(2012/02) Feb 2012

Wow! Rocco, u r my idol! Can do make-up before rushing to hospital, LOL. I hope i got time to do make-up as well. So will TMC charge u extra day rate if discharge after 12pm in the evening? Think most hospital policy states they will charge extra day, if so then not worth for u to go back late.

if i discharged tmr then wun incur d overnight stay, so cheaper
. anyway i cant sleep nt used to it thats y still can post entry nw.

Joey, the marks surely will disappear soon. My baby has long nails and alrd scratched herself few times. But few hours disappear alrd. U hv CL? So brave to go home so soon! I extended 1 more night else tmr need to head home. Shall enjoy having nurses look after baby 1 more day... My CL only reaching on fri

Hi chewie, congrats!! Could u share the bills at mtE? I'm delivering there as gyne office is there... But not sure about the cost. Thanks in Adv!

Rocco, congrats too! I had the same symtopts as u after epi.. (for my #1) Shivers and vomit, was very uncomfy. Try to take more rest and you'll feel better!

Christina, welcome here! We have the same edd 15 feb, and mine's #2 as well. Wheree are u delivering? Are you all prepared? So many feb mummies started to pop... It's scaring me!! :p

chewie: me ar, no CL... mil helping... i have a nephew that has stomach virus at hm too... abit worried but i think so long after in laws touch my nephew n she sanitises her hands should b ok...

Hi zeal, will let u know when I leave on fri. U did the pre reg alrd right? Est is pkg 2.8 for 2 nights, additional night abt 800. Doc fees depends on your delivery and doc. Did u do hospi tour? Lots of visitors commented room is nice. I din get my preferred ward which is 4b. It's renovated more recently. Enjoying my stay here. Nurses, LC are all helpful and nice

Didi: yes the amt includes my baby bill... Actually the bills are separated... I just summed it up...
Xia: actually I requested for normal single bedded. But they don't have any. I thot they will auto upgrade free. But they ask me if I want to take premier single or take double bedder. They explain premier single is only a difference of how much compare to single and much more comfortable and quieter. So my hubby thot ok lah go for premier....

orangeroses, I'm trying for VBCA too. What is the age gap between your #1 and tis bb? Mine only 1.5yrs so very worried abt uterine rupture too. But my gynea told me will be ok after 1yrs of gap. She told me to start planning for #2 in Jun last yr so I did as what she say. The scar is also very super itchy since beginning of pregnancy till now. Do u hav tat?
Hope we hav a smooth VBCA.

Rocco, congrats. Mus really make sure your fmaily menbers sterilized their hands before handling your bb and better not to let your nephew meet up with you bb now. The virus is very strong. Tat time my whole family (me, hubby and mum who staying to help out) all got the stomach flu virus from my #1.Take care.

Yesterday whole afternoon having mild tummy cramps. Then I went for thai and indonasia food with colleagues. The food was so spicy till stomach burning and wan to blow fire liao. Last nite I feel the contraction pains. Very painful and can't sleep well. Wake up every hr to pee. Lucky the pain went off after I change my sleeping position. So confirmed its only Baxton. Now still having the mild cramps. Tummy very heavy too. Don knw y tis pregnancy seems more painful.

xia, ya man! I will probably start preparing this weekend onwards ba. At least wash the bb clothes first. Oh and hopefully settle the cord blood thing. Havent choose and contacted them!!

Opps, me also getting braxton more often, and yes, the old C wound seems to feel a bit painful think cos of the weight of our tummy now. And no choice still have to keep squatting up and down because of no 1 - change diaper, bath, pull him up etc etc...

Cranky, so the premier room is nicer? Me choosing premier this round, last round was 1 bedder. Din bother to tour the rooms but heard premier is nicer so took premier to pamper myself.

Hi jimglebell10,

Thanks for the advice. I will drink more water these few days. My next gynae visit is this Sat.

I have been having swollen feet since my 4th month till now. Haha.

Gynae now become more concerned. He say swelling adds risk to mummy during delivery.

When is your EDD? Mine is 12th Feb.

Btw, The nurse gave me a tin of Friso 1 infant formula. Saw that NTUC selling too.

GG Lee, me too. squatting up and down for #1, change diaper, bath, carry, chasing him around the hse when feeding, coax him to sleep etc etc.. So I think I will deliver early. Having more baxton means going to deliver soon? I don hav baxton for #1. Hubby very worried keep asking me to confirm when. I asked him to ask the bb lah. How will I knw. I think he wan me to go for c-sect again loh so tat everything is planned for and no risk of paying more for emergency c-sect. Btw, he going business trip whole of next week and I will be 37 wk. So he very worried I will go into labour when he not in sg.

Yup, scar is a bit painful too. But the itchy is more unbearable.

Actually I think if my mum go into the delivery suite with me will be better then him leh. My mum will give me more support and will definably nag and stop me from taking epi.

Tis time shld be taking epi again cos the pain yesterday aldy so unbearable. It reminds me the pain during delivery. SCARY!!! CHance of epi very high.

Chilli, your nurse so gd ah. WHich clinic ah? I also wan the free friso leh. Last time they give but now no more.

What is the risk for swelling? My previous pregnancy also start swelling at very early stage. This pregnancy only start swelling recently. Fingers and hands last week and legs since yesterday. Having elephant legs now.

Hi chilli, my edd is 14 feb. but bb already very big. At wk 35, she alr weighed ard 3kg. N every wk checkup, Gynae said she put on weight. Now wk 38, feel so heavy. So dunno can tahan till edd. Tmr wil be seeing Gynae again for scanning. if too big, high chance dr wil suggest c sect.

Oh yeah, try to sleep on yr side, not on yr back, to encourage more oxygen to bb. Cos low amniotic fluid cld cause cord compression.

Infant fm- wil also ask the clinic tmr if they have sample. Anyway for backup only if not enuff bm in the initial phase.

Sorry to intrude. I have a can of unopened, brand new Nan Pro 1 milk powder to let go at $30. Letting go as baby is now 100% on breastmilk. Self collect at Telok Blangah Way. Please email me at [email protected]

Opps, hahaha, I bar my hubby from biz trip le! I am hoping wont be early but never know lor. Even for scheduled C also may not happen at the day we choose. Am starting leave earlier to rest home and try not to move too much. Although suddenly feel like a lot of things to buy or do...dunno if that's the nesting instinct!

GG, I wanted to bar him but I'm not his boss leh. Once his boss heard my EDD is end Feb, he very happy and say will only stop his business trips from mid feb onwards. So next week will be his last trip before I deliver. FAINT!

Hi, anyone interested with Chicco zenith baby car seat, in good condition and very well maintained. Selling at 120.
Suitable for baby from 9 mth onwards. I can send pic if interested

Interested pls email me at [email protected]

i juz went to c my gynae. nw is 39w1d. Edd: 8 feb. Dr say if bb dun wana cum out, chk in tmc in e morning n will induced.
Any mummies encounter this?
my #1 cum out at 39w. #2 is late

i juz went to c my gynae. nw is 39w1d. Edd: 8 feb. Dr say if bb dun wana cum out, chk in tmc in e morning n will induced.
Any mummies encounter this?
my #1 cum out at 39w. #2 is late

Opps, must tell the boss full term is anything from 37 weeks leh!!! My gynae also tell him stop from 36 weeks onwards as a buffer. And we also need them around help out a bit ma. Sometimes my hubby tries to help like bath no 1, make his feed etc. Increasingly difficult for us to catch and control our active tods now.

Hi Everyone! Lunching in today-heavy rain! But luckily no thunder, if not-my bb will wobble like jelly. Hehehe, last few days tummy was like shivering whenever she hears thunder or loub noise, soo funny.

Evon, I think it all depends on gynae assessment. If your gynae felt that bb is getting too heavy for natural or amiotic fluid going down, then will suggest induce.

GG, I'm taking coconut once a week. Love it!

No choice leh, Even the big boss also think that way cos initially my hubby's boss wan to go together but the big boss force him to stay and say not necessary for him to go. I tot if the boss go together, if I really go into labor, my hubby can fly back anytime. Now cannot liao cos hubby alone for the trip. Hubby will sent my #1 to MIL hse and stay till he come back. My mum will come over to accompany me in case I really go into labour. Time for me to relax and enjoy the care from my mum.

Yup, my #1 going into the terrible 2 stage now. Horrible loh. Keep saying cannot but will still go and do it. Tonite alone with #1. Hope rain will stop and I can cope.

I will hav coconut once a week.
Jus started my coconut yesterday at the thai restaurant. Love it esp after eating all the spicy food.

I also have it once a week since 35 wks. Just wanna make sure not considered too much

Opps, good dat your no 1 go stay with mil when hubby away. Else really v siong!!

Mummies, my friend bought a baby shower gift in advance and inside there's this baby tummy binder. Anyone knows what its for? Why do babies need binder?

Just came back from Gynae appointment. Entering into 37 weeks and baby is in engaged position already. Exciting! I hope he stay inside till next mon, let me enjoy my 元宵 first. Hehe. Bb now is 2.5kg, gained 200g from last week even though i lost abit of weight. I'm glad I didn't gain any from the cny feasting.

@xia: I'm gonna deliver at TMC even though i preferred mt a. U?

Jen: u mean the bb tummy wrap ( a Piece of cloth to wrap rd bb tummy) eh? Its to Protect the belly button region before and after the jelly like thing falls off), isn't it mummies?

Welcome Christina, 15feb is so near. Maybe u will pop earlier

Rocco - I also feel like putting on make up before heading to the hospital at least look more presentable when taking photos. lol
Btw hw many bedder did u opt for in TMC? Was initially thinking of 2 bedder but heard tt 2 bedder will limit no. of patients.. etc. Not so convenient as afraid will disturb the other person in the room.

Evon - My doc also wanted to induce me after my 39wk check up as he say bb on the big side, scared difficult for natural birth. U gg ahead to induce?

C- Section
Mummies tt ve gone thru c-section before. Is it necessary to get the adominal binder? Any brands tt u recommend? In this case hw do u still bath as heard the wound part cannot touch water rite?

Hi Opps,

I'm with KC Yeo clinic. The nurse say they got free samples so she gave me a 900g tin. Saw at NTUC selling $40+ eh. Hee.

My gynae say too much swelling will cause my kidney to overwork, cos kidney needs to work harder to get rid of excess water.
He seriously warned me yest I need to raise my feet n more walking ard. So I had to start my maternity leave earlier lor.
Sigh I tot walking will help in easier labour.

Hi jinglebell10,

Your bb is V day angel eh. Hee.
Wa if ur bb so big, better c sec. Else very difficult to push ah.
Ya need standby a small tin of FM juz in case.

Anyone know if in the hospital, do the pediatricians typically visit the newborn everyday or just once before discharge, assuming no complications, etc.? Any ideas what blood tests are usually done on the newborn, if any?

happytomato: i stay 2 bedder. quite happy with the service here. all d nurses/midwives were very encouragin n experience, n d nurses who come on their rounds to check on us... no doubt may get disturbance frm nxt door or we disturb next door... but my hubby dun have want waste d leave to stay 2 days just at hospital so we didnt plan for him to stay overnight. on d bright side, can make a new friend! esp if she is also warded for delivery

HI chilli, I got the feeling bb might not be able to Hold on till v day leh. I can also feel she getting bigger by the day. Shall see what dr said tmr. I'm more inclined to natural birth leh cos wil heal faster.

GG, yup very siong. I handle my #1 for a week alone 2 weeks ago cos hubby went business trip. Very super tiring. This time also hav to do on my own but worried I will deliver bb anytime, so hav to persuade my mil to help.

Happytomato, I only use the binder when I start massaging on the 3rd week. Cos need ppl to help pull the binder tightly. I use it for shrinking my tummy. But tummy nvr shrink much cos seldom use. Maybe cos my wound is not that painful so I nvr use it at all. Heard its to support so our wound won't be that painful.

jinglebell, old ppl say coconut juice will make the bb clean when born. Now, ppl say to cool down our body cos our body very heaty at the final stage of pregnancy. Coconut salty meh. I find it very sweet and nice.

beemummy: d pd visited my bb last night n this morning. dr says no jaundice n healthy can go hm tonight with me. i think blood test will be done as i opted for bb to do metabolic test. otherwise there should nt be any blood test done.

Chewie - so shiok! If my hb sure say can discharge den discharge liao!

Jinglebell - I just went nex ntuc confirm got infant formula. Just must look carefully cos alot of milk powders! Heh. Similac is blue tin and enfalac tink yellow tin. Nan cannot rem. I din take any coconut water at all. But I did drink some barley. #1 came out clean enough I tink. Dunno how clean is considered clean though. Keke. No pimples and stuff. Clean enough for me.

Cranky - oooooo is the premier much nicer? Newly renovated? Hb say he rem premier 1 nite is 300-400 more than normal. Tink he dun wan gimme premier. LOL! For my #1 also normal single all full. They ask us to take dbl or premier single. U happen to noe how much is the diff for normal and single?

GG - my cord blood settled. Hehe *motivate u*!!!! LOL

Meifen - me at tmc! Mebbe we b beside each other? Keke

ROcco, enjoy your confinement.

My friend told me that in TMC, there is free upgrading to 2 bedded for those who choose 4 bedded if there available 2 bedded bed. So she chose 4 bedded and really got the the free upgrading. When I visit her she was in the 2 bedded room.

Can saved a lot of money leh. But now dragon yr, maybe won't hav available 2 bedded rm for free upgrading.

Rocco, did u opt for the hearing screen test? The health booklet put a note n said My bb needs to do retest again in march... Dunno why.. Abit worried... Sigh...

Opps - ya I also feel #2 like more pain? Mebbe too near to #1 alot things not back to normal. Muscle weaker and stuff ba? U got intention not to take epi? Zai!!!

Jen - the bb binder is for bb belly button like wat jinglebell said. B4 umbilical cord dry up and drop off use one. I bought 2 but in the end Neva use cos wanted to air it more so tat can dry up faster.

Beemummy - my pd came everyday. Not sure wat blood tests they do though. He onli came in tell me bb doing fine and assure me everything ok nia. =x

Hazel - dun worry bb just born mebbe dunno should react to sound? Like sometimes I call my #1 she dun respond but she can hear perfectly fine. Slowly observe her and dun tink too much. Concentrate on ur recovery ya! =)

xia, yup, I intent not to take epi since #1. But I endured for 6hrs till I can't take it and still 5cm dilated so hav to cry and shout for epi. Lucky I took cos I waited for another 5hrs before I went for emergency c-sect. Don think I can further endure another 5hrs without epi. Hope this #2 will hav a fast and smooth VBCA delivery so that I can skip epi.

Rocco, Opps - Yah i may opt for 4 or 2 bedder in this case esp since my c sect is in the evening by the time come out at nite liao. Like waste 1 whole day. Only concern is next day which is a sunday so probably have many ppl coming over to visit. Scared a bit ma fan.

Opps - Did u continue to take ur painkillers after c section even when u breastfeed.

Xia - Thanks for the info. Think i better standby a tin of infant formula too just in case. Is it in powder form as i thought usually infant formula comes in those liquid small bottles?

Hazel - 1 of my gf said her bb failed the hearing test twice for 1 ear. Another failed on first try for both ears. They say not to worry as it is common for bbs to encounter ear blockage after birth.

Happytomato, I only took the painkillers ( both panado and one strong version that needs another med to protect the gastric cos too strong liao) while in hospital. I aldy start bf on the 2nd day. When I'm back home on the 3rd day, I only took the panado cos the pain is bearable. Gynea also told me I can stop the strong version if not that painful. I stop taking all painkillers on the 4th day. I'm lucky that my pain is ok, only pain when I wake up from bed but I can do it myself. Heard my friend say she need someone to pull her up from bed everyday. Also pain when cough and squeeze. I tried to stop all painkillers asap cos I'm afraid it will affect bf. But both nurse and gynea told me it won't affect at all. But I try my best not to take med for safe bf.

For those who are still considering what kind of insurance to get for your newborn, i believe the first one should be the hospitalisation plan. As a mother of three, there is this plan called myshield, underwritten by Aviva, which provide free hospitalisation plan for your child if both you and your spouse are covered under this plan.

Premiums are deducted from medisave and i thought it's quite beneficial for all parents since it will be given free for your child (up to a max of 4 children).

For more information, please do PM me. I would also like to be upfront here. Yes, I am an insurance agent but as a mother of three, this plan can really help u save a fair bit over the long run.

If any mummies are considering getting a whole life plan(with cash value) for your darlings, with just a mere $2 a day, we can provide a $150K coverage for your child. This is one of the cheapest in the market too. Do PM me if you want more information.

Happytomato, if buy from shops infant formula is powder type. Hospital however will provide ready to drink type ( liquid ones) but heard now they charge per bottle. Last time I remember they gave me 1 box free. U can think wat brand u like as they will ask u one.

Xia, which co u go to? Stemcord or cordlife?

Happytomato & Xia, thanks so much for the reassuring egs you came across... I m suffering from abit of post natal blues... Was crying when bb was in NICU for 1 wk... Then so happy when she was discharged yesterday... But was told at discharge she needs to retest for both ears in march.. Broke down a few times n cried.. She is v precious to me.. After losing my elder daughter atb20w preg n another m/c... Thanks again..

Btw, she always falls asleep while feeding... (on bottle).. Can't seem to wake her up... So, it ill take an hr if not more...

Oops, I'm using Huggies newborn size.

Jen, will try pampers. Having aches and pains that I didn't have with #1..

Tks for the info! ;)