sun her le, jaundice will clear in another week or 2.
As for her poo, as my girl is on tbm, it's normal not to poo but she will feel uncomfortable. So the PD pump a substance into her anus and she poo big time 1.5hrs later.

GG- Indra sq is the wholesale market street behind platinum mall, just outside baiyoke sky hotel. A lot of tour buses stop there. U can see the big signboard.

Baby_mummy, I'm staying at Jurong area, is it too far from u? Where's your place? Maybe we can meet up, would like to try M before deciding to buy or not.

Serene n Rocco, so far my girl has experienced 1 episode of Merlion wif phlegm last week. Think her lungs not developed well so coughing out through the Merlion way is her way of clearing airway. After she Merlion out the huge piece of phlegm wif some milk, can ser she actually felt better n no more coughing. I'm supplementing wif Enfa as well- not sure whether related or not.

Oops- your baby is such a darling! Can sleep through from 11pm to 5am! Mine wakes up often in the night to feed n then hard time to get her back to sleep mode. Really tiring, many times I just fall asleep wif her in my arms.

I just asked my gf,, she said Merlion had nothing to do with FM.. Her daughter was on fiso, nv Merlion. Her son on Mamil, always Merlion n with think curb like phlegm type. She nv change fm n her boy eventually outgrow it

Anyone else's baby congested be abuse of air con? Too hot to go without aircon but baby gets congested, and can't really use nose aspirator.

My gal also tends to get milk coming out from her nose! Will give a sharp cry and we have to quickly lift her up! My hub thinks the CL never burp her well enuf. Each time my hub lift her to burp she gives a loud burp and she seems much more comfy. My hub burps by cupping upwards and quite forceful. Like how Wong bb and other LCs at tmc do, but I dun dare do so hard.

Khim, congrats on your gal jaundice! Finally no need worry already! I also stop sunning my gal already

My lochia also suddenly come back 3rd week much more than previous. But my gynae did preempt me that this will happen as we walk more as there is residue blood inside. When she scan previously I could see.

My lochia has increased as well - my gynae told me it is because we are breastfeeding more and the hormones are causing more uterine contractions.

My bb only sleep thru for 1 nite. Last nite, last feed at 11pm and wake up at 3.30am and then at 6.15am for milk. Consider good. but day time si a nightmate cos he don wan sleep and keep wanting to drink milk every 1 to 2hrs.

Lucky my supply came fast so now can meet his demand liao. 2nd time mummy really hav milk fast and more.

Today only 1st wk gone. Still hav so long way to go. Hope to end confinement soon.

Khim n baby mummy, Tks.. I just bought a chest freezer. No choice cos I dun feel good having milk n raw food. Anyway for those Keen can pm u e contact. Sanyo with delivery 310. Quite happy w the buy

<font color="green"><font size="-1">Morning mummies, any one with confinement tingkat? can shareshare with me? is the food nice? food portion enf? salty? which caterer u using n abt hw much?</font></font>

Just called medela service center, servicing $100, if need to replace motor 450. V not worth it, might as well buy new one.

Any mummies selling medela, freestyle? I remember one mummy posted.

Opps, enjoy your confinement! Being waited on can b v pampering! I literally lay in bed watching tv while my CL will bring in the drinks and tonic. She keeps chasing me to at least lay in bed even if cannot sleep. And every night tonic leh, wonder if will overdose or not??

GG, u gd life wor. I hav to help a bit loh. Don knw y current and previous CL can't do things fast as compared to my #1's CL. But both did a gd job as compared to #1's CL.

And my hubby will also nag at me if i do wat u did now. #1 c-sect I also walk up and down helping out. Now natural he expect more loh. Told him my friends hav been resting on bed he don believe me. Wat tonic u hav ah. My CL hav been cooking light for me. Only took the herbs i ordered from the CL agency tats all. She say 1st 2 wks light meals.

Opps, for me I told hub dun expect me to do anything during 1st mth including taking care of no 1. We park no 1 at mum plc. If he wan to bring him back he must take care of him as I dun wan have to chase after him or squat up and down to clean him etc. In fact my hubby complaining I not sleeping enuf cos of pumping plus dunno y just can't really sleep in day time. End up lay in bed surfing or watch tv. Get up only to pump or eat. But weekends I run out with hub but most times sit in car he grabs the stuff or occasionally we go shop together or have a good meal.

Ya first 2 weeks eat normal. Tonic starts after dat. Everynight b4 sleep my CL gives me brewed tonics like cordycept, pao sheng, dang gui, martell chicken etc. Daily meals usually also herbal soups for lunch and dinner. Teabreak she fries bee hoon or Mee hoon soup or Mee hoon kway or mee suah or desserts like white fungus logan etc...I have to try v hard not to pile on weight!

sorry for the 'ad'!

i have a bottle of MotherLoveMore Milk Plus. i bought hoping to bring up milk supply but seems like my milk supply is coming in already... so dun need it anymore. havent open yet.
Bought for $78, selling $55, will post to you via semi-registered post.

my MIL is afraid the FM causes the built up of phlegm which can lead to worse problems in the future (i.e. touchwood - bronchitis). every baby is different so suit different formula. bo bian have to switch formula, dunno which one to switch to.

it seems like the babies who merlion with sticky phlegm are all on enfa?

Hi GG, your CL sounds so good.. Wish mine is like yours. My replacement CL really not as good as my previous one.. Duno whether to ask for a replacement not. She isn't gentle n kinda impatient I feel, eg. When my bb drink n nap at the same time, she will tap the bottom of the bottle w her fingers.i ask her why, n she said that the bb will hear the sound n wake up n drink. I said that perhaps can use finger to stroke the bb n ask her can don't do thee tapping or not. She said its ok one n continue..the tapping motion somehow forces the teat into my bb mouth n seems so rough to me.. I see le So heart pain.
Then when she swaddle bb, carry bb, change diapers etc, all the action so fast n seems so rough.I have a feeling the fast action causes my bb to vomit her milk, cos she dun really burp my bb enough I feel. Haiz...
Besides cooking lunch n dinner, does ur CL prepare tea snacks or automatically pour red date tea or prepare fruits for u? My current one doesn't but my previous one does.
Any advice anyone? I scared change CL then new one worse..

Godsent, I only have bb cot so cant try ur method.. Thanks anyway..

Meijicrakers, yes my CL will always ask if I wan drinks like tea or Milo. And she will auto prepare red date tea and top up my flask often. I drink direct from those small keep warm flask. Each time I step out of my room she will ask me wat I need. And just let her know if I wan snacks or Mee suah she will prepare. And she gets up v early, normally starts cooking red date water or my bath water by 6am. But on taking care bb, hub feels she not good in burping bb cos too gentle.

My bb 'spits' milk from her nose also on enfa. Come to think of it my no 1 was on enfa and now keeps getting bronchitis. Wonder if any link. Wat better options fm are there?

Meiji cracker, try telling your CL wat u expect? Eg fruits or snacks. And the part about tapping. If still no improvement then see if can change? My one after my hub jump out to see wat happen when bb cry v loud and realized it's milk coming from nose, he asked her if she got burp her and I think since then she burps a bit more. But my bb a lot of little pimples on her face, my mil say is normal so I am assuming it's not becos she never clean properly.

Not started on fiso cos hv enough bm today. I got my free can fr gynea don know if u can call the company and ask for free sample. Sample is those full size.

Will update once bb start .

@FM
My #2 also on enfa and alot phlegm and kip merlion too! Come to tink of it, #1 also same prob till I did TBF. Hmmm I din tink it was cos of fm den. Now since so many bbs on enfa all got same prob, mebbe it's time to consider changing milk. Hmmmm...

@bb pimples
I jut went for pd chk up and he says cos of mummy's hormones in the BM we giving bb. Says its normal dun worry.

@jaundice
Now my turn to complain... Warraoz y no sun?!? My bb jaundice went up again cos no sun. Sianz...

@pacifier
Mine kip merlion after burping many times till I dun dare feed her more cos I tink she mite b too full. but she still kip on wan suck thing so I gave in to pacifier le. My #1 dun like pacifier so I no experience. Anyone can advice any guidelines on giving pacifiers? Like when should give when shouldn't? Is it onli slp time? I gave when I bathing her too cos if not she kip cry. Is it ok?

GG - ur CL u get from where one? How much she charging? Can give contact? My fren delivering in may and tinking of looking for 1. TIA!

@FM
My #2 also on enfa and alot phlegm and kip merlion too! Come to tink of it, #1 also same prob till I did TBF. Hmmm I din tink it was cos of fm den. Now since so many bbs on enfa all got same prob, mebbe it's time to consider changing milk. Hmmmm...

@bb pimples
I jut went for pd chk up and he says cos of mummy's hormones in the BM we giving bb. Says its normal dun worry.

@jaundice
Now my turn to complain... Warraoz y no sun?!? My bb jaundice went up again cos no sun. Sianz...

@pacifier
Mine kip merlion after burping many times till I dun dare feed her more cos I tink she mite b too full. but she still kip on wan suck thing so I gave in to pacifier le. My #1 dun like pacifier so I no experience. Anyone can advice any guidelines on giving pacifiers? Like when should give when shouldn't? Is it onli slp time? I gave when I bathing her too cos if not she kip cry. Is it ok?

GG - ur CL u get from where one? How much she charging? Can give contact? My fren delivering in may and tinking of looking for 1. TIA!

Re: pacifier
I use the same brand as the bottle teats. N bot the orthodontic ones for better teeth development in future.

Any mummies can recommend place to cut/shave newborn hair?
Heard United sq got, but I duno the name. Any ideas?

Re: pacifier
I use the same brand as the bottle teats. N bot the orthodontic ones for better teeth development in future.

Any mummies can recommend place to cut/shave newborn hair?
Heard United sq got, but I duno the name. Any ideas?

xiaofry: the merlion could be due to a reaction of the FM. thats wat i suspect, cos when i switched to total BF for few days the problem disappear, no more farnee noises at night also (like veri xinku with phlegm). Yesterday tried to give him 2 feeds of FM and realli vomit again.

Come to think of it, i have few friends whose toddlers has bronchitis and all on enfa.

Actually its ok to give pacifier, i read from the 'bb whisperer' book that it is babies' natural instinct to be sucking almost all the time. so pacifier allows them to do that. its a reflex.

xiaofry: the merlion could be due to a reaction of the FM. thats wat i suspect, cos when i switched to total BF for few days the problem disappear, no more farnee noises at night also (like veri xinku with phlegm). Yesterday tried to give him 2 feeds of FM and realli vomit again.

Come to think of it, i have few friends whose toddlers has bronchitis and all on enfa.

Actually its ok to give pacifier, i read from the 'bb whisperer' book that it is babies' natural instinct to be sucking almost all the time. so pacifier allows them to do that. its a reflex.

Chilli Quek
Most salons do cut/shave newborn hair! The one in united square specialises in children's haircut. That is, they provide entertainment eg cartoons (thomas/barney etc) to distract the child so the hair cutting experience is less traumatising for the older child. I believe they do cut/shave for newborn too just that you might be paying double the price. They charge about $21 I think. Normal salons charge about $10. For newborns, they can't really appreciate barney, foc balloons and stickers! They just need you to hold them securely. With HFMD at its peak now, I think it might be better to avoid places where young children gathers.

Pacifier
Yup! It is true sucking is a reflex coz bb need to suck to get milk. The sucking is reduced especially if we introduce a bottle. (bb usu spent twice or thrice the time to suck to get milk out from breast than bottle). Hence we need to introduce an alternative to satisfy the bb's need. In fact, one renowned theorist mentioned that if the bb's sucking reflex is not met when he/she is an infant, the child may develop habits such as thumb sucking, fingernail biting, pencil chewing in childhood and even overeating and smoking later in life!

Chilli Quek
Most salons do cut/shave newborn hair! The one in united square specialises in children's haircut. That is, they provide entertainment eg cartoons (thomas/barney etc) to distract the child so the hair cutting experience is less traumatising for the older child. I believe they do cut/shave for newborn too just that you might be paying double the price. They charge about $21 I think. Normal salons charge about $10. For newborns, they can't really appreciate barney, foc balloons and stickers! They just need you to hold them securely. With HFMD at its peak now, I think it might be better to avoid places where young children gathers.

Pacifier
Yup! It is true sucking is a reflex coz bb need to suck to get milk. The sucking is reduced especially if we introduce a bottle. (bb usu spent twice or thrice the time to suck to get milk out from breast than bottle). Hence we need to introduce an alternative to satisfy the bb's need. In fact, one renowned theorist mentioned that if the bb's sucking reflex is not met when he/she is an infant, the child may develop habits such as thumb sucking, fingernail biting, pencil chewing in childhood and even overeating and smoking later in life!

SL
I used NUK pacifier. So far so good. The shape is different. You can choose between silicon or latex. The latter is softer but you will need to change it more frequently as it wears off faster

Jen
I stay near to novena. Let me know when you wanna meet ya?

SL
I used NUK pacifier. So far so good. The shape is different. You can choose between silicon or latex. The latter is softer but you will need to change it more frequently as it wears off faster

Jen
I stay near to novena. Let me know when you wanna meet ya?

My CL left this morning! Ytd went to "chiong" taka bb fair! Spent sooo much. I think I am deprived! Planning to head to MC bb fair too next week. Oh dear... I'll be stuck with the bb night feeds from tonight!! Crossing my fingers that he will wake 1x tonight.

Meals
I am also planning to cater tingkat for my meals next week! Shortlisted 2 companies! 1 for lunch, 1 for dinner. Will test them out and update u all!

Freezer
Lynn can you PM me the contact? How many litres?

My CL left this morning! Ytd went to "chiong" taka bb fair! Spent sooo much. I think I am deprived! Planning to head to MC bb fair too next week. Oh dear... I'll be stuck with the bb night feeds from tonight!! Crossing my fingers that he will wake 1x tonight.

Meals
I am also planning to cater tingkat for my meals next week! Shortlisted 2 companies! 1 for lunch, 1 for dinner. Will test them out and update u all!

Freezer
Lynn can you PM me the contact? How many litres?

baby mummy, i buy from maximum credit for my chest freezer. tel : 62233575. look for linda.

she recommend sanyo. another brand farlala cheaper by about 20 bucks, but she mentioned not as lasting...and i did hear that they may close soon.

Sanyo more reputable...

baby mummy, i buy from maximum credit for my chest freezer. tel : 62233575. look for linda.

she recommend sanyo. another brand farlala cheaper by about 20 bucks, but she mentioned not as lasting...and i did hear that they may close soon.

Sanyo more reputable...

Hey mummies, my CL doesn't encourage me to pump and store in fridge cos it will cause bb to have 涨气(I suspect she means colicky). Do you girls have this problem?

For now, I will latch on in the day and only pump before I sleep. Nite feeding will be formula milk or EBM+ formula if EBM not enough. My flow now is abt 100ml on both sides (based on my pump at nite)