(2012/02) Feb 2012

i using the princess packaging. feels sweeter... hehe!

i also havent receive mailer. Just happen to visit their website and saw it. www.isetan.com.sg. nothing much exciting. Thk i will stock up on bb necessities.

i cant rem how their fruity bites and mini donuts taste like. But thk shld be ok.

Khim, agree princess is sweeter!! But I kinda like the dragon...hee to tell everyone it's a dragon bb!!

Serene, tks! Yes I am keen. Can pm me ur bank account to transfer?

Mummies who pump their milk, do you have alot of hind milk? I find that my hind milk is pretty pathetic and wonder how can I increase my hind milk. I tried massaging before pumping and I pump till there is no milk that can be pumped out. But the hind milk is still pathetic. I'm not sure if it's the way I massage. I rem my massage ladyassage for me and the milk that comes out is whiter and less diluted.

Btw, hind milk is white colour right? I read somewhere that someone's hind milk is yellow.

Hi Blucryst,

According to the info I got online, foremilk is white color diluted whereas hindmilk is creamy more to yellow color.

my girl cant seem to sleep very well during day time. after coaxing her in our arms, we will place her on her cot. after 5-10mins, she will wake up and the routine repeats. any mummies facing the same prob? any way to make her sleep longer in the day?

mummies, how do you guys cope when the CL went home? Mine going home soon. Cant imagine days without her. At night do you guys latch baby or pump out the milk? was thinking if i pump out plus latch, i will not have any sleep at all. Cos for me, i need about 30min for pumping, and latching sometimes can go up to 45 - 60min.

Serene, trfed to ur account liao. Hope the fenugreek works for me:p

Blucryst, foremilk is watery, while hindmilk is opaque, white and creamy. Sometimes slightly yellowish depends on wat we eat also. During my no 1 time I also keep getting mainly foremilk somehow and was super watery. Not sure wats the cause. Maybe try massage and hot compress more? So easier for milk flow.

Shan I also dread the day CL leaves! I think I sure cut down pump and will direct latch instead. Pump still gotto do a lot of washing lor!

Is a nightmare for me at night after CL leaves! During CL time, belle will sleep in cot. After she left, she wans me to carry her n sleep every night! If not she cries n yells non stop. Is really getting on my nerves...

Khim, have you tried swaddling the baby? I swaddle mine and he can nap quite well. Babies have very strong moro reflex from birth to 6M. They fling their arms and legs back in jerky movements usu if bb is shocked or startled by sudden loud noise. Swaddling helps the bb to feel more secure and sleep more soundly. (Full swaddle with arms tucked in below 5wks. Half swaddle; without arms tucked in, 5 wks and after) It takes up to 7-8M for the reflex to disappear completely. There after you can move to a sleep blanket/sack.

It is also very common for bb to wake up several times during naps by 4wks even if a feed is not due as they go into light sleep after sleeping for 30-45min. Allow the bb to settle back to sleep himself.(est 10-20min). Rocking, patting etc could result in long term sleep association problem. Toughest esp in the middle of the night when he doesnt need any night feeds and weighs 10kg!

adapted from gina ford!

xia, I was thinking of ordering the green papaya soup too! Else must go market early to fight for the threadfin bones!! But I find it quite ex! But I'll still go for it! Anything to boost the milk man!! hehe

I am also thinking of catering food for my meals. Any mummies has good recommendation? No food no sleep after CL goes, supply sure go down too!! So we must plan everything in advance!!

Summer: RE LC
I've visited them countless of times for b1 last time. You just need to call and make an appointment. No need to wait. Remember to bring bb along as the bb will help you clear the engorgement/blocked ducts. It will be better to call to ensure the LC are around. They have about 2-3 LC at one time. You are seeing the LC due to latching prob or engorgement/block ducts?

GG: Re isetan
I also don't receive mailers from them anymore as I didn't make any purchases for a long time! How about you? It's time to head down and "reinstate" ourselves to "ACTIVE" members!

RE: Gathering/shopping trips
That will be nice! Plan it soon ya!! Count me in. Will def join if I am available!

BluCryst
Colour of milk also depends on our nutrition level. Eg if you eat more fish, there are more protein so your milk is thicker and more yellow. So must really eat well and sleep well! That's why we all dread the day CL goes home... there goes our 24hrs souce of food and bb support!

GG
You wanna go get those alcohol test strips? just dip into EBM and test if there is alcohol present? I saw it in moms & babes in united sq before! Then you can have your martell chicken without any worries!!

Till now, I am still reluctant to take any alcohol leh... very fearful of the long term brain damage to their young brains. I am also reluctant to pump and throw coz I am not sure how long I will BF this time round! So better store and freeze and save the goodness for bb!

I have a question here... for those with elder kids, do you pump/latch in front of them? I have a 3 yr old boy but I lock myself into the room with my bb and he will cry outside saying mummy I want to come in... I find it very wrong to pump in front of him... but if he is a girl, I wouldn't mind.. Am I too sensitive? I also feel very bad when he asks for me and I am latching b2.

Also now he is sick and asks to go to my MIL's home. So I just send him there in the afternoon. Now I feel soooo guilty and sad. Sigh.. really not easy managing 2! How are the rest coping? Any solutions? He does go childcare but I usually will let him rest at home if he is down or hb is travelling. I just hope he wouldn't treat his home like a hotel next time. *cross fingers*

Baby mummy, interesting all your posts. Many same issues I have. Well I was able to swaddle my no 1 for quite long and he really just eat and sleep. Easy! For no 2 however, from 5 days she refuse to be swaddled already. Will struggle her way out of swaddle, and surprisingly dun have much of dat moro reflex. So my CL only swaddle her half body since day 5. My bb also turns her head around already, even when on tummy position. She lifts her head and will switch from side to side.

I dread day CL goes. Initially thot of extending to 40 days. But at the same time I think CL leave already I will have more control over bb and breastfeeding etc. And more privacy la. But sure won't have as much time to rest. So must really rest more these last 2 weeks le.

On bf in front of no 1, no I dun do dat. When my boy is around I ever even pump in toilet, cos no where else to go!! I dun bf in front of CL or mil or mum either, I know some pple ok with dat but I not comfy lor.

Hi Mommies

I'm new to the forum and my daughter was borned on 11 Feb. =)

Will be celebrating bb's full month this sunday. My MIL said that we no need to give any favours or cakes since we are having a buffet lunch? Is this the case? Or do you all still give the favours even though there's a celebration?

Pls advise. =)

Lydia, i did not give favours or cakes since there was buffet already. the favours onli given to the elderlys who could not make it. and to bb's grandparents.

Any burping tips please? I try and try but just cannot seem to get baby to burp.

Hi xia, ya so zhun. But sorry for late reply. Very exhausted so mia.

Anybody's bb not sleeping at night? My gal seems to get morning n night timing all wrong. She sleeps v well in the morning but stay awake for up to 4-5 hrs at night. She will open her eyes wide n cry, demanding to be fed. We tried disturbing her sleep in the morning n dimming the lights at night but for the past 5 days, she has been crying n screaming non stop at night. Any suggestions anyone?

Hi Rocco

Thanks for your advise. =)

Hi meiji_crackers

I have the exact same problem with my baby gal. Didnt know what to do for the past week and everyone is getting exhausted. I'm now at my parents' place doing confinement. My husband, myself and my parents took turn to wake up at night to coax the baby.

2 nights ago we decided to let her try sucking pacifier and it has been working so far. Coz even after feeding, she still seems like looking for something to suck.

I'm not sure if you are willing to let ur baby try pacifier, but hope it helps u =)

beemummy, I have the same problem too. I lie bb down flat on his back for a few min est 5-10min and burp him. Alternatively, hold bb well, move bb forward 45deg, 90deg upright, backward 45deg a few times to get the air bubbles up. Do it slowly and gently. Sometimes I will do the same but rotate horizontally, ie left - centre - right.

I can burp him for 30min and he wont burp! So contrary to the norm where I shouldn't lie him flat, the air bubbles kind of consolidated and once it is too much for him to bear, he will start making some noise and he will burp in seconds when we carry him up!! Huge huge burp! Else he will start puking out his milk again!

Bee mummy, I talk to my doc on pumping and latching in front of my 4 yr old son. He say is ok and explain to him about bf and latching. He say be open about it and don hv to hide. At first he v interested now he is immune of me pumping beside him.

Let me know if the fish soup is good, will get one and ask my maid to taste and cook. So far her fish soup taste yukky.

serene
Thanks for the advise. I think I will try it out

GG
Haha I am such a meanie. I control bb as well as his sleep and nap times!! No choice coz on Gina Ford routine. But CL is very nice coz it's her 2nd time and she is used to my style!
I do pump and latch in front of CL & even MIL!! No choice! Haha no space no time. My CL helped me clear engorgement last time... so.. haha it just get so natural. Now I need to do it in front of B1...

Hi Lydia,
My boy was bored on the same day as your girl

I cater buffet lunch and I prepare red eggs, ang ee, glutinous rice and cupcakes for my guests. For those that did not attend, I intend to give them cakes.

Baby mummy, i also control baby nap and feeding time. But only intend to start after confinement....:p I read Gina ford book and tries her method for #1 but I think too confusing for me.I got to keep referring to the schedule on what to do next. Tracy Hogg works better for me. Intending to continue with that.

Hi Lydia,
Glad to know that I m not the only one facing this prob. We aren't really keen to use the pacifier yet but if really there's no choice then I may resort to it.
Hi baby mummy, my gal is 9 days old. How do we know if bb has a lot of air? We do burp her twice during each feed. She practically sleeps the whole morning n Afternoon n only wakes up every 3 hr plus to drink. Sometimes got to wake her up to drink.

Baby mummy, hee, is good if u able to control. For my no 1 he was v disciplined. My gal somehow v wild. Hubby attribute to dragon character! My CL offered to do breast massage etc but I pai sei and declined

Hi baby mummy,

Tks for ur reply. Visited LC yesterday due to blocked ducts. LC massage for me, so painful. My case is quite serious, the blocked ducts still there, hv to massage myself at home.

summer
my case was super serious last time too. Engorged, blocked & overpump. Wong BB said I brought 1 mth of homework for them to do. B1 refuses to latch too. I practically suffered from it throughout my BF journey. With B2, somehow it got better coz B2 latches well. Just rem bb are the best pump! Use them to clear! I latch 1 side and pump the other! Very smooth and good flow.

If u r using medela freestyle soft fit funnel, change to the normal plastic one. The former has been a #1 culprit in all my blockages, engorgement & pain! Also try not to drag each pump session beyond 3-4 hrs. That is the beginning of the 1st pump to the beginning of 2nd pump.

Mummies planning to increase supply oso must do the 3 hrly interval. Eg 9am, 12pm, 3pm, 6pm, 9pm, 12am, 3am, 6am etc until supply establishes. Once it is stabilised, you can drag to 4hrly.

One of the "tricks" I discovered to clearing blocked ducts is to 1) pump and press on the blocked duct during let downs. The more let downs the easier to clear. On an average of a 15min pump most ppl can get 2 let downs. If you have more, lucky u! 2) Drink a hot drink bef pump 3) Use a hot towel or gel pack before & during pump- see http://www.amazon.com/NUK-Gerber-Warm-Cool-Relief/dp/B002UXQRFM. Gel pack can be warmed using microwave, stay warm longer and can be inserted into your bra prior to pumping! No messy hot towels! 3) Sleep when bb sleeps. Inadequate sleep causes supply to drop and blockages to happen 4) Drink more fluids. Hot soup and drinks work! My fave: Green papaya & threadfin bones/head soup.

Meji crackers, u can try letting her to slp in a bouncer or somewhere else other than her bed? This is what I do for all my kids and they have no problem with day and nite.
U can prepare her by telling her it's nite time by changing her into her pjs, clean her face, change and diaper and switch on her lullaby. It works for my dd. U can gv it a try.

GG
B1 really more displined leh. My B2 is so fiesty! How old is your B1?

smiling_merlion
I have both tracy hogg and gina ford books!! But I did GF first so more used to GF!! Ya I practically read the book like a bible loh! keke.. I think most bb thrive on routines. How I wish I have a textbook baby!!

Meiji
Tap the tummy. If it has the hollow hollow sound, usu it means there is quite a bit of air. PD uses this method too to check for colic. For colic conditions, better to ask PD to diagnose. Bb will be very uncomfortable and cry when they have air in their tummy. PD usu prescribe some anti-wind med for the bb. Traditional belief is to use fei zhai shui but usu after 1M.

Do you put baby to sleep right after feed? Max awake hours for bb is 2hrs. If it exceeds, bb might be over stimulated and can't go down well too.

if we keep stimulating them see flash cards etc, will they be overstimulated? my bb doesnt like to sleep very much in the day! they should be clocking 15 hours a day right.

GG, i also manage to get 170ml for my 3am pump.... but after that, drop back to 100ml.. been 100ml for so long, a bit demoralise liao...

mummies, for night time, i drag pumping to 4hrs cuz cant wake up, will it really affect supply? and also, sometimes my girl will want milk at the same time i'm gng to pump, so i will usually latch her n pump after tt. will this affect supply too?

Khim, same as me lor. Sometimes mine even goes down to 75ml! Dunno y. Am observing if any particular food helps or makes supply low. Ordered fenugreek from serene, hope it helps bring supply higher.

I find my gal not v good in clearing milk thoroughly. Suck v long already still a lot when express, so I suspect she is more like sucking pacifier like dat! But it does help clear a bit of block duct. After she suckle, when I hand express, more outlets for milk. Like 4 or 5 taps instead of 1 or 2. Can tell from the squirts.

baby_mummy, thanks for the advise. my girl doesnt like to have her arms swaddled, so did half swaddle. her nite time sleep is ok, just day time, she keep waking up after 5-10mins of sleep n cant fall bk asleep on her own. she will whine n cry for attention. so we gonna carry and soothe her... any other suggestions other than swaddling?

GG n baby_mummy, agree that bb is the best pump. so whenever i feel my breasts are gng to b engorged, i let my girl latch, after latching, pumping is also very smooth...milk comes out faster n more "taps".. hehe...

yeah! 3 more days to end of confinement.. cant wait...

able to advise what food to avoid during bf period?
r we able to take cold food e.g ice cream after confinement or recommend not to?

Congrats khim to the end of your confinement!! Me still 2 weeks to go. Mixed feeling about end of confinement. No one to wait on me whole day once confinement over. Need to take care bb, cook own meals and drinks etc...

After confinement better dun take cold stuff yet. If can dong, wait at least another 12 days or longer. I probably abstain 2 months. My CL told me no seafood and duck for 4 mths of c section.

On hindsight shd have catered small buffet instead of booking restaurant tables. A lot of things I cannot eat!! CL already told me sharksfin cannot, Peking duck cannot, seafood cannot, Toufu cannot..Then i eat wat leh?! Wahlau!!

gg, thanks. plan to go shopping on fri liao. hehe.
my mum also gng home, no one to cook for me too. i lazy, will just buy outside food for my meals...

ok, ok... my ice cream gonna wait... hehe...

tofu cannot eat? any reason? my mum cook for me a few meals liao.

Thank u all for the advice and info on foremilk and hind milk. My mil did my confinement so I had fish, herbal soup, veg everyday, so basically I think diet wise I'm doing good.

But sleep wise is another story. I didn't rest much in the day time and come night time, I took care of baby because wanna let my mil rest. And like some mummies here, my gal sometimes don't wanna sleep at night, and can be awake from the first to the next feeding sessions. Yesterday, she kept waking up whenever we put her down after carrying her to sleep. She will be disturbed and kept flinging her arms around. Can't stop her, not to say swaddle her. It's only till dawn that I manage to swaddle her and she slept through till morning, past her feeding time. So I didn't rest as well everyday and maybe that's why my hind milk is not as much? I'll try to rest more and see if there's a change.

Thank u all for the advice and info on foremilk and hind milk. My mil did my confinement so I had fish, herbal soup, veg everyday, so basically I think diet wise I'm doing good.

But sleep wise is another story. I didn't rest much in the day time and come night time, I took care of baby because wanna let my mil rest. And like some mummies here, my gal sometimes don't wanna sleep at night, and can be awake from the first to the next feeding sessions. Yesterday, she kept waking up whenever we put her down after carrying her to sleep. She will be disturbed and kept flinging her arms around. Can't stop her, not to say swaddle her. It's only till dawn that I manage to swaddle her and she slept through till morning, past her feeding time. So I didn't rest as well everyday and maybe that's why my hind milk is not as much? I'll try to rest more and see if there's a change.