(2012/02) Feb 2012

arh... Will not take tofu for the next 10-12 days.

anyway, my girl hasnt poo for a few days liao. she on tbf. consider normal for almost 4wks old bb?

khim: afew days no poo seems like constipated.. my girl poo 3-4 times a day
she is 4 weeks old too

haiz i think most of us here hav low milk supply.. me too..
i tried drinking the sacred tea.. not much help and the taste is weird..

morning sometimes i can get 180ml
next pump will be 100ml
and after that can drop to 80ml -.-"

then i have to "store" for 5 hours before i can pump another 100ml

my girl 4 weeks old drinking 90ml..
supply cannot meet demand..

Ging3r, about same lor. I pump every 3.5-4 hrs. My half month bb gal takes 90-100ml every 2 hrs. If latch can take forever to feed cos she fall sleep but if I put her down she wakes and wan to suckle again. Can't imagine latching every 2 hrs as wat is normally recommended. She will probably b perpetually on my breast. Somehow prefer to feed ebm esp now CL around to help.

Khim, I also dunno my this CL accurate or not. But I just follow lor. My previous CL got cook Toufu. But she was a vegetarian so I dunno is it she wan to eat herself.

I agree with baby mummy on the fluid part. I remember Wong BB showing us a 2L water bottle and say that mummies must drink at least this amount of fluid everyday for successful breast feeding.

Baby mummy my #1 was a textbook baby. Everything on time and as scheduled... While I m still observing #2 I see they are quite different.

Hi khim, I also 3 days to end of confinement. CL leaving on sat. So now I just leave baby to her while I try to sleep and sleep and sleep. Now I more or less take care of baby at nite as baby will latch then go to sleep. So my CL good life can sleep til next morning. But day time I just leave to her.
After my confinement, I m going to get my bubble tea and ice cream! Have been craving since I give birth. Dun care already. I told my husband child birth already so xin1ku3 and breastfeeding so stressful, still make mummies cannot do this, cannot eat that. So I dun follow strictly.if it makes my life better like malay massage then I dun mind following.:p Sometimes just act act in front of mother and mil so that they stop their nagging...:p I bad example of daughter and daughter-in-law.

Smiling merlion, hee I also keep reminding myself to leave everything to CL while she is here! So I can rest before my confinement fin in 2 wks! She takes care day and night. I only latch once a while.

hi mummies, haven't logged in for a week. congrats to opps whose dream came true!

now able to bf better thankfully. same as lydia, i have resorted to using the pacifier sometimes so that I don't carry him for too long. and it works! I didn't expect to start to use the pacifier so early though.

Hi ANNticipating

I didn't expect to start using the pacifier so early either but there was nothing else we could do. I just found out today that it might be due to the colic condition which will last up to 3 months old.

Dear mommies who r bf-ing, do massage ur breasts regularly esp b4 expressing. Mine was engorged n inflammed, got a fever of 38.7 n I got to go on antibiotics for 5 days. During this period of time, I still exp every 3hr but got to throw away bm. So sad! It feels so different when u exp for ur baby vs just throwing it away, so meaningless. So dear mommies, do take Gd care, n u can get ur post natal masseuse to help. Most of them shld know how to help u clear block ducts.

Hi mummies, my boy also hv constipation as he 80% bm rest is fm. I think my body too heaty n bb also drink my milk... I eat papaya, after 1day bb can poo out.
Now I add pumpin pal angel pump very helpful n more milk flow out.. Can try!

Al, really pumpin pal can pump out more? I order and is on the way. My arms and back are aching fr the pump, really hope it helps. Hope it can also reduce the pain. My nipple v sore fr the pump. Don know is the way I hold the pump or I over pump.

I have alrdy started giving my girl pacifier at abt week 3
It kinda help to soothe her to slp also esp at night
Sometimes while waiting for her milk to heat up I notice she will put her fingers into the mouth
Before she starts thumb sucking I rather give her pacifier
Easier to break when she gets older

Yo mummies! I'm back. Had a busy day with my B1 after he came home. Still very emo. So will be bringing him for out tmr for some "ME & Mummy" time. Finally I'm out of confinement! Hooray! Time flies! For those still on confinement, Jiayou!! I just hope it doesnt rain when I'm out coz the weather forecast doesnt look too good.

Hmmm I notice our thread is kinda quiet.. is this normal? Or is everyone very busy post delivery? I have not really log in previously to follow the thread.

ging3r
I also use the pacifer for B1. Started at 1M. He slept really well. I would rather go for the pacifier than the thumb too!

serene123
pumpin pal is really comfy.. maybe that aids to pump more? Also it has grooves on it and is supposed to have some massaging effect I think. Actually I am using various funnels depending on the condition of my nipple and engorgement. 27mm when my nipples are sore and painful, 24mm for a strong suction, pumpin pal for comfort..I put on lots of nipple cream on my nipple and use it as a "lubricant" before pump so my aerola wont be too sore! Thick coat after pump to heal it.

AI
Hee yes!! That's what I always do! Papaya has laxative effect. I really love the way we can "treat" our babies condition with out breastmilk! Eg eat papaya to get them to poo!! You might want to try the papaya drink from taiwan in an orange packaging. I always drink it last time! Very yummy too!

Lydia
Jiayou! It's a short term problem! Yes I will spend lots of time to massage before and in between the pump if engorged as it is the ONLY solution to clear it. Cabbage, cold compress will only relieve the pain but doesn't solve the root of the problem. Good thing is, you know you have supply!!

It's ok to use a pacifier! Just make sure you use it before sleep and not 24hrs a day or baby's teeth won't be straight once he/she starts teething. My 3 yr old is still on pacifier for noon naps. It makes him sleep better although it's about time to wean him off!

I hope you are able to rest better now that bb can sleep better! Colic is really a sleep killer! Take care!

Summer
It took me a few pumps to clear the blocked duct! But I will just keep trying else the pain and swelling will irritate me for the rest of the day! It was so bad last week that I could only clear after I stretch my pump for 6 hours to get a good night sleep. Felt so guilty after that but luckily still manage to pump out the usual amount. I usually go by amt of ml/hr so I can estimate baby's milk intake as well as if my breasts are blocked/engorged. Eg if I pump 60ml/hr, I should yield 180ml in 3hr. If I can only pump 90ml and 50ml even if I did not latch.. something is "brewing" in one of my breast.. then I will change the mode to stimulation and press around the breasts looking for lumps.

I have both avent and medela pumps. I find avent good in clearing block ducts!! My medela is good in stimulating supply. So they compliment each other! But it is so crazy to invest in 2 pumps really but I was desperate then... and avent can be converted to a manual pump so it's good when I'm travelling!

Smiling Merlion
^Hi 5!^ My CL is also leaving on sat! But I declare myself out of confinement after consulting the mummies! keke. But will take the confinement food till 40days! I miss bubble tea loh! I want my gong cha and koi!!! Aiya parents love to nag... just nod our head and let it pass. My mom says no bathing, no sitting, no washing of hands etc. I just nod my head and continue my herbal baths! Luckily we don't stay under the same roof! hee

Lucky you! My B1 is not a text book baby leh. He slept 6pm-6am last time. Imagine going back home to a sleeping baby. I hope B2 can do better!!

Khim
Only 4 solutions I can think of. (1) The heart pain method: Let her cry it out and she will learn to sleep. (Most people cannot take it) (2) use a pacifier! (3) Sarong or yaolan (Hard to sleep when you are out-same as carrying/rocking just that you use a machine to help u!) (4) Pat the child.

I have a friend whose bb nv poo much too. The PD says the bb absorbs everything! As long as bb is putting on weight, healthy, wetting his diapers it should be ok but best to chk with the PD k! Mine poos like nobody business loh! Fart and poo fart and poo... aiyo my diapers are moving so fast!

Latch and pump to clear is good! I do that. In fact it will overstimulate supply but who cares! More is better than less. Can freeze and store. The concept behind it is that baby usually doesnt drink so much when they are young.. hence they don't fully clear the breast. So we need to clear it using our pump to tell our body to produce more milk! When they get older and drink more, we definitely need the supply. It will be so stressful trying to catch up on a later stage.

Re: Toufu
OMG! I've eaten toufu already!!! My CL cooks it leh.. I think the shi gao fen is also in touhua right? Alamak.. that means I can't drink my fave earl grey 3 JS from gong cha for 40days! There's those custard, grass jelly etc inside.*ren* *ren* *ren*

Rocco
yup they need 15.5-16hrs for 0-1M old bb. How do you manage to keep your bb awake without crying? Mine juz doze off right after feeding. Need to wipe him upside down with a wet cloth, remove his mittens, booties and diapers even!

Hmmm flashcards are suppose to help in their cognitive development overtime. Short 2-5min should be ok.. they hv quite a short attention span. But diff bb varies. So its back to trial and error!

GG
My elder one is turning 3 this yr! Wow.. you are a super mommy! can handle 2 very young children!

Okie time to zzz again!! Nitez!

Now is pumping time

I just started pumpin pal last 2 day, finally I hit my highest 160ml in morning session, normally only 60-100ml. Before that, my pumping always make me tired n backache, I use pumpin pal + 'bra hold' ( I cut 2 hole in my bra then insert pumpin pal to pump, become hands free n I can do others thing while pumping... Hehee I saw this from a creative mom here:
http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?v=qVII-C34XPg

http://m.youtube.com/?rdm=4of0xhv78&reload=3#/watch?desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dd5wcBbTK08Y%26list%3DPLD9ABC47978C72A14%26index%3D6%26feature%3Dplpp_video&index=6&list=PLD9ABC47978C72A14&feature=plpp_video&v=d5wcBbTK08Y&gl=SG

Serene, u will like pumpin pal!

Baby mummy, never drink before le. Eat too much papaya also no good for bb right, too yellow will jaundice. During my confinement too many heaty food n herbs... My bb also cannot tahan. Now 6wks liao, sometimes poo a little bit but hold till next day come out a lot.

Baby mummy- in using pumping pal funnel too but it leaks from below when I try to relax my back to chair. Is it because it's too big for me? Using large now.

GG- u r going BKK? I bought a lot of Carter's from BKK from my last trip.
missed shopping so much! Now can't even go coffeeshop to buy food wif bb! Go to Indra sq whoeksale market n chartuchak to source. Very cheap, only 100-200baht for rompers/ dress set.

My baby can't sleep for last few days due to watery stools n gas. She can poo abt 8-10timrs a day, ask PD he said its normal but heartache to see her suffer cause now bottom so sore from poo that she have nappy rash. I must be a real lousy mummy- milk supply cannot catch up, now nappy rash. Haiz! Other than desitin purple, wat else can I do? Have air her bottom too but she end up sneezing.

About catering for confinement food- the papaya soup catering service from AuntyLi is temp not available. Called them last week n checked, but was told that Aunty Li wants to take a break so they stop taking orders for March! Was doing confinement at mum's place but had moved back now so I'm alone coping wif bb now. Trying out Confinement food catering now since I have no time to cook. Tried rich food catering for 3 days now, soup was great but the other dishes r really salty, not suitable for me but hb was enjoying the food.

U can get it fr mumsfairy. Get all the 3 size. I buy direct from USA, slightly cheaper.

Any idea where in town hv nursing room with electric point to pump?

Hi all, hav been mia for a while cos busy with the CL and then jus change another 1 new CL yesterday. And my bb is really a super naughty boy. Glad tat he like the new CL cos he can sleep thru the nite from 11pm to 5am. The previous CL had a hard time and hav to carry my bb to sleep. Tis new CL hav a better life then me cos she can sleep from 11.30pm to 5am. She don even knw heavy rain and i went in to close her window. While I wake up 2 times within tis period to pump. Super tired.

I'm in the panda club liao.

Natural birth really recover faster. No more pain at all now. Previous few days having pain at anus partly also due to constipation.

Now struggling thru my confinement. Perspired like mad and super oily hair. Start to hav itchy skin and head now. I think mos of you hav aldy finish confinement rite.

Opps, wow ur bb dun need night feeds? Your CL v good life. Me 2 wks to go still but ok la I dun follow everything strictly. My bb wakes up to feed every 2 hrs including night time. My CL monitors the timing quite closely, and even when I wake up to pump wee hrs she jumps up to help me take out my pump, hot water and towel. And wash my pump and sterilize once I am done.

Mummies.. I juz gave birth 27th feb. Induced labour, natural.
Now struggling with breastfeeding.. Read a few good tips here. Many thanks in advance!

Bee, u can go http://www.pumpinpal.com/. , if u don hv post account, can use me first. Or create one, post under singpost.

Pumpin pal $34.95, add guide book $4.95 and postage $4.95, almost s$60, shipping back to sing $21 so total $81. If u can another one or two others interested can save on the shipping.

So wasted, I posted last week any one interested but no one reply so I order one set only.

Chrmei, the set from USA include all size. As Al posted and the website, u might need alll different size. Which is true, sometimes nipple v sore good to use a bigger one.

I compared if buy separately more exp, so might as well get all if not add on is v ex. If bee mummy and u, interested I can order for u since I already hv the vpost account. Or u all order but send to my vpost account. U can save another $10.

Even now, I also hv a bigger flange for medela. Is more comfortable, ESP now nipple sore and swollen. I think my nipple from normal size hv increase by 5 times.

Jen, yes hoping to go for a few short trips after confinement b4 maternity leave ends! Bkk probably one of them as I wanna shop bb clothes!!! So u r the one who lugged back a lot of carters! Where is Indra square? I only know chatuchup.

serene123, does the pumping pal fits all breast pump? Same here, my nipple swell until super big. The moment i think of pumping, i a bit scared..

Shan, my nipple also sore after rounds of pumping. So in between sometimes I do hand express instead. At least dun need to 'torture' nipples.

Shan, watch the link Al posted early. It fits all pump, cos u insert over it. For medela, can fit directly to the connector.

Order overseas u save $20-30 but hv to wait 10 days.

I spent a lot on milk supplement and bought 4 extra medela flanges $100 cos the one I hv cos my nipple to hv blister. If I know early I should hv bought pumpin pal .

Me too, drag pumping cos of sore nipple. Also don dare to latch just in case my boy apply pressure when he fed up.

Hi all, seeing so many of u standby pacifiers make me so tempted too. But I will try n see if my bb sleeping condition improves.

Hi godsent, u mean to use bouncer in the morning n sleep in cot at night?

Hi baby mummy, recently my bb has been exploring the house with her eyes wide open after her late afternoon feed. So maybe less than 22 hrs asleep. Hmm... So we dun let her stay awake? I thought make her wake up more in the day will make her more tired at night. Hehe...

My CL suddenly had to leave yesterday after receiving a phone call from her family. Apparently, her bro is seriously ill n was hospitalized. We had to approach PEM to find a replacement urgently. The new CL came this afternoon .. Kinda disappointed cos I felt that she isn't as attentive and gentle to my bb as my previous CL. Food also not as nice...

Meijicrackers, ask for replacement from Pem? Usually they allow.

Joeles, many of us facing the same prob. Just do our best. Watever we can give is better than not at all.

My boy keep merlon after taking formula, any one experience this? His vomit is sticky!

Might hv to change formula fr enfalac to something else.

Meji crackers, u can let her slp in a bouncer/playpen or hammock in the noon? That's what I'm doing for my gal since she's back from hosp.. When comes at nite, she will be back at her own bed.. So far so gd.
Btw, try not letting her be awake more than 2 hrs in a go cos it may lead to crankiness. May end up even more difficult to put her back to slp.

AI
If bb is yellow, yup its betta to avoid the yellow causing food eg papaya, pumpkin etc. Everything in moderation!

Hazel, serene
My bb also loves to merlion super big time. Sticky phelgm like stuff at times, white patches when its half digested and "fresh" like milk when it's not digested at all. Heart pain to see it but it happens after every feed no matter which position he is in coz he loves to rotate his head, turn his body etc. I also suspect 1) he is too full 2) he is too active!! It doesn't happen to my #1 though.

Sore nipples
Are you all first time mummies? It's hard to get used to the pain but you will build up the "immunity" to it very soon! Lather up with nipple cream. It really really work. For latching on, you can buy a shield to cover your sore nipple when you latch. Medela has it. Not really a good idea to drag pump but rather go for short pump duration. My breasts were so engorged last time that I was nearly thinking of literally chopping it off! The throbbing pain was really bad.
Ideally, if bb is latched on in the correct position, it shouldn't hurt. Check out this link: http://www.kellymom.com/bf/start/basics/index.html
I used to "air" my nipples to let it heal coz I overpump till the skin where the nipple and aerola connects peeled off. So don't overpump coz the moment I recall those days, I still shudder!!

meiji
Yup napping less a day really helps to let bb sleep through the night! But bb still needs the sleep to GROW! So need to do some trial and error. Eg the book says max 5hrs nap and max awake hrs of 2hrs after waking. If baby can nap for 6hrs during the day without waking much at night, then it's ok to nap 6hrs! If baby nap 5hrs and yet wants to play for 2hrs in the middle of the night, it's time to cut the day naps!!

Lynn
The decision to buy a fridge or not depends on 1) space 2) storage duration
Normal fridge (non-freezer) - 48hrs
Normal freezer at home - BM can keep for 2-3M
Deep chest freezer - 6M @ -18deg
I am quite particular about mixing BM with raw food so I separate the compartments and store in those tupperware boxes. The reason why we can't keep BM for a longer duration with our normal fridge is becoz we kept opening the fridge door to get food. The temperature changes affects the expiration of the milk.

Btw, mummies do not store milk at the fridge door! It is the "least" cold part of the fridge. Milk spoils really fast there. I had to throw away the milk last time!! Smells so rotten. Very heartpain man!

Jen
Ideally the pumping pal should cover part of the breast securely with the suction from the pump. I didn't get the handsfree version but just the funnel. Make sure you dun have anything between the shield and skin etc eg nursing bra fabric. If it can't cover securely, then it might be too big. I bought M size. Got it during the baby fair at expo last time. She looked at my nipples and "prescribe" the size for me! hehe. Where do you stay? You wanna try M size? I can lend you to test it out.

Oh Aunty Li took a break? No wonder she never respond to my email. There goes my green papaya soup!! I am also looking for food catering. Any other recommendations? I asked my CL to prepare lots of small portions of food eg black chicken to make tonic soups (washed, cut etc), pork fillet - sliced and marinated, chopped garlic & onions, deep fry ginger etc to survive for the next 10 days! I am going to freeze it and thaw the small portions daily to cook! Time to stock up on threadfin bones!

Joeles
Congrats! Keep up with the breastfeeding! It's really rewarding when you see your bb fatten up with your milk! :p

Anyone who has had their menses back?
I've been bleeding since delivery.. and at some point it seemed to stop/reduce after 3 weeks and now I have fresh red blood again with some slight cramps... Just wondering if it's normal. Just crossing my fingers and hope that there is nothing wrong with my womb!!

Anyways I realise I'm posting very long posts!! If its irritating pls tell me k!! I just can't resist typing!! haha I guess that's how I destress!

serene: The stickiness probably its the phlegm. My bb also has alot of phlegm and vomits alot (even after 2 hours after his feed) on enfalac. i switched to total breastfeeding and his condition improves. So most likely its enfa that is causing the phlegm. Probably be switching to friso or mamil.

Serene which model you using? Bring down to Toh Guan for inspection? With expired sg warranty it is $50 for servicing. Otherwise $80 I think

Baby mummy, no worries. Your posts v informative n detailed. I'm using iPhone usually so short posts!

FM
I hv one big sample can of fiso gold will try it for the time being. Hb bought 3 can of enfa to standby. Better don stock up in case not suitable.

Don hv enough bf so hv to supplement with fm so total ebm is not possible now with the pump giving a funny sound don know can last through the weekend.

Chewie, will do just bought so many accessories don want to waste it. My is really old medela pis from my sil being pass down over the 8 yrs.